Skip to content

Market

Selling in Japan?

We track 327 rules from 12 laws and lists for consumer goods here. Type your product to see which apply.

  • Free
  • No account needed
  • The law behind every rule
On this page6

Changes

Upcoming changes

Rules here that start in the next 24 months, or are proposed or on hold.

No dated changes in the next 24 months

No rule for Japan starts in the next 24 months, and none is proposed or on hold.

Industries

Coverage

What we check here for each industry, and from when. Open an industry to see what we cover and what we don't. A law we hold but haven't checked shows as Not checked, with its quote. Anything we don't cover shows as Not covered. Neither is ever clear.

ClaraDB gives a verdict only for PFAS state laws for cookware and bakeware, California Proposition 65 consumer-product warning check for BPA, BPS, formaldehyde, styrene, antimony trioxide, vinyl acetate, lead and cadmium, California Proposition 65 warning check for candles and ceramicware (lead, cadmium, formaldehyde, acetaldehyde, benzene, naphthalene, carbon monoxide, benzo[a]pyrene), US packaging EPR producer size thresholds (California, Colorado, Maryland, Minnesota, Oregon, Washington) for a brand-owning manufacturer, US lead in children's products and furniture (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in toys and child care articles (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in children's products (other) and bags (lead paint and total lead content), US phthalates in children's toys and child care articles (DEHP, DBP, BBP, DINP, DIBP, DPENP, DHEXP, DCHP) and US children's product certificate and tracking label for children's tableware (AI-checked, quotes verified word for word). Every other answer shows the laws and quotes found without saying whether they apply. Not checked: Consumer electronics (FCC equipment authorization, 47 CFR Parts 2 and 15, energy rules). What ClaraDB has checked

Home and kitchen goodsMain sourcesfrom 1 Jan 20252 areas read · 3 not read yet
Sources read
  • positive list for synthetic-resin utensils
  • containers and packaging (Food Sanitation Act)
Not read yet
  • general and material-specific specifications for utensils/containers (ceramics, glass, enamel, metal, rubber, paper, wood: CAA notification text not stored)
  • Household Goods Quality Labelling Act
  • Act on Control of Household Products Containing Harmful Substances
Cosmetics and personal careMain sourcesfrom 12 Jul 20242 areas read · 4 not read yet
Sources read
  • 化粧品基準 (MHLW notice 331 of 2000 as amended to 2024-07-12)
  • PMD Act labelling (Arts. 61 and 62) and cosmetics provisions from e-Gov
Not read yet
  • quasi-drug 医薬部外品 standards and approvals
  • 化粧品の表示に関する公正競争規約 (industry code)
  • MAH and manufacturer licensing duties
  • notice-level ingredient lists beyond 化粧品基準 annexes (e.g. 化粧品種別許可基準)
Packaged food and beveragesMain sourcesfrom 1 Apr 20264 areas read · 6 not read yet

Japanese food law as revised on 1 April 2026.

Sources read
  • 食品表示基準 (Cabinet Office Ordinance 2015 no. 10 as amended, e-Gov)
  • 食品衛生法 (Act no. 233 of 1947: Art. 6 and 12 additives, Art. 13 standards, Art. 27 import notification, Art. 19 labelling)
  • 食品衛生法施行規則
  • 食品、添加物等の規格基準 (MHLW notice 370 of 1959) where text is obtainable
Not read yet
  • notice 370 (食品、添加物等の規格基準) additive use standards (第2 添加物 F) and food contaminant/mycotoxin standards (第1 食品): no consolidated current text is published; CAA lists only amendment notices (to 令和8年8月28日 内閣府告示第104号) with old-new tables, and the last MHLW consolidated PDFs are dated 2017-11-30; JP additive-use and contaminant rule rows are not generated
  • 指定添加物 and 既存添加物 name lists maintained by MHLW pages
  • health foods (機能性表示食品, 特定保健用食品)
  • 食品表示基準 Q&A and guidelines
  • 景品表示法 claim rules
  • import-monitoring plan
Consumer electronics and small appliancesMain sourcesfrom 3 Sep 20263 areas read · 4 not read yet
Sources read
  • 電気用品安全法 PSE marking (diamond and circle) and 特定電気用品 list
  • 電波法 技適 mark for specified radio equipment
  • 資源有効利用促進法 J-Moss content marking (law text only)
Not read yet
  • J-Moss JIS C 0950 content-marking threshold detail (paid standard)
  • 省エネ法 トップランナー energy labelling
  • 特定無線設備の技術基準適合証明等に関する規則 (ordinance text not located)
  • PC recycling PC リサイクルマーク details
Batteries, e-bikes and power banksMain sourcesfrom 1 Sep 20263 areas read · 4 not read yet
Sources read
  • 電気用品安全法 act, order and ordinance (リチウムイオン蓄電池 PSE), covered under consumer electronics
  • 資源有効利用促進法 act and order, 密閉形蓄電池の表示の標準となるべき事項を定める省令 and 自主回収 ordinance (labelling text only; mark figures not captured)
  • 道路交通法 and 施行規則 (電動アシスト自転車 = 駆動補助機付自転車, 特定小型原動機付自転車)
Not read yet
  • JIS C 8714 and other JIS texts (paid)
  • 消費生活用製品安全法 and recall rules for portable batteries
  • mark designs in ordinance figures (the attached figure files)
  • 電気用品安全法 sale ban (第二十七条), the 密閉形蓄電池 labelling 様式 figures, 資源有効利用促進法施行令 volume thresholds and municipal take-back detail beyond 第五条 are not covered

Types

Rules by type

What the rules for packaged food and beverages require. Pick a type to filter the laws below.

Laws

Rules by law

35 of 327 rules match the industry. Open a law to read its rules.

Food Labeling Standards (Cabinet Office Order No. 10 of 2015)食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)24 rulesIn force from: 1 Apr 2026Industries: Food
Requirement
Applies when
Effective
Source
Label x 10

10 rules from 食品表示基準 (平成27年内閣府令第10号)

Label required

Show targets (10 of 10)
  • 表示の方式 (place of the indications)
  • 表示の方式 (colour)
  • 原材料名 | 1 使用した原材料を次に定めるところにより表示する。一 原材料に占める重量の割合の高いものから順に、その最
  • 製造所又は加工所の所在地(輸入品にあっては輸入業者の営業所の所在地、乳にあっては乳処理場(特別牛乳にあっては特別牛乳搾取
  • 食品関連事業者の氏名又は名称及び住所 | 食品関連事業者のうち表示内容に責任を有する者の氏名又は名称及び住所を表示する。
  • アスパルテームを含む食品 | L―フェニルアラニン化合物を含む旨 | L―フェニルアラニン化合物を含む旨を表示する。
  • 栄養成分(たんぱく質、脂質、炭水化物及びナトリウムをいう。以下この項において同じ。)の量及び熱量 | 1 栄養成分の量及
  • 消費期限又は賞味期限 | 1 品質が急速に劣化しやすい食品にあっては消費期限である旨の文字を冠したその年月日を、それ以外
  • 内容量又は固形量及び内容総量 | 1 特定商品の販売に係る計量に関する政令(平成五年政令第二百四十九号)第五条に掲げる特
  • 名称 | 1 その内容を表す一般的な名称を表示する。ただし、乳(生乳、生山羊乳、生めん羊乳及び生水牛乳を除く。以下同じ。
  • Sold prepacked
  • Processed food (JP 別表第一)
  • General-use food (JP 一般用)

Depends on: sold prepacked, jp processed food, jp general use food

1 Apr 2026

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: 表示の方式 (place of the indications)

“二 容器包装(容器包装が小売のために包装されている場合は、当該包装)を開かないでも容易に見ることができるように当該容器包装の見やすい箇所(栄養成分の量及び熱量の”
Article 8 item 2 · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)
Label

表示の方式 (form of the indications)

Label required

Name, ingredients, additives, origin, content, dates, storage and operator in 別記様式一; nutrition amounts and calories in 別記様式二 or 三

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Later deadlines (1)

31 Mar 2020: End of old-rule labelling allowance for processed food and additives

“令和二年三月三十一日までに製造され、加工され、又は輸入される加工食品(業務用加工食品を除く。)”
original Article 4 (第二章 加工食品) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 1 Apr 2026. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.

  • Sold prepacked
  • Processed food (JP 別表第一)
  • General-use food (JP 一般用)
  • Food listed in the upper column of JP 別表第二十: no

Depends on: sold prepacked, jp processed food, jp general use food, jp annex 20 food

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-04-01 (the stored e-Gov revision date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“三 名称、原材料名、添加物、原料原産地名、内容量、固形量、内容総量、消費期限、保存の方法、原産国名及び食品関連事業者の表示は別記様式一により、栄養成分(たんぱく”
Article 8 item 3 · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)
Label

一 邦文をもって、当該食品を一般に購入し、又は使用する者が読みやすく、理解しやすいような用語により正確に行う。 二 容器包装(容器包装が小売のために包装されてい

Label required

一 邦文をもって、当該食品を一般に購入し、又は使用する者が読みやすく、理解しやすいような用語により正確に行う。 二 容器包装(容器包装が小売のために包装されている場合は、当該包装)を開かないでも容易に見ることができるように当該容器包装の見やすい箇所(栄養成分の量及び熱量の表示に関し、同一の食品が継続的に同一人に販売されるものであって、容器包装に表示することが困難な食品(特定保健用食品及び機能性表示

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Later deadlines (1)

31 Mar 2020: End of old-rule labelling allowance for processed food and additives

“令和二年三月三十一日までに製造され、加工され、又は輸入される加工食品(業務用加工食品を除く。)”
original Article 4 (第二章 加工食品) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 1 Apr 2026. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.

  • Sold prepacked
  • Processed food (JP 別表第一)
  • General-use food (JP 一般用)
  • Food listed in the upper column of JP 別表第二十: no

Depends on: sold prepacked, jp processed food, jp general use food, jp annex 20 food

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-04-01 (the stored e-Gov revision date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“一 邦文をもって、当該食品を一般に購入し、又は使用する者が読みやすく、理解しやすいような用語により正確に行う。 二 容器包装(容器包装が小売のために包装されている場合は、当該包装)を開かないでも容易に見ることができるように当該容器包装の見やすい箇所(栄養成分の量及び熱量の表示に関し、同一の食品が継続的に同一人に販売されるものであって、容器包装に表示することが困難な食品(特定保健用食品及び機能性表示”
Article 8 item 1 · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)
Label

表示の方式 (character size)

Label required

Characters of 8 points or larger (JIS Z 8305)

Exemptions (1)

Packages whose displayable area is about 150 cm2 or less, and printed bottles with the particulars on a cap of 30 cm2 or less

“ただし、表示可能面積がおおむね百五十平方センチメートル以下のもの及び印刷瓶に入れられた一般用加工食品であって、表示すべき事項を蓋(その面積が”
Article 8 item 9ただし書 · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Later deadlines (1)

31 Mar 2020: End of old-rule labelling allowance for processed food and additives

“令和二年三月三十一日までに製造され、加工され、又は輸入される加工食品(業務用加工食品を除く。)”
original Article 4 (第二章 加工食品) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 1 Apr 2026. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.

  • Sold prepacked

Depends on: sold prepacked

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-04-01 (the stored revision's date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text (附則 第一条: 食品表示法の施行の日, a date not stored). Applies to 一般用加工食品 (prepacked processed food sold by a 食品関連事業者, excluding food eaten on the premises).

“表示に用いる文字は、日本産業規格Z八三〇五(一九六二)(以下「JISZ八三〇五」という。)に規定する八ポイントの活字以上の大きさの文字とする。ただし、表示可能面積がおおむね百五十平方センチメートル以下”
Article 8 item 9 · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)
Label

保存の方法 | 食品の特性に従って表示する。ただし、食品衛生法第十三条第一項の規定により保存の方法の基準が定められたもの

Label required

保存の方法 | 食品の特性に従って表示する。ただし、食品衛生法第十三条第一項の規定により保存の方法の基準が定められたもの

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Later deadlines (1)

31 Mar 2020: End of old-rule labelling allowance for processed food and additives

“令和二年三月三十一日までに製造され、加工され、又は輸入される加工食品(業務用加工食品を除く。)”
original Article 4 (第二章 加工食品) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 1 Apr 2026. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.

  • Sold prepacked
  • Processed food (JP 別表第一)
  • General-use food (JP 一般用)
  • Special storage conditions are required

Depends on: sold prepacked, jp processed food, jp general use food, special storage required

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-04-01 (the stored e-Gov revision date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the official list: 保存の方法 · 食品の特性に従って表示する。ただし、食品衛生法第十三条第一項の規定により保存の方法の基準が定められたもの

Label

内容量 | 内容重量をグラム又はキログラムの単位で、単位を明記して表示する。ただし、精麦又は雑穀を混合したものにあっては

Label required

内容量 | 内容重量をグラム又はキログラムの単位で、単位を明記して表示する。ただし、精麦又は雑穀を混合したものにあっては

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Later deadlines (1)

30 Sep 2016: End of old-rule labelling allowance for fresh food (rice)

“平成二十八年九月三十日までに販売される生鮮食品(業務用生鮮食品を除く。)の表示については、第三章の規定にかかわらず”
original Article 5 (第三章 生鮮食品) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 1 Apr 2026. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.

  • Brown rice or polished rice (JP)
  • General-use food (JP 一般用)

Depends on: jp brown or polished rice, jp general use food

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-04-01 (the stored e-Gov revision date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the official list: 内容量 · 内容重量をグラム又はキログラムの単位で、単位を明記して表示する。ただし、精麦又は雑穀を混合したものにあっては

Label

原料玄米 | 次に定めるところにより表示する。一 産地、品種及び産年(生産年をいう。以下同じ。)が同一である原料玄米を用

Label required

原料玄米 | 次に定めるところにより表示する。一 産地、品種及び産年(生産年をいう。以下同じ。)が同一である原料玄米を用

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Later deadlines (1)

30 Sep 2016: End of old-rule labelling allowance for fresh food (rice)

“平成二十八年九月三十日までに販売される生鮮食品(業務用生鮮食品を除く。)の表示については、第三章の規定にかかわらず”
original Article 5 (第三章 生鮮食品) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 1 Apr 2026. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.

  • Brown rice or polished rice (JP)
  • General-use food (JP 一般用)

Depends on: jp brown or polished rice, jp general use food

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-04-01 (the stored e-Gov revision date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the official list: 原料玄米 · 次に定めるところにより表示する。一 産地、品種及び産年(生産年をいう。以下同じ。)が同一である原料玄米を用

Label

食品関連事業者の氏名又は名称、住所及び電話番号 | 食品関連事業者のうち表示内容に責任を有する者の氏名又は名称、住所及び

Label required

食品関連事業者の氏名又は名称、住所及び電話番号 | 食品関連事業者のうち表示内容に責任を有する者の氏名又は名称、住所及び

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Later deadlines (1)

30 Sep 2016: End of old-rule labelling allowance for fresh food (rice)

“平成二十八年九月三十日までに販売される生鮮食品(業務用生鮮食品を除く。)の表示については、第三章の規定にかかわらず”
original Article 5 (第三章 生鮮食品) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 1 Apr 2026. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.

  • Brown rice or polished rice (JP)
  • General-use food (JP 一般用)

Depends on: jp brown or polished rice, jp general use food

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-04-01 (the stored e-Gov revision date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the official list: 食品関連事業者の氏名又は名称、住所及び電話番号 · 食品関連事業者のうち表示内容に責任を有する者の氏名又は名称、住所及び

Article 19 Appended Table 24 玄米及び精米 食品関連事業者の氏名又は名称、住所及び電話番号 · fetched 2026-10-09

Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)
Label

調製時期、精米時期又は輸入時期 | 玄米にあっては調製時期を、精米にあっては精米時期を、輸入品であって調製時期又は精米時

Label required

調製時期、精米時期又は輸入時期 | 玄米にあっては調製時期を、精米にあっては精米時期を、輸入品であって調製時期又は精米時

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Later deadlines (1)

30 Sep 2016: End of old-rule labelling allowance for fresh food (rice)

“平成二十八年九月三十日までに販売される生鮮食品(業務用生鮮食品を除く。)の表示については、第三章の規定にかかわらず”
original Article 5 (第三章 生鮮食品) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 1 Apr 2026. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.

  • Brown rice or polished rice (JP)
  • General-use food (JP 一般用)

Depends on: jp brown or polished rice, jp general use food

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-04-01 (the stored e-Gov revision date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the official list: 調製時期、精米時期又は輸入時期 · 玄米にあっては調製時期を、精米にあっては精米時期を、輸入品であって調製時期又は精米時

Article 19 Appended Table 24 玄米及び精米 調製時期、精米時期又は輸入時期 · fetched 2026-10-09

Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)
Label

玄米及び精米 | 名称 | 次に定めるところにより表示する。一 玄米にあっては「玄米」と表示する。二 もち精米にあっては

Label required

玄米及び精米 | 名称 | 次に定めるところにより表示する。一 玄米にあっては「玄米」と表示する。二 もち精米にあっては

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Later deadlines (1)

30 Sep 2016: End of old-rule labelling allowance for fresh food (rice)

“平成二十八年九月三十日までに販売される生鮮食品(業務用生鮮食品を除く。)の表示については、第三章の規定にかかわらず”
original Article 5 (第三章 生鮮食品) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 1 Apr 2026. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.

  • Brown rice or polished rice (JP)
  • General-use food (JP 一般用)

Depends on: jp brown or polished rice, jp general use food

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-04-01 (the stored e-Gov revision date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the official list: 玄米及び精米 · 名称 · 次に定めるところにより表示する。一 玄米にあっては「玄米」と表示する。二 もち精米にあっては

Label

別表第十七の下欄及び別表第十八の中欄に掲げる加工食品 | 遺伝子組換え食品に関する事項 | 1 加工工程後も組み換えられ

Label required

別表第十七の下欄及び別表第十八の中欄に掲げる加工食品 | 遺伝子組換え食品に関する事項 | 1 加工工程後も組み換えられ

Exemptions (1)

第三条第三項: 容器包装の表示可能面積がおおむね三十平方センチメートル以下のものは表示を省略できる

“容器包装の表示可能面積がおおむね三十平方センチメートル以下であるもの”
Article 3(3) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Later deadlines (1)

31 Mar 2020: End of old-rule labelling allowance for processed food and additives

“令和二年三月三十一日までに製造され、加工され、又は輸入される加工食品(業務用加工食品を除く。)”
original Article 4 (第二章 加工食品) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 1 Apr 2026. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.

  • Sold prepacked
  • Processed food (JP 別表第一)
  • General-use food (JP 一般用)
  • Contains genetically modified ingredients
  • Contains a genetically modified food of JP 別表第十七

Depends on: sold prepacked, jp processed food, jp general use food, contains gmo, gmo annex 17 ingredient

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-04-01 (the stored e-Gov revision date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the official list: 別表第十七の下欄及び別表第十八の中欄に掲げる加工食品 · 遺伝子組換え食品に関する事項 · 1 加工工程後も組み換えられ

Label

輸入品 | 原産国名 | 原産国名を表示する。

Label required

輸入品 | 原産国名 | 原産国名を表示する。

Exemptions (1)

第三条第三項: 容器包装の表示可能面積がおおむね三十平方センチメートル以下のものは表示を省略できる

“容器包装の表示可能面積がおおむね三十平方センチメートル以下であるもの”
Article 3(3) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Later deadlines (1)

31 Mar 2020: End of old-rule labelling allowance for processed food and additives

“令和二年三月三十一日までに製造され、加工され、又は輸入される加工食品(業務用加工食品を除く。)”
original Article 4 (第二章 加工食品) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 1 Apr 2026. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.

  • Sold prepacked
  • Processed food (JP 別表第一)
  • General-use food (JP 一般用)
  • Imported into the market of sale

Depends on: sold prepacked, jp processed food, jp general use food, imported

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-04-01 (the stored e-Gov revision date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the official list: 輸入品 · 原産国名 · 原産国名を表示する。

Label

別表第十四に掲げる食品(以下「特定原材料」という。)を原材料とする加工食品(当該加工食品を原材料とするものを含み、抗原性

Label required

別表第十四に掲げる食品(以下「特定原材料」という。)を原材料とする加工食品(当該加工食品を原材料とするものを含み、抗原性

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Later deadlines (3)

31 Mar 2020: End of old-rule labelling allowance for processed food and additives

“令和二年三月三十一日までに製造され、加工され、又は輸入される加工食品(業務用加工食品を除く。)”
original Article 4 (第二章 加工食品) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

31 Mar 2025: End of old-rule allergen labelling allowance (別表第十四 change)

“令和七年三月三十一日までに製造され、加工され、又は輸入される加工食品(業務用加工食品を除く。)”
附則 (Appended Table 14 amendment) Article 2 · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

31 Mar 2028: End of old-rule allergen labelling allowance (later 別表第十四 change)

“令和十年三月三十一日までに製造され、加工され、又は輸入される加工食品(業務用加工食品を除く。)”
附則 (Appended Table 14 amendment) Article 2 · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 1 Apr 2026. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.

  • Sold prepacked
  • Processed food (JP 別表第一)
  • General-use food (JP 一般用)
  • Allergens it contains: Eggs or Milk or Peanuts or Buckwheat or Walnut or Shrimp or Crab

Depends on: sold prepacked, jp processed food, jp general use food, allergens present

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-04-01 (the stored e-Gov revision date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“別表第十四に掲げる食品(以下「特定原材料」という。)を原材料とする加工食品(当該加工食品を原材料とするものを含み、抗原性”
Article 3(2) アレルゲン · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)
Label

輸入品以外の加工食品 | 原料原産地名 | 1 対象原材料(使用した原材料に占める重量の割合が最も高い原材料(酒税の保全

Label required

輸入品以外の加工食品 | 原料原産地名 | 1 対象原材料(使用した原材料に占める重量の割合が最も高い原材料(酒税の保全

Exemptions (1)

第三条第三項: 容器包装の表示可能面積がおおむね三十平方センチメートル以下のものは表示を省略できる

“容器包装の表示可能面積がおおむね三十平方センチメートル以下であるもの”
Article 3(3) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Later deadlines (1)

31 Mar 2020: End of old-rule labelling allowance for processed food and additives

“令和二年三月三十一日までに製造され、加工され、又は輸入される加工食品(業務用加工食品を除く。)”
original Article 4 (第二章 加工食品) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 1 Apr 2026. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.

  • Sold prepacked
  • Processed food (JP 別表第一)
  • General-use food (JP 一般用)
  • Imported into the market of sale: no

Depends on: sold prepacked, jp processed food, jp general use food, imported

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-04-01 (the stored e-Gov revision date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the official list: 輸入品以外の加工食品 · 原料原産地名 · 1 対象原材料(使用した原材料に占める重量の割合が最も高い原材料(酒税の保全

Label

添加物 | 1 次に掲げるものを除き、添加物に占める重量の割合の高いものから順に、別表第六の上欄に掲げるものとして使用さ

Label required

添加物 | 1 次に掲げるものを除き、添加物に占める重量の割合の高いものから順に、別表第六の上欄に掲げるものとして使用さ

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Later deadlines (2)

31 Mar 2020: End of old-rule labelling allowance for processed food and additives

“令和二年三月三十一日までに製造され、加工され、又は輸入される加工食品(業務用加工食品を除く。)”
original Article 4 (第二章 加工食品) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

31 Mar 2022: End of old-rule additive labelling allowance for processed food

“令和四年三月三十一日までに製造され、加工され、又は輸入される加工食品(業務用加工食品を除く。)”
附則(令和2年7月16日施行府令) Article 2 · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 1 Apr 2026. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.

  • Sold prepacked
  • Processed food (JP 別表第一)
  • General-use food (JP 一般用)
  • A food additive is present

Depends on: sold prepacked, jp processed food, jp general use food, food additive present

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-04-01 (the stored e-Gov revision date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the official list: 添加物 · 1 次に掲げるものを除き、添加物に占める重量の割合の高いものから順に、別表第六の上欄に掲げるものとして使用さ

  • Label x 10

    10 rules from 食品表示基準 (平成27年内閣府令第10号)

    Label required

    Show targets (10 of 10)
    • 表示の方式 (place of the indications)
    • 表示の方式 (colour)
    • 原材料名 | 1 使用した原材料を次に定めるところにより表示する。一 原材料に占める重量の割合の高いものから順に、その最
    • 製造所又は加工所の所在地(輸入品にあっては輸入業者の営業所の所在地、乳にあっては乳処理場(特別牛乳にあっては特別牛乳搾取
    • 食品関連事業者の氏名又は名称及び住所 | 食品関連事業者のうち表示内容に責任を有する者の氏名又は名称及び住所を表示する。
    • アスパルテームを含む食品 | L―フェニルアラニン化合物を含む旨 | L―フェニルアラニン化合物を含む旨を表示する。
    • 栄養成分(たんぱく質、脂質、炭水化物及びナトリウムをいう。以下この項において同じ。)の量及び熱量 | 1 栄養成分の量及
    • 消費期限又は賞味期限 | 1 品質が急速に劣化しやすい食品にあっては消費期限である旨の文字を冠したその年月日を、それ以外
    • 内容量又は固形量及び内容総量 | 1 特定商品の販売に係る計量に関する政令(平成五年政令第二百四十九号)第五条に掲げる特
    • 名称 | 1 その内容を表す一般的な名称を表示する。ただし、乳(生乳、生山羊乳、生めん羊乳及び生水牛乳を除く。以下同じ。
    Applies when
    • Sold prepacked
    • Processed food (JP 別表第一)
    • General-use food (JP 一般用)

    Depends on: sold prepacked, jp processed food, jp general use food

    Effective

    1 Apr 2026

    Each rule has its own date; open a target.

    Source

    Example: 表示の方式 (place of the indications)

    “二 容器包装(容器包装が小売のために包装されている場合は、当該包装)を開かないでも容易に見ることができるように当該容器包装の見やすい箇所(栄養成分の量及び熱量の”
    Article 8 item 2 · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)
  • Label

    表示の方式 (form of the indications)

    Label required

    Name, ingredients, additives, origin, content, dates, storage and operator in 別記様式一; nutrition amounts and calories in 別記様式二 or 三

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Later deadlines (1)

    31 Mar 2020: End of old-rule labelling allowance for processed food and additives

    “令和二年三月三十一日までに製造され、加工され、又は輸入される加工食品(業務用加工食品を除く。)”
    original Article 4 (第二章 加工食品) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 1 Apr 2026. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.

    Applies when
    • Sold prepacked
    • Processed food (JP 別表第一)
    • General-use food (JP 一般用)
    • Food listed in the upper column of JP 別表第二十: no

    Depends on: sold prepacked, jp processed food, jp general use food, jp annex 20 food

    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    In force no later than 2026-04-01 (the stored e-Gov revision date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

    Source
    “三 名称、原材料名、添加物、原料原産地名、内容量、固形量、内容総量、消費期限、保存の方法、原産国名及び食品関連事業者の表示は別記様式一により、栄養成分(たんぱく”
    Article 8 item 3 · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)
  • Label

    一 邦文をもって、当該食品を一般に購入し、又は使用する者が読みやすく、理解しやすいような用語により正確に行う。 二 容器包装(容器包装が小売のために包装されてい

    Label required

    一 邦文をもって、当該食品を一般に購入し、又は使用する者が読みやすく、理解しやすいような用語により正確に行う。 二 容器包装(容器包装が小売のために包装されている場合は、当該包装)を開かないでも容易に見ることができるように当該容器包装の見やすい箇所(栄養成分の量及び熱量の表示に関し、同一の食品が継続的に同一人に販売されるものであって、容器包装に表示することが困難な食品(特定保健用食品及び機能性表示

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Later deadlines (1)

    31 Mar 2020: End of old-rule labelling allowance for processed food and additives

    “令和二年三月三十一日までに製造され、加工され、又は輸入される加工食品(業務用加工食品を除く。)”
    original Article 4 (第二章 加工食品) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 1 Apr 2026. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.

    Applies when
    • Sold prepacked
    • Processed food (JP 別表第一)
    • General-use food (JP 一般用)
    • Food listed in the upper column of JP 別表第二十: no

    Depends on: sold prepacked, jp processed food, jp general use food, jp annex 20 food

    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    In force no later than 2026-04-01 (the stored e-Gov revision date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

    Source
    “一 邦文をもって、当該食品を一般に購入し、又は使用する者が読みやすく、理解しやすいような用語により正確に行う。 二 容器包装(容器包装が小売のために包装されている場合は、当該包装)を開かないでも容易に見ることができるように当該容器包装の見やすい箇所(栄養成分の量及び熱量の表示に関し、同一の食品が継続的に同一人に販売されるものであって、容器包装に表示することが困難な食品(特定保健用食品及び機能性表示”
    Article 8 item 1 · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)
  • Label

    表示の方式 (character size)

    Label required

    Characters of 8 points or larger (JIS Z 8305)

    Exemptions (1)

    Packages whose displayable area is about 150 cm2 or less, and printed bottles with the particulars on a cap of 30 cm2 or less

    “ただし、表示可能面積がおおむね百五十平方センチメートル以下のもの及び印刷瓶に入れられた一般用加工食品であって、表示すべき事項を蓋(その面積が”
    Article 8 item 9ただし書 · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Later deadlines (1)

    31 Mar 2020: End of old-rule labelling allowance for processed food and additives

    “令和二年三月三十一日までに製造され、加工され、又は輸入される加工食品(業務用加工食品を除く。)”
    original Article 4 (第二章 加工食品) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 1 Apr 2026. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.

    Applies when
    • Sold prepacked

    Depends on: sold prepacked

    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    In force no later than 2026-04-01 (the stored revision's date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text (附則 第一条: 食品表示法の施行の日, a date not stored). Applies to 一般用加工食品 (prepacked processed food sold by a 食品関連事業者, excluding food eaten on the premises).

    Source
    “表示に用いる文字は、日本産業規格Z八三〇五(一九六二)(以下「JISZ八三〇五」という。)に規定する八ポイントの活字以上の大きさの文字とする。ただし、表示可能面積がおおむね百五十平方センチメートル以下”
    Article 8 item 9 · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)
  • Label

    保存の方法 | 食品の特性に従って表示する。ただし、食品衛生法第十三条第一項の規定により保存の方法の基準が定められたもの

    Label required

    保存の方法 | 食品の特性に従って表示する。ただし、食品衛生法第十三条第一項の規定により保存の方法の基準が定められたもの

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Later deadlines (1)

    31 Mar 2020: End of old-rule labelling allowance for processed food and additives

    “令和二年三月三十一日までに製造され、加工され、又は輸入される加工食品(業務用加工食品を除く。)”
    original Article 4 (第二章 加工食品) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 1 Apr 2026. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.

    Applies when
    • Sold prepacked
    • Processed food (JP 別表第一)
    • General-use food (JP 一般用)
    • Special storage conditions are required

    Depends on: sold prepacked, jp processed food, jp general use food, special storage required

    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    In force no later than 2026-04-01 (the stored e-Gov revision date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

    Source

    From the official list: 保存の方法 · 食品の特性に従って表示する。ただし、食品衛生法第十三条第一項の規定により保存の方法の基準が定められたもの

  • Label

    内容量 | 内容重量をグラム又はキログラムの単位で、単位を明記して表示する。ただし、精麦又は雑穀を混合したものにあっては

    Label required

    内容量 | 内容重量をグラム又はキログラムの単位で、単位を明記して表示する。ただし、精麦又は雑穀を混合したものにあっては

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Later deadlines (1)

    30 Sep 2016: End of old-rule labelling allowance for fresh food (rice)

    “平成二十八年九月三十日までに販売される生鮮食品(業務用生鮮食品を除く。)の表示については、第三章の規定にかかわらず”
    original Article 5 (第三章 生鮮食品) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 1 Apr 2026. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.

    Applies when
    • Brown rice or polished rice (JP)
    • General-use food (JP 一般用)

    Depends on: jp brown or polished rice, jp general use food

    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    In force no later than 2026-04-01 (the stored e-Gov revision date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

    Source

    From the official list: 内容量 · 内容重量をグラム又はキログラムの単位で、単位を明記して表示する。ただし、精麦又は雑穀を混合したものにあっては

  • Label

    原料玄米 | 次に定めるところにより表示する。一 産地、品種及び産年(生産年をいう。以下同じ。)が同一である原料玄米を用

    Label required

    原料玄米 | 次に定めるところにより表示する。一 産地、品種及び産年(生産年をいう。以下同じ。)が同一である原料玄米を用

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Later deadlines (1)

    30 Sep 2016: End of old-rule labelling allowance for fresh food (rice)

    “平成二十八年九月三十日までに販売される生鮮食品(業務用生鮮食品を除く。)の表示については、第三章の規定にかかわらず”
    original Article 5 (第三章 生鮮食品) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 1 Apr 2026. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.

    Applies when
    • Brown rice or polished rice (JP)
    • General-use food (JP 一般用)

    Depends on: jp brown or polished rice, jp general use food

    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    In force no later than 2026-04-01 (the stored e-Gov revision date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

    Source

    From the official list: 原料玄米 · 次に定めるところにより表示する。一 産地、品種及び産年(生産年をいう。以下同じ。)が同一である原料玄米を用

  • Label

    食品関連事業者の氏名又は名称、住所及び電話番号 | 食品関連事業者のうち表示内容に責任を有する者の氏名又は名称、住所及び

    Label required

    食品関連事業者の氏名又は名称、住所及び電話番号 | 食品関連事業者のうち表示内容に責任を有する者の氏名又は名称、住所及び

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Later deadlines (1)

    30 Sep 2016: End of old-rule labelling allowance for fresh food (rice)

    “平成二十八年九月三十日までに販売される生鮮食品(業務用生鮮食品を除く。)の表示については、第三章の規定にかかわらず”
    original Article 5 (第三章 生鮮食品) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 1 Apr 2026. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.

    Applies when
    • Brown rice or polished rice (JP)
    • General-use food (JP 一般用)

    Depends on: jp brown or polished rice, jp general use food

    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    In force no later than 2026-04-01 (the stored e-Gov revision date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

    Source

    From the official list: 食品関連事業者の氏名又は名称、住所及び電話番号 · 食品関連事業者のうち表示内容に責任を有する者の氏名又は名称、住所及び

    Article 19 Appended Table 24 玄米及び精米 食品関連事業者の氏名又は名称、住所及び電話番号 · fetched 2026-10-09

    Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)
  • Label

    調製時期、精米時期又は輸入時期 | 玄米にあっては調製時期を、精米にあっては精米時期を、輸入品であって調製時期又は精米時

    Label required

    調製時期、精米時期又は輸入時期 | 玄米にあっては調製時期を、精米にあっては精米時期を、輸入品であって調製時期又は精米時

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Later deadlines (1)

    30 Sep 2016: End of old-rule labelling allowance for fresh food (rice)

    “平成二十八年九月三十日までに販売される生鮮食品(業務用生鮮食品を除く。)の表示については、第三章の規定にかかわらず”
    original Article 5 (第三章 生鮮食品) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 1 Apr 2026. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.

    Applies when
    • Brown rice or polished rice (JP)
    • General-use food (JP 一般用)

    Depends on: jp brown or polished rice, jp general use food

    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    In force no later than 2026-04-01 (the stored e-Gov revision date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

    Source

    From the official list: 調製時期、精米時期又は輸入時期 · 玄米にあっては調製時期を、精米にあっては精米時期を、輸入品であって調製時期又は精米時

    Article 19 Appended Table 24 玄米及び精米 調製時期、精米時期又は輸入時期 · fetched 2026-10-09

    Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)
  • Label

    玄米及び精米 | 名称 | 次に定めるところにより表示する。一 玄米にあっては「玄米」と表示する。二 もち精米にあっては

    Label required

    玄米及び精米 | 名称 | 次に定めるところにより表示する。一 玄米にあっては「玄米」と表示する。二 もち精米にあっては

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Later deadlines (1)

    30 Sep 2016: End of old-rule labelling allowance for fresh food (rice)

    “平成二十八年九月三十日までに販売される生鮮食品(業務用生鮮食品を除く。)の表示については、第三章の規定にかかわらず”
    original Article 5 (第三章 生鮮食品) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 1 Apr 2026. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.

    Applies when
    • Brown rice or polished rice (JP)
    • General-use food (JP 一般用)

    Depends on: jp brown or polished rice, jp general use food

    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    In force no later than 2026-04-01 (the stored e-Gov revision date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

    Source

    From the official list: 玄米及び精米 · 名称 · 次に定めるところにより表示する。一 玄米にあっては「玄米」と表示する。二 もち精米にあっては

  • Label

    別表第十七の下欄及び別表第十八の中欄に掲げる加工食品 | 遺伝子組換え食品に関する事項 | 1 加工工程後も組み換えられ

    Label required

    別表第十七の下欄及び別表第十八の中欄に掲げる加工食品 | 遺伝子組換え食品に関する事項 | 1 加工工程後も組み換えられ

    Exemptions (1)

    第三条第三項: 容器包装の表示可能面積がおおむね三十平方センチメートル以下のものは表示を省略できる

    “容器包装の表示可能面積がおおむね三十平方センチメートル以下であるもの”
    Article 3(3) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Later deadlines (1)

    31 Mar 2020: End of old-rule labelling allowance for processed food and additives

    “令和二年三月三十一日までに製造され、加工され、又は輸入される加工食品(業務用加工食品を除く。)”
    original Article 4 (第二章 加工食品) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 1 Apr 2026. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.

    Applies when
    • Sold prepacked
    • Processed food (JP 別表第一)
    • General-use food (JP 一般用)
    • Contains genetically modified ingredients
    • Contains a genetically modified food of JP 別表第十七

    Depends on: sold prepacked, jp processed food, jp general use food, contains gmo, gmo annex 17 ingredient

    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    In force no later than 2026-04-01 (the stored e-Gov revision date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

    Source

    From the official list: 別表第十七の下欄及び別表第十八の中欄に掲げる加工食品 · 遺伝子組換え食品に関する事項 · 1 加工工程後も組み換えられ

  • Label

    輸入品 | 原産国名 | 原産国名を表示する。

    Label required

    輸入品 | 原産国名 | 原産国名を表示する。

    Exemptions (1)

    第三条第三項: 容器包装の表示可能面積がおおむね三十平方センチメートル以下のものは表示を省略できる

    “容器包装の表示可能面積がおおむね三十平方センチメートル以下であるもの”
    Article 3(3) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Later deadlines (1)

    31 Mar 2020: End of old-rule labelling allowance for processed food and additives

    “令和二年三月三十一日までに製造され、加工され、又は輸入される加工食品(業務用加工食品を除く。)”
    original Article 4 (第二章 加工食品) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 1 Apr 2026. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.

    Applies when
    • Sold prepacked
    • Processed food (JP 別表第一)
    • General-use food (JP 一般用)
    • Imported into the market of sale

    Depends on: sold prepacked, jp processed food, jp general use food, imported

    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    In force no later than 2026-04-01 (the stored e-Gov revision date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

    Source

    From the official list: 輸入品 · 原産国名 · 原産国名を表示する。

  • Label

    別表第十四に掲げる食品(以下「特定原材料」という。)を原材料とする加工食品(当該加工食品を原材料とするものを含み、抗原性

    Label required

    別表第十四に掲げる食品(以下「特定原材料」という。)を原材料とする加工食品(当該加工食品を原材料とするものを含み、抗原性

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Later deadlines (3)

    31 Mar 2020: End of old-rule labelling allowance for processed food and additives

    “令和二年三月三十一日までに製造され、加工され、又は輸入される加工食品(業務用加工食品を除く。)”
    original Article 4 (第二章 加工食品) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

    31 Mar 2025: End of old-rule allergen labelling allowance (別表第十四 change)

    “令和七年三月三十一日までに製造され、加工され、又は輸入される加工食品(業務用加工食品を除く。)”
    附則 (Appended Table 14 amendment) Article 2 · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

    31 Mar 2028: End of old-rule allergen labelling allowance (later 別表第十四 change)

    “令和十年三月三十一日までに製造され、加工され、又は輸入される加工食品(業務用加工食品を除く。)”
    附則 (Appended Table 14 amendment) Article 2 · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 1 Apr 2026. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.

    Applies when
    • Sold prepacked
    • Processed food (JP 別表第一)
    • General-use food (JP 一般用)
    • Allergens it contains: Eggs or Milk or Peanuts or Buckwheat or Walnut or Shrimp or Crab

    Depends on: sold prepacked, jp processed food, jp general use food, allergens present

    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    In force no later than 2026-04-01 (the stored e-Gov revision date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

    Source
    “別表第十四に掲げる食品(以下「特定原材料」という。)を原材料とする加工食品(当該加工食品を原材料とするものを含み、抗原性”
    Article 3(2) アレルゲン · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)
  • Label

    輸入品以外の加工食品 | 原料原産地名 | 1 対象原材料(使用した原材料に占める重量の割合が最も高い原材料(酒税の保全

    Label required

    輸入品以外の加工食品 | 原料原産地名 | 1 対象原材料(使用した原材料に占める重量の割合が最も高い原材料(酒税の保全

    Exemptions (1)

    第三条第三項: 容器包装の表示可能面積がおおむね三十平方センチメートル以下のものは表示を省略できる

    “容器包装の表示可能面積がおおむね三十平方センチメートル以下であるもの”
    Article 3(3) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Later deadlines (1)

    31 Mar 2020: End of old-rule labelling allowance for processed food and additives

    “令和二年三月三十一日までに製造され、加工され、又は輸入される加工食品(業務用加工食品を除く。)”
    original Article 4 (第二章 加工食品) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 1 Apr 2026. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.

    Applies when
    • Sold prepacked
    • Processed food (JP 別表第一)
    • General-use food (JP 一般用)
    • Imported into the market of sale: no

    Depends on: sold prepacked, jp processed food, jp general use food, imported

    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    In force no later than 2026-04-01 (the stored e-Gov revision date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

    Source

    From the official list: 輸入品以外の加工食品 · 原料原産地名 · 1 対象原材料(使用した原材料に占める重量の割合が最も高い原材料(酒税の保全

  • Label

    添加物 | 1 次に掲げるものを除き、添加物に占める重量の割合の高いものから順に、別表第六の上欄に掲げるものとして使用さ

    Label required

    添加物 | 1 次に掲げるものを除き、添加物に占める重量の割合の高いものから順に、別表第六の上欄に掲げるものとして使用さ

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Later deadlines (2)

    31 Mar 2020: End of old-rule labelling allowance for processed food and additives

    “令和二年三月三十一日までに製造され、加工され、又は輸入される加工食品(業務用加工食品を除く。)”
    original Article 4 (第二章 加工食品) · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

    31 Mar 2022: End of old-rule additive labelling allowance for processed food

    “令和四年三月三十一日までに製造され、加工され、又は輸入される加工食品(業務用加工食品を除く。)”
    附則(令和2年7月16日施行府令) Article 2 · fetched 2026-10-09Consumer Affairs Agency / e-Gov Law API v2: 食品表示基準 (平成二十七年内閣府令第十号, revision 2026-04-01)(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 1 Apr 2026. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.

    Applies when
    • Sold prepacked
    • Processed food (JP 別表第一)
    • General-use food (JP 一般用)
    • A food additive is present

    Depends on: sold prepacked, jp processed food, jp general use food, food additive present

    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    In force no later than 2026-04-01 (the stored e-Gov revision date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

    Source

    From the official list: 添加物 · 1 次に掲げるものを除き、添加物に占める重量の割合の高いものから順に、別表第六の上欄に掲げるものとして使用さ

Categories

Categories with rules

The product categories with the most rules here, sub-categories included.

Sources

Sources

Where the rules come from, and when we last checked each source.

Show 13 more

Alerts

Get an email when these rules change.

Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.

Check a productStart a workspace

Free for 10 products. Email alerts from $39 a month. See pricing