Skip to content

Cosmetics and personal care

Which rules apply to lip products?

We track 6,776 rules for these in 20 of 21 markets, including California's Prop 65 list of 883 chemicals. Check your product free, no account needed.

  • Free
  • No account needed
  • The law behind every rule

Cosmetics and personal care / Make-up / Lip products

Lipstick, gloss, balm and liner (ingested in small amounts; Annex IV colourants for lips).

Rules

Rules by market

Open a market to read its rules for this category.

South Korea2,007 rulesCoverage: Main sources, from 8 Oct 2026
Main sources, from 8 Oct 2026 · What is covered

South Korea: main sources stored. Modelled: Cosmetics Act 화장품법; Enforcement Rule 화장품법 시행규칙 (labelling); 화장품 안전기준 등에 관한 규정 (prohibited and restricted ingredients, preservatives, colourants, UV filters); 화장품 사용할 때의 주의사항 및 알레르기 유발성분 표시에 관한 규정. Not stored: functional cosmetics 기능성화장품 reviews and 심사 기준; 우수화장품 제조 및 품질관리기준 (GMP); 영유아 또는 어린이 사용 화장품 안전성 자료 duties; customised cosmetics 맞춤형화장품 rules; import quality-test exemption; 표시·광고 실증 rules.

Requirement
Applies when
Effective
Source
Ban

Advertising: no absolute expressions such as 'best' and clear basis for comparison

Banned

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 2 Apr 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 시행일자 2026-04-02.

  • Claim: absolute superlative

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-04-02 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

배타성을 띤 "최 고" 또는 "최상" 등의 절대적 표현의 표시ㆍ광고를 하지 말 것
화장품법 시행규칙 Schedule 5 item 2바목 · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법 시행규칙 (총리령, law 285249 version in force 2026-04-02)(opens in a new tab)
Ban

Advertising: no claim of products containing processed internationally endangered species

Banned

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 2 Apr 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 시행일자 2026-04-02.

  • Claim: endangered species

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-04-02 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“국제적 멸종위기종의 가공품이 함유된 화장품임을 표현하거나 암시하는 표 시ㆍ광고를 하지 말 것”
화장품법 시행규칙 Schedule 5 item 2차목 · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법 시행규칙 (총리령, law 285249 version in force 2026-04-02)(opens in a new tab)
Ban

Cosmetic tested on animals or made with an animal-tested raw material may not be distributed or sold

Banned

Exemptions (6)

Not applicable where animal testing is needed to set a use criterion or assess the risk of an ingredient (Art. 8(2)/(3))

“제8조제2항의 보존제, 색소, 자외선차단제 등 특별히 사용상의 제한이 필요한 원료에 대하여 그 사용기준을 지정하거나”
화장품법 Article 15-2(1) item 1 · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법(opens in a new tab)

Not applicable where no alternative test method exists and animal testing is necessary

“이 존재하지 아니하여 동물실험이 필요한 경우”
화장품법 Article 15-2(1) item 2 · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법(opens in a new tab)

Not applicable where the export country's law requires animal testing for export

“화장품 수출을 위하여 수출 상대국의 법령에 따라 동물실험이 필요한 경우”
화장품법 Article 15-2(1) item 3 · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법(opens in a new tab)

Not applicable where the importing country's law requires animal testing for product development

“수입하려는 상대국의 법령에 따라 제품 개발에 동물실험이 필요한 경우”
화장품법 Article 15-2(1) item 4 · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법(opens in a new tab)

Not applicable where an ingredient developed through animal testing under another law is used

“다른 법령에 따라 동물실험을 실시하여 개발된 원료를 화장품의 제조 등에 사용하는 경우”
화장품법 Article 15-2(1) item 5 · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법(opens in a new tab)

Not applicable in other cases where a replacement test is hard to run, as set by the MFDS minister

“그 밖에 동물실험을 대체할 수 있는 실험을 실시하기 곤란한 경우로서 식품의약품안전처장이 정하는 경우”
화장품법 Article 15-2(1) item 6 · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 8 Oct 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 시행일자 2026-10-08.

  • Tested on animals
  • Your role: Manufacturer or Importer

Depends on: animal testing conducted, economic operator role

In force since 4 Feb 2017

Applies to products sold on or after 4 Feb 2017

Computed from the stated rule: 부칙 제14027호 (promulgated 2016-02-03) 제1조 says the Act applies one year after promulgation, i.e. from 2017-02-04; 제2조 applies 제15조의2 to animal testing after that date. For 맞춤형화장품판매업자 the provision applies from the commencement of 부칙 제18448호 제3조 (2021 Act).

“을 실시한 화장품 또는 동물실험을 실시한 화장품 원료를 사용하여 제조(위탁제조를 포함한다) 또는 수입한 화장품을 유통ㆍ판매하여서는 아니 된다”
Article 15-2(1) · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법(opens in a new tab)
Ban

Dividing contents of a cosmetic container for sale

Banned

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 8 Oct 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 시행일자 2026-10-08.

  • Mixed or filled for the individual customer: no

Depends on: customised cosmetic

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-10-08 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“누구든지(맞춤형화장품조제관리사를 통하여 판매하는 맞춤형화장품판매업자 및 제2조제3호의2나목 단서에 해당하는 화장품 중 소분 판매를 목적으로 제조된 화장품의 판매자는 제외한다) 화장품의 용기에 담은 내용물을 나누어 판매하여서는 아니 된다.”
Article 16(2) · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법 (법률 제285353호 version in force 2026-10-08)(opens in a new tab)
Ban

Mixing or dividing marketed cosmetics at the customised seller

Banned

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 8 Oct 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 시행일자 2026-10-08.

  • Mixed or filled for the individual customer

Depends on: customised cosmetic

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-10-08 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“는 소비자에게 유통ㆍ판매되는 화장품을 임의로 혼합ㆍ소분하여서는 아니 된다.”
Article 5(3) · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법 (법률 제285353호 version in force 2026-10-08)(opens in a new tab)
Ban
Prohibited cosmetic ingredients as defined in South Korea

Banned

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 8 Oct 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 시행일자 2026-10-08.

Every product in the category

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-10-08 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“제8조제1항 또는 제2항에 따른 화장품에 사용할 수 없는 원료를 사용하였거나 같은 조 제8항에 따른 유통화장품 안전관리 기준에 적합하지 아니한 화장품”
화장품법 Article 8(1), Article 15 item 5 · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법 (법률 제285353호 version in force 2026-10-08)(opens in a new tab)
Ban

Cosmetic that mimics the shape, smell, colour, size or packaging of food so it may be mistaken for food

Banned

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 8 Oct 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 시행일자 2026-10-08.

Every product in the category

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-10-08 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“식품의 형태ㆍ냄새ㆍ색깔ㆍ크기ㆍ용기 및 포장 등을 모방하여 섭취 등 식품으로 오용될 우려가 있는 화장품”
Article 1510. · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법 (법률 제285353호 version in force 2026-10-08)(opens in a new tab)
Ban
Rhinoceros horn and tiger bone and their extracts

Banned

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 8 Oct 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 시행일자 2026-10-08.

Every product in the category

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-10-08 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“코뿔소 뿔 또는 호랑이 뼈와 그 추출물을 사용한 화장품”
화장품법 Article 15 item 6 · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법 (법률 제285353호 version in force 2026-10-08)(opens in a new tab)
Ban

Sale of cosmetics made or imported by an unregistered person

Banned

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 8 Oct 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 시행일자 2026-10-08.

Every product in the category

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-10-08 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“제3조제1항에 따른 등록을 하지 아니한 자가 제조한 화장품 또는 제조ㆍ수입하여 유통ㆍ판매한 화장품”
Article 16(1)1. · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법 (법률 제285353호 version in force 2026-10-08)(opens in a new tab)
Ban

Labelling or advertising that may be mistaken for a medicine

Banned

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 8 Oct 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 시행일자 2026-10-08.

  • Claim: drug like

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-10-08 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“의약품으로 잘못 인식할 우려가 있는 표시 또는 광고”
화장품법 Article 13(1) item 1 · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법 (법률 제285353호 version in force 2026-10-08)(opens in a new tab)
Ban

Non-functional cosmetic labelled as functional, or claims differing from the review result

Banned

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 8 Oct 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 시행일자 2026-10-08.

  • Claim: functional cosmetic
  • Makes a functional or quasi-drug claim (for example whitening or anti-wrinkle): no

Depends on: quasi drug or functional claim

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-10-08 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“기능성화장품이 아닌 화장품을 기능성화장품으로 잘못 인식할 우려가 있거나 기능성화장품의 안전성ㆍ유효성에 관한 심사결과와 다른 내용의 표시 또는 광고”
화장품법 Article 13(1) item 2 · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법 (법률 제285353호 version in force 2026-10-08)(opens in a new tab)
Ban

Functional cosmetic sold without review or report

Banned

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 8 Oct 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 시행일자 2026-10-08.

  • Makes a functional or quasi-drug claim (for example whitening or anti-wrinkle)

Depends on: quasi drug or functional claim

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-10-08 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“제4조에 따른 심사를 받지 아니하거나 보고서를 제출하지 아니한 기능성화장품”
Article 151. · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법 (법률 제285353호 version in force 2026-10-08)(opens in a new tab)
Ban x 1,436

1,436 rules from 화장품 안전기준 등에 관한 규정 (MFDS notice 2026-19)

Banned

Show targets (40 of 1,436)

The remaining targets are listed on the substances page.

Every product in the category

18 Mar 2026

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: 1-Chloro-4-nitrobenzene (CAS 100-00-5)

From the official list: 1-클로로-4-니트로벤젠 · 100-00-5

  • Applied as a spray

Depends on: sprayable

18 Mar 2026

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: Glutaral (Glutaraldehyde (Pentane-1,5-dial); CAS 111-30-8)

From the official list: 글루타랄(펜탄 · 0.1% · 에어로졸(스프레 · 111-30-8

Ban
Benzethonium Chloride (CAS 121-54-0)

Banned

Official text, current to 18 Mar 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 발령/시행 2026-03-18.

  • Applied to: Lips or Mouth or Teeth and gums or External genital area

Depends on: body area

In force under the consolidated notice effective 18 Mar 2026; earlier versions are not in our data

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 18 Mar 2026

The tables carry no row-level dates. The notice as amended by 2026-19 is in force from 2026-03-18 (부칙 제1조); earlier amendment dates of single rows are in the older 부칙 and are not linked to rows, so the in-force date of the current text is used.

From the official list: 벤제토늄클로라이 · 0.1% · 점막에 · 121-54-0

Ban
p-Chloro-m-Cresol (Chlorocresol; CAS 59-50-7)

Banned

Official text, current to 18 Mar 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 발령/시행 2026-03-18.

  • Applied to: Lips or Mouth or Teeth and gums or External genital area

Depends on: body area

In force under the consolidated notice effective 18 Mar 2026; earlier versions are not in our data

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 18 Mar 2026

The tables carry no row-level dates. The notice as amended by 2026-19 is in force from 2026-03-18 (부칙 제1조); earlier amendment dates of single rows are in the older 부칙 and are not linked to rows, so the in-force date of the current text is used.

From the official list: p-클로로-m-크레 · 0.04% · 점막에 · 59-50-7

Ban
소듐라우로일사코시네이트 (CAS 137-16-6)

Banned

Official text, current to 18 Mar 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 발령/시행 2026-03-18.

  • Leave-on product

Depends on: rinse off

In force under the consolidated notice effective 18 Mar 2026; earlier versions are not in our data

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 18 Mar 2026

The tables carry no row-level dates. The notice as amended by 2026-19 is in force from 2026-03-18 (부칙 제1조); earlier amendment dates of single rows are in the older 부칙 and are not linked to rows, so the in-force date of the current text is used.

From the official list: 소듐라우로일사코 · 사용 후 · 기타 제품에는 · 137-16-6

Ban
베타인살리실레이트 (CAS 17671-53-3)

Banned

Official text, current to 18 Mar 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 발령/시행 2026-03-18.

  • Intended for children under 3

Depends on: intended for children under 3

In force under the consolidated notice effective 18 Mar 2026; earlier versions are not in our data

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 18 Mar 2026

The tables carry no row-level dates. The notice as amended by 2026-19 is in force from 2026-03-18 (부칙 제1조); earlier amendment dates of single rows are in the older 부칙 and are not linked to rows, so the in-force date of the current text is used.

From the official list: 살리실릭애씨드 및 · 살리실릭애씨드 · 영유아용 제품류 · 69-72-7 · 살리실릭

Ban
마그네슘살리실레이트 (CAS 18917-89-0)

Banned

Official text, current to 18 Mar 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 발령/시행 2026-03-18.

  • Intended for children under 3

Depends on: intended for children under 3

In force under the consolidated notice effective 18 Mar 2026; earlier versions are not in our data

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 18 Mar 2026

The tables carry no row-level dates. The notice as amended by 2026-19 is in force from 2026-03-18 (부칙 제1조); earlier amendment dates of single rows are in the older 부칙 and are not linked to rows, so the in-force date of the current text is used.

From the official list: 살리실릭애씨드 및 · 살리실릭애씨드 · 영유아용 제품류 · 69-72-7 · 살리실릭

Ban
TEA-살리실레이트 (CAS 2174-16-5)

Banned

Official text, current to 18 Mar 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 발령/시행 2026-03-18.

  • Intended for children under 3

Depends on: intended for children under 3

In force under the consolidated notice effective 18 Mar 2026; earlier versions are not in our data

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 18 Mar 2026

The tables carry no row-level dates. The notice as amended by 2026-19 is in force from 2026-03-18 (부칙 제1조); earlier amendment dates of single rows are in the older 부칙 and are not linked to rows, so the in-force date of the current text is used.

From the official list: 살리실릭애씨드 및 · 살리실릭애씨드 · 영유아용 제품류 · 69-72-7 · 살리실릭

Ban
소듐살리실레이트 (CAS 54-21-7)

Banned

Official text, current to 18 Mar 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 발령/시행 2026-03-18.

  • Intended for children under 3

Depends on: intended for children under 3

In force under the consolidated notice effective 18 Mar 2026; earlier versions are not in our data

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 18 Mar 2026

The tables carry no row-level dates. The notice as amended by 2026-19 is in force from 2026-03-18 (부칙 제1조); earlier amendment dates of single rows are in the older 부칙 and are not linked to rows, so the in-force date of the current text is used.

From the official list: 살리실릭애씨드 및 · 살리실릭애씨드 · 영유아용 제품류 · 69-72-7 · 살리실릭

Ban
포타슘살리실레이트 (CAS 578-36-9)

Banned

Official text, current to 18 Mar 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 발령/시행 2026-03-18.

  • Intended for children under 3

Depends on: intended for children under 3

In force under the consolidated notice effective 18 Mar 2026; earlier versions are not in our data

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 18 Mar 2026

The tables carry no row-level dates. The notice as amended by 2026-19 is in force from 2026-03-18 (부칙 제1조); earlier amendment dates of single rows are in the older 부칙 and are not linked to rows, so the in-force date of the current text is used.

From the official list: 살리실릭애씨드 및 · 살리실릭애씨드 · 영유아용 제품류 · 69-72-7 · 살리실릭

Ban
엠이에이-살리실레이트 (CAS 59866-70-5)

Banned

Official text, current to 18 Mar 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 발령/시행 2026-03-18.

  • Intended for children under 3

Depends on: intended for children under 3

In force under the consolidated notice effective 18 Mar 2026; earlier versions are not in our data

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 18 Mar 2026

The tables carry no row-level dates. The notice as amended by 2026-19 is in force from 2026-03-18 (부칙 제1조); earlier amendment dates of single rows are in the older 부칙 and are not linked to rows, so the in-force date of the current text is used.

From the official list: 살리실릭애씨드 및 · 살리실릭애씨드 · 영유아용 제품류 · 69-72-7 · 살리실릭

Ban
Salicylic acid (Benzoic acid, 2-hydroxy-; CAS 69-72-7)

Banned

Official text, current to 18 Mar 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 발령/시행 2026-03-18.

  • Intended for children under 3

Depends on: intended for children under 3

In force under the consolidated notice effective 18 Mar 2026; earlier versions are not in our data

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 18 Mar 2026

The tables carry no row-level dates. The notice as amended by 2026-19 is in force from 2026-03-18 (부칙 제1조); earlier amendment dates of single rows are in the older 부칙 and are not linked to rows, so the in-force date of the current text is used.

From the official list: 살리실릭애씨드 및 · 살리실릭애씨드 · 영유아용 제품류 · 69-72-7 · 살리실릭

Ban
칼슘살리실레이트 (CAS 824-35-1)

Banned

Official text, current to 18 Mar 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 발령/시행 2026-03-18.

  • Intended for children under 3

Depends on: intended for children under 3

In force under the consolidated notice effective 18 Mar 2026; earlier versions are not in our data

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 18 Mar 2026

The tables carry no row-level dates. The notice as amended by 2026-19 is in force from 2026-03-18 (부칙 제1조); earlier amendment dates of single rows are in the older 부칙 and are not linked to rows, so the in-force date of the current text is used.

From the official list: 살리실릭애씨드 및 · 살리실릭애씨드 · 영유아용 제품류 · 69-72-7 · 살리실릭

Gaps

Markets without rules for this category

We have no rules for this category in these markets. That doesn't mean none apply, so a check here says Not covered, never clear.

ClaraDB gives a verdict only for PFAS state laws for cookware and bakeware, California Proposition 65 consumer-product warning check for BPA, BPS, formaldehyde, styrene, antimony trioxide, vinyl acetate, lead and cadmium, California Proposition 65 warning check for candles and ceramicware (lead, cadmium, formaldehyde, acetaldehyde, benzene, naphthalene, carbon monoxide, benzo[a]pyrene), US packaging EPR producer size thresholds (California, Colorado, Maryland, Minnesota, Oregon, Washington) for a brand-owning manufacturer, US lead in children's products and furniture (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in toys and child care articles (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in children's products (other) and bags (lead paint and total lead content), US phthalates in children's toys and child care articles (DEHP, DBP, BBP, DINP, DIBP, DPENP, DHEXP, DCHP) and US children's product certificate and tracking label for children's tableware (AI-checked, quotes verified word for word). Every other answer shows the laws and quotes found without saying whether they apply. Not checked: Consumer electronics (FCC equipment authorization, 47 CFR Parts 2 and 15, energy rules). What ClaraDB has checked

Show 1 market
Market
Coverage
Main sources; no modeled rule is scoped to this category. Not covered: other rules that may apply.
  • Coverage
    Main sources; no modeled rule is scoped to this category. Not covered: other rules that may apply.

Facts

What we need to know about your product

Some rules depend on details of your product. Until you tell us, a check says Needs answers and asks for what's missing.

Show 36 facts
Depends on
Markets
Rules
Whether the listed substance or group is present
EU, GB, JP, KR, US, US-CA, US-CO, US-CT, US-IL, US-MD, US-ME, US-MN, US-NJ, US-RI, US-VT, US-WA
7,475
Number of employees at the seller
US-CA
972
Body area
EU, GB, JP, KR
230
Rinse off
EU, GB, JP, KR, US-CA
221
Economic operator role
EU, GB, KR, US
90
Contains battery
EU, GB, US
39
Sprayable
EU, GB, KR
34
Intended for children under 3
EU, GB, KR
24
Battery category
EU, GB
22
Otc drug claim
US, US-MN
19
Quasi drug or functional claim
JP, KR
13
Net content ml
EU, GB, KR
10
Battery chemistry
US
9
Aerosol dispenser
JP, KR, US
8
Professional use
EU, GB, US
7
Customised cosmetic
KR
7
Rechargeable
US
6
Animal testing conducted
EU, GB, KR
5
Annual gross revenue usd
US-CO, US-MD, US-MN, US-OR, US-WA
5
Contains nanomaterial
EU, GB
2
Intended for children under 12
KR
2
Single use
KR
2
Button or coin cell
US
2
Distance sale to other member state
EU
1
Imported
KR
1
Cattle derived material
US
1
Uses sunscreen term
US
1
Safety substantiated
US
1
Battery removable
US
1
Ca gross sales usd
US-CA
1
Packaging tons co
US-CO
1
Packaging tons md
US-MD
1
Packaging tons mn
US-MN
1
Packaging tonnes or
US-OR
1
Fluorine treated container
US-VT
1
Packaging tons wa
US-WA
1
  • Whether the listed substance or group is present
    Markets
    EU, GB, JP, KR, US, US-CA, US-CO, US-CT, US-IL, US-MD, US-ME, US-MN, US-NJ, US-RI, US-VT, US-WA
    Rules
    7,475
  • Number of employees at the seller
    Markets
    US-CA
    Rules
    972
  • Body area
    Markets
    EU, GB, JP, KR
    Rules
    230
  • Rinse off
    Markets
    EU, GB, JP, KR, US-CA
    Rules
    221
  • Economic operator role
    Markets
    EU, GB, KR, US
    Rules
    90
  • Contains battery
    Markets
    EU, GB, US
    Rules
    39
  • Sprayable
    Markets
    EU, GB, KR
    Rules
    34
  • Intended for children under 3
    Markets
    EU, GB, KR
    Rules
    24
  • Battery category
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    22
  • Otc drug claim
    Markets
    US, US-MN
    Rules
    19
  • Quasi drug or functional claim
    Markets
    JP, KR
    Rules
    13
  • Net content ml
    Markets
    EU, GB, KR
    Rules
    10
  • Battery chemistry
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    9
  • Aerosol dispenser
    Markets
    JP, KR, US
    Rules
    8
  • Professional use
    Markets
    EU, GB, US
    Rules
    7
  • Customised cosmetic
    Markets
    KR
    Rules
    7
  • Rechargeable
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    6
  • Animal testing conducted
    Markets
    EU, GB, KR
    Rules
    5
  • Annual gross revenue usd
    Markets
    US-CO, US-MD, US-MN, US-OR, US-WA
    Rules
    5
  • Contains nanomaterial
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    2
  • Intended for children under 12
    Markets
    KR
    Rules
    2
  • Single use
    Markets
    KR
    Rules
    2
  • Button or coin cell
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    2
  • Distance sale to other member state
    Markets
    EU
    Rules
    1
  • Imported
    Markets
    KR
    Rules
    1
  • Cattle derived material
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Uses sunscreen term
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Safety substantiated
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Battery removable
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Ca gross sales usd
    Markets
    US-CA
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tons co
    Markets
    US-CO
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tons md
    Markets
    US-MD
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tons mn
    Markets
    US-MN
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tonnes or
    Markets
    US-OR
    Rules
    1
  • Fluorine treated container
    Markets
    US-VT
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tons wa
    Markets
    US-WA
    Rules
    1

Changes

Upcoming changes

Rules for this category that start in the next 24 months, or are proposed or on hold.

Show 41 upcoming changes
Requirement
Applies when
Effective
Source
WarningUS-CA
N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine (CAS 758-17-8)

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 8 Dec 2026

Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026

Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
CAS No.
758-17-8
Date listed
8 Dec 2025

Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Bisphenol S (BPS) (CAS 80-09-1)

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).

“a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that will produce no observable reproductive effect (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 8 Dec 2026

Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026

Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Bisphenol S (BPS)
Type of toxicity
developmental toxicity
Listed by
the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
CAS No.
80-09-1
Date listed
8 Dec 2025

Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Tacrolimus (CAS 104987-11-3)

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Tacrolimus
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the Labor Code (LC)
CAS No.
104987-11-3
Date listed
17 Jul 2026

Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Hydrochlorothiazide

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Hydrochlorothiazide
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the Labor Code (LC)
CAS No.
58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
Date listed
17 Jul 2026

Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Voriconazole

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Voriconazole
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the Labor Code (LC)
CAS No.
137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
Date listed
17 Jul 2026

Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Welding Fumes

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Welding Fumes
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the Labor Code (LC)
CAS No.
none given
Date listed
17 Jul 2026

Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
BanEU
Triphenyl Phosphate (CAS 115-86-6)

Banned

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

Every product in the category

Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

From the consolidated text: Triphenyl Phosphate (13) · 115-86-6 · 204-112-2

LimitEU
Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)

Limit 0.7 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (f) 0,7 %. Field of application: (f) Body lotion.

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Body

Depends on: body area

Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

From the consolidated text: (f) Body lotion · (f) 0,7 %

Limit x 11EU

11 rules from Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 on cosmetic products, Annexes II-VI (consolidated)

Limit 0.2 % (content basis)

Show targets (11 of 11)

Every product in the category

1 Jan 2027

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)

From the consolidated text: (g) Face make-up and make-up remover products · (g) 0,2 %

LimitEU
Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)

Limit 0.004 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (h) 0,004 %. Field of application: (h) Oral products.

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Mouth or Teeth and gums

Depends on: body area

Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

From the consolidated text: (h) Oral products · (h) 0,004 %

  • WarningUS-CA
    N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine (CAS 758-17-8)

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 8 Dec 2026

    Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026

    Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
    CAS No.
    758-17-8
    Date listed
    8 Dec 2025

    Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Bisphenol S (BPS) (CAS 80-09-1)

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).

    “a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that will produce no observable reproductive effect (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 8 Dec 2026

    Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026

    Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Bisphenol S (BPS)
    Type of toxicity
    developmental toxicity
    Listed by
    the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
    CAS No.
    80-09-1
    Date listed
    8 Dec 2025

    Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Tacrolimus (CAS 104987-11-3)

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

    Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

    Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Tacrolimus
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the Labor Code (LC)
    CAS No.
    104987-11-3
    Date listed
    17 Jul 2026

    Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Hydrochlorothiazide

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

    Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

    Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Hydrochlorothiazide
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the Labor Code (LC)
    CAS No.
    58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
    Date listed
    17 Jul 2026

    Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Voriconazole

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

    Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

    Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Voriconazole
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the Labor Code (LC)
    CAS No.
    137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
    Date listed
    17 Jul 2026

    Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Welding Fumes

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

    Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

    Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Welding Fumes
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the Labor Code (LC)
    CAS No.
    none given
    Date listed
    17 Jul 2026

    Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • BanEU
    Triphenyl Phosphate (CAS 115-86-6)

    Banned

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

    Applies when

    Every product in the category

    Effective

    Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

    Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

    Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

    Source

    From the consolidated text: Triphenyl Phosphate (13) · 115-86-6 · 204-112-2

  • LimitEU
    Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)

    Limit 0.7 % (content basis)

    In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (f) 0,7 %. Field of application: (f) Body lotion.

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

    Applies when
    • Applied to: Body

    Depends on: body area

    Effective

    Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

    Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

    Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

    Source

    From the consolidated text: (f) Body lotion · (f) 0,7 %

  • Limit x 11EU

    11 rules from Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 on cosmetic products, Annexes II-VI (consolidated)

    Limit 0.2 % (content basis)

    Show targets (11 of 11)
    Applies when

    Every product in the category

    Effective

    1 Jan 2027

    Each rule has its own date; open a target.

    Source

    Example: Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)

    From the consolidated text: (g) Face make-up and make-up remover products · (g) 0,2 %

  • LimitEU
    Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)

    Limit 0.004 % (content basis)

    In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (h) 0,004 %. Field of application: (h) Oral products.

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

    Applies when
    • Applied to: Mouth or Teeth and gums

    Depends on: body area

    Effective

    Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

    Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

    Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

    Source

    From the consolidated text: (h) Oral products · (h) 0,004 %

All dated changes

Records

Recalls and alerts

Recalls, safety alerts and Prop 65 notices that name Lip products, with a link to the original. A Prop 65 notice is a claim by the sender, not a ruling.

42 records dated 19 Jul 2023 to 7 Aug 2026. Most recent shown.

Show the 8 most recent records

See also

Related categories

Alerts

Get an email when these rules change.

Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.

Check a productStart a workspace

Free for 10 products. Email alerts from $39 a month. See pricing