Skip to content

Substance group

What counts as Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA…?

2 markets define Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA (E 310–320), and they don't all agree. Read each definition below. You tell us if your product contains it; we never guess from its name.

  • Free
  • No account needed
  • The law behind every rule

Group

Definitions

Market
Definition
Listed members
Source
Annex II Part C: E 310–320: Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA
Propyl gallate, Tertiary-butyl hydroquinone (TBHQ), Butylated hydroxyanisole
“E 310–320: Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA”
Annex II, line 1651 (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Annex II, line 1651(opens in a new tab)
Annex II Part C (GB): E 310–320: Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA
Propyl gallate, Tertiary-butyl hydroquinone (TBHQ), Butylated hydroxyanisole
“E 310–320: Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA”
Annex II, line 724 (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Annex II, line 724(opens in a new tab)

Rules

Rules that use these definitions

28 rules.

Requirement
Applies when
Effective
Source
LimitEU
Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA (E 310–320) as defined in European Union

Limit 200 mg/kg (content basis)

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02008R1333-20260818 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • EU food category: Soups and broths [12.5]

Depends on: eu food category code

In force, start date unknown

Art. 35: applies from 20 January 2010; Annex II as consolidated 2026-08-18, amendment dates of single rows not tracked. The row sits in the block marked ▼M82 (inserted or replaced by an amending act); the published text lists the amending acts with their Official Journal publication dates only, not their application dates, so 20 January 2010 (Art. 35) stands in for the row's start date.

From the consolidated text: E 310-320 · Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA · 200 · (1) (13) · only dehydrated soups and broths

Annex II rows, Part E, category 12.5; row: E 310-320 Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA · fetched 2026-10-09

European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 (consolidated 2026-08-18)(opens in a new tab)
LimitEU
Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA (E 310–320) as defined in European Union

Limit 200 mg/kg (content basis)

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02008R1333-20260818 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • EU food category: Sauces [12.6]

Depends on: eu food category code

In force, start date unknown

Art. 35: applies from 20 January 2010; Annex II as consolidated 2026-08-18, amendment dates of single rows not tracked. The row sits in the block marked ▼M82 (inserted or replaced by an amending act); the published text lists the amending acts with their Official Journal publication dates only, not their application dates, so 20 January 2010 (Art. 35) stands in for the row's start date.

From the consolidated text: E 310-320 · Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA · 200 · (1) (13)

Annex II rows, Part E, category 12.6; row: E 310-320 Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA · fetched 2026-10-09

European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 (consolidated 2026-08-18)(opens in a new tab)
LimitEU
Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA (E 310–320) as defined in European Union

Limit 200 mg/kg (content basis)

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02008R1333-20260818 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • EU food category: Potato-, cereal-, flour- or starch-based snacks [15.1]

Depends on: eu food category code

In force, start date unknown

Art. 35: applies from 20 January 2010; Annex II as consolidated 2026-08-18, amendment dates of single rows not tracked. The row sits in the block marked ▼M82 (inserted or replaced by an amending act); the published text lists the amending acts with their Official Journal publication dates only, not their application dates, so 20 January 2010 (Art. 35) stands in for the row's start date.

From the consolidated text: E 310-320 · Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA · 200 · (1) · only cereal-based snack foods

Annex II rows, Part E, category 15.1; row: E 310-320 Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA · fetched 2026-10-09

European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 (consolidated 2026-08-18)(opens in a new tab)
LimitEU
Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA (E 310–320) as defined in European Union

Limit 200 mg/kg (content basis)

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02008R1333-20260818 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • EU food category: Processed nuts [15.2]

Depends on: eu food category code

In force, start date unknown

Art. 35: applies from 20 January 2010; Annex II as consolidated 2026-08-18, amendment dates of single rows not tracked. The row sits in the block marked ▼M82 (inserted or replaced by an amending act); the published text lists the amending acts with their Official Journal publication dates only, not their application dates, so 20 January 2010 (Art. 35) stands in for the row's start date.

From the consolidated text: E 310-320 · Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA · 200 · (1) (13)

Annex II rows, Part E, category 15.2; row: E 310-320 Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA · fetched 2026-10-09

European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 (consolidated 2026-08-18)(opens in a new tab)
LimitGB
Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA (E 310–320) as defined in Great Britain (England, Scotland, Wales)

Limit 200 mg/kg (content basis)

Official text, current to 28 Jun 2024. legislation.gov.uk point-in-time version 2024-06-28 of Annex II, which the FSA register cites as the terms of authorisation (Annex II was omitted from the revised text from 2025-04-01).

  • EU food category: Dehydrated milk as defined by Directive 2001/114/EC [01.5]

Depends on: eu food category code

In force since 20 Jan 2010

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 20 Jan 2010

Applies in GB from 20 January 2010 (retained Art. 35); the Annex text is the version in force on 2024-06-28, the last before Annex II was omitted from the revised legislation on 1 April 2025 (S.I. 2025/361); the FSA register keeps these terms of authorisation. Amendment dates of single rows not tracked.

From the official list: E 310-320 · Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA · 200 · (1) · only milk powder for vending machines

  • LimitEU
    Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA (E 310–320) as defined in European Union

    Limit 200 mg/kg (content basis)

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02008R1333-20260818 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

    Applies when
    • EU food category: Soups and broths [12.5]

    Depends on: eu food category code

    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    Art. 35: applies from 20 January 2010; Annex II as consolidated 2026-08-18, amendment dates of single rows not tracked. The row sits in the block marked ▼M82 (inserted or replaced by an amending act); the published text lists the amending acts with their Official Journal publication dates only, not their application dates, so 20 January 2010 (Art. 35) stands in for the row's start date.

    Source

    From the consolidated text: E 310-320 · Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA · 200 · (1) (13) · only dehydrated soups and broths

    Annex II rows, Part E, category 12.5; row: E 310-320 Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA · fetched 2026-10-09

    European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 (consolidated 2026-08-18)(opens in a new tab)
  • LimitEU
    Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA (E 310–320) as defined in European Union

    Limit 200 mg/kg (content basis)

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02008R1333-20260818 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

    Applies when
    • EU food category: Sauces [12.6]

    Depends on: eu food category code

    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    Art. 35: applies from 20 January 2010; Annex II as consolidated 2026-08-18, amendment dates of single rows not tracked. The row sits in the block marked ▼M82 (inserted or replaced by an amending act); the published text lists the amending acts with their Official Journal publication dates only, not their application dates, so 20 January 2010 (Art. 35) stands in for the row's start date.

    Source

    From the consolidated text: E 310-320 · Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA · 200 · (1) (13)

    Annex II rows, Part E, category 12.6; row: E 310-320 Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA · fetched 2026-10-09

    European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 (consolidated 2026-08-18)(opens in a new tab)
  • LimitEU
    Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA (E 310–320) as defined in European Union

    Limit 200 mg/kg (content basis)

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02008R1333-20260818 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

    Applies when
    • EU food category: Potato-, cereal-, flour- or starch-based snacks [15.1]

    Depends on: eu food category code

    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    Art. 35: applies from 20 January 2010; Annex II as consolidated 2026-08-18, amendment dates of single rows not tracked. The row sits in the block marked ▼M82 (inserted or replaced by an amending act); the published text lists the amending acts with their Official Journal publication dates only, not their application dates, so 20 January 2010 (Art. 35) stands in for the row's start date.

    Source

    From the consolidated text: E 310-320 · Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA · 200 · (1) · only cereal-based snack foods

    Annex II rows, Part E, category 15.1; row: E 310-320 Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA · fetched 2026-10-09

    European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 (consolidated 2026-08-18)(opens in a new tab)
  • LimitEU
    Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA (E 310–320) as defined in European Union

    Limit 200 mg/kg (content basis)

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02008R1333-20260818 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

    Applies when
    • EU food category: Processed nuts [15.2]

    Depends on: eu food category code

    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    Art. 35: applies from 20 January 2010; Annex II as consolidated 2026-08-18, amendment dates of single rows not tracked. The row sits in the block marked ▼M82 (inserted or replaced by an amending act); the published text lists the amending acts with their Official Journal publication dates only, not their application dates, so 20 January 2010 (Art. 35) stands in for the row's start date.

    Source

    From the consolidated text: E 310-320 · Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA · 200 · (1) (13)

    Annex II rows, Part E, category 15.2; row: E 310-320 Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA · fetched 2026-10-09

    European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 (consolidated 2026-08-18)(opens in a new tab)
  • LimitGB
    Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA (E 310–320) as defined in Great Britain (England, Scotland, Wales)

    Limit 200 mg/kg (content basis)

    Official text, current to 28 Jun 2024. legislation.gov.uk point-in-time version 2024-06-28 of Annex II, which the FSA register cites as the terms of authorisation (Annex II was omitted from the revised text from 2025-04-01).

    Applies when
    • EU food category: Dehydrated milk as defined by Directive 2001/114/EC [01.5]

    Depends on: eu food category code

    Effective

    In force since 20 Jan 2010

    Applies to products placed on the market on or after 20 Jan 2010

    Applies in GB from 20 January 2010 (retained Art. 35); the Annex text is the version in force on 2024-06-28, the last before Annex II was omitted from the revised legislation on 1 April 2025 (S.I. 2025/361); the FSA register keeps these terms of authorisation. Amendment dates of single rows not tracked.

    Source

    From the official list: E 310-320 · Propyl gallate, TBHQ and BHA · 200 · (1) · only milk powder for vending machines

See also

Related

Alerts

Get an email when these rules change.

Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.

Check a productStart a workspace

Free for 10 products. Email alerts from $39 a month. See pricing