Skip to content

Market

Selling in South Korea?

We track 2,950 rules from 20 laws and lists for consumer goods here, and 4 changes starting in the next 24 months. Type your product to see which apply.

  • Free
  • No account needed
  • The law behind every rule
On this page6

Changes

Upcoming changes

4 changes to 181 rules start in South Korea in the next 24 months.

Industries

Coverage

What we check here for each industry, and from when. Open an industry to see what we cover and what we don't. A law we hold but haven't checked shows as Not checked, with its quote. Anything we don't cover shows as Not covered. Neither is ever clear.

ClaraDB gives a verdict only for PFAS state laws for cookware and bakeware, California Proposition 65 consumer-product warning check for BPA, BPS, formaldehyde, styrene, antimony trioxide, vinyl acetate, lead and cadmium, California Proposition 65 warning check for candles and ceramicware (lead, cadmium, formaldehyde, acetaldehyde, benzene, naphthalene, carbon monoxide, benzo[a]pyrene), US packaging EPR producer size thresholds (California, Colorado, Maryland, Minnesota, Oregon, Washington) for a brand-owning manufacturer, US lead in children's products and furniture (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in toys and child care articles (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in children's products (other) and bags (lead paint and total lead content), US phthalates in children's toys and child care articles (DEHP, DBP, BBP, DINP, DIBP, DPENP, DHEXP, DCHP) and US children's product certificate and tracking label for children's tableware (AI-checked, quotes verified word for word). Every other answer shows the laws and quotes found without saying whether they apply. Not checked: Consumer electronics (FCC equipment authorization, 47 CFR Parts 2 and 15, energy rules). What ClaraDB has checked

Home and kitchen goodsMain sourcesfrom 27 Mar 20262 areas read · 4 not read yet
Sources read
  • standards and specifications for utensils
  • containers and packaging (MFDS notice 2026-24)
Not read yet
  • earlier notice versions (before 2026-03-27)
  • KC safety certification for children's products and electrical goods
  • Consumer Chemical Products Act
  • labelling under the Food Sanitation Act
Cosmetics and personal careMain sourcesfrom 8 Oct 20264 areas read · 6 not read yet
Sources read
  • Cosmetics Act 화장품법
  • Enforcement Rule 화장품법 시행규칙 (labelling)
  • 화장품 안전기준 등에 관한 규정 (prohibited and restricted ingredients, preservatives, colourants, UV filters)
  • 화장품 사용할 때의 주의사항 및 알레르기 유발성분 표시에 관한 규정
Not read yet
  • functional cosmetics 기능성화장품 reviews and 심사 기준
  • 우수화장품 제조 및 품질관리기준 (GMP)
  • 영유아 또는 어린이 사용 화장품 안전성 자료 duties
  • customised cosmetics 맞춤형화장품 rules
  • import quality-test exemption
  • 표시·광고 실증 rules
Packaged food and beveragesMain sourcesfrom 8 Oct 20264 areas read · 8 not read yet

Korean import food law as in force on 8 Oct 2026; food labelling is not covered before 2028-01-01.

Sources read
  • 식품등의 표시기준 (MFDS notice 2025-60 in force until 2027-12-31; notice 2026-37 from 2028-01-01)
  • 식품첨가물의 기준 및 규격 and 식품의 기준 및 규격 (MFDS notices 2026-50 and 2026-55, contaminant and additive limits where in the notice body)
  • 수입식품안전관리 특별법 (importer business registration, import declaration)
  • 식품위생법 labelling articles
Not read yet
  • the notice body of 식품의 기준 및 규격 and 식품첨가물의 기준 및 규격 is an attached file (별표) not returned by the law API
  • 건강기능식품
  • 영유아식
  • 축산물 rules (축산물 위생관리법)
  • 표시광고 rules (식품등의 부당한 표시 또는 광고의 내용 기준)
  • 유전자변형식품등의 표시기준
  • 어린이 기호식품 rules
  • 소비기한 설정기준
Consumer electronics and small appliancesMain sourcesfrom 24 Mar 20263 areas read · 4 not read yet
Sources read
  • 전기용품 및 생활용품 안전관리법 KC certification (안전인증, 안전확인, 공급자적합성확인) and KC mark
  • 전파법 적합성평가 for broadcasting and communications equipment
  • 전기ㆍ전자제품 및 자동차의 자원순환에 관한 법률 for EEE
Not read yet
  • KC technical standards (KC 60335 series attachments)
  • 에너지이용 합리화법 efficiency label
  • product list tiers in 시행규칙 annexes (partial)
  • 전자파적합성 EMC notice details
Batteries, e-bikes and power banksMain sourcesfrom 20 Aug 20263 areas read · 4 not read yet
Sources read
  • 전기용품 및 생활용품 안전관리법 act, decree, rule (annex references to 리튬이차전지) and 안전확인대상생활용품 안전기준 (annex 72 전동보드 and battery rules)
  • 자원의 절약과 재활용촉진에 관한 법률 and decree and rule (EPR for 1차/2차전지, marking)
  • 자전거 이용 활성화에 관한 법률 and 도로교통법 (전기자전거, 개인형 이동장치)
Not read yet
  • KC 62133-2 (K 62133) lithium secondary battery safety standard (notice has no body text, attachment only)
  • 전기용품 안전기준 notices for chargers and the 안전확인대상 전기용품 designation notice
  • 도로교통법 시행령 and 시행규칙, 자전거 이용 활성화에 관한 법률 시행령 and 시행규칙
  • 재활용부과금 (제19조), 분담금 amounts, 의무이행계획서, 법 제10조/제19조 sale ban, 안전기준준수, 공급자적합성확인 and the KC 62133 test content are not covered

Types

Rules by type

What the rules require. Pick a type to filter the laws below; pick it again to show every type.

Laws

Rules by law

422 of 2,950 rules match the type labels. Open a law to read its rules.

Type: Labels. Show every type

Enforcement Rule of the Cosmetics Act화장품법 시행규칙 (총리령, law 285249 version in force 2026-04-02)16 rulesIn force from: 2 Apr 2026Industries: Cosmetics
Requirement
Applies when
Effective
Source
Label

Preservative content on cosmetics marketed for infants/children

Label required

Content of preservatives that have a use criterion set under Art. 8(2)

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 2 Apr 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 시행일자 2026-04-02.

  • Intended for children under 12

Depends on: intended for children under 12

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-04-02 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“영유아 또는 어린이가 사용할 수 있는 제품임을 특정하여 표시ㆍ광고하려는 경우 법 제8조제2항에 따라 사용기준이 지정ㆍ고시된 원료 중 보존제의 함량”
Article 19(4)8. · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법 시행규칙 (총리령, law 285249 version in force 2026-04-02)(opens in a new tab)
Label

Preservative content on cosmetics marketed for infants/children

Label required

Content of preservatives that have a use criterion set under Art. 8(2)

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 2 Apr 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 시행일자 2026-04-02.

  • Intended for children under 3

Depends on: intended for children under 3

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-04-02 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“영유아 또는 어린이가 사용할 수 있는 제품임을 특정하여 표시ㆍ광고하려는 경우 법 제8조제2항에 따라 사용기준이 지정ㆍ고시된 원료 중 보존제의 함량”
Article 19(4)8. · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법 시행규칙 (총리령, law 285249 version in force 2026-04-02)(opens in a new tab)
Label

Functional cosmetic reviewed efficacy and directions

Label required

Reviewed or reported efficacy and effect, directions and dosage (용법ㆍ용량)

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 2 Apr 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 시행일자 2026-04-02.

  • Makes a functional or quasi-drug claim (for example whitening or anti-wrinkle)

Depends on: quasi drug or functional claim

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-04-02 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“기능성화장품의 경우 심사받거나 보고한 효능ㆍ효과, 용법ㆍ용량”
Article 19(4)2. · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법 시행규칙 (총리령, law 285249 version in force 2026-04-02)(opens in a new tab)
Label

Statement 'not a medicine for disease prevention or treatment' for functional cosmetics (hair loss, acne, skin barrier, stretch marks)

Label required

"질병의 예방 및 치료를 위한 의약품이 아님"

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 2 Apr 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 시행일자 2026-04-02.

  • Makes a functional or quasi-drug claim (for example whitening or anti-wrinkle)

Depends on: quasi drug or functional claim

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-04-02 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

제2조제8호부터 제11호까지에 해당하는 기능성화장품의 경우에는 "질병의 예방 및 치료를 위한 의약품이 아님"이라는 문구
Article 19(4)7. · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법 시행규칙 (총리령, law 285249 version in force 2026-04-02)(opens in a new tab)
Label

Mandatory label element: Barcode set by the MFDS commissioner

Label required

Barcode set by the MFDS commissioner

Exemptions (1)

Customised cosmetics are exempt from items 1 and 6

“다만, 맞춤형화장품의 경우에는 제1호 및 제6호를 제외한다.”
화장품법 시행규칙 Article 19(4) · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법 시행규칙 (총리령, law 285249 version in force 2026-04-02)(opens in a new tab)

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 2 Apr 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 시행일자 2026-04-02.

  • Mixed or filled for the individual customer: no

Depends on: customised cosmetic

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-04-02 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

Label x 10

10 rules from 화장품법 시행규칙 (Enforcement Rule of the Cosmetics Act)

Label required

Show targets (10 of 10)
  • Mandatory label element: Content of human cell or tissue culture fluid where contained
  • Mandatory label element: Fragrance may be labelled 향료 unless it contains an MFDS-notified allergen, which must be named
  • Mandatory label element: Marking in legible Korean (Hangul); Chinese characters or foreign words may be added
  • Mandatory label element: Ingredient list in letters of at least 5 points
  • Mandatory label element: Name and content of an ingredient used as part of the product name (fragrance products excepted)
  • Mandatory label element: Ingredients in descending order of content (ingredients at 1 % or less, fragrance and colourants in any order)
  • Mandatory label element: Content of the raw material where the product is advertised as natural or organic
  • Mandatory label element: Content by volume or weight excluding packaging; soap shows weight with water and dry weight
  • Mandatory label element: Business operator address as on the registration certificate or the returns office; manufacturer, responsible seller and customised-cosmetics seller shown separately
  • Mandatory label element: Ingredient names as standardised general names

Every product in the category

2 Apr 2026

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: Mandatory label element: Content of human cell or tissue culture fluid where contained

“4. 인체 세포ㆍ조직 배양액이 들어있는 경우 그 함량”
Article 19(4)4. · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법 시행규칙 (총리령, law 285249 version in force 2026-04-02)(opens in a new tab)
Label

Mandatory label element: Imported cosmetic: country of manufacture, manufacturer name and address

Label required

Imported cosmetic: country of manufacture, manufacturer name and address

Exemptions (1)

Country of manufacture may be omitted where the origin is marked under the Foreign Trade Act

“「대외무역법」에 따른 원산지를 표시한 경우에는 제조국의 명칭을 생략할 수 있다”
화장품법 시행규칙 Article 19(4) item 6 · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법 시행규칙 (총리령, law 285249 version in force 2026-04-02)(opens in a new tab)

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 2 Apr 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 시행일자 2026-04-02.

  • Imported into the market of sale
  • Your role: Importer

Depends on: imported, economic operator role

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-04-02 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“6. 수입화장품인 경우에는 제조국의 명칭(「대외무역법」에 따른 원산지를 표시한 경우에는 제조국의 명칭을 생략할 수 있다), 제조회사명 및 그 소재지”
Article 19(4)6. · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법 시행규칙 (총리령, law 285249 version in force 2026-04-02)(opens in a new tab)
  • Label

    Preservative content on cosmetics marketed for infants/children

    Label required

    Content of preservatives that have a use criterion set under Art. 8(2)

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Official text, current to 2 Apr 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 시행일자 2026-04-02.

    Applies when
    • Intended for children under 12

    Depends on: intended for children under 12

    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    In force no later than 2026-04-02 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

    Source
    “영유아 또는 어린이가 사용할 수 있는 제품임을 특정하여 표시ㆍ광고하려는 경우 법 제8조제2항에 따라 사용기준이 지정ㆍ고시된 원료 중 보존제의 함량”
    Article 19(4)8. · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법 시행규칙 (총리령, law 285249 version in force 2026-04-02)(opens in a new tab)
  • Label

    Preservative content on cosmetics marketed for infants/children

    Label required

    Content of preservatives that have a use criterion set under Art. 8(2)

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Official text, current to 2 Apr 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 시행일자 2026-04-02.

    Applies when
    • Intended for children under 3

    Depends on: intended for children under 3

    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    In force no later than 2026-04-02 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

    Source
    “영유아 또는 어린이가 사용할 수 있는 제품임을 특정하여 표시ㆍ광고하려는 경우 법 제8조제2항에 따라 사용기준이 지정ㆍ고시된 원료 중 보존제의 함량”
    Article 19(4)8. · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법 시행규칙 (총리령, law 285249 version in force 2026-04-02)(opens in a new tab)
  • Label

    Functional cosmetic reviewed efficacy and directions

    Label required

    Reviewed or reported efficacy and effect, directions and dosage (용법ㆍ용량)

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Official text, current to 2 Apr 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 시행일자 2026-04-02.

    Applies when
    • Makes a functional or quasi-drug claim (for example whitening or anti-wrinkle)

    Depends on: quasi drug or functional claim

    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    In force no later than 2026-04-02 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

    Source
    “기능성화장품의 경우 심사받거나 보고한 효능ㆍ효과, 용법ㆍ용량”
    Article 19(4)2. · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법 시행규칙 (총리령, law 285249 version in force 2026-04-02)(opens in a new tab)
  • Label

    Statement 'not a medicine for disease prevention or treatment' for functional cosmetics (hair loss, acne, skin barrier, stretch marks)

    Label required

    "질병의 예방 및 치료를 위한 의약품이 아님"

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Official text, current to 2 Apr 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 시행일자 2026-04-02.

    Applies when
    • Makes a functional or quasi-drug claim (for example whitening or anti-wrinkle)

    Depends on: quasi drug or functional claim

    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    In force no later than 2026-04-02 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

    Source
    제2조제8호부터 제11호까지에 해당하는 기능성화장품의 경우에는 "질병의 예방 및 치료를 위한 의약품이 아님"이라는 문구
    Article 19(4)7. · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법 시행규칙 (총리령, law 285249 version in force 2026-04-02)(opens in a new tab)
  • Label

    Mandatory label element: Barcode set by the MFDS commissioner

    Label required

    Barcode set by the MFDS commissioner

    Exemptions (1)

    Customised cosmetics are exempt from items 1 and 6

    “다만, 맞춤형화장품의 경우에는 제1호 및 제6호를 제외한다.”
    화장품법 시행규칙 Article 19(4) · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법 시행규칙 (총리령, law 285249 version in force 2026-04-02)(opens in a new tab)

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Official text, current to 2 Apr 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 시행일자 2026-04-02.

    Applies when
    • Mixed or filled for the individual customer: no

    Depends on: customised cosmetic

    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    In force no later than 2026-04-02 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

  • Label x 10

    10 rules from 화장품법 시행규칙 (Enforcement Rule of the Cosmetics Act)

    Label required

    Show targets (10 of 10)
    • Mandatory label element: Content of human cell or tissue culture fluid where contained
    • Mandatory label element: Fragrance may be labelled 향료 unless it contains an MFDS-notified allergen, which must be named
    • Mandatory label element: Marking in legible Korean (Hangul); Chinese characters or foreign words may be added
    • Mandatory label element: Ingredient list in letters of at least 5 points
    • Mandatory label element: Name and content of an ingredient used as part of the product name (fragrance products excepted)
    • Mandatory label element: Ingredients in descending order of content (ingredients at 1 % or less, fragrance and colourants in any order)
    • Mandatory label element: Content of the raw material where the product is advertised as natural or organic
    • Mandatory label element: Content by volume or weight excluding packaging; soap shows weight with water and dry weight
    • Mandatory label element: Business operator address as on the registration certificate or the returns office; manufacturer, responsible seller and customised-cosmetics seller shown separately
    • Mandatory label element: Ingredient names as standardised general names
    Applies when

    Every product in the category

    Effective

    2 Apr 2026

    Each rule has its own date; open a target.

    Source

    Example: Mandatory label element: Content of human cell or tissue culture fluid where contained

    “4. 인체 세포ㆍ조직 배양액이 들어있는 경우 그 함량”
    Article 19(4)4. · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법 시행규칙 (총리령, law 285249 version in force 2026-04-02)(opens in a new tab)
  • Label

    Mandatory label element: Imported cosmetic: country of manufacture, manufacturer name and address

    Label required

    Imported cosmetic: country of manufacture, manufacturer name and address

    Exemptions (1)

    Country of manufacture may be omitted where the origin is marked under the Foreign Trade Act

    “「대외무역법」에 따른 원산지를 표시한 경우에는 제조국의 명칭을 생략할 수 있다”
    화장품법 시행규칙 Article 19(4) item 6 · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법 시행규칙 (총리령, law 285249 version in force 2026-04-02)(opens in a new tab)

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Official text, current to 2 Apr 2026. National Law Information Center (law.go.kr) text; 시행일자 2026-04-02.

    Applies when
    • Imported into the market of sale
    • Your role: Importer

    Depends on: imported, economic operator role

    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    In force no later than 2026-04-02 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

    Source
    “6. 수입화장품인 경우에는 제조국의 명칭(「대외무역법」에 따른 원산지를 표시한 경우에는 제조국의 명칭을 생략할 수 있다), 제조회사명 및 그 소재지”
    Article 19(4)6. · fetched 2026-10-09Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center (law.go.kr): 화장품법 시행규칙 (총리령, law 285249 version in force 2026-04-02)(opens in a new tab)

Categories

Categories with rules

The product categories with the most rules here, sub-categories included.

Sources

Sources

Where the rules come from, and when we last checked each source.

Show 24 more

Alerts

Get an email when these rules change.

Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.

Check a productStart a workspace

Free for 10 products. Email alerts from $39 a month. See pricing