Substance group
What counts as Phosphoric acid, phosphates, di-, tri…?
2 markets define Phosphoric acid, phosphates, di-, tri- and polyphosphates (E 338–341, E 343 and E 450–452), and they don't all agree. Read each definition below. You tell us if your product contains it; we never guess from its name.
- Free
- No account needed
- The law behind every rule
Group
Definitions
“E 338–341, E 343 and E 450 — 452: Phosphoric acid — phosphates — di-, tri- and polyphosphates”
“E 338–341, E 343 and E 450 — 452: Phosphoric acid — phosphates — di-, tri- and polyphosphates”
- Definition
- Annex II Part C: E 338–341, E 343 and E 450 — 452: Phosphoric acid — phosphates — di-, tri- and polyphosphates
- Listed members
- Phosphoric acid, Sodium phosphates, Potassium phosphates, Calcium phosphates, Magnesium phosphates, Diphosphates, Polyphosphates
- Source
“E 338–341, E 343 and E 450 — 452: Phosphoric acid — phosphates — di-, tri- and polyphosphates”
Annex II, line 1672 (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Annex II, line 1672(opens in a new tab)
- Definition
- Annex II Part C (GB): E 338–341, E 343 and E 450 — 452: Phosphoric acid — phosphates — di-, tri- and polyphosphates
- Listed members
- Phosphoric acid, Sodium phosphates, Potassium phosphates, Calcium phosphates, Magnesium phosphates, Diphosphates, Polyphosphates
- Source
“E 338–341, E 343 and E 450 — 452: Phosphoric acid — phosphates — di-, tri- and polyphosphates”
Annex II, line 730 (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Annex II, line 730(opens in a new tab)
Rules
Rules that use these definitions
149 rules.
Limit 1000 mg/kg (content basis)
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02008R1333-20260818 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- EU food category: Edible ices [03]
Depends on: eu food category code
In force since 20 Jan 2010
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 20 Jan 2010
Art. 35: applies from 20 January 2010; Annex II as consolidated 2026-08-18, amendment dates of single rows not tracked.
From the consolidated text: E 338-452 · Phosphoric acid — phosphates — di-, tri- and polyphosphates · 1 000 · (1) (4)
Annex II rows, Part E, category 03; row: E 338-452 Phosphoric acid — phosphates — di-, tri- and polyphosphates · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 (consolidated 2026-08-18)(opens in a new tab)Limit 800 mg/kg (content basis)
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02008R1333-20260818 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- EU food category: Fruit and vegetable preparations excluding compote [04.2.4.1]
Depends on: eu food category code
In force since 20 Jan 2010
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 20 Jan 2010
Art. 35: applies from 20 January 2010; Annex II as consolidated 2026-08-18, amendment dates of single rows not tracked.
From the consolidated text: E 338-452 · Phosphoric acid — phosphates — di-, tri- and polyphosphates · 800 · (1) (4) · only fruit preparations
Annex II rows, Part E, category 04.2.4.1; row: E 338-452 Phosphoric acid — phosphates — di-, tri- and polyphosphates · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 (consolidated 2026-08-18)(opens in a new tab)Limit 1000 mg/kg (content basis)
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02008R1333-20260818 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- EU food category: Fruit and vegetable preparations excluding compote [04.2.4.1]
Depends on: eu food category code
In force, start date unknown
Art. 35: applies from 20 January 2010; Annex II as consolidated 2026-08-18, amendment dates of single rows not tracked. The row sits in the block marked ▼M27 (inserted or replaced by an amending act); the published text lists the amending acts with their Official Journal publication dates only, not their application dates, so 20 January 2010 (Art. 35) stands in for the row's start date.
From the consolidated text: E 338 - 452 · Phosphoric acid – phosphates – di-, tri- and polyphosphates · 1 000 · (1) (4) · Only seaweed based fish roe analogues
Annex II rows, Part E, category 04.2.4.1; row: E 338 - 452 Phosphoric acid – phosphates – di-, tri- and polyphosphates · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 (consolidated 2026-08-18)(opens in a new tab)Limit 4000 mg/kg (content basis)
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02008R1333-20260818 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- EU food category: Fruit and vegetable preparations excluding compote [04.2.4.1]
Depends on: eu food category code
In force since 20 Jan 2010
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 20 Jan 2010
Art. 35: applies from 20 January 2010; Annex II as consolidated 2026-08-18, amendment dates of single rows not tracked.
From the consolidated text: E 338-452 · Phosphoric acid — phosphates — di-, tri- and polyphosphates · 4 000 · (1) (4) · only glazings for vegetable products
Annex II rows, Part E, category 04.2.4.1; row: E 338-452 Phosphoric acid — phosphates — di-, tri- and polyphosphates · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 (consolidated 2026-08-18)(opens in a new tab)Limit 5000 mg/kg (content basis)
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02008R1333-20260818 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- EU food category: Nut butters and nut spreads [04.2.5.4]
Depends on: eu food category code
In force since 20 Jan 2010
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 20 Jan 2010
Art. 35: applies from 20 January 2010; Annex II as consolidated 2026-08-18, amendment dates of single rows not tracked.
From the consolidated text: E 338-452 · Phosphoric acid — phosphates — di-, tri- and polyphosphates · 5 000 · (1), (4) · only spreadable fats excluding butter
Annex II rows, Part E, category 04.2.5.4; row: E 338-452 Phosphoric acid — phosphates — di-, tri- and polyphosphates · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 (consolidated 2026-08-18)(opens in a new tab)- LimitEUPhosphoric acid, phosphates, di-, tri- and polyphosphates (E 338–341, E 343 and E 450–452) as defined in European Union
Limit 1000 mg/kg (content basis)
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02008R1333-20260818 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applies when
- EU food category: Edible ices [03]
Depends on: eu food category code
- Effective
In force since 20 Jan 2010
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 20 Jan 2010
Art. 35: applies from 20 January 2010; Annex II as consolidated 2026-08-18, amendment dates of single rows not tracked.
- Source
From the consolidated text: E 338-452 · Phosphoric acid — phosphates — di-, tri- and polyphosphates · 1 000 · (1) (4)
Annex II rows, Part E, category 03; row: E 338-452 Phosphoric acid — phosphates — di-, tri- and polyphosphates · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 (consolidated 2026-08-18)(opens in a new tab)
- LimitEUPhosphoric acid, phosphates, di-, tri- and polyphosphates (E 338–341, E 343 and E 450–452) as defined in European Union
Limit 800 mg/kg (content basis)
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02008R1333-20260818 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applies when
- EU food category: Fruit and vegetable preparations excluding compote [04.2.4.1]
Depends on: eu food category code
- Effective
In force since 20 Jan 2010
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 20 Jan 2010
Art. 35: applies from 20 January 2010; Annex II as consolidated 2026-08-18, amendment dates of single rows not tracked.
- Source
From the consolidated text: E 338-452 · Phosphoric acid — phosphates — di-, tri- and polyphosphates · 800 · (1) (4) · only fruit preparations
Annex II rows, Part E, category 04.2.4.1; row: E 338-452 Phosphoric acid — phosphates — di-, tri- and polyphosphates · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 (consolidated 2026-08-18)(opens in a new tab)
- LimitEUPhosphoric acid, phosphates, di-, tri- and polyphosphates (E 338–341, E 343 and E 450–452) as defined in European Union
Limit 1000 mg/kg (content basis)
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02008R1333-20260818 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applies when
- EU food category: Fruit and vegetable preparations excluding compote [04.2.4.1]
Depends on: eu food category code
- Effective
In force, start date unknown
Art. 35: applies from 20 January 2010; Annex II as consolidated 2026-08-18, amendment dates of single rows not tracked. The row sits in the block marked ▼M27 (inserted or replaced by an amending act); the published text lists the amending acts with their Official Journal publication dates only, not their application dates, so 20 January 2010 (Art. 35) stands in for the row's start date.
- Source
From the consolidated text: E 338 - 452 · Phosphoric acid – phosphates – di-, tri- and polyphosphates · 1 000 · (1) (4) · Only seaweed based fish roe analogues
Annex II rows, Part E, category 04.2.4.1; row: E 338 - 452 Phosphoric acid – phosphates – di-, tri- and polyphosphates · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 (consolidated 2026-08-18)(opens in a new tab)
- LimitEUPhosphoric acid, phosphates, di-, tri- and polyphosphates (E 338–341, E 343 and E 450–452) as defined in European Union
Limit 4000 mg/kg (content basis)
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02008R1333-20260818 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applies when
- EU food category: Fruit and vegetable preparations excluding compote [04.2.4.1]
Depends on: eu food category code
- Effective
In force since 20 Jan 2010
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 20 Jan 2010
Art. 35: applies from 20 January 2010; Annex II as consolidated 2026-08-18, amendment dates of single rows not tracked.
- Source
From the consolidated text: E 338-452 · Phosphoric acid — phosphates — di-, tri- and polyphosphates · 4 000 · (1) (4) · only glazings for vegetable products
Annex II rows, Part E, category 04.2.4.1; row: E 338-452 Phosphoric acid — phosphates — di-, tri- and polyphosphates · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 (consolidated 2026-08-18)(opens in a new tab)
- LimitEUPhosphoric acid, phosphates, di-, tri- and polyphosphates (E 338–341, E 343 and E 450–452) as defined in European Union
Limit 5000 mg/kg (content basis)
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02008R1333-20260818 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applies when
- EU food category: Nut butters and nut spreads [04.2.5.4]
Depends on: eu food category code
- Effective
In force since 20 Jan 2010
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 20 Jan 2010
Art. 35: applies from 20 January 2010; Annex II as consolidated 2026-08-18, amendment dates of single rows not tracked.
- Source
From the consolidated text: E 338-452 · Phosphoric acid — phosphates — di-, tri- and polyphosphates · 5 000 · (1), (4) · only spreadable fats excluding butter
Annex II rows, Part E, category 04.2.5.4; row: E 338-452 Phosphoric acid — phosphates — di-, tri- and polyphosphates · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 (consolidated 2026-08-18)(opens in a new tab)
See also
Related
- Check a product
Tell us if Phosphoric acid, phosphates, di-, tri- and polyphosphates (E 338–341, E 343 and E 450–452) is in your product and see what applies where you sell.
- Markets and sources
When our coverage starts in every market.
- Upcoming changes
Rule changes that start in the next 24 months.
Alerts
Get an email when these rules change.
Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.