Skip to content

Market

Selling in Great Britain?

We track 5,795 rules from 20 laws and lists for consumer goods here. Type your product to see which apply.

  • Free
  • No account needed
  • The law behind every rule
On this page6

Changes

Upcoming changes

Rules here that start in the next 24 months, or are proposed or on hold.

No dated changes in the next 24 months

No rule for Great Britain starts in the next 24 months, and none is proposed or on hold.

Industries

Coverage

What we check here for each industry, and from when. Open an industry to see what we cover and what we don't. A law we hold but haven't checked shows as Not checked, with its quote. Anything we don't cover shows as Not covered. Neither is ever clear.

ClaraDB gives a verdict only for PFAS state laws for cookware and bakeware, California Proposition 65 consumer-product warning check for BPA, BPS, formaldehyde, styrene, antimony trioxide, vinyl acetate, lead and cadmium, California Proposition 65 warning check for candles and ceramicware (lead, cadmium, formaldehyde, acetaldehyde, benzene, naphthalene, carbon monoxide, benzo[a]pyrene), US packaging EPR producer size thresholds (California, Colorado, Maryland, Minnesota, Oregon, Washington) for a brand-owning manufacturer, US lead in children's products and furniture (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in toys and child care articles (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in children's products (other) and bags (lead paint and total lead content), US phthalates in children's toys and child care articles (DEHP, DBP, BBP, DINP, DIBP, DPENP, DHEXP, DCHP) and US children's product certificate and tracking label for children's tableware (AI-checked, quotes verified word for word). Every other answer shows the laws and quotes found without saying whether they apply. Not checked: Consumer electronics (FCC equipment authorization, 47 CFR Parts 2 and 15, energy rules). What ClaraDB has checked

Home and kitchen goodsMain sourcesfrom 1 Jan 20251 area read · 6 not read yet
Sources read
  • retained food-contact framework (Reg. 1935/2004 as retained)
Not read yet
  • GB plastic food-contact rules (retained Reg. 10/2011)
  • GB ceramics rules
  • UK REACH restrictions
  • General Product Safety Regulations 2005
  • Furniture and Furnishings (Fire) (Safety) Regulations 1988
  • PSTI
Cosmetics and personal careMain sourcesfrom 19 Aug 20263 areas read · 3 not read yet
Sources read
  • retained and amended Reg. 1223/2009 Annexes II to VI and Art. 19 (legislation.gov.uk)
  • retained Reg. 1223/2009 Arts. 4 to 13: UK Responsible Person, safety assessment and safety report, product information file, SCPN notification (legislation.gov.uk)
  • Cosmetic Products Enforcement Regulations 2013 (S.I. 2013/1478): labelling language
Not read yet
  • Cosmetic Products Enforcement Regulations 2013 offences, penalties and enforcement powers
  • differences between GB and Northern Ireland
  • packaging rules, and the SPF and UVA testing approach for sunscreen claims (Recommendation 2006/647/EC)
Packaged food and beveragesMain sourcesfrom 13 Nov 20255 areas read · 9 not read yet

Great Britain food law as revised on legislation.gov.uk up to 13 Nov 2025.

Sources read
  • retained Reg. 1169/2011
  • Reg. 1333/2008 and Reg. 178/2002 as amended for Great Britain (legislation.gov.uk)
  • Food Information Regulations 2014 (SI 2014/1855)
  • contaminants as retained Reg. 1881/2006
  • GB food additive list (retained Reg. 1333/2008 Annex II as in force on 2024-06-28, the terms the FSA register preserves)
Not read yet
  • GB food additive list changes after 2024-06-28 (Annex II was omitted from the revised legislation from 1 April 2025 by S.I. 2025/361; the FSA Register of Food Additive Authorisations holds later changes, for example the February 2026 steviol glycoside conditions E 960a-c)
  • GB Annex III of Reg. 1333/2008 (additives in additives, enzymes, flavourings and nutrients)
  • Northern Ireland (EU rules apply under the Windsor Framework)
  • Scottish
  • Welsh and Northern Irish regulations
  • HFSS promotion and placement rules
  • front-of-pack traffic-light guidance (voluntary)
  • UK GM and claims registers
  • import controls (IPAFFS)
Consumer electronics and small appliancesMain sourcesfrom 1 Jan 20257 areas read · 4 not read yet
Sources read
  • UKCA marking and Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regs 2016
  • EMC Regs 2016
  • Radio Equipment Regs 2017
  • RoHS Regs 2012
  • WEEE Regs 2013
  • PSTI Act 2022 and Security Requirements Regs 2023
  • Plugs and Sockets Regs 1994
Not read yet
  • GB ecodesign (Ecodesign for Energy-Related Products and Energy Information Regs 2021)
  • Northern Ireland EU-rule application
  • GB REACH article duty
  • producer compliance scheme fees
Batteries, e-bikes and power banksMain sourcesfrom 1 Jan 20254 areas read · 6 not read yet
Sources read
  • Waste Batteries and Accumulators Regulations 2009 (SI 2009/890)
  • Electrically Assisted Pedal Cycles Regulations 1983 and 2015 amendment (250 W, 25 km/h) as made
  • General Product Safety Regulations 2005
  • power banks and battery chargers as electrical equipment: EMC Regulations 2016, Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016, Radio Equipment Regulations 2017 and WEEE Regulations 2013 (the electronics rules applied to these categories)
Not read yet
  • GB lithium battery product-safety rules beyond the GPSR (no battery-specific instrument stored)
  • revised consolidated text of SI 1983/1168 (only the text as first made is held, without later amendments)
  • Pedal Cycles (Construction and Use) Regulations 1983, Road Vehicles Construction and Use for e-scooters
  • Northern Ireland EU battery rule application
  • producer compliance scheme fees
  • SI 2008/2164 regs. 8 to 25 and SI 2009/890 enforcement, offences and scheme-approval Parts are not covered

Types

Rules by type

What the rules require. Pick a type to filter the laws below; pick it again to show every type.

Laws

Rules by law

320 of 5,795 rules match the type labels. Open a law to read its rules.

Type: Labels. Show every type

Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 as retained in Great Britain, Annexes II-VIReg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI210 rulesIn force from: 19 Aug 2026Industries: Cosmetics
Requirement
Applies when
Effective
Source
Label x 76

76 rules from Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 as retained in Great Britain, Annexes II-VI

Label required

Show targets (40 of 76)

The remaining targets are listed on the substances page.

Every product in the category

19 Aug 2026

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: Benzyl Alcohol (CAS 100-51-6)

“(b) The presence of the substance must be indicated in the list of ingredients referred to in Article 19(1)(g) when its concentration exceeds: 0,001 % in leave-on products 0,01 % in rinse-off products.”
Annex III entry 45 · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Label x 71

71 rules from Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 as retained in Great Britain, Annexes II-VI

Label required

Show targets (40 of 71)

The remaining targets are listed on the substances page.

  • Type of hair dye: Oxidative

Depends on: hair dye type

19 Aug 2026

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: Hydroxyethyl-2-Nitro-p-Toluidine (2-(4-Methyl-2-nitroanilino)ethanol; CAS 100418-33-5)

“(a) To be printed on the label: The mixing ratio. Read and follow instructions. This product is not intended for use on persons under the age of 16.”
Annex III entry 221 (wording) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
  • Applied to: Mouth or Teeth and gums

Depends on: body area

19 Aug 2026

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: Sodium Monofluorophosphate (Disodium fluorophosphate; CAS 10163-15-2)

“Contains sodium monofluorophosphate. For any toothpaste with compounds containing fluorine in a concentration of 0,1 to 0,15 % calculated as F unless it is already labelled as contra-indicated for children (e.g. ‘ for adult use only ’ ) the following labelling is obligatory: Children of 6 years and younger: use a pea-sized amount for supervised brushing to minimise swallowing.”
Annex III entry 27 (wording) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
  • Type of hair dye: Non-oxidative (semi-permanent or temporary)

Depends on: hair dye type

19 Aug 2026

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: HC Violet No 2 (1-Propanol, 3-[[4-[bis(2-hydroxyethyl)amino]-2-nitrophenyl]amino]; CAS 104226-19-9)

“Do not use with nitrosating agents Maximum nitrosamine content: 50 μg /kg Keep in nitrite-free containers”
Annex III entry 224 (wording) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
  • For professional use only

Depends on: professional use

19 Aug 2026

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: p-Phenylenediamine (p-Phenylenediamine and its salts; CAS 106-50-3)

“To be printed on the label: The mixing ratio. For professional use only. This product can cause severe allergic reactions. Read and follow instructions. This product is not intended for use on persons under the age of 16.”
Annex III entry 8b (wording) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Label
Benzophenone-3 (2-Hydroxy-4-methoxy-benzophenone/Oxybenzone; CAS 131-57-7)

Label required

Contains Benzophenone-3

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Applied to: Lips or Face or Hands
  • Applied as a spray

Depends on: body area, sprayable

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“Contains Benzophenone-3”
Annex VI entry 4 (wording) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Label
Strontium peroxide (CAS 1314-18-7)

Label required

Avoid contact with eyes Rinse eyes immediately if product comes into contact with them For professional use only Wear suitable gloves

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Rinse-off product

Depends on: rinse off

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“Avoid contact with eyes Rinse eyes immediately if product comes into contact with them For professional use only Wear suitable gloves”
Annex III entry 64 (wording) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Label
5-Bromo-5-nitro-1,3-dioxane (CAS 30007-47-7)

Label required

Avoid formation of nitrosamines

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Rinse-off product

Depends on: rinse off

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“Avoid formation of nitrosamines”
Annex V entry 20 (wording) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Label
o-Phenylphenol (CAS 90-43-7)

Label required

Avoid contact with eyes

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Rinse-off product

Depends on: rinse off

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“Avoid contact with eyes”
Annex V entry 7 (wording) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Label
Benzalkonium bromide (Benzalkonium chloride, bromide and saccharinate; CAS 91080-29-4)

Label required

Avoid contact with eyes

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Rinse-off product

Depends on: rinse off

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“Avoid contact with eyes”
Annex III entry 65 (wording) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Label
Talc (Talc: Hydrated magnesium silicate; CAS 14807-96-6)

Label required

(a) Keep powder away from children's nose and mouth

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Intended for children under 3

Depends on: intended for children under 3

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“(a) Keep powder away from children's nose and mouth”
Annex III entry 59 (wording) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Label
Thimerosal (Thiomersal; CAS 54-64-8)

Label required

Contains Thiomersal

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Applied to: Eye area

Depends on: body area

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“Contains Thiomersal”
Annex V entry 16 (wording) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Label
Phenyl Mercuric Acetate (Phenylmercuric salts (including borate); CAS 62-38-4)

Label required

Contains Phenylmercuric compounds

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Applied to: Eye area

Depends on: body area

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“Contains Phenylmercuric compounds”
Annex V entry 17 (wording) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Label
Thioglycolic acid (Thioglycolic acid and its salts; CAS 68-11-1)

Label required

Conditions of use: (a) (b) (c) (d) Avoid contact with eyes Rinse eyes immediately if product comes into contact with them. (a) (c) (d) Wear suitable gloves Warnings to be printed on the label: (a)(i) (b) (c) Contains thioglycolate Follow the instructions Keep out of reach of children (a)(ii) (d) For professional use only Contains thioglycolate Follow the instructions

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • For professional use only: yes or no

Depends on: professional use

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“Conditions of use: (a) (b) (c) (d) Avoid contact with eyes Rinse eyes immediately if product comes into contact with them. (a) (c) (d) Wear suitable gloves Warnings to be printed on the label: (a)(i)”
Annex III entry 2a (wording) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Label
Salicylic acid (Benzoic acid, 2-hydroxy-; CAS 69-72-7)

Label required

Not to be used for children under 3 years of age

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Rinse-off product
  • Applied to: Body

Depends on: rinse off, body area

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“Not to be used for children under 3 years of age”
Annex III entry 98 (wording) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Label
Butylparaben propylparaben sodium propylparaben sodium butylparaben potassium butylparaben potassium propylparaben (CAS 94-26-8)

Label required

For leave-on products designed for children under three years of age: ‘ Do not use on the nappy area ’

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Leave-on product
  • Intended for children under 3

Depends on: rinse off, intended for children under 3

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“For leave-on products designed for children under three years of age: ‘ Do not use on the nappy area ’”
Annex V entry 12a (wording) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Label

Mandatory label element: Nominal content at the time of packaging by weight or volume

Label required

Nominal content at the time of packaging by weight or volume

Exemptions (1)

Free samples and single-application packs are exempt from the nominal content indication

“except in the case of packaging containing less than five grams or five millilitres, free samples and single-application packs”
Art. 19(1)(b) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Regulation (EC) 1223/2009 as it has effect in Great Britain (legislation.gov.uk eur/2009/1223)(opens in a new tab)

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Net content at least 5 mL

Depends on: net content ml

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“the nominal content at the time of packaging, given by weight or by volume, except in the case of packaging containing less than five grams or five millilitres, free samples and single-application packs;”
Art. 19(1)(b) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Regulation (EC) 1223/2009 as it has effect in Great Britain (legislation.gov.uk eur/2009/1223)(opens in a new tab)

Categories

Categories with rules

The product categories with the most rules here, sub-categories included.

Sources

Sources

Where the rules come from, and when we last checked each source.

Show 20 more

Alerts

Get an email when these rules change.

Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.

Check a productStart a workspace

Free for 10 products. Email alerts from $39 a month. See pricing