Cosmetics and personal care
Which rules apply to artificial nail systems?
We track 6,818 rules for these in 20 of 21 markets, including California's Prop 65 list of 883 chemicals. Check your product free, no account needed.
- Free
- No account needed
- The law behind every rule
Cosmetics and personal care / Nail products / Artificial nail systems
Gel, acrylic and builder products; methacrylate monomers; often professional use.
Rules
Rules by market
Open a market to read its rules for this category.
Not covered · What is covered
Oregon (US state): ClaraDB stores no laws for this market yet (not stored: PFAS in cosmetics (reported SB 546, 2027+); Unverified; official text).
Oregon (US state) is not covered for this category.
The product contains no more than 0.1 percent by mass of pentabrominated, octabrominated or decabrominated diphenyl ether
Must meet the conditions of PBDE flame retardants: a person may not introduce or deliver for introduction into commerce in Oregon any product containing more than one-tenth of one percent by mass of pentaBDE, octaBDE or decaBDE (ORS 453.085(16))
Exemptions (2)
Used products.
“(a) Used products; or”
Replacement parts for products introduced into commerce before January 1, 2006 (penta, octa) or January 1, 2011 (deca).
“(b) Replacement parts for products containing more than one-tenth of one percent by mass of pentabrominated diphenyl ether or octabrominated diphenyl ether introduced into commerce before January 1, 2006, or replacement parts for products containing more than one-tenth of one percent by mass of decabrominated diphenyl ether introduced into commerce before January 1, 2011.”
Official text, current to 27 Oct 2026. Oregon Legislature ORS chapter 453 page (2025 edition), read from the Internet Archive capture because the official host timed out on 2026-10-27 (agency-copy).
Every product in the category
In force since 1 Jan 2006
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2006
The subsection states no start date; its replacement-part exemption is keyed to products introduced into commerce before January 1, 2006 (penta and octa) and January 1, 2011 (deca), so 2006-01-01 is used as the start (derived); the deca limit applies from 2011-01-01 on the same reading.
“(16) The introduction or delivery for introduction into commerce of any product containing more than one-tenth of one percent by mass of pentabrominated diphenyl ether, octabrominated diphenyl ether or decabrominated diphenyl ether.”
Register with and be a member of a producer responsibility organization (PRO) for the product's packaging and pay its membership fee
Registration required
Packaging EPR: each producer must register with and be a member of a producer responsibility organization that administers a producer responsibility program (ORS 459A.869(1)) and pay the annual membership fee (459A.869(2), (5)); this applies to producers that sell, offer for sale or distribute covered products in or into Oregon on or after July 1, 2025 (2021 c.681 s.60). Covered product (459A.863(6)(a)): packaging, printing and writing paper and food serviceware.
Exemptions (1)
A small producer (gross revenue under $5 million, or under one metric ton of covered products into Oregon) is exempt from PRO membership
“(1) A small producer is exempt from the requirement to be a member of a producer responsibility organization under ORS 459A.869.”
Unofficial copy of the text, current to 27 Oct 2026. Unofficial republication of the official ORS text (oregon.public.law); the official host (oregonlegislature.gov) blocks this network.
- Your total gross revenue in the most recent year at least 5000000 USD
- Covered products you sold into Oregon last year at least 1 metric tons
- You are its producer under ORS 459A.866(1) (for items sold in packaging at a physical retail location in Oregon: the person that manufactures the packaged item under its own brand; the brand licensee; if none in the United States, the importer; for remote sales, the person that packages and ships the item for the shipping packaging), and you are not a small producer (ORS 459A.863(32): gross revenue of less than $5 million for the most recent fiscal year, or less than one metric ton of covered products sold in or into Oregon in the most recent calendar year)
Depends on: annual gross revenue usd, packaging tonnes or
In force since 1 Jul 2025
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jul 2025
PRO membership applies to producers that sell, offer for sale or distribute covered products in or into Oregon on or after July 1, 2025 (2021 c.681 s.60, note under ORS 459A.869).
“(1) Except as provided in subsection (4) of this section and ORS 459A.872, each producer must register with and be a member of a producer responsibility organization that administers a producer responsibility program.”
- Conformity
The product contains no more than 0.1 percent by mass of pentabrominated, octabrominated or decabrominated diphenyl ether
Must meet the conditions of PBDE flame retardants: a person may not introduce or deliver for introduction into commerce in Oregon any product containing more than one-tenth of one percent by mass of pentaBDE, octaBDE or decaBDE (ORS 453.085(16))
Exemptions (2)
Used products.
“(a) Used products; or”
ORS 453.085(16)(a) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-27Oregon State Legislature (Legislative Counsel): ORS 453.085(16)(opens in a new tab) Replacement parts for products introduced into commerce before January 1, 2006 (penta, octa) or January 1, 2011 (deca).
“(b) Replacement parts for products containing more than one-tenth of one percent by mass of pentabrominated diphenyl ether or octabrominated diphenyl ether introduced into commerce before January 1, 2006, or replacement parts for products containing more than one-tenth of one percent by mass of decabrominated diphenyl ether introduced into commerce before January 1, 2011.”
ORS 453.085(16)(b) · fetched 2026-10-27Oregon State Legislature (Legislative Counsel): ORS 453.085(16)(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 27 Oct 2026. Oregon Legislature ORS chapter 453 page (2025 edition), read from the Internet Archive capture because the official host timed out on 2026-10-27 (agency-copy).
- Applies when
Every product in the category
- Effective
In force since 1 Jan 2006
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2006
The subsection states no start date; its replacement-part exemption is keyed to products introduced into commerce before January 1, 2006 (penta and octa) and January 1, 2011 (deca), so 2006-01-01 is used as the start (derived); the deca limit applies from 2011-01-01 on the same reading.
- Source
“(16) The introduction or delivery for introduction into commerce of any product containing more than one-tenth of one percent by mass of pentabrominated diphenyl ether, octabrominated diphenyl ether or decabrominated diphenyl ether.”
ORS 453.085(16) · fetched 2026-10-27Oregon State Legislature (Legislative Counsel): ORS 453.085(16)(opens in a new tab)
- Registration
Register with and be a member of a producer responsibility organization (PRO) for the product's packaging and pay its membership fee
Registration required
Packaging EPR: each producer must register with and be a member of a producer responsibility organization that administers a producer responsibility program (ORS 459A.869(1)) and pay the annual membership fee (459A.869(2), (5)); this applies to producers that sell, offer for sale or distribute covered products in or into Oregon on or after July 1, 2025 (2021 c.681 s.60). Covered product (459A.863(6)(a)): packaging, printing and writing paper and food serviceware.
Exemptions (1)
A small producer (gross revenue under $5 million, or under one metric ton of covered products into Oregon) is exempt from PRO membership
“(1) A small producer is exempt from the requirement to be a member of a producer responsibility organization under ORS 459A.869.”
ORS 459A.872(1) · fetched 2026-10-27Oregon Legislature (Legislative Counsel), ORS text as republished by oregon.public.law: ORS 459A.863, 459A.866, 459A.869, 459A.872(opens in a new tab) Unofficial copy of the text, current to 27 Oct 2026. Unofficial republication of the official ORS text (oregon.public.law); the official host (oregonlegislature.gov) blocks this network.
- Applies when
- Your total gross revenue in the most recent year at least 5000000 USD
- Covered products you sold into Oregon last year at least 1 metric tons
- You are its producer under ORS 459A.866(1) (for items sold in packaging at a physical retail location in Oregon: the person that manufactures the packaged item under its own brand; the brand licensee; if none in the United States, the importer; for remote sales, the person that packages and ships the item for the shipping packaging), and you are not a small producer (ORS 459A.863(32): gross revenue of less than $5 million for the most recent fiscal year, or less than one metric ton of covered products sold in or into Oregon in the most recent calendar year)
Depends on: annual gross revenue usd, packaging tonnes or
- Effective
In force since 1 Jul 2025
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jul 2025
PRO membership applies to producers that sell, offer for sale or distribute covered products in or into Oregon on or after July 1, 2025 (2021 c.681 s.60, note under ORS 459A.869).
- Source
“(1) Except as provided in subsection (4) of this section and ORS 459A.872, each producer must register with and be a member of a producer responsibility organization that administers a producer responsibility program.”
ORS 459A.869(1) · fetched 2026-10-27Oregon Legislature (Legislative Counsel), ORS text as republished by oregon.public.law: ORS 459A.863, 459A.866, 459A.869, 459A.872(opens in a new tab)
Gaps
Markets without rules for this category
We have no rules for this category in these markets. That doesn't mean none apply, so a check here says Not covered, never clear.
ClaraDB gives a verdict only for PFAS state laws for cookware and bakeware, California Proposition 65 consumer-product warning check for BPA, BPS, formaldehyde, styrene, antimony trioxide, vinyl acetate, lead and cadmium, California Proposition 65 warning check for candles and ceramicware (lead, cadmium, formaldehyde, acetaldehyde, benzene, naphthalene, carbon monoxide, benzo[a]pyrene), US packaging EPR producer size thresholds (California, Colorado, Maryland, Minnesota, Oregon, Washington) for a brand-owning manufacturer, US lead in children's products and furniture (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in toys and child care articles (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in children's products (other) and bags (lead paint and total lead content), US phthalates in children's toys and child care articles (DEHP, DBP, BBP, DINP, DIBP, DPENP, DHEXP, DCHP) and US children's product certificate and tracking label for children's tableware (AI-checked, quotes verified word for word). Every other answer shows the laws and quotes found without saying whether they apply. Not checked: Consumer electronics (FCC equipment authorization, 47 CFR Parts 2 and 15, energy rules). What ClaraDB has checked
Show 1 market
- Coverage
- Main sources; no modeled rule is scoped to this category. Not covered: other rules that may apply.
Facts
What we need to know about your product
Some rules depend on details of your product. Until you tell us, a check says Needs answers and asks for what's missing.
Show 36 facts
- Whether the listed substance or group is present
- Markets
- EU, GB, JP, KR, US, US-CA, US-CO, US-CT, US-IL, US-MD, US-ME, US-MN, US-NJ, US-RI, US-VT, US-WA
- Rules
- 7,517
- Number of employees at the seller
- Markets
- US-CA
- Rules
- 972
- Body area
- Markets
- EU, GB, JP, KR
- Rules
- 236
- Rinse off
- Markets
- EU, GB, JP, KR, US-CA
- Rules
- 222
- Economic operator role
- Markets
- EU, GB, KR, US
- Rules
- 90
- Contains battery
- Markets
- EU, GB, US
- Rules
- 39
- Sprayable
- Markets
- EU, GB, KR
- Rules
- 36
- Intended for children under 3
- Markets
- EU, GB, KR
- Rules
- 24
- Battery category
- Markets
- EU, GB
- Rules
- 22
- Otc drug claim
- Markets
- US, US-MN
- Rules
- 19
- Professional use
- Markets
- EU, GB, US
- Rules
- 14
- Quasi drug or functional claim
- Markets
- JP, KR
- Rules
- 13
- Net content ml
- Markets
- EU, GB, KR
- Rules
- 10
- Battery chemistry
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 9
- Aerosol dispenser
- Markets
- JP, KR, US
- Rules
- 8
- Customised cosmetic
- Markets
- KR
- Rules
- 7
- Rechargeable
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 6
- Animal testing conducted
- Markets
- EU, GB, KR
- Rules
- 5
- Annual gross revenue usd
- Markets
- US-CO, US-MD, US-MN, US-OR, US-WA
- Rules
- 5
- Contains nanomaterial
- Markets
- EU, GB
- Rules
- 2
- Intended for children under 12
- Markets
- KR
- Rules
- 2
- Single use
- Markets
- KR
- Rules
- 2
- Button or coin cell
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 2
- Distance sale to other member state
- Markets
- EU
- Rules
- 1
- Imported
- Markets
- KR
- Rules
- 1
- Cattle derived material
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Uses sunscreen term
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Safety substantiated
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Battery removable
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Ca gross sales usd
- Markets
- US-CA
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons co
- Markets
- US-CO
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons md
- Markets
- US-MD
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons mn
- Markets
- US-MN
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tonnes or
- Markets
- US-OR
- Rules
- 1
- Fluorine treated container
- Markets
- US-VT
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons wa
- Markets
- US-WA
- Rules
- 1
Changes
Upcoming changes
Rules for this category that start in the next 24 months, or are proposed or on hold.
Show 43 upcoming changes
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 758-17-8
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).
“a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Bisphenol S (BPS)
- Type of toxicity
- developmental toxicity
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 80-09-1
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Tacrolimus
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 104987-11-3
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Hydrochlorothiazide
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Voriconazole
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Welding Fumes
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- none given
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Banned
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
Every product in the category
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027
Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).
From the consolidated text: Triphenyl Phosphate (13) · 115-86-6 · 204-112-2
Annex II entry 1767 · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)Limit 0.7 % (content basis)
In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (f) 0,7 %. Field of application: (f) Body lotion.
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applied to: Body
Depends on: body area
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027
Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).
From the consolidated text: (f) Body lotion · (f) 0,7 %
Annex III entry 75 (l5) · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)12 rules from Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 on cosmetic products, Annexes II-VI (consolidated)
Limit 0.2 % (content basis)
Show targets (12 of 12)
- Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
- Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
- Diethylamino Hydroxybenzoyl Hexyl Benzoate (DHHB) (Benzoic acid, 2-[4-(diethylamino)-2- hydroxybenzoyl]-, hexyl ester; CAS 302776-68-7)
- Citral Geranial (CAS 5392-40-5)
- Citral Geranial (CAS 5392-40-5)
- Zinc Acetate (CAS 557-34-6)
- Acetylated Vetiveria Zizanioides Root Extract (Vetiveria zizanioides, ext., acetylated Oils, vetiver, acetylated; CAS 84082-84-8)
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
Every product in the category
1 Jan 2027
Each rule has its own date; open a target.
Example: Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
From the consolidated text: (g) Face make-up and make-up remover products · (g) 0,2 %
Annex III entry 75 (l6) · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)Limit 0.004 % (content basis)
In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (h) 0,004 %. Field of application: (h) Oral products.
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applied to: Mouth or Teeth and gums
Depends on: body area
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027
Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).
From the consolidated text: (h) Oral products · (h) 0,004 %
Annex III entry 75 (l7) · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)- WarningUS-CAN-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine (CAS 758-17-8)
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 758-17-8
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CABisphenol S (BPS) (CAS 80-09-1)
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).
“a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that will produce no observable reproductive effect (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Bisphenol S (BPS)
- Type of toxicity
- developmental toxicity
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 80-09-1
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CATacrolimus (CAS 104987-11-3)
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Tacrolimus
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 104987-11-3
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CAHydrochlorothiazide
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Hydrochlorothiazide
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CAVoriconazole
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Voriconazole
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CAWelding Fumes
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Welding Fumes
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- none given
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- BanEUTriphenyl Phosphate (CAS 115-86-6)
Banned
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applies when
Every product in the category
- Effective
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027
Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).
- Source
From the consolidated text: Triphenyl Phosphate (13) · 115-86-6 · 204-112-2
Annex II entry 1767 · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
- LimitEUBenzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
Limit 0.7 % (content basis)
In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (f) 0,7 %. Field of application: (f) Body lotion.
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applies when
- Applied to: Body
Depends on: body area
- Effective
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027
Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).
- Source
From the consolidated text: (f) Body lotion · (f) 0,7 %
Annex III entry 75 (l5) · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
- Limit x 12EU
12 rules from Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 on cosmetic products, Annexes II-VI (consolidated)
Limit 0.2 % (content basis)
Show targets (12 of 12)
- Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
- Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
- Diethylamino Hydroxybenzoyl Hexyl Benzoate (DHHB) (Benzoic acid, 2-[4-(diethylamino)-2- hydroxybenzoyl]-, hexyl ester; CAS 302776-68-7)
- Citral Geranial (CAS 5392-40-5)
- Citral Geranial (CAS 5392-40-5)
- Zinc Acetate (CAS 557-34-6)
- Acetylated Vetiveria Zizanioides Root Extract (Vetiveria zizanioides, ext., acetylated Oils, vetiver, acetylated; CAS 84082-84-8)
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Applies when
Every product in the category
- Effective
1 Jan 2027
Each rule has its own date; open a target.
- Source
Example: Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
From the consolidated text: (g) Face make-up and make-up remover products · (g) 0,2 %
Annex III entry 75 (l6) · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
- LimitEUBenzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
Limit 0.004 % (content basis)
In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (h) 0,004 %. Field of application: (h) Oral products.
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applies when
- Applied to: Mouth or Teeth and gums
Depends on: body area
- Effective
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027
Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).
- Source
From the consolidated text: (h) Oral products · (h) 0,004 %
Annex III entry 75 (l7) · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Records
Recalls and alerts
Recalls, safety alerts and Prop 65 notices that name Artificial nail systems, with a link to the original. A Prop 65 notice is a claim by the sender, not a ruling.
224 records dated 23 May 2025 to 30 Oct 2026. Most recent shown.
Show the 8 most recent records
- Safety Gate alerts
Gel nail polish - De Luxe
Origin as stated: Ukraine
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Artificial nail systemsNail polish and care
- Safety Gate alerts
Gel nail polish - Builder Gel Nail System
Origin as stated: Ukraine
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Artificial nail systemsNail polish and care
- Safety Gate alerts
Gel nail polish - Builder Gel
Origin as stated: Ukraine
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Artificial nail systemsNail polish and care
- Safety Gate alerts
Gel nail polish - Smalto gel
Origin as stated: People's Republic of China
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Artificial nail systemsNail polish and care
- Safety Gate alerts
Gel nail polish - REPAIR GEL MILKY LILAC
Origin as stated: Greece
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Artificial nail systemsNail polish and care
- Safety Gate alerts
Acrylic powder
Origin as stated: United States
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Artificial nail systems
- Safety Gate alerts
Gel nail polish - Color Life pigmentazione colori 284 e 285
Origin as stated: People's Republic of China
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Artificial nail systemsNail polish and care
- Safety Gate alerts
Gel nail polish - Color Life pigmentazione colori 286 e 288
Origin as stated: People's Republic of China
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Artificial nail systemsNail polish and care
See also
Related categories
- Nail products
Nail polish, care and artificial nail systems.
- Nail polish and care
Nail lacquer, base and top coats, removers and treatments.
Alerts
Get an email when these rules change.
Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.