Batteries, e-bikes and power banks
Which rules apply to power banks and portable chargers?
We track 403 rules for these in 20 of 21 markets, including California's Prop 65 list of 883 chemicals. Check your product free, no account needed.
- Free
- No account needed
- The law behind every rule
Batteries, e-bikes and power banks / Power banks / Power banks and portable chargers
Self-contained rechargeable battery packs with output ports used to charge other devices, including magnetic wireless power banks and jump-starter packs under 5 kg (EU LVD 2014/35 and RED/EMC marking, EU 2023/1542 portable battery duties, EU common charger 2022/2380 where a USB output applies, KR KC 안전확인, JP PSE, US UL 2056 voluntary and CPSC recalls).
Rules
Rules by market
Open a market to read its rules for this category.
Main sources · What is covered
Illinois (US state): main sources stored. Not stored: other rules that may apply.
The product, and any flame-retarded part of it, contains no more than 0.1 percent pentaBDE or octaBDE
Must meet the conditions of PBDE flame retardants: effective January 1, 2006, a person may not manufacture, process, or distribute in commerce in Illinois a product or a flame-retarded part of a product containing more than one-tenth of 1% of pentaBDE or octaBDE (410 ILCS 48/15(a))
Exemptions (2)
Sale of any used product containing PBDE.
“(1) The sale by a business, charity, or private party of any used product containing PBDE.”
Processing of recycled material containing pentaBDE or octaBDE in compliance with applicable law.
“(3) The processing of recycled material containing pentaBDE or octaBDE in compliance with applicable State and federal laws.”
Official text, current to 10 Mar 2025. Faithful copy: Internet Archive capture 2025-03-10 (id_ form) of the official ILCS act page; ilga.gov did not answer curl from this network on 2026-10-27.
Every product in the category
In force since 1 Jan 2006
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2006
Stated: “Effective January 1, 2006” (Sec. 15(a)).
“(a) Effective January 1, 2006, a person may not manufacture, process, or distribute in commerce a product or a flame-retarded part of a product containing more than one-tenth of 1% of pentaBDE or octaBDE.”
The product's package and packaging components have no intentionally introduced lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium, and the four together are at most 100 ppm
Must meet the conditions of Toxics in packaging: beginning July 1, 1994, no product may be offered for sale or for promotional purposes in Illinois by its manufacturer or distributor in a package whose package or packaging components include any ink, dye, pigment, adhesive, stabilizer or other additive containing intentionally introduced lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium (21.5(c)); no product in a package may be offered if the four, not intentionally introduced, exceed 100 ppm by weight from July 1, 1996 (21.5(d)(3)); a certificate of compliance is furnished by the package manufacturer or supplier to its distributor (21.5(g)).
Exemptions (1)
Packaging components (strapping, seals, fasteners and other industrial packaging components) for a product destined for commercial use
“(5) Packaging components, including but not limited to strapping, seals, fasteners, and other industrial packaging components intended to protect, secure, close, unitize or provide pilferage protection for any product destined for commercial use.”
Official text, current to 15 Apr 2025. Faithful copy: Internet Archive capture 2025-04-15 (id_ form) of the official ILCS section page; ilga.gov does not answer this network.
- You offer the product in Illinois in a package (415 ILCS 5/21.5(c): "no product may be offered for sale or for promotional purposes in this State by its manufacturer or distributor in Illinois in a package"); a product sold with no packaging has nothing to comply
In force since 1 Jul 1994
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jul 1994
21.5(c): "Beginning July 1, 1994"; 100 ppm from July 1, 1996 (21.5(d)(3)).
“(c) Beginning July 1, 1994, no product may be offered for sale or for promotional purposes in this State by its manufacturer or distributor in Illinois in a package that includes, in the package itself or in any of its packaging components, any ink, dye, pigment, adhesive, stabilizer, or other additive that contains lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium that has been intentionally introduced during manufacturing or distribution.”
- Conformity
The product, and any flame-retarded part of it, contains no more than 0.1 percent pentaBDE or octaBDE
Must meet the conditions of PBDE flame retardants: effective January 1, 2006, a person may not manufacture, process, or distribute in commerce in Illinois a product or a flame-retarded part of a product containing more than one-tenth of 1% of pentaBDE or octaBDE (410 ILCS 48/15(a))
Exemptions (2)
Sale of any used product containing PBDE.
“(1) The sale by a business, charity, or private party of any used product containing PBDE.”
410 ILCS 48/15(b)(1) · fetched 2026-10-27Illinois General Assembly: 410 ILCS 48/15(opens in a new tab) Processing of recycled material containing pentaBDE or octaBDE in compliance with applicable law.
“(3) The processing of recycled material containing pentaBDE or octaBDE in compliance with applicable State and federal laws.”
410 ILCS 48/15(b)(3) · fetched 2026-10-27Illinois General Assembly: 410 ILCS 48/15(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 10 Mar 2025. Faithful copy: Internet Archive capture 2025-03-10 (id_ form) of the official ILCS act page; ilga.gov did not answer curl from this network on 2026-10-27.
- Applies when
Every product in the category
- Effective
In force since 1 Jan 2006
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2006
Stated: “Effective January 1, 2006” (Sec. 15(a)).
- Source
“(a) Effective January 1, 2006, a person may not manufacture, process, or distribute in commerce a product or a flame-retarded part of a product containing more than one-tenth of 1% of pentaBDE or octaBDE.”
410 ILCS 48/15(a) · fetched 2026-10-27Illinois General Assembly: 410 ILCS 48/15(opens in a new tab)
- Conformity
The product's package and packaging components have no intentionally introduced lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium, and the four together are at most 100 ppm
Must meet the conditions of Toxics in packaging: beginning July 1, 1994, no product may be offered for sale or for promotional purposes in Illinois by its manufacturer or distributor in a package whose package or packaging components include any ink, dye, pigment, adhesive, stabilizer or other additive containing intentionally introduced lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium (21.5(c)); no product in a package may be offered if the four, not intentionally introduced, exceed 100 ppm by weight from July 1, 1996 (21.5(d)(3)); a certificate of compliance is furnished by the package manufacturer or supplier to its distributor (21.5(g)).
Exemptions (1)
Packaging components (strapping, seals, fasteners and other industrial packaging components) for a product destined for commercial use
“(5) Packaging components, including but not limited to strapping, seals, fasteners, and other industrial packaging components intended to protect, secure, close, unitize or provide pilferage protection for any product destined for commercial use.”
415 ILCS 5/21.5(e)(5) · fetched 2026-10-27Illinois General Assembly: 415 ILCS 5/21.5(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 15 Apr 2025. Faithful copy: Internet Archive capture 2025-04-15 (id_ form) of the official ILCS section page; ilga.gov does not answer this network.
- Applies when
- You offer the product in Illinois in a package (415 ILCS 5/21.5(c): "no product may be offered for sale or for promotional purposes in this State by its manufacturer or distributor in Illinois in a package"); a product sold with no packaging has nothing to comply
- Effective
In force since 1 Jul 1994
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jul 1994
21.5(c): "Beginning July 1, 1994"; 100 ppm from July 1, 1996 (21.5(d)(3)).
- Source
“(c) Beginning July 1, 1994, no product may be offered for sale or for promotional purposes in this State by its manufacturer or distributor in Illinois in a package that includes, in the package itself or in any of its packaging components, any ink, dye, pigment, adhesive, stabilizer, or other additive that contains lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium that has been intentionally introduced during manufacturing or distribution.”
415 ILCS 5/21.5(c) · fetched 2026-10-27Illinois General Assembly: 415 ILCS 5/21.5(opens in a new tab)
Gaps
Markets without rules for this category
We have no rules for this category in these markets. That doesn't mean none apply, so a check here says Not covered, never clear.
ClaraDB gives a verdict only for PFAS state laws for cookware and bakeware, California Proposition 65 consumer-product warning check for BPA, BPS, formaldehyde, styrene, antimony trioxide, vinyl acetate, lead and cadmium, California Proposition 65 warning check for candles and ceramicware (lead, cadmium, formaldehyde, acetaldehyde, benzene, naphthalene, carbon monoxide, benzo[a]pyrene), US packaging EPR producer size thresholds (California, Colorado, Maryland, Minnesota, Oregon, Washington) for a brand-owning manufacturer, US lead in children's products and furniture (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in toys and child care articles (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in children's products (other) and bags (lead paint and total lead content), US phthalates in children's toys and child care articles (DEHP, DBP, BBP, DINP, DIBP, DPENP, DHEXP, DCHP) and US children's product certificate and tracking label for children's tableware (AI-checked, quotes verified word for word). Every other answer shows the laws and quotes found without saying whether they apply. Not checked: Consumer electronics (FCC equipment authorization, 47 CFR Parts 2 and 15, energy rules). What ClaraDB has checked
Show 1 market
- Coverage
- Main sources; no modeled rule is scoped to this category. Not covered: other rules that may apply.
Facts
What we need to know about your product
Some rules depend on details of your product. Until you tell us, a check says Needs answers and asks for what's missing.
Show 33 facts
- Whether the listed substance or group is present
- Markets
- EU, GB, KR, US, US-CA, US-ME, US-MN, US-NM, US-VT
- Rules
- 1,019
- Number of employees at the seller
- Markets
- US-CA
- Rules
- 972
- Economic operator role
- Markets
- EU, GB, JP, KR, US, US-CO, US-CT, US-MN, US-NY
- Rules
- 246
- Radio equipment
- Markets
- EU, GB, US
- Rules
- 96
- Rechargeable
- Markets
- EU, GB, JP, KR, US
- Rules
- 33
- Contains battery
- Markets
- EU, JP, US-CA, US-ME, US-MN, US-NY, US-VT, US-WA
- Rules
- 29
- Battery chemistry
- Markets
- JP, KR, US
- Rules
- 28
- Battery nominal voltage v
- Markets
- EU
- Rules
- 14
- Rated voltage v
- Markets
- GB
- Rules
- 14
- Button or coin cell
- Markets
- GB, US
- Rules
- 8
- Cell volumetric energy density wh per l
- Markets
- JP
- Rules
- 7
- Fcc digital device
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 7
- Annual gross revenue usd
- Markets
- US-CO, US-MD, US-MN, US-OR, US-WA
- Rules
- 5
- Whether it is sold online
- Markets
- EU
- Rules
- 4
- Fcc class b digital device
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 4
- Battery removable
- Markets
- US-CA
- Rules
- 4
- Contains lithium
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 3
- Battery incorporated in appliance
- Markets
- GB
- Rules
- 2
- Fcc part15 device
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 2
- Sells to consumers directly
- Markets
- US-CA
- Rules
- 2
- Distance sale to other member state
- Markets
- EU
- Rules
- 1
- Warning label space prohibited
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Mains powered
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Covered list component
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Whether it is a children's product
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Cpsc rule subject
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Ca gross sales usd
- Markets
- US-CA
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons co
- Markets
- US-CO
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons md
- Markets
- US-MD
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons mn
- Markets
- US-MN
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tonnes or
- Markets
- US-OR
- Rules
- 1
- Fluorine treated container
- Markets
- US-VT
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons wa
- Markets
- US-WA
- Rules
- 1
Changes
Upcoming changes
Rules for this category that start in the next 24 months, or are proposed or on hold.
Show 33 upcoming changes
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 758-17-8
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).
“a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Bisphenol S (BPS)
- Type of toxicity
- developmental toxicity
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 80-09-1
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Tacrolimus
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 104987-11-3
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Hydrochlorothiazide
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Voriconazole
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Welding Fumes
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- none given
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Notification to New Mexico Department of Environment
The manufacturer of a product sold in New Mexico that contains an intentionally added per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance must submit: a brief description of the product with its UPC, SKU or other numeric code; the purpose of each such substance; the amount of each substance by CAS number, as an exact quantity or within an approved range; the manufacturer's name and address and a contact person; and any further information the Department requests. A revision is due within 30 days of a significant change.
Exemptions (3)
The prohibitions do not apply to a product that contains fluoropolymers whose backbone is a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone and that is a solid at standard temperature and pressure.
“fluoropolymers 6 consisting of polymeric substances for which the backbone of 7 the polymer is either a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only 8 backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone that is a 9 solid at standard temperature and pressure.”
The prohibitions do not apply to used products offered for sale or resale.
“used products offered for sale or 7 resale;”
The reporting duty does not apply to products exempt from the prohibitions under Section 3(A).
“The requirements of this section do not apply 2 to products that are exempt pursuant to Subsection A of 3 Section 3 of the Per- and Poly-Fluoroalkyl Substances 4 Protection Act.”
Later deadlines (1)
1 Jan 2027: Submit the product information to the New Mexico Department of Environment.
“On or before January 1, 2027, a manufacturer of 19 a product sold”
Penalty
A manufacturer that violates the Act or a rule adopted under it is assessed a civil penalty not to exceed $15,000.
“adopted pursuant to that act shall be assessed a civil 2 penalty not to exceed fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000)”
Unofficial copy of the text, current to 8 Apr 2025. Enrolled bill as signed (chapter 102, 2025-04-08), from LegiScan's copy of the New Mexico Legislature's PDF; the compiled NMSA text is not stored.
- It contains intentionally added PFAS
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2027
The information must be submitted on or before January 1, 2027. The Department may extend the deadline or waive the duty where equivalent information is publicly available.
“that contains an intentionally added per- or 22 poly-fluoroalkyl substance shall submit to the department the 23 information required by Subsection A of this section”
The producer of a covered battery or a product containing or packaged with one participates in, and funds, an approved Washington battery stewardship plan before selling it in or into Washington
Must meet the conditions of Producer participation (RCW 70A.555.020): beginning January 1, 2027, each producer selling, making available for sale, or distributing covered batteries or battery-containing products in or into Washington must participate in an approved battery stewardship plan through participation in and funding of a battery stewardship organization; a producer that does not may not sell them in or into Washington. A producer of a battery-containing product whose only batteries are supplied by a producer that has joined a registered stewardship organization is not the producer (70A.555.010(14)).
Exemptions (2)
A battery in a battery-containing product that is not intended or designed to be easily removable (removable by the user with no more than commonly used household tools) is not a covered battery.
“(v) A battery in a battery-containing product that is not intended or designed to be easily removable from the battery-containing product.”
A covered electronic product under an approved chapter 70A.500 RCW plan is not a battery-containing product.
(b) A "battery-containing product" does not include a covered electronic product under an approved plan implemented under chapter 70A.500 RCW.
Official text, current to 27 Oct 2026. Current text of chapter 70A.555 RCW (2023 c 434).
- Contains a battery
- It contains or is packaged with a covered battery (a portable battery or, beginning January 1, 2029, a medium format battery, RCW 70A.555.010(1)(a), (5)(a)); a battery that is not intended or designed to be easily removable from the battery-containing product is not a covered battery (70A.555.010(5)(b)(v)), and you are its producer (70A.555.010(14))
Depends on: contains battery
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2027
Stated: “Beginning January 1, 2027” (70A.555.020).
“(1) Each producer selling, making available for sale, or distributing covered batteries or battery-containing products in or into the state of Washington shall participate in an approved Washington state battery stewardship plan through participation in and appropriate funding of a battery stewardship organization; and”
Notification to US EPA through the Central Data Exchange (CDX), the PFAS 8(a)(7) reporting tool (§705.35)
Submit the §705.15 information (or, for article importers, the §705.18(a) streamlined form) during the submission period. §705.20(a): the submission period begins January 31, 2027, or 60 days following the date EPA announces in the Federal Register under paragraph (c), whichever is earlier, and lasts six months. §705.20(b): a small manufacturer (40 CFR 704.3) reporting exclusively as an article importer under §705.18(a) has twelve months from the same start. §705.25: keep the records that document what was reported for 5 years beginning on the last day of the submission period.
Exemptions (2)
Reporting is not required for the import of municipal solid waste streams for the purpose of disposal or destruction of the waste
“Reporting under this part is not required for the import of municipal solid waste streams for the purpose of disposal or destruction of the waste.”
Reporting is not required for a Federal agency which imports PFAS when it is not for any immediate or eventual commercial advantage
“Additionally, reporting is not required for a Federal agency which imports PFAS when it is not for any immediate or eventual commercial advantage.”
Later deadlines (1)
31 Jan 2027: Submission period starts on this date at the latest (earlier if EPA announces a date: 60 days after it); it lasts six months, or twelve months for a small manufacturer reporting only as an article importer
“the submission period shall begin January 31, 2027, or 60 days following the date provided in paragraph (c) of this section, whichever is earlier, and last for six months.”
Penalty
Failure or refusal to submit the information, or to keep and give access to the records, is unlawful under TSCA section 15(3); a person who violates TSCA section 15 is liable to the United States for a civil penalty and may be criminally prosecuted (no penalty amount is stated in this part)
“TSCA section 16 provides that any person who violates a provision of TSCA section 15 is liable to the United States for a civil penalty and may be criminally prosecuted.”
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 22 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-22 per the eCFR (title 40 up to date as of 2026-10-22). Section 705.20 carries the amendment 91 FR 18789, Apr. 13, 2026.
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer
- You manufactured (including imported) a PFAS, or an article containing one, for commercial purposes at any time from January 1, 2011 through December 31, 2022
Depends on: economic operator role
Takes effect 31 Jan 2027
Applies to products manufactured on or after 31 Jan 2027
Stated in §705.20(a)-(b): “the submission period shall begin January 31, 2027, or 60 days following the date provided in paragraph (c) of this section, whichever is earlier”. Paragraph (c): “EPA intends to publish a document in the Federal Register announcing the submission period date and revising or removing this paragraph (c).” The period had not begun on the date this row was made (2026-10-26); the date is the latest start the text allows.
“All information reported to EPA in response to the requirements of this part must be submitted during the applicable submission period.”
QR code (Annex VI Part C)
Label required
QR code giving access to the battery passport (LMT, industrial over 2 kWh, electric vehicle) or the Art. 13 information, declaration of conformity and waste-prevention information (other batteries)
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 13 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02023R1542-20260813 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer or Distributor
Depends on: economic operator role
Takes effect 18 Feb 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 18 Feb 2027
“From 18 February 2027, all batteries shall be marked with a QR code as described in Part C of Annex VI.”
- WarningUS-CAN-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine (CAS 758-17-8)
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 758-17-8
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CABisphenol S (BPS) (CAS 80-09-1)
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).
“a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that will produce no observable reproductive effect (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Bisphenol S (BPS)
- Type of toxicity
- developmental toxicity
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 80-09-1
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CATacrolimus (CAS 104987-11-3)
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Tacrolimus
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 104987-11-3
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CAHydrochlorothiazide
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Hydrochlorothiazide
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CAVoriconazole
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Voriconazole
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CAWelding Fumes
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Welding Fumes
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- none given
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- NotificationUS-NMPFAS as defined in New Mexico (US state)
Notification to New Mexico Department of Environment
The manufacturer of a product sold in New Mexico that contains an intentionally added per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance must submit: a brief description of the product with its UPC, SKU or other numeric code; the purpose of each such substance; the amount of each substance by CAS number, as an exact quantity or within an approved range; the manufacturer's name and address and a contact person; and any further information the Department requests. A revision is due within 30 days of a significant change.
Exemptions (3)
The prohibitions do not apply to a product that contains fluoropolymers whose backbone is a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone and that is a solid at standard temperature and pressure.
“fluoropolymers 6 consisting of polymeric substances for which the backbone of 7 the polymer is either a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only 8 backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone that is a 9 solid at standard temperature and pressure.”
Section 3(A)(16) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab) The prohibitions do not apply to used products offered for sale or resale.
“used products offered for sale or 7 resale;”
Section 3(A)(2) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab) The reporting duty does not apply to products exempt from the prohibitions under Section 3(A).
“The requirements of this section do not apply 2 to products that are exempt pursuant to Subsection A of 3 Section 3 of the Per- and Poly-Fluoroalkyl Substances 4 Protection Act.”
Section 5(K) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab) Later deadlines (1)
1 Jan 2027: Submit the product information to the New Mexico Department of Environment.
“On or before January 1, 2027, a manufacturer of 19 a product sold”
Section 5(B) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab) Penalty
A manufacturer that violates the Act or a rule adopted under it is assessed a civil penalty not to exceed $15,000.
“adopted pursuant to that act shall be assessed a civil 2 penalty not to exceed fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000)”
Section 7(A) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab) Unofficial copy of the text, current to 8 Apr 2025. Enrolled bill as signed (chapter 102, 2025-04-08), from LegiScan's copy of the New Mexico Legislature's PDF; the compiled NMSA text is not stored.
- Applies when
- It contains intentionally added PFAS
- Effective
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2027
The information must be submitted on or before January 1, 2027. The Department may extend the deadline or waive the duty where equivalent information is publicly available.
- Source
“that contains an intentionally added per- or 22 poly-fluoroalkyl substance shall submit to the department the 23 information required by Subsection A of this section”
Section 5(B) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab)
- ConformityUS-WA
The producer of a covered battery or a product containing or packaged with one participates in, and funds, an approved Washington battery stewardship plan before selling it in or into Washington
Must meet the conditions of Producer participation (RCW 70A.555.020): beginning January 1, 2027, each producer selling, making available for sale, or distributing covered batteries or battery-containing products in or into Washington must participate in an approved battery stewardship plan through participation in and funding of a battery stewardship organization; a producer that does not may not sell them in or into Washington. A producer of a battery-containing product whose only batteries are supplied by a producer that has joined a registered stewardship organization is not the producer (70A.555.010(14)).
Exemptions (2)
A battery in a battery-containing product that is not intended or designed to be easily removable (removable by the user with no more than commonly used household tools) is not a covered battery.
“(v) A battery in a battery-containing product that is not intended or designed to be easily removable from the battery-containing product.”
RCW 70A.555.010(5)(b)(v) · fetched 2026-10-27Washington State Legislature (Code Reviser): RCW 70A.555.020(opens in a new tab) A covered electronic product under an approved chapter 70A.500 RCW plan is not a battery-containing product.
(b) A "battery-containing product" does not include a covered electronic product under an approved plan implemented under chapter 70A.500 RCW.
RCW 70A.555.010(1)(b) · fetched 2026-10-27Washington State Legislature (Code Reviser): RCW 70A.555.020(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 27 Oct 2026. Current text of chapter 70A.555 RCW (2023 c 434).
- Applies when
- Contains a battery
- It contains or is packaged with a covered battery (a portable battery or, beginning January 1, 2029, a medium format battery, RCW 70A.555.010(1)(a), (5)(a)); a battery that is not intended or designed to be easily removable from the battery-containing product is not a covered battery (70A.555.010(5)(b)(v)), and you are its producer (70A.555.010(14))
Depends on: contains battery
- Effective
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2027
Stated: “Beginning January 1, 2027” (70A.555.020).
- Source
“(1) Each producer selling, making available for sale, or distributing covered batteries or battery-containing products in or into the state of Washington shall participate in an approved Washington state battery stewardship plan through participation in and appropriate funding of a battery stewardship organization; and”
RCW 70A.555.020(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-27Washington State Legislature (Code Reviser): RCW 70A.555.020(opens in a new tab)
- NotificationUSPFAS as defined in United States (federal)
Notification to US EPA through the Central Data Exchange (CDX), the PFAS 8(a)(7) reporting tool (§705.35)
Submit the §705.15 information (or, for article importers, the §705.18(a) streamlined form) during the submission period. §705.20(a): the submission period begins January 31, 2027, or 60 days following the date EPA announces in the Federal Register under paragraph (c), whichever is earlier, and lasts six months. §705.20(b): a small manufacturer (40 CFR 704.3) reporting exclusively as an article importer under §705.18(a) has twelve months from the same start. §705.25: keep the records that document what was reported for 5 years beginning on the last day of the submission period.
Exemptions (2)
Reporting is not required for the import of municipal solid waste streams for the purpose of disposal or destruction of the waste
“Reporting under this part is not required for the import of municipal solid waste streams for the purpose of disposal or destruction of the waste.”
§705.12 · fetched 2026-10-26US EPA via eCFR: 40 CFR 705(opens in a new tab) Reporting is not required for a Federal agency which imports PFAS when it is not for any immediate or eventual commercial advantage
“Additionally, reporting is not required for a Federal agency which imports PFAS when it is not for any immediate or eventual commercial advantage.”
§705.12 · fetched 2026-10-26US EPA via eCFR: 40 CFR 705(opens in a new tab) Later deadlines (1)
31 Jan 2027: Submission period starts on this date at the latest (earlier if EPA announces a date: 60 days after it); it lasts six months, or twelve months for a small manufacturer reporting only as an article importer
“the submission period shall begin January 31, 2027, or 60 days following the date provided in paragraph (c) of this section, whichever is earlier, and last for six months.”
§705.20(a) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-26US EPA via eCFR: 40 CFR 705(opens in a new tab) Penalty
Failure or refusal to submit the information, or to keep and give access to the records, is unlawful under TSCA section 15(3); a person who violates TSCA section 15 is liable to the United States for a civil penalty and may be criminally prosecuted (no penalty amount is stated in this part)
“TSCA section 16 provides that any person who violates a provision of TSCA section 15 is liable to the United States for a civil penalty and may be criminally prosecuted.”
§705.1(b) · fetched 2026-10-26US EPA via eCFR: 40 CFR 705(opens in a new tab) Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 22 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-22 per the eCFR (title 40 up to date as of 2026-10-22). Section 705.20 carries the amendment 91 FR 18789, Apr. 13, 2026.
- Applies when
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer
- You manufactured (including imported) a PFAS, or an article containing one, for commercial purposes at any time from January 1, 2011 through December 31, 2022
Depends on: economic operator role
- Effective
Takes effect 31 Jan 2027
Applies to products manufactured on or after 31 Jan 2027
Stated in §705.20(a)-(b): “the submission period shall begin January 31, 2027, or 60 days following the date provided in paragraph (c) of this section, whichever is earlier”. Paragraph (c): “EPA intends to publish a document in the Federal Register announcing the submission period date and revising or removing this paragraph (c).” The period had not begun on the date this row was made (2026-10-26); the date is the latest start the text allows.
- Source
“All information reported to EPA in response to the requirements of this part must be submitted during the applicable submission period.”
§705.20(a) · fetched 2026-10-26US EPA via eCFR: 40 CFR 705(opens in a new tab)
- LabelEU
QR code (Annex VI Part C)
Label required
QR code giving access to the battery passport (LMT, industrial over 2 kWh, electric vehicle) or the Art. 13 information, declaration of conformity and waste-prevention information (other batteries)
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 13 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02023R1542-20260813 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applies when
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer or Distributor
Depends on: economic operator role
- Effective
Takes effect 18 Feb 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 18 Feb 2027
- Source
“From 18 February 2027, all batteries shall be marked with a QR code as described in Part C of Annex VI.”
Art. 13(6) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EU) 2023/1542(opens in a new tab)
Records
Recalls and alerts
Recalls, safety alerts and Prop 65 notices that name Power banks and portable chargers, with a link to the original. A Prop 65 notice is a claim by the sender, not a ruling.
39 records dated 27 Jan 2023 to 29 Oct 2026. Most recent shown.
Show the 8 most recent records
- CPSC recalls
HAIARA power banks
Origin as stated: China
Batteries, e-bikes and power banks
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Power banks and portable chargers
- CPSC recalls
NEWDERY power banks
Origin as stated: China
Batteries, e-bikes and power banks
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Power banks and portable chargers
- CPSC recalls
XO Poppy Power Trip Magnetic Wireless Power Banks
Origin as stated: Vietnam
Batteries, e-bikes and power banks
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Power banks and portable chargers
- CPSC recalls
Goal Zero YETI 3000X Portable Power Stations
Origin as stated: China
Batteries, e-bikes and power banks
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Power banks and portable chargers
- Prop 65 notices
Power Banks With USB Cords
Batteries, e-bikes and power banks
- Substance
- Lead
- Party
- D.M. Merchandising, Inc., Emigh Hardware Co.
- Category
- Power banks and portable chargers
- CPSC recalls
Super Off-Road 12,000 mAh Solar Wireless Power Banks
Origin as stated: China
Batteries, e-bikes and power banks
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Power banks and portable chargers
- CPSC recalls
VEEKTOMX Portable Charger Mini Power Banks
Origin as stated: China
Batteries, e-bikes and power banks
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Power banks and portable chargers
- Safety Gate alerts
Powerbank - POWER BANK 10000 mAh
Batteries, e-bikes and power banks
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Power banks and portable chargers
See also
Related categories
- Power banks
Portable external battery chargers for phones, tablets and laptops.
Alerts
Get an email when these rules change.
Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.