Skip to content

Cosmetics and personal care

Which rules apply to eye make-up?

We track 6,776 rules for these in 20 of 21 markets, including California's Prop 65 list of 883 chemicals. Check your product free, no account needed.

  • Free
  • No account needed
  • The law behind every rule

Cosmetics and personal care / Make-up / Eye make-up

Mascara, eyeliner, eye shadow and brow products for the eye area.

Rules

Rules by market

Open a market to read its rules for this category.

European Union2,230 rulesCoverage: Main sources, from 18 May 2026
Main sources, from 18 May 2026 · What is covered

European Union: main sources stored. Modelled: Reg. 1223/2009 Annexes II (prohibited); III (restricted); IV (colourants); V (preservatives); VI (UV filters) and Art. 19 labelling; Arts. 4 to 13: Responsible Person, safety assessment and safety report (CPSR), product information file (PIF), CPNP notification. Not stored: CLP classification and labelling of cosmetic mixtures; REACH Annex XVII entries beyond cosmetics (e.g. microplastics Reg. 2023/2055); national rules (e.g. French recycling labels, German language rules); claims criteria (Reg. 655/2013); packaging law (PPWR); Annex III-VI entries adopted after the stored consolidation.

Requirement
Applies when
Effective
Source
Ban

Art. 11 software-no-impediment

Banned

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 13 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02023R1542-20260813 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Contains a battery
  • Battery category: Portable battery or LMT battery (e-bike, e-scooter)
  • Your role: Manufacturer or Importer

Depends on: contains battery, battery category, economic operator role

Takes effect 18 Feb 2027

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 18 Feb 2027

Article 11 applies from 18 February 2027 (Art. 96(2)(a)).

“Software shall not be used to impede the replacement of a portable battery or LMT battery, or of their key components, with another compatible battery or key components.”
Art. 11(8) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EU) 2023/1542(opens in a new tab)
Ban x 1,588

1,588 rules from Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 on cosmetic products, Annexes II-VI (consolidated)

Banned

Show targets (40 of 1,588)

The remaining targets are listed on the substances page.

Every product in the category

Dates run from 1 Dec 2010 to 1 Jan 2027

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: Triphenyl Phosphate (CAS 115-86-6)

From the consolidated text: Triphenyl Phosphate (13) · 115-86-6 · 204-112-2

Limit
Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)

Limit 0.7 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (f) 0,7 %. Field of application: (f) Body lotion.

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Body

Depends on: body area

Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

From the consolidated text: (f) Body lotion · (f) 0,7 %

Limit x 174

174 rules from Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 on cosmetic products, Annexes II-VI (consolidated)

Limit 0.2 % (content basis)

Show targets (40 of 174)

The remaining targets are listed on the substances page.

Every product in the category

Dates run from 11 Jul 2013 to 1 Jan 2027

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)

From the consolidated text: (g) Face make-up and make-up remover products · (g) 0,2 %

Limit x 37

37 rules from Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 on cosmetic products, Annexes II-VI (consolidated)

Limit 0.004 % (content basis)

Show targets (37 of 37)
  • Applied to: Mouth or Teeth and gums

Depends on: body area

Dates run from 11 Jul 2013 to 1 Jan 2027

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)

From the consolidated text: (h) Oral products · (h) 0,004 %

Limit
Citral Geranial (CAS 5392-40-5)

Limit 0.65 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (c) 0,65 %. Field of application: (c) Eye products, face make-up and make-up remover.

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Eye area

Depends on: body area

Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-08-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

From the consolidated text: (c) Eye products, face make-up and make-up remover · (c) 0,65 %

  • Leave-on product

Depends on: rinse off

Dates run from 11 Jul 2013 to 1 Jan 2027

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: Citral Geranial (CAS 5392-40-5)

From the consolidated text: (i) Leave-on products for the anogenital area (baby wipes and intimate wipes) · (i) 0,063 %

  • Rinse-off product

Depends on: rinse off

Dates run from 11 Jul 2013 to 1 Jan 2027

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: Acetylated Vetiveria Zizanioides Root Extract (Vetiveria zizanioides, ext., acetylated Oils, vetiver, acetylated; CAS 84082-84-8)

“(a) 0,9 % (b) 0,05 % (c) 0,05 % (d) 0,1 % (e) 0,2 %”
Annex III entry 382 (v4e) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Limit
Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.

Limit 14.62 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (d) 14,62 % (as Al). Field of application: (d) Lip products.

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Lips

Depends on: body area

Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

From the consolidated text: (d) Lip products · (d) 14,62 % (as Al)

Conformity

Art. 11 removable-replaceable-lmt

Must meet the conditions of LMT batteries and their cells are readily removable and replaceable by an independent professional at any time during the product's lifetime

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 13 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02023R1542-20260813 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Your role: Manufacturer or Importer
  • Contains a battery
  • Battery category: LMT battery (e-bike, e-scooter)

Depends on: economic operator role, contains battery, battery category

Takes effect 18 Feb 2027

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 18 Feb 2027

Article 11 applies from 18 February 2027 (Art. 96(2)(a)).

“shall ensure that those batteries, as well as individual battery cells included in the battery pack, are readily removable and replaceable by an independent professional”
Art. 11(5) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EU) 2023/1542(opens in a new tab)
Conformity

Art. 11 removable-replaceable-portable

Must meet the conditions of Portable batteries incorporated in the product are readily removable and replaceable by the end-user at any time during the product's lifetime (commercially available tools; entire batteries, not cells)

Exemptions (3)

Art. 11(2)(a): appliances designed for splashing water, water streams or immersion and intended to be washable or rinseable may make the battery removable by independent professionals only, where required for safety

“appliances specifically designed to operate primarily in an environment that is regularly subject to splashing water, water streams or water immersion, and that are intended to be washable or rinseable;”
Art. 11(2)(a) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EU) 2023/1542(opens in a new tab)

Art. 11(2)(b): professional medical imaging and radiotherapy devices and in vitro diagnostic devices

“professional medical imaging and radiotherapy devices, as defined in Article 2, point (1), of Regulation (EU) 2017/745,”
Art. 11(2)(b) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EU) 2023/1542(opens in a new tab)

Art. 11(3): no duty where continuity of power supply is necessary and a permanent connection is required for safety, or for data integrity in data-collecting products

“The obligations laid down in paragraph 1 shall not apply where continuity of power supply is necessary”
Art. 11(3) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EU) 2023/1542(opens in a new tab)

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 13 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02023R1542-20260813 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Contains a battery
  • Battery category: Portable battery
  • Your role: Manufacturer or Importer

Depends on: contains battery, battery category, economic operator role

Takes effect 18 Feb 2027

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 18 Feb 2027

Article 11 applies from 18 February 2027 (Art. 96(2)(a)).

“products incorporating portable batteries shall ensure that those batteries are readily removable and replaceable by the end-user at any time during the lifetime of the product.”
Art. 11(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EU) 2023/1542(opens in a new tab)
Disclosure

Art. 11 removal-instructions

Disclosure to consumer

Instructions and safety information on use, removal and replacement of the portable battery, permanently available online

Exemptions (3)

Art. 11(2)(a): appliances designed for splashing water, water streams or immersion and intended to be washable or rinseable may make the battery removable by independent professionals only, where required for safety

“appliances specifically designed to operate primarily in an environment that is regularly subject to splashing water, water streams or water immersion, and that are intended to be washable or rinseable;”
Art. 11(2)(a) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EU) 2023/1542(opens in a new tab)

Art. 11(2)(b): professional medical imaging and radiotherapy devices and in vitro diagnostic devices

“professional medical imaging and radiotherapy devices, as defined in Article 2, point (1), of Regulation (EU) 2017/745,”
Art. 11(2)(b) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EU) 2023/1542(opens in a new tab)

Art. 11(3): no duty where continuity of power supply is necessary and a permanent connection is required for safety, or for data integrity in data-collecting products

“The obligations laid down in paragraph 1 shall not apply where continuity of power supply is necessary”
Art. 11(3) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EU) 2023/1542(opens in a new tab)

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 13 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02023R1542-20260813 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Contains a battery
  • Battery category: Portable battery
  • Your role: Manufacturer or Importer

Depends on: contains battery, battery category, economic operator role

Takes effect 18 Feb 2027

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 18 Feb 2027

Article 11 applies from 18 February 2027 (Art. 96(2)(a)).

“Those instructions and that safety information shall be made available permanently online, on a publicly available website, in an easily understandable way for end-users.”
Art. 11(1) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EU) 2023/1542(opens in a new tab)
Conformity

Art. 11 spare-part-availability

Must meet the conditions of Batteries available as spare parts for at least five years after the last unit of the model is placed on the market, at a reasonable and non-discriminatory price

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 13 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02023R1542-20260813 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Contains a battery
  • Battery category: Portable battery or LMT battery (e-bike, e-scooter)
  • Your role: Manufacturer or Importer

Depends on: contains battery, battery category, economic operator role

Takes effect 18 Feb 2027

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 18 Feb 2027

Article 11 applies from 18 February 2027 (Art. 96(2)(a)).

“those batteries are available as spare parts of the equipment that they power for a minimum of five years after placing the last unit of the equipment model on the market”
Art. 11(7) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EU) 2023/1542(opens in a new tab)
Ban

Placing on the market of a cosmetic whose final formulation was animal tested

Banned

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Tested on animals

Depends on: animal testing conducted

In force since 11 Mar 2013

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 11 Mar 2013

Art. 18(2): the implementation period for Art. 18(1)(a) was limited to 11 March 2009, and to 11 March 2013 for repeated-dose toxicity, reproductive toxicity and toxicokinetics tests, so the marketing ban covers all tests from 2013-03-11. Art. 40(2) applies the Regulation from 2013-07-11 and does not list Art. 18 among its exceptions.

“the placing on the market of cosmetic products where the final formulation, in order to meet the requirements of this Regulation, has been the subject of animal testing”
Art. 18(1)(a) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 (consolidated 2026-05-18)(opens in a new tab)
Ban

Placing on the market of a cosmetic with animal-tested ingredients or combinations of ingredients

Banned

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Tested on animals

Depends on: animal testing conducted

In force since 11 Mar 2013

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 11 Mar 2013

Art. 18(2): the implementation period for Art. 18(1)(b) was limited to 11 March 2009, and to 11 March 2013 for repeated-dose toxicity, reproductive toxicity and toxicokinetics tests, so the marketing ban covers all tests from 2013-03-11. Art. 40(2) applies the Regulation from 2013-07-11 and does not list Art. 18 among its exceptions.

“the placing on the market of cosmetic products containing ingredients or combinations of ingredients which, in order to meet the requirements of this Regulation, have been the subject of animal testing”
Art. 18(1)(b) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 (consolidated 2026-05-18)(opens in a new tab)
  • Applied to: Lips or Mouth or Teeth and gums or External genital area

Depends on: body area

11 Jul 2013

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: Acid red 195 (CAS 12220-24-5)

From the consolidated text: Sodium 4-[(4,5-dihydro-3-methyl-5-oxo-1-phenyl-1H-pyrazol-4-yl)azo]-3-hydroxynaphthalene-1-sulphonate · Acid red 195 · 12220-24-5 · — · Red · Not to be used in products applied on mucous membranes

Ban
Salicylic acid (Benzoic acid, 2-hydroxy-; CAS 69-72-7)

Banned

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Mouth or Teeth and gums

Depends on: body area

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text (consolidation marker M36; the amending act's application date is not printed). In force no later than 2026-05-18 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“Not to be used in oral products.”
Annex V entry 3 (l1-restriction) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
  • Leave-on product

Depends on: rinse off

11 Jul 2013

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: Bromothymol blue (CAS 76-59-5)

From the consolidated text: Phenol, 4,4'-(3H-2,1-benzoxathiol-3-ylidene)bis[2-bromo-3-methyl-6-(1-methylethyl)-, S,S-dioxide · Bromothymol blue · 76-59-5 · 200-971-2 · Blue · Rinse-off products

Ban
CI 74260 (Polychloro copper phthalocyanine)

Banned

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Eye area

Depends on: body area

In force since 11 Jul 2013

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 11 Jul 2013

No row-level date in the consolidated text for this entry; it applies from the Regulation's application date (Art. 40: 11 July 2013). Later amendments (the ▼M markers) are not dated row by row in the text.

From the consolidated text: Polychloro copper phthalocyanine · 74260 · Green · Not to be used in eye products

Ban
CI 15510

Banned

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Eye area

Depends on: body area

In force since 11 Jul 2013

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 11 Jul 2013

No row-level date in the consolidated text for this entry; it applies from the Regulation's application date (Art. 40: 11 July 2013). Later amendments (the ▼M markers) are not dated row by row in the text.

From the consolidated text: Sodium 4-[(2-hydroxy-1-naphthyl)azo]benzenesulphonate and its insoluble barium, strontium and zirconium lakes, salts and pigments · 15510 · Orange · Not to be used in eye products

Ban
CI 10316

Banned

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Eye area

Depends on: body area

In force since 11 Jul 2013

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 11 Jul 2013

No row-level date in the consolidated text for this entry; it applies from the Regulation's application date (Art. 40: 11 July 2013). Later amendments (the ▼M markers) are not dated row by row in the text.

From the consolidated text: Disodium 5,7-dinitro-8-oxidonaphthalene-2-sulphonate and its insoluble barium, strontium and zirconium lakes, salts and pigments · 10316 · Yellow · Not to be used in eye products

Ban
CI 45405

Banned

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Eye area

Depends on: body area

In force since 11 Jul 2013

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 11 Jul 2013

No row-level date in the consolidated text for this entry; it applies from the Regulation's application date (Art. 40: 11 July 2013). Later amendments (the ▼M markers) are not dated row by row in the text.

From the consolidated text: Dipotassium 3,6-dichloro-2-(2,4,5,7-tetrabromo-6-oxido-3-oxoxanthen-9-yl)benzoate · 45405 · Red · Not to be used in eye products

Limit
Retinol (CAS 11103-57-4)

Limit 0.05 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (a) 0,05 % Retinol Equivalent (RE) (b) 0,3 % RE. Field of application: (a) Body lotion (b) other leave-on and rinse-off products. Other: For any cosmetic product containing Retinol, Retinyl Acetate or Retinyl Palmitate the following, labelling is obligatory: ‘Contains Vitamin A. Consider your daily intake before use’..

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Body

Depends on: body area

In force since 1 Nov 2025

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Nov 2025

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2025-11-01 and not be made available from 2027-05-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

From the consolidated text: 234-328-2/ 200-683-7 · (a) Body lotion (b) other leave-on and rinse-off products · (a) 0,05 % Retinol Equivalent (RE) (b) 0,3 % RE

Limit
Alpha-Arbutin (4-Hydroxyphenyl-alpha-D-glucopyranoside; CAS 84380-01-8)

Limit 0.5 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (a) 2 % (b) 0,5 %. Field of application: (a) Face cream (b) Body lotion. Other: Hydroquinone levels shall remain as low as possible in formulations containing alpha-Arbutin and shall not be higher than the unavoidable trace level..

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Body

Depends on: body area

In force since 1 Feb 2025

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Feb 2025

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2025-02-01 and not be made available from 2025-11-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

From the consolidated text: 4-Hydroxyphenyl-alpha-D-glucopyranoside (44) · Alpha-Arbutin · 84380-01-8 · 617-561-8 · (a) Face cream (b) Body lotion · (a) 2 % (b) 0,5 %

Limit
Thimerosal (Thiomersal; CAS 54-64-8)

Limit 0.007 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: 0,007 % (of Hg) If mixed with other mercurial compounds authorised by this Regulation, the maximum concentration of Hg remains fixed at 0,007 %. Field of application: Eye products.

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Eye area

Depends on: body area

In force since 11 Jul 2013

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 11 Jul 2013

No row-level date in the consolidated text for this entry; it applies from the Regulation's application date (Art. 40: 11 July 2013). Later amendments (the ▼M markers) are not dated row by row in the text.

“0,007 % (of Hg) If mixed with other mercurial compounds authorised by this Regulation, the maximum concentration of Hg remains fixed at 0,007 %”
Annex V entry 16 · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)

Gaps

Markets without rules for this category

We have no rules for this category in these markets. That doesn't mean none apply, so a check here says Not covered, never clear.

ClaraDB gives a verdict only for PFAS state laws for cookware and bakeware, California Proposition 65 consumer-product warning check for BPA, BPS, formaldehyde, styrene, antimony trioxide, vinyl acetate, lead and cadmium, California Proposition 65 warning check for candles and ceramicware (lead, cadmium, formaldehyde, acetaldehyde, benzene, naphthalene, carbon monoxide, benzo[a]pyrene), US packaging EPR producer size thresholds (California, Colorado, Maryland, Minnesota, Oregon, Washington) for a brand-owning manufacturer, US lead in children's products and furniture (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in toys and child care articles (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in children's products (other) and bags (lead paint and total lead content), US phthalates in children's toys and child care articles (DEHP, DBP, BBP, DINP, DIBP, DPENP, DHEXP, DCHP) and US children's product certificate and tracking label for children's tableware (AI-checked, quotes verified word for word). Every other answer shows the laws and quotes found without saying whether they apply. Not checked: Consumer electronics (FCC equipment authorization, 47 CFR Parts 2 and 15, energy rules). What ClaraDB has checked

Show 1 market
Market
Coverage
Main sources; no modeled rule is scoped to this category. Not covered: other rules that may apply.
  • Coverage
    Main sources; no modeled rule is scoped to this category. Not covered: other rules that may apply.

Facts

What we need to know about your product

Some rules depend on details of your product. Until you tell us, a check says Needs answers and asks for what's missing.

Show 36 facts
Depends on
Markets
Rules
Whether the listed substance or group is present
EU, GB, JP, KR, US, US-CA, US-CO, US-CT, US-IL, US-MD, US-ME, US-MN, US-NJ, US-RI, US-VT, US-WA
7,475
Number of employees at the seller
US-CA
972
Body area
EU, GB, JP, KR, US
231
Rinse off
EU, GB, JP, KR, US-CA
221
Economic operator role
EU, GB, KR, US
90
Contains battery
EU, GB, US
39
Sprayable
EU, GB, KR
34
Intended for children under 3
EU, GB, KR
24
Battery category
EU, GB
22
Otc drug claim
US, US-MN
19
Quasi drug or functional claim
JP, KR
13
Net content ml
EU, GB, KR
10
Battery chemistry
US
9
Aerosol dispenser
JP, KR, US
8
Professional use
EU, GB, US
7
Customised cosmetic
KR
7
Rechargeable
US
6
Animal testing conducted
EU, GB, KR
5
Annual gross revenue usd
US-CO, US-MD, US-MN, US-OR, US-WA
5
Contains nanomaterial
EU, GB
2
Intended for children under 12
KR
2
Single use
KR
2
Button or coin cell
US
2
Distance sale to other member state
EU
1
Imported
KR
1
Cattle derived material
US
1
Uses sunscreen term
US
1
Safety substantiated
US
1
Battery removable
US
1
Ca gross sales usd
US-CA
1
Packaging tons co
US-CO
1
Packaging tons md
US-MD
1
Packaging tons mn
US-MN
1
Packaging tonnes or
US-OR
1
Fluorine treated container
US-VT
1
Packaging tons wa
US-WA
1
  • Whether the listed substance or group is present
    Markets
    EU, GB, JP, KR, US, US-CA, US-CO, US-CT, US-IL, US-MD, US-ME, US-MN, US-NJ, US-RI, US-VT, US-WA
    Rules
    7,475
  • Number of employees at the seller
    Markets
    US-CA
    Rules
    972
  • Body area
    Markets
    EU, GB, JP, KR, US
    Rules
    231
  • Rinse off
    Markets
    EU, GB, JP, KR, US-CA
    Rules
    221
  • Economic operator role
    Markets
    EU, GB, KR, US
    Rules
    90
  • Contains battery
    Markets
    EU, GB, US
    Rules
    39
  • Sprayable
    Markets
    EU, GB, KR
    Rules
    34
  • Intended for children under 3
    Markets
    EU, GB, KR
    Rules
    24
  • Battery category
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    22
  • Otc drug claim
    Markets
    US, US-MN
    Rules
    19
  • Quasi drug or functional claim
    Markets
    JP, KR
    Rules
    13
  • Net content ml
    Markets
    EU, GB, KR
    Rules
    10
  • Battery chemistry
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    9
  • Aerosol dispenser
    Markets
    JP, KR, US
    Rules
    8
  • Professional use
    Markets
    EU, GB, US
    Rules
    7
  • Customised cosmetic
    Markets
    KR
    Rules
    7
  • Rechargeable
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    6
  • Animal testing conducted
    Markets
    EU, GB, KR
    Rules
    5
  • Annual gross revenue usd
    Markets
    US-CO, US-MD, US-MN, US-OR, US-WA
    Rules
    5
  • Contains nanomaterial
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    2
  • Intended for children under 12
    Markets
    KR
    Rules
    2
  • Single use
    Markets
    KR
    Rules
    2
  • Button or coin cell
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    2
  • Distance sale to other member state
    Markets
    EU
    Rules
    1
  • Imported
    Markets
    KR
    Rules
    1
  • Cattle derived material
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Uses sunscreen term
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Safety substantiated
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Battery removable
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Ca gross sales usd
    Markets
    US-CA
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tons co
    Markets
    US-CO
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tons md
    Markets
    US-MD
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tons mn
    Markets
    US-MN
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tonnes or
    Markets
    US-OR
    Rules
    1
  • Fluorine treated container
    Markets
    US-VT
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tons wa
    Markets
    US-WA
    Rules
    1

Changes

Upcoming changes

Rules for this category that start in the next 24 months, or are proposed or on hold.

Show 41 upcoming changes
Requirement
Applies when
Effective
Source
WarningUS-CA
N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine (CAS 758-17-8)

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 8 Dec 2026

Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026

Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
CAS No.
758-17-8
Date listed
8 Dec 2025

Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Bisphenol S (BPS) (CAS 80-09-1)

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).

“a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that will produce no observable reproductive effect (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 8 Dec 2026

Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026

Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Bisphenol S (BPS)
Type of toxicity
developmental toxicity
Listed by
the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
CAS No.
80-09-1
Date listed
8 Dec 2025

Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Tacrolimus (CAS 104987-11-3)

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Tacrolimus
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the Labor Code (LC)
CAS No.
104987-11-3
Date listed
17 Jul 2026

Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Hydrochlorothiazide

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Hydrochlorothiazide
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the Labor Code (LC)
CAS No.
58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
Date listed
17 Jul 2026

Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Voriconazole

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Voriconazole
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the Labor Code (LC)
CAS No.
137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
Date listed
17 Jul 2026

Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Welding Fumes

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Welding Fumes
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the Labor Code (LC)
CAS No.
none given
Date listed
17 Jul 2026

Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
BanEU
Triphenyl Phosphate (CAS 115-86-6)

Banned

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

Every product in the category

Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

From the consolidated text: Triphenyl Phosphate (13) · 115-86-6 · 204-112-2

LimitEU
Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)

Limit 0.7 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (f) 0,7 %. Field of application: (f) Body lotion.

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Body

Depends on: body area

Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

From the consolidated text: (f) Body lotion · (f) 0,7 %

Limit x 11EU

11 rules from Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 on cosmetic products, Annexes II-VI (consolidated)

Limit 0.2 % (content basis)

Show targets (11 of 11)

Every product in the category

1 Jan 2027

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)

From the consolidated text: (g) Face make-up and make-up remover products · (g) 0,2 %

LimitEU
Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)

Limit 0.004 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (h) 0,004 %. Field of application: (h) Oral products.

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Mouth or Teeth and gums

Depends on: body area

Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

From the consolidated text: (h) Oral products · (h) 0,004 %

  • WarningUS-CA
    N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine (CAS 758-17-8)

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 8 Dec 2026

    Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026

    Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
    CAS No.
    758-17-8
    Date listed
    8 Dec 2025

    Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Bisphenol S (BPS) (CAS 80-09-1)

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).

    “a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that will produce no observable reproductive effect (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 8 Dec 2026

    Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026

    Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Bisphenol S (BPS)
    Type of toxicity
    developmental toxicity
    Listed by
    the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
    CAS No.
    80-09-1
    Date listed
    8 Dec 2025

    Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Tacrolimus (CAS 104987-11-3)

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

    Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

    Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Tacrolimus
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the Labor Code (LC)
    CAS No.
    104987-11-3
    Date listed
    17 Jul 2026

    Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Hydrochlorothiazide

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

    Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

    Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Hydrochlorothiazide
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the Labor Code (LC)
    CAS No.
    58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
    Date listed
    17 Jul 2026

    Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Voriconazole

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

    Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

    Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Voriconazole
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the Labor Code (LC)
    CAS No.
    137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
    Date listed
    17 Jul 2026

    Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Welding Fumes

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

    Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

    Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Welding Fumes
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the Labor Code (LC)
    CAS No.
    none given
    Date listed
    17 Jul 2026

    Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • BanEU
    Triphenyl Phosphate (CAS 115-86-6)

    Banned

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

    Applies when

    Every product in the category

    Effective

    Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

    Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

    Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

    Source

    From the consolidated text: Triphenyl Phosphate (13) · 115-86-6 · 204-112-2

  • LimitEU
    Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)

    Limit 0.7 % (content basis)

    In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (f) 0,7 %. Field of application: (f) Body lotion.

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

    Applies when
    • Applied to: Body

    Depends on: body area

    Effective

    Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

    Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

    Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

    Source

    From the consolidated text: (f) Body lotion · (f) 0,7 %

  • Limit x 11EU

    11 rules from Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 on cosmetic products, Annexes II-VI (consolidated)

    Limit 0.2 % (content basis)

    Show targets (11 of 11)
    Applies when

    Every product in the category

    Effective

    1 Jan 2027

    Each rule has its own date; open a target.

    Source

    Example: Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)

    From the consolidated text: (g) Face make-up and make-up remover products · (g) 0,2 %

  • LimitEU
    Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)

    Limit 0.004 % (content basis)

    In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (h) 0,004 %. Field of application: (h) Oral products.

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

    Applies when
    • Applied to: Mouth or Teeth and gums

    Depends on: body area

    Effective

    Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

    Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

    Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

    Source

    From the consolidated text: (h) Oral products · (h) 0,004 %

All dated changes

Records

Recalls and alerts

Recalls, safety alerts and Prop 65 notices that name Eye make-up, with a link to the original. A Prop 65 notice is a claim by the sender, not a ruling.

235 records dated 3 Jan 2023 to 18 Sep 2026. Most recent shown.

Show the 8 most recent records

See also

Related categories

  • Make-up

    Colour cosmetics for face, eyes, lips and lashes.

  • Lip products

    Lipstick, gloss, balm and liner (ingested in small amounts; Annex IV colourants for lips).

  • Eyelash and eyebrow dyes and enhancers

    Lash and brow tints and growth serums; hair dye substances may not be used on eyelashes in the EU.

  • Face make-up

    Foundation, powder, blush, concealer and bronzer.

Alerts

Get an email when these rules change.

Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.

Check a productStart a workspace

Free for 10 products. Email alerts from $39 a month. See pricing