Skip to content

Market

Selling in the United States?

We track 878 rules from 56 laws and lists for consumer goods here, and 2 changes starting in the next 24 months. Type your product to see which apply.

  • Free
  • No account needed
  • The law behind every rule
On this page6

Changes

Upcoming changes

2 changes to 2 rules start in the United States in the next 24 months. 1 more change is proposed or on hold.

Industries

Coverage

What we check here for each industry, and from when. Open an industry to see what we cover and what we don't. A law we hold but haven't checked shows as Not checked, with its quote. Anything we don't cover shows as Not covered. Neither is ever clear.

ClaraDB gives a verdict only for PFAS state laws for cookware and bakeware, California Proposition 65 consumer-product warning check for BPA, BPS, formaldehyde, styrene, antimony trioxide, vinyl acetate, lead and cadmium, California Proposition 65 warning check for candles and ceramicware (lead, cadmium, formaldehyde, acetaldehyde, benzene, naphthalene, carbon monoxide, benzo[a]pyrene), US packaging EPR producer size thresholds (California, Colorado, Maryland, Minnesota, Oregon, Washington) for a brand-owning manufacturer, US lead in children's products and furniture (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in toys and child care articles (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in children's products (other) and bags (lead paint and total lead content), US phthalates in children's toys and child care articles (DEHP, DBP, BBP, DINP, DIBP, DPENP, DHEXP, DCHP) and US children's product certificate and tracking label for children's tableware (AI-checked, quotes verified word for word). Every other answer shows the laws and quotes found without saying whether they apply. Not checked: Consumer electronics (FCC equipment authorization, 47 CFR Parts 2 and 15, energy rules). What ClaraDB has checked

Home and kitchen goodsMain sourcesfrom 1 Jan 20257 areas read · 6 not read yet

Federal regulations as published on 6 Oct 2026.

Sources read
  • TSCA section 8(a)(7) PFAS reporting and recordkeeping (40 CFR 705), shown as applying only if the product contains a PFAS
  • FDA food-contact polymers
  • coatings and paper (21 CFR 174-178)
  • decorative ceramicware labelling (21 CFR 109.16)
  • CPSC lead in paint and children's products (16 CFR 1303, 15 U.S.C. 1278a)
  • clothing storage unit tip-over (16 CFR 1261)
  • TSCA Title VI formaldehyde in composite wood (40 CFR 770)
Not read yet
  • FDA guidance on leachable lead/cadmium in ceramicware (CPG 545.450/545.500)
  • CPSC flammability standards other than those listed
  • children's product certificates and tracking labels other than for children's tableware
  • FTC labelling rules
  • upholstered furniture flammability (16 CFR 1640)
  • mattresses
Cosmetics and personal careMain sourcesfrom 1 Jan 20256 areas read · 6 not read yet
Sources read
  • TSCA section 8(a)(7) PFAS reporting and recordkeeping (40 CFR 705), shown as applying only if the product contains a PFAS
  • FD&C Act ch. VI cosmetics as amended by MoCRA (21 U.S.C. 361-364j: adulteration, misbranding, adverse events, GMP, registration and listing, safety substantiation, labelling)
  • 21 CFR 700, 701, 710, 720
  • 740 and color additive parts 73
  • OTC sunscreen: 21 CFR 201.327 labeling, SPF, broad-spectrum and water-resistance tests; 21 CFR 201.66 Drug Facts; 21 CFR part 207 establishment registration, drug listing and NDC
  • 74 and 82 where cosmetics are named
Not read yet
  • OTC drug products other than sunscreen (antiperspirant M019, anti-dandruff, fluoride toothpaste M021)
  • for sunscreen: the M020 list of permitted active ingredients and concentrations, and OMUFA facility fees
  • FPLA and 16 CFR 500 packaging rules
  • FDA GMP and talc-asbestos testing rules until final
  • color additive petition status after ClaraDB's data date
  • state law other than listed US states
Packaged food and beveragesMain sourcesfrom 7 Oct 20267 areas read · 11 not read yet

Federal food regulations as published on 7 Oct 2026.

Sources read
  • TSCA section 8(a)(7) PFAS reporting and recordkeeping (40 CFR 705), shown as applying only if the product contains a PFAS
  • 21 CFR 101 food labelling (statement of identity, net quantity, ingredient list, allergen declaration incl. sesame under FALCPA and FASTER, nutrition facts, name and place of business)
  • FD&C Act sec. 403 misbranding (21 U.S.C. 343)
  • 21 CFR 170-189 additive status where listable (172 direct additives, 173, 180, 182 GRAS substances, 184)
  • facility registration (21 CFR 1 subpart H)
  • prior notice (subpart I)
  • FSMA FSVP (21 CFR 1 subpart L)
Not read yet
  • GRAS notices outside the listed 21 CFR parts
  • standards of identity (21 CFR 130-169)
  • Part 117 preventive-control details (only who must comply and the qualified-facility rules are encoded)
  • seafood and juice HACCP
  • FPLA and 16 CFR 500
  • FDA action levels and guidance levels for contaminants (not binding limits)
  • state laws other than listed
  • USDA-regulated meat
  • poultry and egg products
  • dietary supplements
  • infant formula
Consumer electronics and small appliancesMain sourcesfrom 1 Jan 20255 areas read · 6 not read yet
Sources read
  • TSCA section 8(a)(7) PFAS reporting and recordkeeping (40 CFR 705), shown as applying only if the product contains a PFAS
  • FCC Part 15 marking, SDoC and information to the user (47 CFR 15.19, 15.21, 15.105)
  • 47 CFR part 2 subpart J equipment authorization
  • Part 18 for consumer ISM appliances where applicable
  • DOE energy conservation labels for listed consumer products (10 CFR 430 subpart C) and FTC Energy Labeling Rule (16 CFR 305)
Not read yet
  • CPSC product-specific rules for electrical goods
  • UL and NRTL listing (voluntary)
  • state e-waste laws other than California
  • FCC certification of radio modules (TCB process)
  • DOE standards for non-listed products
  • TSCA and PFAS in electronics outside the listed instruments
Batteries, e-bikes and power banksMain sourcesfrom 1 Oct 20267 areas read · 5 not read yet

Federal regulations as published on 1 Oct 2026; US Code from the 2024 edition.

Sources read
  • TSCA section 8(a)(7) PFAS reporting and recordkeeping (40 CFR 705), shown as applying only if the product contains a PFAS
  • CPSC button cell or coin battery safety standard (16 CFR 1263)
  • low-speed electric bicycles (15 U.S.C. 2085; 16 CFR 1512 and 1500.18)
  • Mercury-Containing and Rechargeable Battery Management Act (42 U.S.C. 14301 ff)
  • lithium cell carriage (49 CFR 173.185) and universal waste (40 CFR 273)
  • DOE battery charger standards sit in 10 CFR 430 subpart C (covered under consumer electronics)
  • FCC Part 15 and Part 2 subpart J for power banks and battery chargers (the electronics rules applied to these categories)
Not read yet
  • CPSC rulemaking on lithium-ion batteries in micromobility products (not stored)
  • UL 2849, 2271, 2272, 2054 and 2056 standard texts (paid, voluntary)
  • 49 CFR parts 171-180 beyond 173.185 and IATA/ICAO rules
  • state battery stewardship and labelling laws other than NYC LL39 (not stored)
  • 40 CFR 273 universal-waste duties on handlers (not a seller or manufacturer duty) and 49 CFR 173.185 shipper-side limits other than the manufacturer test record and summary are not covered

Types

Rules by type

What the rules require. Pick a type to filter the laws below; pick it again to show every type.

Laws

Rules by law

103 of 878 rules match the type labels. Open a law to read its rules.

Type: Labels. Show every type

Food labeling (21 CFR Part 101)21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)15 rulesIn force from: 15 Mar 1977Industries: Food
Requirement
Applies when
Effective
Source
Label

(4) For the purposes of paragraph (a)(3) of this section, any sulfiting agent (s

Label required

(4) For the purposes of paragraph (a)(3) of this section, any sulfiting agent (sulfur dioxide, sodium sulfite, sodium bisulfite, potassium bisulfite, sodium metabisulfite, and potassium

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

  • Sulfiting agent added

Depends on: sulfiting agent added

In force since 15 Mar 1977

Applies to products sold on or after 15 Mar 1977

Date stated in the published text: the first Federal Register date of the section history note (or of the part Source line where the section has none), used as the provision date.

“(4) For the purposes of paragraph (a)(3) of this section, any sulfiting agent (sulfur dioxide, sodium sulfite, sodium bisulfite, potassium bisulfite, sodium metabisulfite, and potassium”
101.100(a)(4) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
Label

(c)(1) All words, statements, and other information required by or under authori

Label required

(c)(1) All words, statements, and other information required by or under authority of the act to appear on the label or labeling shall appear thereon

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

Every product in the category

In force since 15 Mar 1977

Applies to products sold on or after 15 Mar 1977

Date stated in the published text: the first Federal Register date of the section history note (or of the part Source line where the section has none), used as the provision date.

“(c)(1) All words, statements, and other information required by or under authority of the act to appear on the label or labeling shall appear thereon”
101.15(c)(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
Label

Food to which any colouring has been added: colouring declared in the ingredient statement

Label required

Declaration of the added colouring in the statement of ingredients (as the colour additive's name or as artificial colour, per 101.22(k))

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

Every product in the category

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-10-07 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“(k) The label of a food to which any coloring has been added shall declare the coloring in the statement of ingredients in the manner”
21 CFR 101.22(k) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
Label

Food with artificial flavor, artificial colour or chemical preservative: statement

Label required

Statement of artificial flavoring, artificial coloring, or chemical preservative on the food or its container or wrapper

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

Every product in the category

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-10-07 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“(c) A statement of artificial flavoring, artificial coloring, or chemical preservative shall be placed on the food or on its container or wrapper, or on any two or all three of these, as may be necessary to render such statement likely to be read by the ordinary person under customary conditions of purchase and use of such food.”
21 CFR 101.22(c) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
Label

(ii) Any beverage containing juice where neither the juice ingredient nor the be

Label required

(ii) Any beverage containing juice where neither the juice ingredient nor the beverage has been processed in the manner described in paragraph (g)(7) of this

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

  • Juice processed to reduce pathogens: no
  • Purports to be a beverage that contains juice

Depends on: juice pathogen treated, purports to contain juice

In force since 15 Mar 1977

Applies to products sold on or after 15 Mar 1977

Date stated in the published text: the first Federal Register date of the section history note (or of the part Source line where the section has none), used as the provision date.

“(ii) Any beverage containing juice where neither the juice ingredient nor the beverage has been processed in the manner described in paragraph (g)(7) of this”
101.17(g)(2) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
Label

(b) All information required to appear on the label of any package of food under

Label required

(b) All information required to appear on the label of any package of food under §§ 101.4, 101.5, 101.8, 101.9, 101.13, 101.17, 101.36, subpart D

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

  • Sold prepacked

Depends on: sold prepacked

In force since 15 Mar 1977

Applies to products sold on or after 15 Mar 1977

Date stated in the published text: the first Federal Register date of the section history note (or of the part Source line where the section has none), used as the provision date.

“(b) All information required to appear on the label of any package of food under §§ 101.4, 101.5, 101.8, 101.9, 101.13, 101.17, 101.36, subpart D”
101.2(b) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
Label

Packaged food: statement of identity on the principal display panel

Label required

Statement of identity (the name specified by law, else the common or usual name, else a descriptive term) as a principal feature of the principal display panel

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

  • Sold prepacked

Depends on: sold prepacked

In force since 15 Mar 1977

Applies to products sold on or after 15 Mar 1977

Date stated in the published text: the first Federal Register date of the section history note (or of the part Source line where the section has none), used as the provision date.

“(a) The principal display panel of a food in package form shall bear as one of its principal features a statement of the identity of the commodity. (b) Such statement of identity shall be in terms of: (1) The name now or hereafter specified in or required by any applicable Federal law or regulation;”
101.3(a) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
Label

Packaged food made from two or more ingredients: ingredient declaration

Label required

List of ingredients by common or usual name in descending order of predominance by weight

Exemptions (1)

Ingredients exempted by 21 CFR 101.100 (including incidental additives, assortments of different items, bulk food displayed with a sign)

“(a) The following foods are exempt from compliance with the requirements of section 403(i)(2) of the act (requiring a declaration on the label of the common or usual name of each ingredient when the food is fabricated from two or more ingredients).”
21 CFR 101.100(a) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

  • Sold prepacked

Depends on: sold prepacked

In force since 15 Mar 1977

Applies to products sold on or after 15 Mar 1977

Date stated in the published text: the first Federal Register date of the section history note (or of the part Source line where the section has none), used as the provision date.

“(a)(1) Ingredients required to be declared on the label or labeling of a food, including foods that comply with standards of identity, except those ingredients exempted by § 101.100, shall be listed by common or usual name in descending order of predominance by weight on either the principal display panel or the information panel in accordance with the provisions of § 101.2, except that ingredients in dietary supplements that are listed in the nutrition label in accordance with § 101.36 need not be repeated in the ingredient list.”
101.4(a)(1) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
Label

Packaged food: name and place of business

Label required

Name and place of business of the manufacturer, packer, or distributor (street address, city, State, ZIP code)

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

  • Sold prepacked

Depends on: sold prepacked

In force since 15 Mar 1977

Applies to products sold on or after 15 Mar 1977

Date stated in the published text: the first Federal Register date of the section history note (or of the part Source line where the section has none), used as the provision date.

“(a) The label of a food in packaged form shall specify conspicuously the name and place of business of the manufacturer, packer, or distributor. (b)”
101.5(a) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
Label

Packaged food: net quantity of contents on the principal display panel

Label required

Net quantity of contents in weight, measure, or numerical count (fluid measure for liquids, weight for solids)

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

  • Sold prepacked

Depends on: sold prepacked

In force since 15 Mar 1977

Applies to products sold on or after 15 Mar 1977

Date stated in the published text: the first Federal Register date of the section history note (or of the part Source line where the section has none), used as the provision date.

“(a) The principal display panel of a food in package form shall bear a declaration of the net quantity of contents. This shall be expressed in the terms of weight, measure, numerical count, or a combination of numerical count and weight or measure.”
101.7(a) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
Label

(j) A food to which a chemical preservative(s) is added shall, except when exemp

Label required

(j) A food to which a chemical preservative(s) is added shall, except when exempt pursuant to § 101.100 bear a label declaration stating both the common or usual name of the ingredient(s) and a separate description of its function, e.g., “preservative”, “to retard spoilage”, “a mold inhibitor”, “to help protect flavor” or “to promote color retention”.

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

  • Contains an added chemical preservative

Depends on: chemical preservative added

In force since 15 Mar 1977

Applies to products sold on or after 15 Mar 1977

Date stated in the published text: the first Federal Register date of the section history note (or of the part Source line where the section has none), used as the provision date.

(j) A food to which a chemical preservative(s) is added shall, except when exempt pursuant to § 101.100 bear a label declaration stating both the common or usual name of the ingredient(s) and a separate description of its function, e.g., “preservative”, “to retard spoilage”, “a mold inhibitor”, “to help protect flavor” or “to promote color retention”.
101.22(j) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
Label

(e) Under the provisions of section 403(c) of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmet

Label required

(e) Under the provisions of section 403(c) of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, a food shall be deemed to be misbranded if it

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

  • Represented as an imitation or substitute

Depends on: imitation food claim

In force since 15 Mar 1977

Applies to products sold on or after 15 Mar 1977

Date stated in the published text: the first Federal Register date of the section history note (or of the part Source line where the section has none), used as the provision date.

“(e) Under the provisions of section 403(c) of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, a food shall be deemed to be misbranded if it”
101.3(e) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
Label

(b)(1) If the beverage contains fruit or vegetable juice, the percentage shall b

Label required

(b)(1) If the beverage contains fruit or vegetable juice, the percentage shall be declared by the words “Contains __ percent (or %) ______ juice” or “__ percent (or %) juice,” or a similar phrase, with the first blank filled in with the percentage expressed as a whole number not greater than the actual percentage of the juice and the second blank (if used) filled in with the name of the particular fruit or vegetable (e.g., “Contains 50 percent apple juice” or “50 percent juice”).

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

  • Purports to be a beverage that contains juice

Depends on: purports to contain juice

In force since 6 Jan 1993

Applies to products sold on or after 6 Jan 1993

Date stated in the published text: the first Federal Register date of the section history note (or of the part Source line where the section has none), used as the provision date.

(b)(1) If the beverage contains fruit or vegetable juice, the percentage shall be declared by the words “Contains __ percent (or %) ______ juice” or “__ percent (or %) juice,” or a similar phrase, with the first blank filled in with the percentage expressed as a whole number not greater than the actual percentage of the juice and the second blank (if used) filled in with the name of the particular fruit or vegetable (e.g., “Contains 50 percent apple juice” or “50 percent juice”).
101.30(b)(1) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
Label

(a) Nutrition information relating to food shall be provided for all products in

Label required

(a) Nutrition information relating to food shall be provided for all products intended for human consumption and offered for sale unless an exemption is provided

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

  • Sold by a restaurant or retail food establishment (US): no

Depends on: restaurant or retail service

In force since 6 Jan 1993

Applies to products sold on or after 6 Jan 1993

Date stated in the published text: the first Federal Register date of the section history note (or of the part Source line where the section has none), used as the provision date.

“(a) Nutrition information relating to food shall be provided for all products intended for human consumption and offered for sale unless an exemption is provided”
101.9(a) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
Label

Food intended for human consumption and offered for sale: nutrition labeling

Label required

Nutrition information (Nutrition Facts) for the food, in the format of 21 CFR 101.9, for each serving

Exemptions (2)

Food offered by a retailer or other direct seller with annual gross sales to consumers of not more than $500,000 (or food sales of not more than $50,000), if the label bears no nutrition claims

“(1)(i) Food offered for sale by a person who makes direct sales to consumers (e.g., a retailer) who has annual gross sales made or business done in sales to consumers that is not more than $500,000 or has annual gross sales made or business done in sales of food to consumers of not more than $50,000, Provided, That the food bears no nutrition claims or other nutrition information in any context on the label or in labeling or advertising.”
21 CFR 101.9(j)(1)(i) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)

Food served in restaurants and similar establishments for immediate consumption, if no nutrition claims

“(2) Except as provided in § 101.11, food products that are: (i) Served in restaurants, Provided, That the food bears no nutrition claims or other nutrition information in any context on the label or in labeling or advertising.”
21 CFR 101.9(j)(2) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

  • Sold by a restaurant or retail food establishment (US): no

Depends on: restaurant or retail service

In force since 6 Jan 1993

Applies to products sold on or after 6 Jan 1993

Date stated in the published text: the first Federal Register date of the section history note (or of the part Source line where the section has none), used as the provision date.

“(a) Nutrition information relating to food shall be provided for all products intended for human consumption and offered for sale unless an exemption is provided”
101.9(a) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
  • Label

    (4) For the purposes of paragraph (a)(3) of this section, any sulfiting agent (s

    Label required

    (4) For the purposes of paragraph (a)(3) of this section, any sulfiting agent (sulfur dioxide, sodium sulfite, sodium bisulfite, potassium bisulfite, sodium metabisulfite, and potassium

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

    Applies when
    • Sulfiting agent added

    Depends on: sulfiting agent added

    Effective

    In force since 15 Mar 1977

    Applies to products sold on or after 15 Mar 1977

    Date stated in the published text: the first Federal Register date of the section history note (or of the part Source line where the section has none), used as the provision date.

    Source
    “(4) For the purposes of paragraph (a)(3) of this section, any sulfiting agent (sulfur dioxide, sodium sulfite, sodium bisulfite, potassium bisulfite, sodium metabisulfite, and potassium”
    101.100(a)(4) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
  • Label

    (c)(1) All words, statements, and other information required by or under authori

    Label required

    (c)(1) All words, statements, and other information required by or under authority of the act to appear on the label or labeling shall appear thereon

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

    Applies when

    Every product in the category

    Effective

    In force since 15 Mar 1977

    Applies to products sold on or after 15 Mar 1977

    Date stated in the published text: the first Federal Register date of the section history note (or of the part Source line where the section has none), used as the provision date.

    Source
    “(c)(1) All words, statements, and other information required by or under authority of the act to appear on the label or labeling shall appear thereon”
    101.15(c)(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
  • Label

    Food to which any colouring has been added: colouring declared in the ingredient statement

    Label required

    Declaration of the added colouring in the statement of ingredients (as the colour additive's name or as artificial colour, per 101.22(k))

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

    Applies when

    Every product in the category

    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    In force no later than 2026-10-07 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

    Source
    “(k) The label of a food to which any coloring has been added shall declare the coloring in the statement of ingredients in the manner”
    21 CFR 101.22(k) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
  • Label

    Food with artificial flavor, artificial colour or chemical preservative: statement

    Label required

    Statement of artificial flavoring, artificial coloring, or chemical preservative on the food or its container or wrapper

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

    Applies when

    Every product in the category

    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    In force no later than 2026-10-07 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

    Source
    “(c) A statement of artificial flavoring, artificial coloring, or chemical preservative shall be placed on the food or on its container or wrapper, or on any two or all three of these, as may be necessary to render such statement likely to be read by the ordinary person under customary conditions of purchase and use of such food.”
    21 CFR 101.22(c) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
  • Label

    (ii) Any beverage containing juice where neither the juice ingredient nor the be

    Label required

    (ii) Any beverage containing juice where neither the juice ingredient nor the beverage has been processed in the manner described in paragraph (g)(7) of this

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

    Applies when
    • Juice processed to reduce pathogens: no
    • Purports to be a beverage that contains juice

    Depends on: juice pathogen treated, purports to contain juice

    Effective

    In force since 15 Mar 1977

    Applies to products sold on or after 15 Mar 1977

    Date stated in the published text: the first Federal Register date of the section history note (or of the part Source line where the section has none), used as the provision date.

    Source
    “(ii) Any beverage containing juice where neither the juice ingredient nor the beverage has been processed in the manner described in paragraph (g)(7) of this”
    101.17(g)(2) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
  • Label

    (b) All information required to appear on the label of any package of food under

    Label required

    (b) All information required to appear on the label of any package of food under §§ 101.4, 101.5, 101.8, 101.9, 101.13, 101.17, 101.36, subpart D

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

    Applies when
    • Sold prepacked

    Depends on: sold prepacked

    Effective

    In force since 15 Mar 1977

    Applies to products sold on or after 15 Mar 1977

    Date stated in the published text: the first Federal Register date of the section history note (or of the part Source line where the section has none), used as the provision date.

    Source
    “(b) All information required to appear on the label of any package of food under §§ 101.4, 101.5, 101.8, 101.9, 101.13, 101.17, 101.36, subpart D”
    101.2(b) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
  • Label

    Packaged food: statement of identity on the principal display panel

    Label required

    Statement of identity (the name specified by law, else the common or usual name, else a descriptive term) as a principal feature of the principal display panel

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

    Applies when
    • Sold prepacked

    Depends on: sold prepacked

    Effective

    In force since 15 Mar 1977

    Applies to products sold on or after 15 Mar 1977

    Date stated in the published text: the first Federal Register date of the section history note (or of the part Source line where the section has none), used as the provision date.

    Source
    “(a) The principal display panel of a food in package form shall bear as one of its principal features a statement of the identity of the commodity. (b) Such statement of identity shall be in terms of: (1) The name now or hereafter specified in or required by any applicable Federal law or regulation;”
    101.3(a) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
  • Label

    Packaged food made from two or more ingredients: ingredient declaration

    Label required

    List of ingredients by common or usual name in descending order of predominance by weight

    Exemptions (1)

    Ingredients exempted by 21 CFR 101.100 (including incidental additives, assortments of different items, bulk food displayed with a sign)

    “(a) The following foods are exempt from compliance with the requirements of section 403(i)(2) of the act (requiring a declaration on the label of the common or usual name of each ingredient when the food is fabricated from two or more ingredients).”
    21 CFR 101.100(a) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

    Applies when
    • Sold prepacked

    Depends on: sold prepacked

    Effective

    In force since 15 Mar 1977

    Applies to products sold on or after 15 Mar 1977

    Date stated in the published text: the first Federal Register date of the section history note (or of the part Source line where the section has none), used as the provision date.

    Source
    “(a)(1) Ingredients required to be declared on the label or labeling of a food, including foods that comply with standards of identity, except those ingredients exempted by § 101.100, shall be listed by common or usual name in descending order of predominance by weight on either the principal display panel or the information panel in accordance with the provisions of § 101.2, except that ingredients in dietary supplements that are listed in the nutrition label in accordance with § 101.36 need not be repeated in the ingredient list.”
    101.4(a)(1) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
  • Label

    Packaged food: name and place of business

    Label required

    Name and place of business of the manufacturer, packer, or distributor (street address, city, State, ZIP code)

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

    Applies when
    • Sold prepacked

    Depends on: sold prepacked

    Effective

    In force since 15 Mar 1977

    Applies to products sold on or after 15 Mar 1977

    Date stated in the published text: the first Federal Register date of the section history note (or of the part Source line where the section has none), used as the provision date.

    Source
    “(a) The label of a food in packaged form shall specify conspicuously the name and place of business of the manufacturer, packer, or distributor. (b)”
    101.5(a) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
  • Label

    Packaged food: net quantity of contents on the principal display panel

    Label required

    Net quantity of contents in weight, measure, or numerical count (fluid measure for liquids, weight for solids)

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

    Applies when
    • Sold prepacked

    Depends on: sold prepacked

    Effective

    In force since 15 Mar 1977

    Applies to products sold on or after 15 Mar 1977

    Date stated in the published text: the first Federal Register date of the section history note (or of the part Source line where the section has none), used as the provision date.

    Source
    “(a) The principal display panel of a food in package form shall bear a declaration of the net quantity of contents. This shall be expressed in the terms of weight, measure, numerical count, or a combination of numerical count and weight or measure.”
    101.7(a) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
  • Label

    (j) A food to which a chemical preservative(s) is added shall, except when exemp

    Label required

    (j) A food to which a chemical preservative(s) is added shall, except when exempt pursuant to § 101.100 bear a label declaration stating both the common or usual name of the ingredient(s) and a separate description of its function, e.g., “preservative”, “to retard spoilage”, “a mold inhibitor”, “to help protect flavor” or “to promote color retention”.

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

    Applies when
    • Contains an added chemical preservative

    Depends on: chemical preservative added

    Effective

    In force since 15 Mar 1977

    Applies to products sold on or after 15 Mar 1977

    Date stated in the published text: the first Federal Register date of the section history note (or of the part Source line where the section has none), used as the provision date.

    Source
    (j) A food to which a chemical preservative(s) is added shall, except when exempt pursuant to § 101.100 bear a label declaration stating both the common or usual name of the ingredient(s) and a separate description of its function, e.g., “preservative”, “to retard spoilage”, “a mold inhibitor”, “to help protect flavor” or “to promote color retention”.
    101.22(j) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
  • Label

    (e) Under the provisions of section 403(c) of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmet

    Label required

    (e) Under the provisions of section 403(c) of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, a food shall be deemed to be misbranded if it

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

    Applies when
    • Represented as an imitation or substitute

    Depends on: imitation food claim

    Effective

    In force since 15 Mar 1977

    Applies to products sold on or after 15 Mar 1977

    Date stated in the published text: the first Federal Register date of the section history note (or of the part Source line where the section has none), used as the provision date.

    Source
    “(e) Under the provisions of section 403(c) of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, a food shall be deemed to be misbranded if it”
    101.3(e) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
  • Label

    (b)(1) If the beverage contains fruit or vegetable juice, the percentage shall b

    Label required

    (b)(1) If the beverage contains fruit or vegetable juice, the percentage shall be declared by the words “Contains __ percent (or %) ______ juice” or “__ percent (or %) juice,” or a similar phrase, with the first blank filled in with the percentage expressed as a whole number not greater than the actual percentage of the juice and the second blank (if used) filled in with the name of the particular fruit or vegetable (e.g., “Contains 50 percent apple juice” or “50 percent juice”).

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

    Applies when
    • Purports to be a beverage that contains juice

    Depends on: purports to contain juice

    Effective

    In force since 6 Jan 1993

    Applies to products sold on or after 6 Jan 1993

    Date stated in the published text: the first Federal Register date of the section history note (or of the part Source line where the section has none), used as the provision date.

    Source
    (b)(1) If the beverage contains fruit or vegetable juice, the percentage shall be declared by the words “Contains __ percent (or %) ______ juice” or “__ percent (or %) juice,” or a similar phrase, with the first blank filled in with the percentage expressed as a whole number not greater than the actual percentage of the juice and the second blank (if used) filled in with the name of the particular fruit or vegetable (e.g., “Contains 50 percent apple juice” or “50 percent juice”).
    101.30(b)(1) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
  • Label

    (a) Nutrition information relating to food shall be provided for all products in

    Label required

    (a) Nutrition information relating to food shall be provided for all products intended for human consumption and offered for sale unless an exemption is provided

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

    Applies when
    • Sold by a restaurant or retail food establishment (US): no

    Depends on: restaurant or retail service

    Effective

    In force since 6 Jan 1993

    Applies to products sold on or after 6 Jan 1993

    Date stated in the published text: the first Federal Register date of the section history note (or of the part Source line where the section has none), used as the provision date.

    Source
    “(a) Nutrition information relating to food shall be provided for all products intended for human consumption and offered for sale unless an exemption is provided”
    101.9(a) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)
  • Label

    Food intended for human consumption and offered for sale: nutrition labeling

    Label required

    Nutrition information (Nutrition Facts) for the food, in the format of 21 CFR 101.9, for each serving

    Exemptions (2)

    Food offered by a retailer or other direct seller with annual gross sales to consumers of not more than $500,000 (or food sales of not more than $50,000), if the label bears no nutrition claims

    “(1)(i) Food offered for sale by a person who makes direct sales to consumers (e.g., a retailer) who has annual gross sales made or business done in sales to consumers that is not more than $500,000 or has annual gross sales made or business done in sales of food to consumers of not more than $50,000, Provided, That the food bears no nutrition claims or other nutrition information in any context on the label or in labeling or advertising.”
    21 CFR 101.9(j)(1)(i) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)

    Food served in restaurants and similar establishments for immediate consumption, if no nutrition claims

    “(2) Except as provided in § 101.11, food products that are: (i) Served in restaurants, Provided, That the food bears no nutrition claims or other nutrition information in any context on the label or in labeling or advertising.”
    21 CFR 101.9(j)(2) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 7 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-07 per the eCFR.

    Applies when
    • Sold by a restaurant or retail food establishment (US): no

    Depends on: restaurant or retail service

    Effective

    In force since 6 Jan 1993

    Applies to products sold on or after 6 Jan 1993

    Date stated in the published text: the first Federal Register date of the section history note (or of the part Source line where the section has none), used as the provision date.

    Source
    “(a) Nutrition information relating to food shall be provided for all products intended for human consumption and offered for sale unless an exemption is provided”
    101.9(a) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09US National Archives / Office of the Federal Register (eCFR): 21 CFR Part 101 (eCFR, version of 2026-10-07)(opens in a new tab)

Categories

Categories with rules

The product categories with the most rules here, sub-categories included.

Sources

Sources

Where the rules come from, and when we last checked each source.

Show 82 more

Alerts

Get an email when these rules change.

Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.

Check a productStart a workspace

Free for 10 products. Email alerts from $39 a month. See pricing