Market
Selling in Oregon?
We track 7 rules from 6 laws and lists for consumer goods here. Type your product to see which apply.
- Free
- No account needed
- The law behind every rule
Changes
Upcoming changes
Rules here that start in the next 24 months, or are proposed or on hold.
No dated changes in the next 24 months
No rule for Oregon starts in the next 24 months, and none is proposed or on hold.
Industries
Coverage
What we check here for each industry, and from when. Open an industry to see what we cover and what we don't. A law we hold but haven't checked shows as Not checked, with its quote. Anything we don't cover shows as Not covered. Neither is ever clear.
ClaraDB gives a verdict only for PFAS state laws for cookware and bakeware, California Proposition 65 consumer-product warning check for BPA, BPS, formaldehyde, styrene, antimony trioxide, vinyl acetate, lead and cadmium, California Proposition 65 warning check for candles and ceramicware (lead, cadmium, formaldehyde, acetaldehyde, benzene, naphthalene, carbon monoxide, benzo[a]pyrene), US packaging EPR producer size thresholds (California, Colorado, Maryland, Minnesota, Oregon, Washington) for a brand-owning manufacturer, US lead in children's products and furniture (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in toys and child care articles (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in children's products (other) and bags (lead paint and total lead content), US phthalates in children's toys and child care articles (DEHP, DBP, BBP, DINP, DIBP, DPENP, DHEXP, DCHP) and US children's product certificate and tracking label for children's tableware (AI-checked, quotes verified word for word). Every other answer shows the laws and quotes found without saying whether they apply. Not checked: Consumer electronics (FCC equipment authorization, 47 CFR Parts 2 and 15, energy rules). What ClaraDB has checked
Home and kitchen goodsMain sourcesfrom 1 Jan 20251 area read · 1 not read yet
- PFAS in foodware containers (ORS 459.465 to 459.477)
- Other state chemical and product-safety laws for home and kitchen goods (not yet reviewed)
Cosmetics and personal careNot coveredNo sources read yet
Oregon (US state): ClaraDB stores no laws for this market yet (not stored: PFAS in cosmetics (reported SB 546, 2027+); Unverified; official text).
Packaged food and beveragesMain sources
Oregon (US state): main sources stored. Not stored: other rules that may apply.
Consumer electronics and small appliancesMain sourcesfrom 1 Jan 20251 area read · 1 not read yet
ORS 646A.813 is stored from the Internet Archive copy of the Oregon Legislature's ORS chapter 646A page (2025 edition).
- security of Internet-connected devices (ORS 646A.813)
- Other Oregon product-safety and chemical laws for consumer electronics (not yet reviewed)
Batteries, e-bikes and power banksMain sources
Oregon (US state): main sources stored. Not stored: other rules that may apply.
- Also bound by
Types
Rules by type
What the rules require. Pick a type to filter the laws below.
Laws
Rules by law
The laws, regulations and lists the rules come from. Open one to read its rules.
The manufacturer gives the Oregon Health Authority a biennial notice of a listed high priority chemical at or above a de minimis level in a children's product
Notification to Oregon Health Authority (or the Interstate Chemicals Clearinghouse where the authority so requires)
Biennial notice by January 31 of each notice year: chemical name and CAS number, brand name, model and product category, function of the chemical, amount per unit as a range, and manufacturer name, address and contact; the first notice is due by January 31 of the year after the chemical is added to the list (ORS 431A.258(1)(b), (2))
Exemptions (1)
Manufacturers with annual worldwide gross sales under $5 million are exempt from ORS 431A.258, 431A.260, 431A.263 and 431A.265.
“Manufacturers of children’s products with annual worldwide gross sales of less than $5 million, as reported on the most recent tax return filed by the manufacturer before the notice required under ORS 431A.258, are exempt from the requirements of ORS 431A.258, 431A.260, 431A.263 and 431A.265.”
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Official text, current to 11 Aug 2026. Wayback Machine capture of the official ORS chapter 431A page, 2026-08-11; the live host timed out from this network on 2026-10-31 (curl and the broker Chrome).
- Children's product
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer or Distributor
- The product is made for, marketed for use by or marketed to children under 12 years of age and is a product designed to facilitate sucking, teething, sleep, relaxation, feeding or drinking, children's clothing or footwear, car seat, children's cosmetic, children's jewelry or toy (ORS 431A.253(3)(a)), and it contains a chemical on the ORS 431A.255 list at or above a de minimis level
Depends on: whether it is a children's product, economic operator role
In force, start date unknown
The section states no operative date of its own (history: 2015 c.786 §4; 2023 c.426 §§3,4); the date shown is the date of the published text, not a stated start date.
“(1)(a) A manufacturer of a children’s product sold or offered for sale in this state that contains a chemical or member of a class of chemicals included on the list established and maintained under ORS 431A.255 in an amount at or above a de minimis level shall provide a biennial notice as described in subsection (2) of this section to the Oregon Health Authority by January 31 of each applicable notice year.”
The manufacturer has removed or substituted a listed chemical (or holds a waiver) in a mouthable product, children's cosmetic or product for children under 3
Must meet the conditions of On or before the third biennial notice for a chemical, the manufacturer must remove it, substitute it under ORS 431A.263, or seek a waiver under ORS 431A.265, if it is present in a mouthable children's product, a children's cosmetic or a product made for, marketed for use by or marketed to children under three (ORS 431A.260(1)); a manufacturer with 25 or fewer employees may apply for a two-year extension
Exemptions (2)
Manufacturers with annual worldwide gross sales under $5 million are exempt from ORS 431A.258, 431A.260, 431A.263 and 431A.265.
“Manufacturers of children’s products with annual worldwide gross sales of less than $5 million, as reported on the most recent tax return filed by the manufacturer before the notice required under ORS 431A.258, are exempt from the requirements of ORS 431A.258, 431A.260, 431A.263 and 431A.265.”
A product with a chemical at or below the allowable levels set by the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008 is exempt from the remove-or-substitute duty.
“(3) Manufacturers are exempt from meeting the requirements of this section for children’s products described in subsection (1) of this section that contain high priority chemicals of concern for children’s health used in children’s products at levels that are at or below allowable levels for children’s products as established by the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008, P.L. 110-314, 122 Stat. 3016, as in effect on July 27, 2015.”
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Official text, current to 11 Aug 2026. Wayback Machine capture of the official ORS chapter 431A page, 2026-08-11; the live host timed out from this network on 2026-10-31 (curl and the broker Chrome).
- Children's product
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer or Distributor
- The product is made for, marketed for use by or marketed to children under 12 years of age and is a product designed to facilitate sucking, teething, sleep, relaxation, feeding or drinking, children's clothing or footwear, car seat, children's cosmetic, children's jewelry or toy (ORS 431A.253(3)(a)), it contains a listed chemical, and it is mouthable or made for, marketed for use by or marketed to children under three years of age
Depends on: whether it is a children's product, economic operator role
In force, start date unknown
The section states no operative date of its own (history: 2015 c.786 §5); the date shown is the date of the published text, not a stated start date.
“(1) On or before the date on which a manufacturer of a children’s product submits the third biennial notice required under ORS 431A.258 for a chemical that is present in a children’s product, the manufacturer must remove or make a substitution for the chemical pursuant to ORS 431A.263, or seek a waiver under ORS 431A.265, if the chemical is present in a children’s product that is: (a) Mouthable; (b) A children’s cosmetic; or (c) Made for, marketed for use by or marketed to children under three years of age.”
- Notification
The manufacturer gives the Oregon Health Authority a biennial notice of a listed high priority chemical at or above a de minimis level in a children's product
Notification to Oregon Health Authority (or the Interstate Chemicals Clearinghouse where the authority so requires)
Biennial notice by January 31 of each notice year: chemical name and CAS number, brand name, model and product category, function of the chemical, amount per unit as a range, and manufacturer name, address and contact; the first notice is due by January 31 of the year after the chemical is added to the list (ORS 431A.258(1)(b), (2))
Exemptions (1)
Manufacturers with annual worldwide gross sales under $5 million are exempt from ORS 431A.258, 431A.260, 431A.263 and 431A.265.
“Manufacturers of children’s products with annual worldwide gross sales of less than $5 million, as reported on the most recent tax return filed by the manufacturer before the notice required under ORS 431A.258, are exempt from the requirements of ORS 431A.258, 431A.260, 431A.263 and 431A.265.”
ORS 431A.268 · fetched 2026-10-31Oregon State Legislature (Legislative Counsel): ORS 431A.258(1)(opens in a new tab) The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Official text, current to 11 Aug 2026. Wayback Machine capture of the official ORS chapter 431A page, 2026-08-11; the live host timed out from this network on 2026-10-31 (curl and the broker Chrome).
- Applies when
- Children's product
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer or Distributor
- The product is made for, marketed for use by or marketed to children under 12 years of age and is a product designed to facilitate sucking, teething, sleep, relaxation, feeding or drinking, children's clothing or footwear, car seat, children's cosmetic, children's jewelry or toy (ORS 431A.253(3)(a)), and it contains a chemical on the ORS 431A.255 list at or above a de minimis level
Depends on: whether it is a children's product, economic operator role
- Effective
In force, start date unknown
The section states no operative date of its own (history: 2015 c.786 §4; 2023 c.426 §§3,4); the date shown is the date of the published text, not a stated start date.
- Source
“(1)(a) A manufacturer of a children’s product sold or offered for sale in this state that contains a chemical or member of a class of chemicals included on the list established and maintained under ORS 431A.255 in an amount at or above a de minimis level shall provide a biennial notice as described in subsection (2) of this section to the Oregon Health Authority by January 31 of each applicable notice year.”
ORS 431A.258(1)(a) · fetched 2026-10-31Oregon State Legislature (Legislative Counsel): ORS 431A.258(1)(opens in a new tab)
- Conformity
The manufacturer has removed or substituted a listed chemical (or holds a waiver) in a mouthable product, children's cosmetic or product for children under 3
Must meet the conditions of On or before the third biennial notice for a chemical, the manufacturer must remove it, substitute it under ORS 431A.263, or seek a waiver under ORS 431A.265, if it is present in a mouthable children's product, a children's cosmetic or a product made for, marketed for use by or marketed to children under three (ORS 431A.260(1)); a manufacturer with 25 or fewer employees may apply for a two-year extension
Exemptions (2)
Manufacturers with annual worldwide gross sales under $5 million are exempt from ORS 431A.258, 431A.260, 431A.263 and 431A.265.
“Manufacturers of children’s products with annual worldwide gross sales of less than $5 million, as reported on the most recent tax return filed by the manufacturer before the notice required under ORS 431A.258, are exempt from the requirements of ORS 431A.258, 431A.260, 431A.263 and 431A.265.”
ORS 431A.268 · fetched 2026-10-31Oregon State Legislature (Legislative Counsel): ORS 431A.260(1)(opens in a new tab) A product with a chemical at or below the allowable levels set by the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008 is exempt from the remove-or-substitute duty.
“(3) Manufacturers are exempt from meeting the requirements of this section for children’s products described in subsection (1) of this section that contain high priority chemicals of concern for children’s health used in children’s products at levels that are at or below allowable levels for children’s products as established by the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008, P.L. 110-314, 122 Stat. 3016, as in effect on July 27, 2015.”
ORS 431A.260(3) · fetched 2026-10-31Oregon State Legislature (Legislative Counsel): ORS 431A.260(1)(opens in a new tab) The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Official text, current to 11 Aug 2026. Wayback Machine capture of the official ORS chapter 431A page, 2026-08-11; the live host timed out from this network on 2026-10-31 (curl and the broker Chrome).
- Applies when
- Children's product
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer or Distributor
- The product is made for, marketed for use by or marketed to children under 12 years of age and is a product designed to facilitate sucking, teething, sleep, relaxation, feeding or drinking, children's clothing or footwear, car seat, children's cosmetic, children's jewelry or toy (ORS 431A.253(3)(a)), it contains a listed chemical, and it is mouthable or made for, marketed for use by or marketed to children under three years of age
Depends on: whether it is a children's product, economic operator role
- Effective
In force, start date unknown
The section states no operative date of its own (history: 2015 c.786 §5); the date shown is the date of the published text, not a stated start date.
- Source
“(1) On or before the date on which a manufacturer of a children’s product submits the third biennial notice required under ORS 431A.258 for a chemical that is present in a children’s product, the manufacturer must remove or make a substitution for the chemical pursuant to ORS 431A.263, or seek a waiver under ORS 431A.265, if the chemical is present in a children’s product that is: (a) Mouthable; (b) A children’s cosmetic; or (c) Made for, marketed for use by or marketed to children under three years of age.”
ORS 431A.260(1) · fetched 2026-10-31Oregon State Legislature (Legislative Counsel): ORS 431A.260(1)(opens in a new tab)
Categories
Categories with rules
The product categories with the most rules here, sub-categories included.
Sources
Sources
Where the rules come from, and when we last checked each source.
- Oregon Laws 2024, chapter 69 (SB 1596, right to repair consumer electronic equipment)(opens in a new tab)Oregon Legislative Assembly · Statute (PDF)Updates: on changeLast checked: Checked
- Oregon Revised Statutes 431A.253 to 431A.280 (Toxic-Free Kids Act)(opens in a new tab)Oregon State Legislature (Legislative Counsel) · Statute (web page)Updates: on changeLast checked: Checked
- Oregon ORS 431A.330 to 431A.349, Toxic Cosmetic Products (2023 Or. Laws c.575, SB 546): high priority chemicals list, website notice, ingredient prohibitions, civil penalties(opens in a new tab)Oregon Legislature (ORS 2025 edition; Internet Archive capture) · Statute (web page)Updates: on changeLast checked: Checked
- Oregon Revised Statutes 453.085 (prohibited acts; subsection (16): products containing penta-, octa- or decabrominated diphenyl ether)(opens in a new tab)Oregon State Legislature (Legislative Counsel) · Statute (web page)Updates: on changeLast checked: Checked
- Oregon ORS 459.465 to 459.477, foodware containers and polystyrene foam (2023 Or. Laws c.73, SB 543): PFAS in foodware containers ban, with the enrolled SB 543(opens in a new tab)Oregon Legislature (ORS 2025 edition and OLIS enrolled bill; Internet Archive captures) · Statute (web page)Updates: on changeLast checked: Checked
Show 2 more
- Oregon ORS 459A.860 to 459A.975, Plastic Pollution and Recycling Modernization Act (packaging producer responsibility)(opens in a new tab)Oregon Legislature (Legislative Counsel), ORS text as republished by oregon.public.law · Statute (web page)Updates: on changeLast checked: Checked
- Oregon ORS 646A.813, security requirements for Internet-connected devices (2019 c.193 s.1)(opens in a new tab)Oregon Legislature (ORS 2025 edition; Internet Archive capture) · Statute (web page)Updates: on changeLast checked: Checked
Alerts
Get an email when these rules change.
Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.