Skip to content

Cosmetics and personal care

Which rules apply to skin care?

We track 6,777 rules for these in 20 of 21 markets, including California's Prop 65 list of 883 chemicals. Check your product free, no account needed.

  • Free
  • No account needed
  • The law behind every rule

Cosmetics and personal care / Skin care

Face and body skin products, sun protection and exfoliants.

Rules

Rules by market

Open a market to read its rules for this category.

Great Britain (England, Scotland, Wales)2,162 rulesCoverage: Main sources, from 19 Aug 2026
Main sources, from 19 Aug 2026 · What is covered

Great Britain (England, Scotland, Wales): main sources stored. Modelled: retained and amended Reg. 1223/2009 Annexes II to VI and Art. 19 (legislation.gov.uk); retained Reg. 1223/2009 Arts. 4 to 13: UK Responsible Person, safety assessment and safety report, product information file, SCPN notification (legislation.gov.uk); Cosmetic Products Enforcement Regulations 2013 (S.I. 2013/1478): labelling language. Not stored: Cosmetic Products Enforcement Regulations 2013 offences, penalties and enforcement powers; differences between GB and Northern Ireland; packaging rules, and the SPF and UVA testing approach for sunscreen claims (Recommendation 2006/647/EC).

Requirement
Applies when
Effective
Source
Limit
Kojic Acid (5-Hydroxy-2-(hydroxymethyl)-4H-pyrane-4-one; CAS 501-30-4)

Limit 1 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: 1%. Field of application: Face and hand products.

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Applied to: Face or Hands

Depends on: body area

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the official list: 5-hydroxy-2-(hydroxymethyl)pyran-4-one · Kojic acid · 501-30-4 · 207-922-4 · Face and hand products · 1%

Limit
Thimerosal (Thiomersal; CAS 54-64-8)

Limit 0.007 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: 0,007 % (of Hg) If mixed with other mercurial compounds authorised by this Regulation, the maximum concentration of Hg remains fixed at 0,007 %. Field of application: Eye products.

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Applied to: Eye area

Depends on: body area

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“0,007 % (of Hg) If mixed with other mercurial compounds authorised by this Regulation, the maximum concentration of Hg remains fixed at 0,007 %”
Annex V entry 16 · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Limit
Phenyl Mercuric Acetate (Phenylmercuric salts (including borate); CAS 62-38-4)

Limit 0.007 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: 0,007 % (of Hg) If mixed with other mercurial compounds authorised by this Regulation, the maximum concentration of Hg remains fixed at 0,007 %. Field of application: Eye products.

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Applied to: Eye area

Depends on: body area

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“0,007 % (of Hg) If mixed with other mercurial compounds authorised by this Regulation, the maximum concentration of Hg remains fixed at 0,007 %”
Annex V entry 17 · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Limit
Benzoic acid Sodium Benzoate (Benzoic acid and its sodium salt; CAS 65-85-0)

Limit 2.5 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: 2,5 % (acid). Field of application: Rinse-off products, except oral products.

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Rinse-off product
  • Applied to: Face or Eye area or Lips or Hair or Scalp or Nails or Hands or Underarm or Body or External genital area

Depends on: rinse off, body area

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the official list: Benzoic acid Sodium Benzoate · 65-85-0 532-32-1 · 200-618-2 208-534-8 · Rinse-off products, except oral products · 2,5 % (acid)

Limit
Phenoxyisopropanol (1-Phenoxypropan-2-ol; CAS 770-35-4)

Limit 2 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: 2 %. Field of application: Use only in rinse-off products Not to be used in oral products. Other: For purposes other than inhibiting the development of micro-organisms in the product. This purpose has to be apparent from the presentation of the product.

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Rinse-off product
  • Applied to: Mouth or Teeth and gums

Depends on: rinse off, body area

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the official list: 1-Phenoxypropan-2-ol · Phenoxyisopropanol · 770-35-4 · 212-222-7 · Use only in rinse-off products Not to be used in oral products · 2 %

Limit
Methyleugenol (CAS 93-15-2)

Limit 0.0002 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: 0,0002 %. Field of application: Other leave-on products and oral products.

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Leave-on product
  • Applied to: Mouth or Teeth and gums

Depends on: rinse off, body area

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the official list: Other leave-on products and oral products · 0,0002 %

Limit
Methylphenylenediamines, their N- substituted derivatives and their salts , with the exception of the substance listed under reference numbers 9 a and 9 b of this Annex and the substances listed under reference numbers 364, 413, 1144, 1310, 1313 and 1507 of Annex II

Limit 5 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: For (a) and (b): After mixing under oxidative conditions the maximum concentration applied to hair must not exceed 5 % calculated as free base. Field of application: Professional use. Other: The mixing ratio. For professional use only. Hair colourants can cause severe allergic reactions. Read and follow instructions. This product is not intended for use on persons under the age of 16. Temporary “ black henna ” tattoos may increase your risk of allergy. Do not colour your hair if: you have a rash on your face or sensitive, irritated and damaged scalp, you have ever experienced any reaction after colouring your hair, you have experienced a reaction to a temporary “ black henna ” tattoo in the past. Contains phenylenediamines (toluenediamines). Wear suitable gloves..

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • For professional use only

Depends on: professional use

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“For (a) and (b): After mixing under oxidative conditions the maximum concentration applied to hair must not exceed 5 % calculated as free base”
Annex III entry 9 (l2) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Conformity

Appliance designed so that a waste battery can be readily removed (by the end-user or an independent qualified professional)

Must meet the conditions of Appliance into which a battery is or may be incorporated is designed so that a waste battery can be readily removed by the end-user or, where it cannot, by a qualified professional independent of the manufacturer

Exemptions (1)

Does not apply where for safety, performance, medical or data integrity reasons continuity of power supply requires a permanent connection between the appliance and the battery (reg. 7(2))

“Paragraph (1) shall not apply where for safety, performance, medical or data integrity reasons continuity of power supply is necessary”
reg. 7(2) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09legislation.gov.uk (National Archives): SI 2008/2164(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 27 Feb 2025. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2025-02-27, last updated 2025-03-20.

  • Contains a battery

Depends on: contains battery

In force since 26 Sep 2008

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 26 Sep 2008

Regulations come into force on 26th September 2008 (reg. 1); the provision states no other date. Words in reg. 7(1)(a) were inserted 2015-07-01 (SI 2015/63).

“designed in such a way that a waste battery can be readily removed from that appliance”
reg. 7(1)(a) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09legislation.gov.uk (National Archives): SI 2008/2164(opens in a new tab)
Disclosure

Instructions for safe battery removal and battery type

Disclosure to consumer

Instructions showing how the battery can be removed safely by the end-user or by an independent qualified professional and, where appropriate, informing the end-user of the type of the incorporated battery

Exemptions (1)

Does not apply where for safety, performance, medical or data integrity reasons continuity of power supply requires a permanent connection between the appliance and the battery (reg. 7(2))

“Paragraph (1) shall not apply where for safety, performance, medical or data integrity reasons continuity of power supply is necessary”
reg. 7(2) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09legislation.gov.uk (National Archives): SI 2008/2164(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 27 Feb 2025. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2025-02-27, last updated 2025-03-20.

  • Contains a battery

Depends on: contains battery

In force since 26 Sep 2008

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 26 Sep 2008

Regulations come into force on 26th September 2008 (reg. 1); the provision states no other date.

“accompanied by instructions showing how the battery can be removed safely”
reg. 7(1)(b) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09legislation.gov.uk (National Archives): SI 2008/2164(opens in a new tab)
Conformity x 155

155 rules from Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 on cosmetic products as retained in Great Britain (assimilated law)

Must meet the conditions of Art. 14(1)(a): prohibited substances listed in Annex II

Show targets (40 of 155)

The remaining targets are listed on the substances page.

Every product in the category

19 Aug 2026

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: Cosmetic products must not contain the prohibited substances listed in Annex II

“prohibited substances listed in Annex II”
Art. 14(1)(a) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Regulation (EC) 1223/2009 as it has effect in Great Britain (legislation.gov.uk eur/2009/1223)(opens in a new tab)
Label x 41

41 rules from Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 as retained in Great Britain, Annexes II-VI

Label required

Show targets (40 of 41)

The remaining targets are listed on the substances page.

Every product in the category

19 Aug 2026

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: Benzyl Alcohol (CAS 100-51-6)

“(b) The presence of the substance must be indicated in the list of ingredients referred to in Article 19(1)(g) when its concentration exceeds: 0,001 % in leave-on products 0,01 % in rinse-off products.”
Annex III entry 45 · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
  • Applied to: Mouth or Teeth and gums

Depends on: body area

19 Aug 2026

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: Sodium Monofluorophosphate (Disodium fluorophosphate; CAS 10163-15-2)

“Contains sodium monofluorophosphate. For any toothpaste with compounds containing fluorine in a concentration of 0,1 to 0,15 % calculated as F unless it is already labelled as contra-indicated for children (e.g. ‘ for adult use only ’ ) the following labelling is obligatory: Children of 6 years and younger: use a pea-sized amount for supervised brushing to minimise swallowing.”
Annex III entry 27 (wording) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Label
Benzophenone-3 (2-Hydroxy-4-methoxy-benzophenone/Oxybenzone; CAS 131-57-7)

Label required

Contains Benzophenone-3

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Applied to: Lips or Face or Hands
  • Applied as a spray

Depends on: body area, sprayable

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“Contains Benzophenone-3”
Annex VI entry 4 (wording) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Conformity
Lithium hydroxide (CAS 1310-65-2)

Must meet the conditions of Annex III entry 15b: (c) Other uses as pH adjuster (for rinse-off products only) | pH < 11

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Rinse-off product

Depends on: rinse off

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“(c) Other uses as pH adjuster (for rinse-off products only)”
Annex III entry 15b (l3-cond) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Conformity
Cuminum Cyminum Fruit Oil (Cuminum cyminum oil and extract; CAS 84775-51-9)

Must meet the conditions of Annex III entry 156: (b) Rinse-off products

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Rinse-off product

Depends on: rinse off

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“(b) Rinse-off products”
Annex III entry 156 (l1-cond) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Conformity
CI 20040

Must meet the conditions of Annex IV entry 45: Rinse-off products | Maximum 3,3'-dimethylbenzidine concentration in the colouring agent: 5 ppm

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Rinse-off product

Depends on: rinse off

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the official list: N,N'-(3,3'-Dimethyl[1,1'-biphenyl]-4,4'-diyl)bis[2-[(2,4-dichlorophenyl)azo]-3-oxobutyramide] · 20040 · Yellow · Rinse-off products

Conformity
CI 21100

Must meet the conditions of Annex IV entry 47: Rinse-off products | Maximum 3,3'-dimethylbenzidine concentration in the colouring agent: 5 ppm

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Rinse-off product

Depends on: rinse off

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the official list: 2,2'-[(3,3'-Dichloro[1,1'-biphenyl]-4,4'-diyl)bis(azo)]bis[N-(2,4-dimethylphenyl)-3-oxobutyramide] · 21100 · Yellow · Rinse-off products

Conformity
CI 21108

Must meet the conditions of Annex IV entry 48: Rinse-off products | Maximum 3,3'-dimethylbenzidine concentration in the colouring agent: 5 ppm

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Rinse-off product

Depends on: rinse off

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the official list: 2,2'-[(3,3'-Dichloro[1,1'-biphenyl]-4,4'-diyl)bis(azo)]bis[N-(4-chloro-2,5-dimethoxyphenyl)-3-oxobutyramide] · 21108 · Yellow · Rinse-off products

Conformity
Talc (Talc: Hydrated magnesium silicate; CAS 14807-96-6)

Must meet the conditions of Annex III entry 59: (a) Powdery products intended to be used for children under 3 years of age (b) Other products

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Intended for children under 3

Depends on: intended for children under 3

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the official list: Talc · 14807-96-6 · 238-877-9 · (a) Powdery products intended to be used for children under 3 years of age (b) Other products

Label
Talc (Talc: Hydrated magnesium silicate; CAS 14807-96-6)

Label required

(a) Keep powder away from children's nose and mouth

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Intended for children under 3

Depends on: intended for children under 3

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“(a) Keep powder away from children's nose and mouth”
Annex III entry 59 (wording) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Label
5-Bromo-5-nitro-1,3-dioxane (CAS 30007-47-7)

Label required

Avoid formation of nitrosamines

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Rinse-off product

Depends on: rinse off

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“Avoid formation of nitrosamines”
Annex V entry 20 (wording) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Label
o-Phenylphenol (CAS 90-43-7)

Label required

Avoid contact with eyes

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Rinse-off product

Depends on: rinse off

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“Avoid contact with eyes”
Annex V entry 7 (wording) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Label
Thimerosal (Thiomersal; CAS 54-64-8)

Label required

Contains Thiomersal

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Applied to: Eye area

Depends on: body area

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“Contains Thiomersal”
Annex V entry 16 (wording) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Label
Phenyl Mercuric Acetate (Phenylmercuric salts (including borate); CAS 62-38-4)

Label required

Contains Phenylmercuric compounds

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Applied to: Eye area

Depends on: body area

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“Contains Phenylmercuric compounds”
Annex V entry 17 (wording) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)

Gaps

Markets without rules for this category

We have no rules for this category in these markets. That doesn't mean none apply, so a check here says Not covered, never clear.

ClaraDB gives a verdict only for PFAS state laws for cookware and bakeware, California Proposition 65 consumer-product warning check for BPA, BPS, formaldehyde, styrene, antimony trioxide, vinyl acetate, lead and cadmium, California Proposition 65 warning check for candles and ceramicware (lead, cadmium, formaldehyde, acetaldehyde, benzene, naphthalene, carbon monoxide, benzo[a]pyrene), US packaging EPR producer size thresholds (California, Colorado, Maryland, Minnesota, Oregon, Washington) for a brand-owning manufacturer, US lead in children's products and furniture (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in toys and child care articles (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in children's products (other) and bags (lead paint and total lead content), US phthalates in children's toys and child care articles (DEHP, DBP, BBP, DINP, DIBP, DPENP, DHEXP, DCHP) and US children's product certificate and tracking label for children's tableware (AI-checked, quotes verified word for word). Every other answer shows the laws and quotes found without saying whether they apply. Not checked: Consumer electronics (FCC equipment authorization, 47 CFR Parts 2 and 15, energy rules). What ClaraDB has checked

Show 1 market
Market
Coverage
Main sources; no modeled rule is scoped to this category. Not covered: other rules that may apply.
  • Coverage
    Main sources; no modeled rule is scoped to this category. Not covered: other rules that may apply.

Facts

What we need to know about your product

Some rules depend on details of your product. Until you tell us, a check says Needs answers and asks for what's missing.

Show 37 facts
Depends on
Markets
Rules
Whether the listed substance or group is present
EU, GB, JP, KR, US, US-CA, US-CO, US-CT, US-IL, US-MD, US-ME, US-MN, US-NJ, US-RI, US-VT, US-WA
7,475
Number of employees at the seller
US-CA
972
Body area
EU, GB, JP, KR
230
Rinse off
EU, GB, JP, KR, US-CA
221
Economic operator role
EU, GB, KR, US
90
Contains battery
EU, GB, US
39
Sprayable
EU, GB, KR
34
Intended for children under 3
EU, GB, KR
24
Battery category
EU, GB
22
Otc drug claim
US, US-MN
20
Quasi drug or functional claim
JP, KR
13
Net content ml
EU, GB, KR
10
Battery chemistry
US
9
Aerosol dispenser
JP, KR, US
8
Professional use
EU, GB, US
7
Customised cosmetic
KR
7
Rechargeable
US
6
Animal testing conducted
EU, GB, KR
5
Annual gross revenue usd
US-CO, US-MD, US-MN, US-OR, US-WA
5
Contains nanomaterial
EU, GB
2
Intended for children under 12
KR
2
Single use
KR
2
Button or coin cell
US
2
Distance sale to other member state
EU
1
Imported
KR
1
Cattle derived material
US
1
Uses sunscreen term
US
1
Safety substantiated
US
1
Suntanning preparation
US
1
Battery removable
US
1
Ca gross sales usd
US-CA
1
Packaging tons co
US-CO
1
Packaging tons md
US-MD
1
Packaging tons mn
US-MN
1
Packaging tonnes or
US-OR
1
Fluorine treated container
US-VT
1
Packaging tons wa
US-WA
1
  • Whether the listed substance or group is present
    Markets
    EU, GB, JP, KR, US, US-CA, US-CO, US-CT, US-IL, US-MD, US-ME, US-MN, US-NJ, US-RI, US-VT, US-WA
    Rules
    7,475
  • Number of employees at the seller
    Markets
    US-CA
    Rules
    972
  • Body area
    Markets
    EU, GB, JP, KR
    Rules
    230
  • Rinse off
    Markets
    EU, GB, JP, KR, US-CA
    Rules
    221
  • Economic operator role
    Markets
    EU, GB, KR, US
    Rules
    90
  • Contains battery
    Markets
    EU, GB, US
    Rules
    39
  • Sprayable
    Markets
    EU, GB, KR
    Rules
    34
  • Intended for children under 3
    Markets
    EU, GB, KR
    Rules
    24
  • Battery category
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    22
  • Otc drug claim
    Markets
    US, US-MN
    Rules
    20
  • Quasi drug or functional claim
    Markets
    JP, KR
    Rules
    13
  • Net content ml
    Markets
    EU, GB, KR
    Rules
    10
  • Battery chemistry
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    9
  • Aerosol dispenser
    Markets
    JP, KR, US
    Rules
    8
  • Professional use
    Markets
    EU, GB, US
    Rules
    7
  • Customised cosmetic
    Markets
    KR
    Rules
    7
  • Rechargeable
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    6
  • Animal testing conducted
    Markets
    EU, GB, KR
    Rules
    5
  • Annual gross revenue usd
    Markets
    US-CO, US-MD, US-MN, US-OR, US-WA
    Rules
    5
  • Contains nanomaterial
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    2
  • Intended for children under 12
    Markets
    KR
    Rules
    2
  • Single use
    Markets
    KR
    Rules
    2
  • Button or coin cell
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    2
  • Distance sale to other member state
    Markets
    EU
    Rules
    1
  • Imported
    Markets
    KR
    Rules
    1
  • Cattle derived material
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Uses sunscreen term
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Safety substantiated
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Suntanning preparation
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Battery removable
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Ca gross sales usd
    Markets
    US-CA
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tons co
    Markets
    US-CO
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tons md
    Markets
    US-MD
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tons mn
    Markets
    US-MN
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tonnes or
    Markets
    US-OR
    Rules
    1
  • Fluorine treated container
    Markets
    US-VT
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tons wa
    Markets
    US-WA
    Rules
    1

Changes

Upcoming changes

Rules for this category that start in the next 24 months, or are proposed or on hold.

Show 41 upcoming changes
Requirement
Applies when
Effective
Source
WarningUS-CA
N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine (CAS 758-17-8)

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 8 Dec 2026

Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026

Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
CAS No.
758-17-8
Date listed
8 Dec 2025

Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Bisphenol S (BPS) (CAS 80-09-1)

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).

“a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that will produce no observable reproductive effect (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 8 Dec 2026

Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026

Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Bisphenol S (BPS)
Type of toxicity
developmental toxicity
Listed by
the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
CAS No.
80-09-1
Date listed
8 Dec 2025

Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Tacrolimus (CAS 104987-11-3)

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Tacrolimus
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the Labor Code (LC)
CAS No.
104987-11-3
Date listed
17 Jul 2026

Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Hydrochlorothiazide

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Hydrochlorothiazide
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the Labor Code (LC)
CAS No.
58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
Date listed
17 Jul 2026

Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Voriconazole

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Voriconazole
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the Labor Code (LC)
CAS No.
137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
Date listed
17 Jul 2026

Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Welding Fumes

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Welding Fumes
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the Labor Code (LC)
CAS No.
none given
Date listed
17 Jul 2026

Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
BanEU
Triphenyl Phosphate (CAS 115-86-6)

Banned

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

Every product in the category

Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

From the consolidated text: Triphenyl Phosphate (13) · 115-86-6 · 204-112-2

LimitEU
Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)

Limit 0.7 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (f) 0,7 %. Field of application: (f) Body lotion.

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Body

Depends on: body area

Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

From the consolidated text: (f) Body lotion · (f) 0,7 %

Limit x 11EU

11 rules from Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 on cosmetic products, Annexes II-VI (consolidated)

Limit 0.2 % (content basis)

Show targets (11 of 11)

Every product in the category

1 Jan 2027

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)

From the consolidated text: (g) Face make-up and make-up remover products · (g) 0,2 %

LimitEU
Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)

Limit 0.004 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (h) 0,004 %. Field of application: (h) Oral products.

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Mouth or Teeth and gums

Depends on: body area

Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

From the consolidated text: (h) Oral products · (h) 0,004 %

  • WarningUS-CA
    N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine (CAS 758-17-8)

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 8 Dec 2026

    Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026

    Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
    CAS No.
    758-17-8
    Date listed
    8 Dec 2025

    Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Bisphenol S (BPS) (CAS 80-09-1)

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).

    “a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that will produce no observable reproductive effect (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 8 Dec 2026

    Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026

    Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Bisphenol S (BPS)
    Type of toxicity
    developmental toxicity
    Listed by
    the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
    CAS No.
    80-09-1
    Date listed
    8 Dec 2025

    Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Tacrolimus (CAS 104987-11-3)

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

    Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

    Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Tacrolimus
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the Labor Code (LC)
    CAS No.
    104987-11-3
    Date listed
    17 Jul 2026

    Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Hydrochlorothiazide

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

    Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

    Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Hydrochlorothiazide
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the Labor Code (LC)
    CAS No.
    58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
    Date listed
    17 Jul 2026

    Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Voriconazole

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

    Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

    Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Voriconazole
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the Labor Code (LC)
    CAS No.
    137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
    Date listed
    17 Jul 2026

    Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Welding Fumes

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

    Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

    Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Welding Fumes
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the Labor Code (LC)
    CAS No.
    none given
    Date listed
    17 Jul 2026

    Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • BanEU
    Triphenyl Phosphate (CAS 115-86-6)

    Banned

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

    Applies when

    Every product in the category

    Effective

    Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

    Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

    Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

    Source

    From the consolidated text: Triphenyl Phosphate (13) · 115-86-6 · 204-112-2

  • LimitEU
    Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)

    Limit 0.7 % (content basis)

    In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (f) 0,7 %. Field of application: (f) Body lotion.

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

    Applies when
    • Applied to: Body

    Depends on: body area

    Effective

    Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

    Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

    Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

    Source

    From the consolidated text: (f) Body lotion · (f) 0,7 %

  • Limit x 11EU

    11 rules from Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 on cosmetic products, Annexes II-VI (consolidated)

    Limit 0.2 % (content basis)

    Show targets (11 of 11)
    Applies when

    Every product in the category

    Effective

    1 Jan 2027

    Each rule has its own date; open a target.

    Source

    Example: Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)

    From the consolidated text: (g) Face make-up and make-up remover products · (g) 0,2 %

  • LimitEU
    Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)

    Limit 0.004 % (content basis)

    In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (h) 0,004 %. Field of application: (h) Oral products.

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

    Applies when
    • Applied to: Mouth or Teeth and gums

    Depends on: body area

    Effective

    Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

    Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

    Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

    Source

    From the consolidated text: (h) Oral products · (h) 0,004 %

All dated changes

Records

Recalls and alerts

Recalls, safety alerts and Prop 65 notices that name Skin care, with a link to the original. A Prop 65 notice is a claim by the sender, not a ruling.

713 records dated 13 Jan 2023 to 4 Sep 2026. Most recent shown.

Show the 8 most recent records

Sub-categories

Further rules in sub-categories

These apply only to the sub-categories below, not to the whole category.

See also

Related categories

  • Cosmetics and personal care

    Cosmetic products as defined in EU Reg. 1223/2009 Art. 2, FD&C Act sec. 201(i), the Korean Cosmetics Act and the Japanese PMD Act: substances or mixtures for external parts of the body, teeth or mucous membranes of the mouth, to clean, perfume, change appearance, protect, keep in good condition or correct body odours. Tattoo inks, drugs, devices and quasi-drug claims (JP/KR functional claims, US OTC drug claims) are flagged with attributes or claims, not separate roots.

  • Leave-on skin care

    Creams, lotions, serums, oils and balms for face and body that stay on the skin (EU: leave-on product).

  • Rinse-off skin cleansers

    Face and body cleansers, scrubs and washes removed after application.

  • Sun protection

    Sunscreens and sun-protection products. US: OTC drug (monograph M020) and a cosmetic only when the sun claim is secondary; EU/UK: cosmetic with Annex VI UV filters; KR/JP: functional cosmetic or quasi-drug.

  • Exfoliating acids and peels

    AHA, BHA and similar chemical peels and exfoliants, general and professional use (EU Annex III splits limits by general and professional use).

  • Hair care and colour

    Shampoos, styling, waving, straightening and hair dyes.

  • Nail products

    Nail polish, care and artificial nail systems.

  • Make-up

    Colour cosmetics for face, eyes, lips and lashes.

Alerts

Get an email when these rules change.

Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.

Check a productStart a workspace

Free for 10 products. Email alerts from $39 a month. See pricing