Substance group
What counts as Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate…?
2 markets define Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates (E 200–202; 214–219), and they don't all agree. Read each definition below. You tell us if your product contains it; we never guess from its name.
- Free
- No account needed
- The law behind every rule
Group
Definitions
“E 200 – 202; 214 – 219: Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates (SA + PHB)”
“E 200 – 202; 214 – 219: Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates (SA + PHB)”
- Definition
- Annex II Part C: E 200 – 202; 214 – 219: Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates (SA + PHB)
- Listed members
- Sorbic acid, Potassium sorbate, Ethyl-p-hydroxybenzoate, Sodium ethyl p-hydroxybenzoate, Methyl p-hydroxybenzoate, Sodium methyl p-hydroxybenzoate
- Source
“E 200 – 202; 214 – 219: Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates (SA + PHB)”
Annex II, line 1605 · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Annex II, line 1605(opens in a new tab)
- Definition
- Annex II Part C (GB): E 200 – 202; 214 – 219: Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates (SA + PHB)
- Listed members
- Sorbic acid, Potassium sorbate, Ethyl-p-hydroxybenzoate, Sodium ethyl p-hydroxybenzoate, Methyl p-hydroxybenzoate, Sodium methyl p-hydroxybenzoate
- Source
“E 200 – 202; 214 – 219: Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates (SA + PHB)”
Annex II, line 680 · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Annex II, line 680(opens in a new tab)
Rules
Rules that use these definitions
8 rules.
Limit 1000 mg/kg (content basis)
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02008R1333-20260818 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- EU food category: Heat-treated meat products [08.3.2]
Depends on: eu food category code
In force, start date unknown
Art. 35: applies from 20 January 2010; Annex II as consolidated 2026-08-18, amendment dates of single rows not tracked. The row sits in the block marked ▼M76 (inserted or replaced by an amending act); the published text lists the amending acts with their Official Journal publication dates only, not their application dates, so 20 January 2010 (Art. 35) stands in for the row's start date.
From the consolidated text: E 200-202; 214-219 · Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates · 1 000 · (1) (2) · only pâté
Annex II rows, Part E, category 08.3.2; row: E 200-202; 214-219 Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 (consolidated 2026-08-18)(opens in a new tab)Limit 1000 mg/kg (content basis)
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02008R1333-20260818 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- EU food category: Casings and coatings and decorations for meat [08.3.3]
Depends on: eu food category code
In force, start date unknown
Art. 35: applies from 20 January 2010; Annex II as consolidated 2026-08-18, amendment dates of single rows not tracked. The row sits in the block marked ▼M76 (inserted or replaced by an amending act); the published text lists the amending acts with their Official Journal publication dates only, not their application dates, so 20 January 2010 (Art. 35) stands in for the row's start date.
From the consolidated text: E 200-202; 214-219 · Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates · 1 000 · (1) (2) · only jelly coatings of meat products (cooked, cured or dried)
Annex II rows, Part E, category 08.3.3; row: E 200-202; 214-219 Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 (consolidated 2026-08-18)(opens in a new tab)Limit 1000 mg/kg (content basis)
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02008R1333-20260818 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- EU food category: Potato-, cereal-, flour- or starch-based snacks [15.1]
Depends on: eu food category code
In force, start date unknown
Art. 35: applies from 20 January 2010; Annex II as consolidated 2026-08-18, amendment dates of single rows not tracked. The row sits in the block marked ▼M76 (inserted or replaced by an amending act); the published text lists the amending acts with their Official Journal publication dates only, not their application dates, so 20 January 2010 (Art. 35) stands in for the row's start date.
From the consolidated text: E 200-202; 214-219 · Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates · 1 000 · (1) (2) (5)
Annex II rows, Part E, category 15.1; row: E 200-202; 214-219 Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 (consolidated 2026-08-18)(opens in a new tab)Limit 1000 mg/kg (content basis)
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02008R1333-20260818 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- EU food category: Processed nuts [15.2]
Depends on: eu food category code
In force, start date unknown
Art. 35: applies from 20 January 2010; Annex II as consolidated 2026-08-18, amendment dates of single rows not tracked. The row sits in the block marked ▼M76 (inserted or replaced by an amending act); the published text lists the amending acts with their Official Journal publication dates only, not their application dates, so 20 January 2010 (Art. 35) stands in for the row's start date.
From the consolidated text: E 200-202; 214-219 · Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates · 1 000 · (1) (2) (5) · only coated nuts
Annex II rows, Part E, category 15.2; row: E 200-202; 214-219 Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 (consolidated 2026-08-18)(opens in a new tab)Limit 1000 mg/kg (content basis)
Official text, current to 28 Jun 2024. legislation.gov.uk point-in-time version 2024-06-28 of Annex II, which the FSA register cites as the terms of authorisation (Annex II was omitted from the revised text from 2025-04-01).
- EU food category: Heat-treated meat products [08.3.2]
Depends on: eu food category code
In force since 20 Jan 2010
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 20 Jan 2010
Applies in GB from 20 January 2010 (retained Art. 35); the Annex text is the version in force on 2024-06-28, the last before Annex II was omitted from the revised legislation on 1 April 2025 (S.I. 2025/361); the FSA register keeps these terms of authorisation. Amendment dates of single rows not tracked.
From the official list: E 200-202; 214-219 · Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates · 1 000 · (1) (2) · only pâté
Annex rows, Part E, category 08.3.2; row: E 200-202; 214-219 Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates · fetched 2026-10-10
The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 as retained in GB, Annex II (domestic list) as in force on 2024-06-28(opens in a new tab)- LimitEUSorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates (E 200–202; 214–219) as defined in European Union
Limit 1000 mg/kg (content basis)
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02008R1333-20260818 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applies when
- EU food category: Heat-treated meat products [08.3.2]
Depends on: eu food category code
- Effective
In force, start date unknown
Art. 35: applies from 20 January 2010; Annex II as consolidated 2026-08-18, amendment dates of single rows not tracked. The row sits in the block marked ▼M76 (inserted or replaced by an amending act); the published text lists the amending acts with their Official Journal publication dates only, not their application dates, so 20 January 2010 (Art. 35) stands in for the row's start date.
- Source
From the consolidated text: E 200-202; 214-219 · Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates · 1 000 · (1) (2) · only pâté
Annex II rows, Part E, category 08.3.2; row: E 200-202; 214-219 Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 (consolidated 2026-08-18)(opens in a new tab)
- LimitEUSorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates (E 200–202; 214–219) as defined in European Union
Limit 1000 mg/kg (content basis)
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02008R1333-20260818 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applies when
- EU food category: Casings and coatings and decorations for meat [08.3.3]
Depends on: eu food category code
- Effective
In force, start date unknown
Art. 35: applies from 20 January 2010; Annex II as consolidated 2026-08-18, amendment dates of single rows not tracked. The row sits in the block marked ▼M76 (inserted or replaced by an amending act); the published text lists the amending acts with their Official Journal publication dates only, not their application dates, so 20 January 2010 (Art. 35) stands in for the row's start date.
- Source
From the consolidated text: E 200-202; 214-219 · Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates · 1 000 · (1) (2) · only jelly coatings of meat products (cooked, cured or dried)
Annex II rows, Part E, category 08.3.3; row: E 200-202; 214-219 Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 (consolidated 2026-08-18)(opens in a new tab)
- LimitEUSorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates (E 200–202; 214–219) as defined in European Union
Limit 1000 mg/kg (content basis)
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02008R1333-20260818 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applies when
- EU food category: Potato-, cereal-, flour- or starch-based snacks [15.1]
Depends on: eu food category code
- Effective
In force, start date unknown
Art. 35: applies from 20 January 2010; Annex II as consolidated 2026-08-18, amendment dates of single rows not tracked. The row sits in the block marked ▼M76 (inserted or replaced by an amending act); the published text lists the amending acts with their Official Journal publication dates only, not their application dates, so 20 January 2010 (Art. 35) stands in for the row's start date.
- Source
From the consolidated text: E 200-202; 214-219 · Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates · 1 000 · (1) (2) (5)
Annex II rows, Part E, category 15.1; row: E 200-202; 214-219 Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 (consolidated 2026-08-18)(opens in a new tab)
- LimitEUSorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates (E 200–202; 214–219) as defined in European Union
Limit 1000 mg/kg (content basis)
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02008R1333-20260818 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applies when
- EU food category: Processed nuts [15.2]
Depends on: eu food category code
- Effective
In force, start date unknown
Art. 35: applies from 20 January 2010; Annex II as consolidated 2026-08-18, amendment dates of single rows not tracked. The row sits in the block marked ▼M76 (inserted or replaced by an amending act); the published text lists the amending acts with their Official Journal publication dates only, not their application dates, so 20 January 2010 (Art. 35) stands in for the row's start date.
- Source
From the consolidated text: E 200-202; 214-219 · Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates · 1 000 · (1) (2) (5) · only coated nuts
Annex II rows, Part E, category 15.2; row: E 200-202; 214-219 Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 (consolidated 2026-08-18)(opens in a new tab)
- LimitGBSorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates (E 200–202; 214–219) as defined in Great Britain (England, Scotland, Wales)
Limit 1000 mg/kg (content basis)
Official text, current to 28 Jun 2024. legislation.gov.uk point-in-time version 2024-06-28 of Annex II, which the FSA register cites as the terms of authorisation (Annex II was omitted from the revised text from 2025-04-01).
- Applies when
- EU food category: Heat-treated meat products [08.3.2]
Depends on: eu food category code
- Effective
In force since 20 Jan 2010
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 20 Jan 2010
Applies in GB from 20 January 2010 (retained Art. 35); the Annex text is the version in force on 2024-06-28, the last before Annex II was omitted from the revised legislation on 1 April 2025 (S.I. 2025/361); the FSA register keeps these terms of authorisation. Amendment dates of single rows not tracked.
- Source
From the official list: E 200-202; 214-219 · Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates · 1 000 · (1) (2) · only pâté
Annex rows, Part E, category 08.3.2; row: E 200-202; 214-219 Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates · fetched 2026-10-10
The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 as retained in GB, Annex II (domestic list) as in force on 2024-06-28(opens in a new tab)
See also
Related
- Check a product
Tell us if Sorbic acid – potassium sorbate; p-hydroxybenzoates (E 200–202; 214–219) is in your product and see what applies where you sell.
- Markets and sources
When our coverage starts in every market.
- Upcoming changes
Rule changes that start in the next 24 months.
Alerts
Get an email when these rules change.
Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.