Batteries, e-bikes and power banks
Which rules apply to stand-alone battery chargers?
We track 262 rules for these in 20 of 21 markets, including California's Prop 65 list of 883 chemicals. Check your product free, no account needed.
- Free
- No account needed
- The law behind every rule
Batteries, e-bikes and power banks / Battery chargers / Stand-alone battery chargers
Mains-powered or vehicle-powered chargers for AA/AAA cells, battery packs of tools and e-bikes (LVD/EMC marking, EU ecodesign for external power supplies where it applies, US DOE battery charger standards, KR KC, JP PSE). A charger that ships inside a device is part of that device.
Rules
Rules by market
Open a market to read its rules for this category.
Main sources, from 1 Sep 2026 · What is covered
Japan: main sources stored. Modelled: 電気用品安全法 act, order and ordinance (リチウムイオン蓄電池 PSE), covered under consumer electronics; 資源有効利用促進法 act and order, 密閉形蓄電池の表示の標準となるべき事項を定める省令 and 自主回収 ordinance (labelling text only; mark figures not captured); 道路交通法 and 施行規則 (電動アシスト自転車 = 駆動補助機付自転車, 特定小型原動機付自転車). Not stored: JIS C 8714 and other JIS texts (paid); 消費生活用製品安全法 and recall rules for portable batteries; mark designs in ordinance figures (the attached figure files); 電気用品安全法 sale ban (第二十七条), the 密閉形蓄電池 labelling 様式 figures, 資源有効利用促進法施行令 volume thresholds and municipal take-back detail beyond 第五条 are not covered.
第十条第三項
Banned
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Official text, current to 25 Dec 2025. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.
- Powered from the mains
- Rated voltage at least 100 V
- Rated voltage below 300.1 V
Depends on: mains powered, rated voltage v
In force, start date unknown
In force no later than 2025-12-25 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds: the item is in the stored Cabinet Order 別表第二, which states no start date for item 12); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.
“届出事業者がその届出に係る型式の電気用品について前二項の規定により表示を付する場合でなければ、何人も、電気用品に第一項の表示又はこれと紛らわしい表示を付してはならない。”
第三条
Notification to 経済産業大臣 (Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry)
Notification of name and address, the 型式の区分, and the manufacturing plant (importer: the manufacturer and the 国内管理人 if the importer is abroad), within 30 days of starting the business (法第三条)
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Official text, current to 25 Dec 2025. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.
- Powered from the mains
- Rated voltage at least 100 V
- Rated voltage below 300.1 V
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer
Depends on: mains powered, rated voltage v, economic operator role
In force, start date unknown
In force no later than 2025-12-25 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds: the item is in the stored Cabinet Order 別表第二, which states no start date for item 12); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.
“電気用品の製造又は輸入の事業を行う者は、経済産業省令で定めるところにより、経済産業省令で定める電気用品の区分(以下単に「電気用品の区分」という。”
第十条第一項
Label required
PSE mark (the mark of 電気用品安全法 第十条第一項) on the article
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Official text, current to 25 Dec 2025. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.
- Powered from the mains
- Rated voltage at least 100 V
- Rated voltage below 300.1 V
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer
Depends on: mains powered, rated voltage v, economic operator role
In force, start date unknown
In force no later than 2025-12-25 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds: the item is in the stored Cabinet Order 別表第二, which states no start date for item 12); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.
“届出事業者(特定輸入事業者である者を除く。”
第二十七条第一項
Label required
PSE mark (第十条第一項) present before sale or display for sale
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Official text, current to 25 Dec 2025. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.
- Powered from the mains
- Rated voltage at least 100 V
- Rated voltage below 300.1 V
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer or Distributor
Depends on: mains powered, rated voltage v, economic operator role
In force, start date unknown
In force no later than 2025-12-25 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds: the item is in the stored Cabinet Order 別表第二, which states no start date for item 12); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.
“電気用品の製造、輸入又は販売の事業を行う者は、第十条第一項の表示が付されているものでなければ、電気用品を販売し、又は販売の目的で陳列してはならない。”
第八条第一項
Must meet the conditions of Manufacture or import the notified type of lithium-ion battery so that it conforms to the 技術基準 set by METI ordinance (法第八条第一項)
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Official text, current to 25 Dec 2025. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.
- Powered from the mains
- Rated voltage at least 100 V
- Rated voltage below 300.1 V
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer
Depends on: mains powered, rated voltage v, economic operator role
In force, start date unknown
In force no later than 2025-12-25 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds: the item is in the stored Cabinet Order 別表第二, which states no start date for item 12); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.
“届出事業者は、第三条の規定による届出に係る型式(以下単に「届出に係る型式」という。”
第八条第二項
Test required
Inspection record of each manufactured or imported battery (for lithium-ion batteries: appearance and output voltage, item by item), made and kept (法第八条第二項)
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Official text, current to 25 Dec 2025. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.
- Powered from the mains
- Rated voltage at least 100 V
- Rated voltage below 300.1 V
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer
Depends on: mains powered, rated voltage v, economic operator role
In force, start date unknown
In force no later than 2025-12-25 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds: the item is in the stored Cabinet Order 別表第二, which states no start date for item 12); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.
“届出事業者は、経済産業省令で定めるところにより、その製造又は輸入に係る前項の電気用品(同項ただし書の規定の適用を受けて製造され、又は輸入されるものを除く。”
第九条第一項
Test required
適合性検査 of the 特定電気用品 (or its test samples and the maker's inspection equipment) by a registered conformity-assessment body, with a certificate issued, before sale (第9条第1項-第2項)
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Official text, current to 25 Dec 2025. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.
- Powered from the mains
- Rated voltage at least 100 V
- Rated voltage below 300.1 V
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer
Depends on: mains powered, rated voltage v, economic operator role
In force, start date unknown
In force no later than 2025-12-25 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds: the item is in the stored Cabinet Order 別表第二, which states no start date for item 12); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.
“届出事業者は、その製造又は輸入に係る前条第一項の電気用品(同項ただし書の規定の適用を受けて製造され、又は輸入されるものを除く。”
第四十二条の六
Must meet the conditions of Online marketplace (取引デジタルプラットフォーム提供者) endeavours to cooperate with the measures a seller takes under a 危険等防止命令 (第四十二条の五); a duty to endeavour (努めなければならない)
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Official text, current to 25 Dec 2025. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.
- Powered from the mains
- Rated voltage at least 100 V
- Rated voltage below 300.1 V
- Your role: Online marketplace
Depends on: mains powered, rated voltage v, economic operator role
In force, start date unknown
In force no later than 2025-12-25 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds: the item is in the stored Cabinet Order 別表第二, which states no start date for item 12); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.
“取引デジタルプラットフォーム提供者は、電気用品(その提供する取引デジタルプラットフォームを利用して行われる通信販売に係るものに限る。”
- Ban
第十条第三項
Banned
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Official text, current to 25 Dec 2025. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.
- Applies when
- Powered from the mains
- Rated voltage at least 100 V
- Rated voltage below 300.1 V
Depends on: mains powered, rated voltage v
- Effective
In force, start date unknown
In force no later than 2025-12-25 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds: the item is in the stored Cabinet Order 別表第二, which states no start date for item 12); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.
- Source
“届出事業者がその届出に係る型式の電気用品について前二項の規定により表示を付する場合でなければ、何人も、電気用品に第一項の表示又はこれと紛らわしい表示を付してはならない。”
Article 10(3) · fetched 2026-10-09Digital Agency / e-Gov Law Search (laws.e-gov.go.jp): 電気用品安全法 (昭和三十六年法律第二百三十四号)(opens in a new tab)
- Notification
第三条
Notification to 経済産業大臣 (Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry)
Notification of name and address, the 型式の区分, and the manufacturing plant (importer: the manufacturer and the 国内管理人 if the importer is abroad), within 30 days of starting the business (法第三条)
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Official text, current to 25 Dec 2025. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.
- Applies when
- Powered from the mains
- Rated voltage at least 100 V
- Rated voltage below 300.1 V
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer
Depends on: mains powered, rated voltage v, economic operator role
- Effective
In force, start date unknown
In force no later than 2025-12-25 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds: the item is in the stored Cabinet Order 別表第二, which states no start date for item 12); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.
- Source
“電気用品の製造又は輸入の事業を行う者は、経済産業省令で定めるところにより、経済産業省令で定める電気用品の区分(以下単に「電気用品の区分」という。”
Article 3 · fetched 2026-10-09Digital Agency / e-Gov Law Search (laws.e-gov.go.jp): 電気用品安全法 (昭和三十六年法律第二百三十四号)(opens in a new tab)
- Label
第十条第一項
Label required
PSE mark (the mark of 電気用品安全法 第十条第一項) on the article
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Official text, current to 25 Dec 2025. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.
- Applies when
- Powered from the mains
- Rated voltage at least 100 V
- Rated voltage below 300.1 V
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer
Depends on: mains powered, rated voltage v, economic operator role
- Effective
In force, start date unknown
In force no later than 2025-12-25 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds: the item is in the stored Cabinet Order 別表第二, which states no start date for item 12); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.
- Source
“届出事業者(特定輸入事業者である者を除く。”
Article 10(1) · fetched 2026-10-09Digital Agency / e-Gov Law Search (laws.e-gov.go.jp): 電気用品安全法 (昭和三十六年法律第二百三十四号)(opens in a new tab)
- Label
第二十七条第一項
Label required
PSE mark (第十条第一項) present before sale or display for sale
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Official text, current to 25 Dec 2025. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.
- Applies when
- Powered from the mains
- Rated voltage at least 100 V
- Rated voltage below 300.1 V
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer or Distributor
Depends on: mains powered, rated voltage v, economic operator role
- Effective
In force, start date unknown
In force no later than 2025-12-25 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds: the item is in the stored Cabinet Order 別表第二, which states no start date for item 12); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.
- Source
“電気用品の製造、輸入又は販売の事業を行う者は、第十条第一項の表示が付されているものでなければ、電気用品を販売し、又は販売の目的で陳列してはならない。”
Article 27(1) · fetched 2026-10-09Digital Agency / e-Gov Law Search (laws.e-gov.go.jp): 電気用品安全法 (昭和三十六年法律第二百三十四号)(opens in a new tab)
- Conformity
第八条第一項
Must meet the conditions of Manufacture or import the notified type of lithium-ion battery so that it conforms to the 技術基準 set by METI ordinance (法第八条第一項)
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Official text, current to 25 Dec 2025. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.
- Applies when
- Powered from the mains
- Rated voltage at least 100 V
- Rated voltage below 300.1 V
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer
Depends on: mains powered, rated voltage v, economic operator role
- Effective
In force, start date unknown
In force no later than 2025-12-25 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds: the item is in the stored Cabinet Order 別表第二, which states no start date for item 12); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.
- Source
“届出事業者は、第三条の規定による届出に係る型式(以下単に「届出に係る型式」という。”
Article 8(1) · fetched 2026-10-09Digital Agency / e-Gov Law Search (laws.e-gov.go.jp): 電気用品安全法 (昭和三十六年法律第二百三十四号)(opens in a new tab)
- Test
第八条第二項
Test required
Inspection record of each manufactured or imported battery (for lithium-ion batteries: appearance and output voltage, item by item), made and kept (法第八条第二項)
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Official text, current to 25 Dec 2025. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.
- Applies when
- Powered from the mains
- Rated voltage at least 100 V
- Rated voltage below 300.1 V
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer
Depends on: mains powered, rated voltage v, economic operator role
- Effective
In force, start date unknown
In force no later than 2025-12-25 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds: the item is in the stored Cabinet Order 別表第二, which states no start date for item 12); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.
- Source
“届出事業者は、経済産業省令で定めるところにより、その製造又は輸入に係る前項の電気用品(同項ただし書の規定の適用を受けて製造され、又は輸入されるものを除く。”
Article 8(2) · fetched 2026-10-09Digital Agency / e-Gov Law Search (laws.e-gov.go.jp): 電気用品安全法 (昭和三十六年法律第二百三十四号)(opens in a new tab)
- Test
第九条第一項
Test required
適合性検査 of the 特定電気用品 (or its test samples and the maker's inspection equipment) by a registered conformity-assessment body, with a certificate issued, before sale (第9条第1項-第2項)
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Official text, current to 25 Dec 2025. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.
- Applies when
- Powered from the mains
- Rated voltage at least 100 V
- Rated voltage below 300.1 V
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer
Depends on: mains powered, rated voltage v, economic operator role
- Effective
In force, start date unknown
In force no later than 2025-12-25 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds: the item is in the stored Cabinet Order 別表第二, which states no start date for item 12); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.
- Source
“届出事業者は、その製造又は輸入に係る前条第一項の電気用品(同項ただし書の規定の適用を受けて製造され、又は輸入されるものを除く。”
Article 9(1) · fetched 2026-10-09Digital Agency / e-Gov Law Search (laws.e-gov.go.jp): 電気用品安全法 (昭和三十六年法律第二百三十四号)(opens in a new tab)
- Conformity
第四十二条の六
Must meet the conditions of Online marketplace (取引デジタルプラットフォーム提供者) endeavours to cooperate with the measures a seller takes under a 危険等防止命令 (第四十二条の五); a duty to endeavour (努めなければならない)
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Official text, current to 25 Dec 2025. e-Gov (Japan's official law database) current revision; the date is when this revision took effect.
- Applies when
- Powered from the mains
- Rated voltage at least 100 V
- Rated voltage below 300.1 V
- Your role: Online marketplace
Depends on: mains powered, rated voltage v, economic operator role
- Effective
In force, start date unknown
In force no later than 2025-12-25 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds: the item is in the stored Cabinet Order 別表第二, which states no start date for item 12); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.
- Source
“取引デジタルプラットフォーム提供者は、電気用品(その提供する取引デジタルプラットフォームを利用して行われる通信販売に係るものに限る。”
Article 42-6 · fetched 2026-10-09Digital Agency / e-Gov Law Search (laws.e-gov.go.jp): 電気用品安全法 (昭和三十六年法律第二百三十四号)(opens in a new tab)
Gaps
Markets without rules for this category
We have no rules for this category in these markets. That doesn't mean none apply, so a check here says Not covered, never clear.
ClaraDB gives a verdict only for PFAS state laws for cookware and bakeware, California Proposition 65 consumer-product warning check for BPA, BPS, formaldehyde, styrene, antimony trioxide, vinyl acetate, lead and cadmium, California Proposition 65 warning check for candles and ceramicware (lead, cadmium, formaldehyde, acetaldehyde, benzene, naphthalene, carbon monoxide, benzo[a]pyrene), US packaging EPR producer size thresholds (California, Colorado, Maryland, Minnesota, Oregon, Washington) for a brand-owning manufacturer, US lead in children's products and furniture (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in toys and child care articles (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in children's products (other) and bags (lead paint and total lead content), US phthalates in children's toys and child care articles (DEHP, DBP, BBP, DINP, DIBP, DPENP, DHEXP, DCHP) and US children's product certificate and tracking label for children's tableware (AI-checked, quotes verified word for word). Every other answer shows the laws and quotes found without saying whether they apply. Not checked: Consumer electronics (FCC equipment authorization, 47 CFR Parts 2 and 15, energy rules). What ClaraDB has checked
Show 1 market
- Coverage
- Main sources; no modeled rule is scoped to this category. Not covered: other rules that may apply.
Facts
What we need to know about your product
Some rules depend on details of your product. Until you tell us, a check says Needs answers and asks for what's missing.
Show 24 facts
- Whether the listed substance or group is present
- Markets
- EU, KR, US, US-CA, US-ME, US-MN, US-NM, US-VT
- Rules
- 1,006
- Number of employees at the seller
- Markets
- US-CA
- Rules
- 972
- Economic operator role
- Markets
- EU, GB, JP, KR, US
- Rules
- 147
- Radio equipment
- Markets
- EU, GB, US
- Rules
- 96
- Rated voltage v
- Markets
- EU, GB, JP
- Rules
- 36
- Mains powered
- Markets
- JP, US
- Rules
- 9
- Fcc digital device
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 7
- Button or coin cell
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 6
- Annual gross revenue usd
- Markets
- US-CO, US-MD, US-MN, US-OR, US-WA
- Rules
- 5
- Rated power w
- Markets
- KR
- Rules
- 4
- Fcc class b digital device
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 4
- Fcc part15 device
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 2
- Whether it is sold online
- Markets
- EU
- Rules
- 1
- Warning label space prohibited
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Covered list component
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Whether it is a children's product
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Cpsc rule subject
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Ca gross sales usd
- Markets
- US-CA
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons co
- Markets
- US-CO
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons md
- Markets
- US-MD
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons mn
- Markets
- US-MN
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tonnes or
- Markets
- US-OR
- Rules
- 1
- Fluorine treated container
- Markets
- US-VT
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons wa
- Markets
- US-WA
- Rules
- 1
Changes
Upcoming changes
Rules for this category that start in the next 24 months, or are proposed or on hold.
Show 28 upcoming changes
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 758-17-8
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).
“a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Bisphenol S (BPS)
- Type of toxicity
- developmental toxicity
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 80-09-1
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Tacrolimus
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 104987-11-3
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Hydrochlorothiazide
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Voriconazole
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Welding Fumes
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- none given
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Notification to New Mexico Department of Environment
The manufacturer of a product sold in New Mexico that contains an intentionally added per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance must submit: a brief description of the product with its UPC, SKU or other numeric code; the purpose of each such substance; the amount of each substance by CAS number, as an exact quantity or within an approved range; the manufacturer's name and address and a contact person; and any further information the Department requests. A revision is due within 30 days of a significant change.
Exemptions (3)
The prohibitions do not apply to a product that contains fluoropolymers whose backbone is a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone and that is a solid at standard temperature and pressure.
“fluoropolymers 6 consisting of polymeric substances for which the backbone of 7 the polymer is either a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only 8 backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone that is a 9 solid at standard temperature and pressure.”
The prohibitions do not apply to used products offered for sale or resale.
“used products offered for sale or 7 resale;”
The reporting duty does not apply to products exempt from the prohibitions under Section 3(A).
“The requirements of this section do not apply 2 to products that are exempt pursuant to Subsection A of 3 Section 3 of the Per- and Poly-Fluoroalkyl Substances 4 Protection Act.”
Later deadlines (1)
1 Jan 2027: Submit the product information to the New Mexico Department of Environment.
“On or before January 1, 2027, a manufacturer of 19 a product sold”
Penalty
A manufacturer that violates the Act or a rule adopted under it is assessed a civil penalty not to exceed $15,000.
“adopted pursuant to that act shall be assessed a civil 2 penalty not to exceed fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000)”
Unofficial copy of the text, current to 8 Apr 2025. Enrolled bill as signed (chapter 102, 2025-04-08), from LegiScan's copy of the New Mexico Legislature's PDF; the compiled NMSA text is not stored.
- It contains intentionally added PFAS
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2027
The information must be submitted on or before January 1, 2027. The Department may extend the deadline or waive the duty where equivalent information is publicly available.
“that contains an intentionally added per- or 22 poly-fluoroalkyl substance shall submit to the department the 23 information required by Subsection A of this section”
Notification to US EPA through the Central Data Exchange (CDX), the PFAS 8(a)(7) reporting tool (§705.35)
Submit the §705.15 information (or, for article importers, the §705.18(a) streamlined form) during the submission period. §705.20(a): the submission period begins January 31, 2027, or 60 days following the date EPA announces in the Federal Register under paragraph (c), whichever is earlier, and lasts six months. §705.20(b): a small manufacturer (40 CFR 704.3) reporting exclusively as an article importer under §705.18(a) has twelve months from the same start. §705.25: keep the records that document what was reported for 5 years beginning on the last day of the submission period.
Exemptions (2)
Reporting is not required for the import of municipal solid waste streams for the purpose of disposal or destruction of the waste
“Reporting under this part is not required for the import of municipal solid waste streams for the purpose of disposal or destruction of the waste.”
Reporting is not required for a Federal agency which imports PFAS when it is not for any immediate or eventual commercial advantage
“Additionally, reporting is not required for a Federal agency which imports PFAS when it is not for any immediate or eventual commercial advantage.”
Later deadlines (1)
31 Jan 2027: Submission period starts on this date at the latest (earlier if EPA announces a date: 60 days after it); it lasts six months, or twelve months for a small manufacturer reporting only as an article importer
“the submission period shall begin January 31, 2027, or 60 days following the date provided in paragraph (c) of this section, whichever is earlier, and last for six months.”
Penalty
Failure or refusal to submit the information, or to keep and give access to the records, is unlawful under TSCA section 15(3); a person who violates TSCA section 15 is liable to the United States for a civil penalty and may be criminally prosecuted (no penalty amount is stated in this part)
“TSCA section 16 provides that any person who violates a provision of TSCA section 15 is liable to the United States for a civil penalty and may be criminally prosecuted.”
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 22 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-22 per the eCFR (title 40 up to date as of 2026-10-22). Section 705.20 carries the amendment 91 FR 18789, Apr. 13, 2026.
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer
- You manufactured (including imported) a PFAS, or an article containing one, for commercial purposes at any time from January 1, 2011 through December 31, 2022
Depends on: economic operator role
Takes effect 31 Jan 2027
Applies to products manufactured on or after 31 Jan 2027
Stated in §705.20(a)-(b): “the submission period shall begin January 31, 2027, or 60 days following the date provided in paragraph (c) of this section, whichever is earlier”. Paragraph (c): “EPA intends to publish a document in the Federal Register announcing the submission period date and revising or removing this paragraph (c).” The period had not begun on the date this row was made (2026-10-26); the date is the latest start the text allows.
“All information reported to EPA in response to the requirements of this part must be submitted during the applicable submission period.”
QR code (Annex VI Part C)
Label required
QR code giving access to the battery passport (LMT, industrial over 2 kWh, electric vehicle) or the Art. 13 information, declaration of conformity and waste-prevention information (other batteries)
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 13 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02023R1542-20260813 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer or Distributor
Depends on: economic operator role
Takes effect 18 Feb 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 18 Feb 2027
“From 18 February 2027, all batteries shall be marked with a QR code as described in Part C of Annex VI.”
Battery due diligence annual-public-report
Disclosure to consumer
Annual public report on the battery due diligence policy, including a summary of third-party verifications
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 13 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02023R1542-20260813 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer
Depends on: economic operator role
Takes effect 18 Aug 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 18 Aug 2027
From 18 August 2027 (Art. 48(1), amended text marked M2).
“on an annual basis review and make publicly available, including on the internet, a report on its battery due diligence policy.”
- WarningUS-CAN-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine (CAS 758-17-8)
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 758-17-8
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CABisphenol S (BPS) (CAS 80-09-1)
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).
“a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that will produce no observable reproductive effect (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Bisphenol S (BPS)
- Type of toxicity
- developmental toxicity
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 80-09-1
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CATacrolimus (CAS 104987-11-3)
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Tacrolimus
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 104987-11-3
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CAHydrochlorothiazide
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Hydrochlorothiazide
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CAVoriconazole
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Voriconazole
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CAWelding Fumes
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Welding Fumes
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- none given
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- NotificationUS-NMPFAS as defined in New Mexico (US state)
Notification to New Mexico Department of Environment
The manufacturer of a product sold in New Mexico that contains an intentionally added per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance must submit: a brief description of the product with its UPC, SKU or other numeric code; the purpose of each such substance; the amount of each substance by CAS number, as an exact quantity or within an approved range; the manufacturer's name and address and a contact person; and any further information the Department requests. A revision is due within 30 days of a significant change.
Exemptions (3)
The prohibitions do not apply to a product that contains fluoropolymers whose backbone is a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone and that is a solid at standard temperature and pressure.
“fluoropolymers 6 consisting of polymeric substances for which the backbone of 7 the polymer is either a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only 8 backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone that is a 9 solid at standard temperature and pressure.”
Section 3(A)(16) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab) The prohibitions do not apply to used products offered for sale or resale.
“used products offered for sale or 7 resale;”
Section 3(A)(2) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab) The reporting duty does not apply to products exempt from the prohibitions under Section 3(A).
“The requirements of this section do not apply 2 to products that are exempt pursuant to Subsection A of 3 Section 3 of the Per- and Poly-Fluoroalkyl Substances 4 Protection Act.”
Section 5(K) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab) Later deadlines (1)
1 Jan 2027: Submit the product information to the New Mexico Department of Environment.
“On or before January 1, 2027, a manufacturer of 19 a product sold”
Section 5(B) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab) Penalty
A manufacturer that violates the Act or a rule adopted under it is assessed a civil penalty not to exceed $15,000.
“adopted pursuant to that act shall be assessed a civil 2 penalty not to exceed fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000)”
Section 7(A) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab) Unofficial copy of the text, current to 8 Apr 2025. Enrolled bill as signed (chapter 102, 2025-04-08), from LegiScan's copy of the New Mexico Legislature's PDF; the compiled NMSA text is not stored.
- Applies when
- It contains intentionally added PFAS
- Effective
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2027
The information must be submitted on or before January 1, 2027. The Department may extend the deadline or waive the duty where equivalent information is publicly available.
- Source
“that contains an intentionally added per- or 22 poly-fluoroalkyl substance shall submit to the department the 23 information required by Subsection A of this section”
Section 5(B) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab)
- NotificationUSPFAS as defined in United States (federal)
Notification to US EPA through the Central Data Exchange (CDX), the PFAS 8(a)(7) reporting tool (§705.35)
Submit the §705.15 information (or, for article importers, the §705.18(a) streamlined form) during the submission period. §705.20(a): the submission period begins January 31, 2027, or 60 days following the date EPA announces in the Federal Register under paragraph (c), whichever is earlier, and lasts six months. §705.20(b): a small manufacturer (40 CFR 704.3) reporting exclusively as an article importer under §705.18(a) has twelve months from the same start. §705.25: keep the records that document what was reported for 5 years beginning on the last day of the submission period.
Exemptions (2)
Reporting is not required for the import of municipal solid waste streams for the purpose of disposal or destruction of the waste
“Reporting under this part is not required for the import of municipal solid waste streams for the purpose of disposal or destruction of the waste.”
§705.12 · fetched 2026-10-26US EPA via eCFR: 40 CFR 705(opens in a new tab) Reporting is not required for a Federal agency which imports PFAS when it is not for any immediate or eventual commercial advantage
“Additionally, reporting is not required for a Federal agency which imports PFAS when it is not for any immediate or eventual commercial advantage.”
§705.12 · fetched 2026-10-26US EPA via eCFR: 40 CFR 705(opens in a new tab) Later deadlines (1)
31 Jan 2027: Submission period starts on this date at the latest (earlier if EPA announces a date: 60 days after it); it lasts six months, or twelve months for a small manufacturer reporting only as an article importer
“the submission period shall begin January 31, 2027, or 60 days following the date provided in paragraph (c) of this section, whichever is earlier, and last for six months.”
§705.20(a) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-26US EPA via eCFR: 40 CFR 705(opens in a new tab) Penalty
Failure or refusal to submit the information, or to keep and give access to the records, is unlawful under TSCA section 15(3); a person who violates TSCA section 15 is liable to the United States for a civil penalty and may be criminally prosecuted (no penalty amount is stated in this part)
“TSCA section 16 provides that any person who violates a provision of TSCA section 15 is liable to the United States for a civil penalty and may be criminally prosecuted.”
§705.1(b) · fetched 2026-10-26US EPA via eCFR: 40 CFR 705(opens in a new tab) Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 22 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-22 per the eCFR (title 40 up to date as of 2026-10-22). Section 705.20 carries the amendment 91 FR 18789, Apr. 13, 2026.
- Applies when
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer
- You manufactured (including imported) a PFAS, or an article containing one, for commercial purposes at any time from January 1, 2011 through December 31, 2022
Depends on: economic operator role
- Effective
Takes effect 31 Jan 2027
Applies to products manufactured on or after 31 Jan 2027
Stated in §705.20(a)-(b): “the submission period shall begin January 31, 2027, or 60 days following the date provided in paragraph (c) of this section, whichever is earlier”. Paragraph (c): “EPA intends to publish a document in the Federal Register announcing the submission period date and revising or removing this paragraph (c).” The period had not begun on the date this row was made (2026-10-26); the date is the latest start the text allows.
- Source
“All information reported to EPA in response to the requirements of this part must be submitted during the applicable submission period.”
§705.20(a) · fetched 2026-10-26US EPA via eCFR: 40 CFR 705(opens in a new tab)
- LabelEU
QR code (Annex VI Part C)
Label required
QR code giving access to the battery passport (LMT, industrial over 2 kWh, electric vehicle) or the Art. 13 information, declaration of conformity and waste-prevention information (other batteries)
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 13 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02023R1542-20260813 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applies when
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer or Distributor
Depends on: economic operator role
- Effective
Takes effect 18 Feb 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 18 Feb 2027
- Source
“From 18 February 2027, all batteries shall be marked with a QR code as described in Part C of Annex VI.”
Art. 13(6) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EU) 2023/1542(opens in a new tab)
- DisclosureEU
Battery due diligence annual-public-report
Disclosure to consumer
Annual public report on the battery due diligence policy, including a summary of third-party verifications
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 13 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02023R1542-20260813 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applies when
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer
Depends on: economic operator role
- Effective
Takes effect 18 Aug 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 18 Aug 2027
From 18 August 2027 (Art. 48(1), amended text marked M2).
- Source
“on an annual basis review and make publicly available, including on the internet, a report on its battery due diligence policy.”
Art. 52(3) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EU) 2023/1542(opens in a new tab)
Records
Recalls and alerts
Recalls, safety alerts and Prop 65 notices that name Stand-alone battery chargers, with a link to the original. A Prop 65 notice is a claim by the sender, not a ruling.
46 records dated 11 Apr 2023 to 23 Oct 2026. Most recent shown.
Show the 8 most recent records
- Safety Gate alerts
Car battery trickle charger
Origin as stated: People's Republic of China
Batteries, e-bikes and power banks
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Stand-alone battery chargers
- Safety Gate alerts
Battery charger for electric scooter - Power Charger
Origin as stated: People's Republic of China
Batteries, e-bikes and power banks
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Stand-alone battery chargers
- Safety Gate alerts
Battery charger
Origin as stated: People's Republic of China
Batteries, e-bikes and power banks
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Stand-alone battery chargers
- CPSC recalls
EEMB Lithium-ion Coin Battery Chargers with Rechargeable 2032 Batteries
Origin as stated: China
Batteries, e-bikes and power banks
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Stand-alone battery chargers
- CPSC recalls
Flaunt MagSafe Battery Chargers
Origin as stated: China
Batteries, e-bikes and power banks
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Stand-alone battery chargers
- Safety Gate alerts
Battery charger
Origin as stated: People's Republic of China
Batteries, e-bikes and power banks
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Stand-alone battery chargers
- Safety Gate alerts
Adaptor - Li-ion Battery Charger
Origin as stated: People's Republic of China
Batteries, e-bikes and power banks
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Stand-alone battery chargers
- Safety Gate alerts
Battery charger
Origin as stated: People's Republic of China
Batteries, e-bikes and power banks
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Stand-alone battery chargers
See also
Related categories
- Battery chargers
Stand-alone chargers for removable rechargeable batteries.
Alerts
Get an email when these rules change.
Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.