Cosmetics and personal care
Which rules apply to nail products?
We track 6,801 rules for these in 20 of 21 markets, including California's Prop 65 list of 883 chemicals. Check your product free, no account needed.
- Free
- No account needed
- The law behind every rule
Cosmetics and personal care / Nail products
Nail polish, care and artificial nail systems.
Rules
Rules by market
Open a market to read its rules for this category.
Main sources · What is covered
New Hampshire (US state): main sources stored. Not stored: other rules that may apply.
The product's package and packaging components have no intentionally introduced lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium, and the four together are at most 100 ppm
Must meet the conditions of Toxics in packaging: no product may be offered for sale or for promotional purposes by its manufacturer or distributor in New Hampshire in a package whose package or packaging components (inks, dyes, pigments, adhesives, stabilizers or other additives) include intentionally introduced lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium (149-M:34, II); the four incidentally present in any package or packaging component may not exceed 100 ppm by weight (149-M:34, III).
Exemptions (1)
A regulated metal added to comply with federal health or safety requirements, on an exemption the commissioner grants by petition
“(b) Those packages or packaging components to which lead, cadmium, mercury, or hexavalent chromium have been added in the manufacturing, forming, printing, or distribution process in order to comply with health or safety requirements of federal law”
Official text, current to 12 Jun 2025. Faithful copy: Internet Archive captures (June/July 2025, id_ form) of the official RSA pages 149-M:32 to 149-M:36; gc.nh.gov and gencourt.state.nh.us answer 403 to this network.
- You offer the product in New Hampshire in a package (RSA 149-M:34, II: "No product shall be offered for sale or for promotional purposes by its manufacturer or distributor in the state of New Hampshire in a package"); a product sold with no packaging has nothing to comply
In force since 9 Aug 1996
Applies to products sold on or after 9 Aug 1996
149-M:34 source note: "1996, 251:2, eff. Aug. 9, 1996."
“II. No product shall be offered for sale or for promotional purposes by its manufacturer or distributor in the state of New Hampshire in a package which includes, in the package itself or in any of its packaging components, inks, dyes, pigments, adhesives, stabilizers, or any other additives, any lead, cadmium, mercury, or hexavalent chromium which has been intentionally introduced as an element during manufacturing or distribution.”
- Conformity
The product's package and packaging components have no intentionally introduced lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium, and the four together are at most 100 ppm
Must meet the conditions of Toxics in packaging: no product may be offered for sale or for promotional purposes by its manufacturer or distributor in New Hampshire in a package whose package or packaging components (inks, dyes, pigments, adhesives, stabilizers or other additives) include intentionally introduced lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium (149-M:34, II); the four incidentally present in any package or packaging component may not exceed 100 ppm by weight (149-M:34, III).
Exemptions (1)
A regulated metal added to comply with federal health or safety requirements, on an exemption the commissioner grants by petition
“(b) Those packages or packaging components to which lead, cadmium, mercury, or hexavalent chromium have been added in the manufacturing, forming, printing, or distribution process in order to comply with health or safety requirements of federal law”
RSA 149-M:35, I(b) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-27New Hampshire General Court: RSA 149-M:34(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 12 Jun 2025. Faithful copy: Internet Archive captures (June/July 2025, id_ form) of the official RSA pages 149-M:32 to 149-M:36; gc.nh.gov and gencourt.state.nh.us answer 403 to this network.
- Applies when
- You offer the product in New Hampshire in a package (RSA 149-M:34, II: "No product shall be offered for sale or for promotional purposes by its manufacturer or distributor in the state of New Hampshire in a package"); a product sold with no packaging has nothing to comply
- Effective
In force since 9 Aug 1996
Applies to products sold on or after 9 Aug 1996
149-M:34 source note: "1996, 251:2, eff. Aug. 9, 1996."
- Source
“II. No product shall be offered for sale or for promotional purposes by its manufacturer or distributor in the state of New Hampshire in a package which includes, in the package itself or in any of its packaging components, inks, dyes, pigments, adhesives, stabilizers, or any other additives, any lead, cadmium, mercury, or hexavalent chromium which has been intentionally introduced as an element during manufacturing or distribution.”
RSA 149-M:34, II · fetched 2026-10-27New Hampshire General Court: RSA 149-M:34(opens in a new tab)
Gaps
Markets without rules for this category
We have no rules for this category in these markets. That doesn't mean none apply, so a check here says Not covered, never clear.
ClaraDB gives a verdict only for PFAS state laws for cookware and bakeware, California Proposition 65 consumer-product warning check for BPA, BPS, formaldehyde, styrene, antimony trioxide, vinyl acetate, lead and cadmium, California Proposition 65 warning check for candles and ceramicware (lead, cadmium, formaldehyde, acetaldehyde, benzene, naphthalene, carbon monoxide, benzo[a]pyrene), US packaging EPR producer size thresholds (California, Colorado, Maryland, Minnesota, Oregon, Washington) for a brand-owning manufacturer, US lead in children's products and furniture (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in toys and child care articles (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in children's products (other) and bags (lead paint and total lead content), US phthalates in children's toys and child care articles (DEHP, DBP, BBP, DINP, DIBP, DPENP, DHEXP, DCHP) and US children's product certificate and tracking label for children's tableware (AI-checked, quotes verified word for word). Every other answer shows the laws and quotes found without saying whether they apply. Not checked: Consumer electronics (FCC equipment authorization, 47 CFR Parts 2 and 15, energy rules). What ClaraDB has checked
Show 1 market
- Coverage
- Main sources; no modeled rule is scoped to this category. Not covered: other rules that may apply.
Facts
What we need to know about your product
Some rules depend on details of your product. Until you tell us, a check says Needs answers and asks for what's missing.
Show 36 facts
- Whether the listed substance or group is present
- Markets
- EU, GB, JP, KR, US, US-CA, US-CO, US-CT, US-IL, US-MD, US-ME, US-MN, US-NJ, US-RI, US-VT, US-WA
- Rules
- 7,500
- Number of employees at the seller
- Markets
- US-CA
- Rules
- 972
- Body area
- Markets
- EU, GB, JP, KR
- Rules
- 236
- Rinse off
- Markets
- EU, GB, JP, KR, US-CA
- Rules
- 222
- Economic operator role
- Markets
- EU, GB, KR, US
- Rules
- 90
- Contains battery
- Markets
- EU, GB, US
- Rules
- 39
- Sprayable
- Markets
- EU, GB, KR
- Rules
- 34
- Intended for children under 3
- Markets
- EU, GB, KR
- Rules
- 24
- Battery category
- Markets
- EU, GB
- Rules
- 22
- Otc drug claim
- Markets
- US, US-MN
- Rules
- 19
- Quasi drug or functional claim
- Markets
- JP, KR
- Rules
- 13
- Net content ml
- Markets
- EU, GB, KR
- Rules
- 10
- Battery chemistry
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 9
- Aerosol dispenser
- Markets
- JP, KR, US
- Rules
- 8
- Professional use
- Markets
- EU, GB, US
- Rules
- 7
- Customised cosmetic
- Markets
- KR
- Rules
- 7
- Rechargeable
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 6
- Animal testing conducted
- Markets
- EU, GB, KR
- Rules
- 5
- Annual gross revenue usd
- Markets
- US-CO, US-MD, US-MN, US-OR, US-WA
- Rules
- 5
- Contains nanomaterial
- Markets
- EU, GB
- Rules
- 2
- Intended for children under 12
- Markets
- KR
- Rules
- 2
- Single use
- Markets
- KR
- Rules
- 2
- Button or coin cell
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 2
- Distance sale to other member state
- Markets
- EU
- Rules
- 1
- Imported
- Markets
- KR
- Rules
- 1
- Cattle derived material
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Uses sunscreen term
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Safety substantiated
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Battery removable
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Ca gross sales usd
- Markets
- US-CA
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons co
- Markets
- US-CO
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons md
- Markets
- US-MD
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons mn
- Markets
- US-MN
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tonnes or
- Markets
- US-OR
- Rules
- 1
- Fluorine treated container
- Markets
- US-VT
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons wa
- Markets
- US-WA
- Rules
- 1
Changes
Upcoming changes
Rules for this category that start in the next 24 months, or are proposed or on hold.
Show 43 upcoming changes
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 758-17-8
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).
“a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Bisphenol S (BPS)
- Type of toxicity
- developmental toxicity
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 80-09-1
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Tacrolimus
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 104987-11-3
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Hydrochlorothiazide
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Voriconazole
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Welding Fumes
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- none given
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Banned
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
Every product in the category
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027
Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).
From the consolidated text: Triphenyl Phosphate (13) · 115-86-6 · 204-112-2
Annex II entry 1767 · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)Limit 0.7 % (content basis)
In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (f) 0,7 %. Field of application: (f) Body lotion.
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applied to: Body
Depends on: body area
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027
Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).
From the consolidated text: (f) Body lotion · (f) 0,7 %
Annex III entry 75 (l5) · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)12 rules from Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 on cosmetic products, Annexes II-VI (consolidated)
Limit 0.2 % (content basis)
Show targets (12 of 12)
- Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
- Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
- Diethylamino Hydroxybenzoyl Hexyl Benzoate (DHHB) (Benzoic acid, 2-[4-(diethylamino)-2- hydroxybenzoyl]-, hexyl ester; CAS 302776-68-7)
- Citral Geranial (CAS 5392-40-5)
- Citral Geranial (CAS 5392-40-5)
- Zinc Acetate (CAS 557-34-6)
- Acetylated Vetiveria Zizanioides Root Extract (Vetiveria zizanioides, ext., acetylated Oils, vetiver, acetylated; CAS 84082-84-8)
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
Every product in the category
1 Jan 2027
Each rule has its own date; open a target.
Example: Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
From the consolidated text: (g) Face make-up and make-up remover products · (g) 0,2 %
Annex III entry 75 (l6) · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)Limit 0.004 % (content basis)
In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (h) 0,004 %. Field of application: (h) Oral products.
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applied to: Mouth or Teeth and gums
Depends on: body area
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027
Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).
From the consolidated text: (h) Oral products · (h) 0,004 %
Annex III entry 75 (l7) · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)- WarningUS-CAN-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine (CAS 758-17-8)
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 758-17-8
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CABisphenol S (BPS) (CAS 80-09-1)
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).
“a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that will produce no observable reproductive effect (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Bisphenol S (BPS)
- Type of toxicity
- developmental toxicity
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 80-09-1
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CATacrolimus (CAS 104987-11-3)
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Tacrolimus
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 104987-11-3
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CAHydrochlorothiazide
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Hydrochlorothiazide
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CAVoriconazole
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Voriconazole
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CAWelding Fumes
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Welding Fumes
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- none given
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- BanEUTriphenyl Phosphate (CAS 115-86-6)
Banned
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applies when
Every product in the category
- Effective
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027
Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).
- Source
From the consolidated text: Triphenyl Phosphate (13) · 115-86-6 · 204-112-2
Annex II entry 1767 · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
- LimitEUBenzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
Limit 0.7 % (content basis)
In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (f) 0,7 %. Field of application: (f) Body lotion.
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applies when
- Applied to: Body
Depends on: body area
- Effective
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027
Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).
- Source
From the consolidated text: (f) Body lotion · (f) 0,7 %
Annex III entry 75 (l5) · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
- Limit x 12EU
12 rules from Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 on cosmetic products, Annexes II-VI (consolidated)
Limit 0.2 % (content basis)
Show targets (12 of 12)
- Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
- Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
- Diethylamino Hydroxybenzoyl Hexyl Benzoate (DHHB) (Benzoic acid, 2-[4-(diethylamino)-2- hydroxybenzoyl]-, hexyl ester; CAS 302776-68-7)
- Citral Geranial (CAS 5392-40-5)
- Citral Geranial (CAS 5392-40-5)
- Zinc Acetate (CAS 557-34-6)
- Acetylated Vetiveria Zizanioides Root Extract (Vetiveria zizanioides, ext., acetylated Oils, vetiver, acetylated; CAS 84082-84-8)
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Applies when
Every product in the category
- Effective
1 Jan 2027
Each rule has its own date; open a target.
- Source
Example: Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
From the consolidated text: (g) Face make-up and make-up remover products · (g) 0,2 %
Annex III entry 75 (l6) · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
- LimitEUBenzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
Limit 0.004 % (content basis)
In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (h) 0,004 %. Field of application: (h) Oral products.
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applies when
- Applied to: Mouth or Teeth and gums
Depends on: body area
- Effective
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027
Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).
- Source
From the consolidated text: (h) Oral products · (h) 0,004 %
Annex III entry 75 (l7) · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Records
Recalls and alerts
Recalls, safety alerts and Prop 65 notices that name Nail products, with a link to the original. A Prop 65 notice is a claim by the sender, not a ruling.
256 records dated 16 Feb 2023 to 30 Oct 2026. Most recent shown.
Show the 8 most recent records
- Safety Gate alerts
Gel nail polish - De Luxe
Origin as stated: Ukraine
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Artificial nail systemsNail polish and care
- Safety Gate alerts
Gel nail polish - Builder Gel Nail System
Origin as stated: Ukraine
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Artificial nail systemsNail polish and care
- Safety Gate alerts
Gel nail polish - Builder Gel
Origin as stated: Ukraine
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Artificial nail systemsNail polish and care
- Safety Gate alerts
Gel nail polish - Smalto gel
Origin as stated: People's Republic of China
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Artificial nail systemsNail polish and care
- Safety Gate alerts
Gel nail polish - REPAIR GEL MILKY LILAC
Origin as stated: Greece
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Artificial nail systemsNail polish and care
- Safety Gate alerts
Acrylic powder
Origin as stated: United States
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Artificial nail systems
- Safety Gate alerts
Gel nail polish - Color Life pigmentazione colori 284 e 285
Origin as stated: People's Republic of China
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Artificial nail systemsNail polish and care
- Safety Gate alerts
Gel nail polish - Color Life pigmentazione colori 286 e 288
Origin as stated: People's Republic of China
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Artificial nail systemsNail polish and care
Sub-categories
Further rules in sub-categories
These apply only to the sub-categories below, not to the whole category.
- Nail polish and care11 additional rules
- Artificial nail systems17 additional rules
See also
Related categories
- Cosmetics and personal care
Cosmetic products as defined in EU Reg. 1223/2009 Art. 2, FD&C Act sec. 201(i), the Korean Cosmetics Act and the Japanese PMD Act: substances or mixtures for external parts of the body, teeth or mucous membranes of the mouth, to clean, perfume, change appearance, protect, keep in good condition or correct body odours. Tattoo inks, drugs, devices and quasi-drug claims (JP/KR functional claims, US OTC drug claims) are flagged with attributes or claims, not separate roots.
- Nail polish and care
Nail lacquer, base and top coats, removers and treatments.
- Artificial nail systems
Gel, acrylic and builder products; methacrylate monomers; often professional use.
- Skin care
Face and body skin products, sun protection and exfoliants.
- Hair care and colour
Shampoos, styling, waving, straightening and hair dyes.
- Make-up
Colour cosmetics for face, eyes, lips and lashes.
- Deodorants and antiperspirants
Underarm products.
- Oral care
Toothpaste, mouthwash and tooth whitening.
Alerts
Get an email when these rules change.
Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.