Batteries, e-bikes and power banks
Which rules apply to batteries, e-bikes and power banks?
We track 173 rules for these in 20 of 21 markets, including California's Prop 65 list of 883 chemicals. Check your product free, no account needed.
- Free
- No account needed
- The law behind every rule
Batteries, e-bikes and power banks
Batteries as defined in EU Reg. 2023/1542 Art. 3(1) (stand-alone and incorporated), power banks, battery chargers, and the light electric vehicles (e-bikes, e-scooters) that carry LMT batteries, as sold to consumers and as placed on the market in EU, GB, US, KR and JP. Excluded from v0: batteries inside other consumer electronics as a product (covered in Consumer electronics and small appliances through contains_battery; only the battery-side duties here), motorcycles and cars (type-approved L-category and M/N/O vehicles other than as the destination of the battery), medical devices, toys, and military or aerospace batteries.
Default childrens product: noRules
Rules by market
Open a market to read its rules for this category.
Main sources, from 1 Oct 2026 · What is covered
Federal regulations as published on 1 Oct 2026; US Code from the 2024 edition.
United States (federal): main sources stored. Modelled: TSCA section 8(a)(7) PFAS reporting and recordkeeping (40 CFR 705), shown as applying only if the product contains a PFAS; CPSC button cell or coin battery safety standard (16 CFR 1263); low-speed electric bicycles (15 U.S.C. 2085; 16 CFR 1512 and 1500.18); Mercury-Containing and Rechargeable Battery Management Act (42 U.S.C. 14301 ff); lithium cell carriage (49 CFR 173.185) and universal waste (40 CFR 273); DOE battery charger standards sit in 10 CFR 430 subpart C (covered under consumer electronics); FCC Part 15 and Part 2 subpart J for power banks and battery chargers (the electronics rules applied to these categories). Not stored: CPSC rulemaking on lithium-ion batteries in micromobility products (not stored); UL 2849, 2271, 2272, 2054 and 2056 standard texts (paid, voluntary); 49 CFR parts 171-180 beyond 173.185 and IATA/ICAO rules; state battery stewardship and labelling laws other than NYC LL39 (not stored); 40 CFR 273 universal-waste duties on handlers (not a seller or manufacturer duty) and 49 CFR 173.185 shipper-side limits other than the manufacturer test record and summary are not covered.
US: lithium-test-record
Must meet the conditions of Each lithium cell or battery is of the type proven to meet the criteria in part III, sub-section 38.3 of the UN Manual of Tests and Criteria
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 1 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-01 per the eCFR.
- Contains lithium
- Your role: Manufacturer or Distributor
- It contains lithium cells or batteries (lithium-ion, lithium polymer or lithium metal)
Depends on: contains lithium, economic operator role
In force, start date unknown
In force no later than 2026-10-01 (the stored eCFR version's date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.
“Each lithium cell or battery must be of the type proven to meet the criteria in part III, sub-section 38.3 of the UN Manual of Tests and Criteria”
Products subject to a CPSC rule, ban, standard or regulation (not children's products, which take the Children's Product Certificate of 2063(a)(2)): a General Certificate of Conformity.
Declaration required
General Certificate of Conformity: issued by the manufacturer (and the private labeler of a private-label product) for a product subject to a CPSC rule, ban, standard or regulation; it certifies, on a test of each product or a reasonable testing program, that the product complies with every such rule that applies to it, and names each one. A children's product takes the Children's Product Certificate of 2063(a)(2) instead.
Official text, current to 31 Dec 2024. United States Code, 2024 Edition, published by GPO; amendments enacted after the edition are not in this text.
- Not a children's product
- Covered by a CPSC rule, ban, standard or regulation
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer
Depends on: whether it is a children's product, cpsc rule subject, economic operator role
In force since 12 Nov 2008
Applies to products distributed on or after 12 Nov 2008
The certificate duty took effect on November 12, 2008, 90 days after the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008 was enacted.
“every manufacturer of a product which is subject to a consumer product safety rule under this chapter or similar rule, ban, standard, or regulation under any other Act enforced by the Commission and which is imported for consumption or warehousing or distributed in commerce (and the private labeler of such product if such product bears a private label) shall issue a certificate”
Mercuric-oxide batteries: collection site and purchaser information (§ 14335)
Disclosure to buyer
Identify a government-approved US collection site for used mercuric-oxide batteries and inform each purchaser of the site and of a telephone number for recycling or disposal information
Official text, current to 31 Dec 2024. United States Code, 2024 Edition, published by GPO; amendments enacted after the edition are not in this text.
- Battery chemistry: Other
- Contains a button or coin cell: no
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer
Depends on: battery chemistry, button or coin cell, economic operator role
In force since 13 May 1996
Applies to products sold on or after 13 May 1996
Dates in the statute run from May 13, 1996 ("manufactured on or after May 13, 1996"). § 14335(b): does not apply to mercuric-oxide button cells.
“no person shall sell, offer for sale, or offer for promotional purposes a mercuric-oxide battery for use in the United States unless the battery manufacturer,”
- Conformity
US: lithium-test-record
Must meet the conditions of Each lithium cell or battery is of the type proven to meet the criteria in part III, sub-section 38.3 of the UN Manual of Tests and Criteria
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 1 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-01 per the eCFR.
- Applies when
- Contains lithium
- Your role: Manufacturer or Distributor
- It contains lithium cells or batteries (lithium-ion, lithium polymer or lithium metal)
Depends on: contains lithium, economic operator role
- Effective
In force, start date unknown
In force no later than 2026-10-01 (the stored eCFR version's date); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.
- Source
“Each lithium cell or battery must be of the type proven to meet the criteria in part III, sub-section 38.3 of the UN Manual of Tests and Criteria”
§173.185(a)(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09US Government (eCFR, GPO): 49 CFR 173.185(opens in a new tab)
- Declaration
Products subject to a CPSC rule, ban, standard or regulation (not children's products, which take the Children's Product Certificate of 2063(a)(2)): a General Certificate of Conformity.
Declaration required
General Certificate of Conformity: issued by the manufacturer (and the private labeler of a private-label product) for a product subject to a CPSC rule, ban, standard or regulation; it certifies, on a test of each product or a reasonable testing program, that the product complies with every such rule that applies to it, and names each one. A children's product takes the Children's Product Certificate of 2063(a)(2) instead.
Official text, current to 31 Dec 2024. United States Code, 2024 Edition, published by GPO; amendments enacted after the edition are not in this text.
- Applies when
- Not a children's product
- Covered by a CPSC rule, ban, standard or regulation
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer
Depends on: whether it is a children's product, cpsc rule subject, economic operator role
- Effective
In force since 12 Nov 2008
Applies to products distributed on or after 12 Nov 2008
The certificate duty took effect on November 12, 2008, 90 days after the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008 was enacted.
- Source
“every manufacturer of a product which is subject to a consumer product safety rule under this chapter or similar rule, ban, standard, or regulation under any other Act enforced by the Commission and which is imported for consumption or warehousing or distributed in commerce (and the private labeler of such product if such product bears a private label) shall issue a certificate”
§2063(a)(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22US Government Publishing Office (govinfo), United States Code 2024 Edition: 15 U.S.C. 2063(a)(1)(opens in a new tab)
- Disclosure
Mercuric-oxide batteries: collection site and purchaser information (§ 14335)
Disclosure to buyer
Identify a government-approved US collection site for used mercuric-oxide batteries and inform each purchaser of the site and of a telephone number for recycling or disposal information
Official text, current to 31 Dec 2024. United States Code, 2024 Edition, published by GPO; amendments enacted after the edition are not in this text.
- Applies when
- Battery chemistry: Other
- Contains a button or coin cell: no
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer
Depends on: battery chemistry, button or coin cell, economic operator role
- Effective
In force since 13 May 1996
Applies to products sold on or after 13 May 1996
Dates in the statute run from May 13, 1996 ("manufactured on or after May 13, 1996"). § 14335(b): does not apply to mercuric-oxide button cells.
- Source
“no person shall sell, offer for sale, or offer for promotional purposes a mercuric-oxide battery for use in the United States unless the battery manufacturer,”
§ 14335(a) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09US Government Publishing Office (govinfo): 42 U.S.C. 14301-14336(opens in a new tab)
Gaps
Markets without rules for this category
We have no rules for this category in these markets. That doesn't mean none apply, so a check here says Not covered, never clear.
ClaraDB gives a verdict only for PFAS state laws for cookware and bakeware, California Proposition 65 consumer-product warning check for BPA, BPS, formaldehyde, styrene, antimony trioxide, vinyl acetate, lead and cadmium, California Proposition 65 warning check for candles and ceramicware (lead, cadmium, formaldehyde, acetaldehyde, benzene, naphthalene, carbon monoxide, benzo[a]pyrene), US packaging EPR producer size thresholds (California, Colorado, Maryland, Minnesota, Oregon, Washington) for a brand-owning manufacturer, US lead in children's products and furniture (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in toys and child care articles (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in children's products (other) and bags (lead paint and total lead content), US phthalates in children's toys and child care articles (DEHP, DBP, BBP, DINP, DIBP, DPENP, DHEXP, DCHP) and US children's product certificate and tracking label for children's tableware (AI-checked, quotes verified word for word). Every other answer shows the laws and quotes found without saying whether they apply. Not checked: Consumer electronics (FCC equipment authorization, 47 CFR Parts 2 and 15, energy rules). What ClaraDB has checked
Show 1 market
- Coverage
- Main sources; no modeled rule is scoped to this category. Not covered: other rules that may apply.
Facts
What we need to know about your product
Some rules depend on details of your product. Until you tell us, a check says Needs answers and asks for what's missing.
Show 23 facts
- Whether the listed substance or group is present
- Markets
- EU, GB, US, US-CA, US-ME, US-MN, US-NM, US-VT
- Rules
- 994
- Number of employees at the seller
- Markets
- US-CA
- Rules
- 972
- Economic operator role
- Markets
- EU, JP, KR, US
- Rules
- 87
- Battery chemistry
- Markets
- JP, KR, US
- Rules
- 26
- Rechargeable
- Markets
- JP
- Rules
- 19
- Cell volumetric energy density wh per l
- Markets
- JP
- Rules
- 7
- Battery sealed
- Markets
- JP
- Rules
- 7
- Annual gross revenue usd
- Markets
- US-CO, US-MD, US-MN, US-OR, US-WA
- Rules
- 5
- Whether it is sold online
- Markets
- EU
- Rules
- 4
- Battery incorporated in appliance
- Markets
- JP
- Rules
- 4
- Button or coin cell
- Markets
- GB, US
- Rules
- 3
- Contains lithium
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 3
- Rated capacity mah
- Markets
- JP
- Rules
- 2
- Distance sale to other member state
- Markets
- EU
- Rules
- 1
- Whether it is a children's product
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Cpsc rule subject
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Ca gross sales usd
- Markets
- US-CA
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons co
- Markets
- US-CO
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons md
- Markets
- US-MD
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons mn
- Markets
- US-MN
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tonnes or
- Markets
- US-OR
- Rules
- 1
- Fluorine treated container
- Markets
- US-VT
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons wa
- Markets
- US-WA
- Rules
- 1
Changes
Upcoming changes
Rules for this category that start in the next 24 months, or are proposed or on hold.
Show 50 upcoming changes
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 758-17-8
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).
“a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Bisphenol S (BPS)
- Type of toxicity
- developmental toxicity
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 80-09-1
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Tacrolimus
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 104987-11-3
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Hydrochlorothiazide
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Voriconazole
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Welding Fumes
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- none given
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Notification to New Mexico Department of Environment
The manufacturer of a product sold in New Mexico that contains an intentionally added per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance must submit: a brief description of the product with its UPC, SKU or other numeric code; the purpose of each such substance; the amount of each substance by CAS number, as an exact quantity or within an approved range; the manufacturer's name and address and a contact person; and any further information the Department requests. A revision is due within 30 days of a significant change.
Exemptions (3)
The prohibitions do not apply to a product that contains fluoropolymers whose backbone is a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone and that is a solid at standard temperature and pressure.
“fluoropolymers 6 consisting of polymeric substances for which the backbone of 7 the polymer is either a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only 8 backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone that is a 9 solid at standard temperature and pressure.”
The prohibitions do not apply to used products offered for sale or resale.
“used products offered for sale or 7 resale;”
The reporting duty does not apply to products exempt from the prohibitions under Section 3(A).
“The requirements of this section do not apply 2 to products that are exempt pursuant to Subsection A of 3 Section 3 of the Per- and Poly-Fluoroalkyl Substances 4 Protection Act.”
Later deadlines (1)
1 Jan 2027: Submit the product information to the New Mexico Department of Environment.
“On or before January 1, 2027, a manufacturer of 19 a product sold”
Penalty
A manufacturer that violates the Act or a rule adopted under it is assessed a civil penalty not to exceed $15,000.
“adopted pursuant to that act shall be assessed a civil 2 penalty not to exceed fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000)”
Unofficial copy of the text, current to 8 Apr 2025. Enrolled bill as signed (chapter 102, 2025-04-08), from LegiScan's copy of the New Mexico Legislature's PDF; the compiled NMSA text is not stored.
- It contains intentionally added PFAS
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2027
The information must be submitted on or before January 1, 2027. The Department may extend the deadline or waive the duty where equivalent information is publicly available.
“that contains an intentionally added per- or 22 poly-fluoroalkyl substance shall submit to the department the 23 information required by Subsection A of this section”
The producer of a covered battery or a product containing or packaged with one participates in, and funds, an approved Washington battery stewardship plan before selling it in or into Washington
Must meet the conditions of Producer participation (RCW 70A.555.020): beginning January 1, 2027, each producer selling, making available for sale, or distributing covered batteries or battery-containing products in or into Washington must participate in an approved battery stewardship plan through participation in and funding of a battery stewardship organization; a producer that does not may not sell them in or into Washington. A producer of a battery-containing product whose only batteries are supplied by a producer that has joined a registered stewardship organization is not the producer (70A.555.010(14)).
Exemptions (2)
A battery in a battery-containing product that is not intended or designed to be easily removable (removable by the user with no more than commonly used household tools) is not a covered battery.
“(v) A battery in a battery-containing product that is not intended or designed to be easily removable from the battery-containing product.”
A covered electronic product under an approved chapter 70A.500 RCW plan is not a battery-containing product.
(b) A "battery-containing product" does not include a covered electronic product under an approved plan implemented under chapter 70A.500 RCW.
Official text, current to 27 Oct 2026. Current text of chapter 70A.555 RCW (2023 c 434).
- Contains a battery
- It contains or is packaged with a covered battery (a portable battery or, beginning January 1, 2029, a medium format battery, RCW 70A.555.010(1)(a), (5)(a)); a battery that is not intended or designed to be easily removable from the battery-containing product is not a covered battery (70A.555.010(5)(b)(v)), and you are its producer (70A.555.010(14))
Depends on: contains battery
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2027
Stated: “Beginning January 1, 2027” (70A.555.020).
“(1) Each producer selling, making available for sale, or distributing covered batteries or battery-containing products in or into the state of Washington shall participate in an approved Washington state battery stewardship plan through participation in and appropriate funding of a battery stewardship organization; and”
Notification to US EPA through the Central Data Exchange (CDX), the PFAS 8(a)(7) reporting tool (§705.35)
Submit the §705.15 information (or, for article importers, the §705.18(a) streamlined form) during the submission period. §705.20(a): the submission period begins January 31, 2027, or 60 days following the date EPA announces in the Federal Register under paragraph (c), whichever is earlier, and lasts six months. §705.20(b): a small manufacturer (40 CFR 704.3) reporting exclusively as an article importer under §705.18(a) has twelve months from the same start. §705.25: keep the records that document what was reported for 5 years beginning on the last day of the submission period.
Exemptions (2)
Reporting is not required for the import of municipal solid waste streams for the purpose of disposal or destruction of the waste
“Reporting under this part is not required for the import of municipal solid waste streams for the purpose of disposal or destruction of the waste.”
Reporting is not required for a Federal agency which imports PFAS when it is not for any immediate or eventual commercial advantage
“Additionally, reporting is not required for a Federal agency which imports PFAS when it is not for any immediate or eventual commercial advantage.”
Later deadlines (1)
31 Jan 2027: Submission period starts on this date at the latest (earlier if EPA announces a date: 60 days after it); it lasts six months, or twelve months for a small manufacturer reporting only as an article importer
“the submission period shall begin January 31, 2027, or 60 days following the date provided in paragraph (c) of this section, whichever is earlier, and last for six months.”
Penalty
Failure or refusal to submit the information, or to keep and give access to the records, is unlawful under TSCA section 15(3); a person who violates TSCA section 15 is liable to the United States for a civil penalty and may be criminally prosecuted (no penalty amount is stated in this part)
“TSCA section 16 provides that any person who violates a provision of TSCA section 15 is liable to the United States for a civil penalty and may be criminally prosecuted.”
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 22 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-22 per the eCFR (title 40 up to date as of 2026-10-22). Section 705.20 carries the amendment 91 FR 18789, Apr. 13, 2026.
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer
- You manufactured (including imported) a PFAS, or an article containing one, for commercial purposes at any time from January 1, 2011 through December 31, 2022
Depends on: economic operator role
Takes effect 31 Jan 2027
Applies to products manufactured on or after 31 Jan 2027
Stated in §705.20(a)-(b): “the submission period shall begin January 31, 2027, or 60 days following the date provided in paragraph (c) of this section, whichever is earlier”. Paragraph (c): “EPA intends to publish a document in the Federal Register announcing the submission period date and revising or removing this paragraph (c).” The period had not begun on the date this row was made (2026-10-26); the date is the latest start the text allows.
“All information reported to EPA in response to the requirements of this part must be submitted during the applicable submission period.”
Art. 77(10)
Registration required
Unique identifier of the battery passport uploaded to the registry referred to in Article 13(1) of Regulation (EU) 2024/1781
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 13 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02023R1542-20260813 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer
Depends on: economic operator role
Takes effect 18 Feb 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 18 Feb 2027
“The economic operator placing the battery on the market or putting it into service shall upload the unique identifier in the registry referred to in Article 13(1) of Regulation (EU) 2024/1781”
- WarningUS-CAN-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine (CAS 758-17-8)
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 758-17-8
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CABisphenol S (BPS) (CAS 80-09-1)
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).
“a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that will produce no observable reproductive effect (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Bisphenol S (BPS)
- Type of toxicity
- developmental toxicity
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 80-09-1
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CATacrolimus (CAS 104987-11-3)
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Tacrolimus
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 104987-11-3
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CAHydrochlorothiazide
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Hydrochlorothiazide
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CAVoriconazole
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Voriconazole
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CAWelding Fumes
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Welding Fumes
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- none given
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- NotificationUS-NMPFAS as defined in New Mexico (US state)
Notification to New Mexico Department of Environment
The manufacturer of a product sold in New Mexico that contains an intentionally added per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance must submit: a brief description of the product with its UPC, SKU or other numeric code; the purpose of each such substance; the amount of each substance by CAS number, as an exact quantity or within an approved range; the manufacturer's name and address and a contact person; and any further information the Department requests. A revision is due within 30 days of a significant change.
Exemptions (3)
The prohibitions do not apply to a product that contains fluoropolymers whose backbone is a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone and that is a solid at standard temperature and pressure.
“fluoropolymers 6 consisting of polymeric substances for which the backbone of 7 the polymer is either a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only 8 backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone that is a 9 solid at standard temperature and pressure.”
Section 3(A)(16) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab) The prohibitions do not apply to used products offered for sale or resale.
“used products offered for sale or 7 resale;”
Section 3(A)(2) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab) The reporting duty does not apply to products exempt from the prohibitions under Section 3(A).
“The requirements of this section do not apply 2 to products that are exempt pursuant to Subsection A of 3 Section 3 of the Per- and Poly-Fluoroalkyl Substances 4 Protection Act.”
Section 5(K) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab) Later deadlines (1)
1 Jan 2027: Submit the product information to the New Mexico Department of Environment.
“On or before January 1, 2027, a manufacturer of 19 a product sold”
Section 5(B) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab) Penalty
A manufacturer that violates the Act or a rule adopted under it is assessed a civil penalty not to exceed $15,000.
“adopted pursuant to that act shall be assessed a civil 2 penalty not to exceed fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000)”
Section 7(A) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab) Unofficial copy of the text, current to 8 Apr 2025. Enrolled bill as signed (chapter 102, 2025-04-08), from LegiScan's copy of the New Mexico Legislature's PDF; the compiled NMSA text is not stored.
- Applies when
- It contains intentionally added PFAS
- Effective
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2027
The information must be submitted on or before January 1, 2027. The Department may extend the deadline or waive the duty where equivalent information is publicly available.
- Source
“that contains an intentionally added per- or 22 poly-fluoroalkyl substance shall submit to the department the 23 information required by Subsection A of this section”
Section 5(B) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab)
- ConformityUS-WA
The producer of a covered battery or a product containing or packaged with one participates in, and funds, an approved Washington battery stewardship plan before selling it in or into Washington
Must meet the conditions of Producer participation (RCW 70A.555.020): beginning January 1, 2027, each producer selling, making available for sale, or distributing covered batteries or battery-containing products in or into Washington must participate in an approved battery stewardship plan through participation in and funding of a battery stewardship organization; a producer that does not may not sell them in or into Washington. A producer of a battery-containing product whose only batteries are supplied by a producer that has joined a registered stewardship organization is not the producer (70A.555.010(14)).
Exemptions (2)
A battery in a battery-containing product that is not intended or designed to be easily removable (removable by the user with no more than commonly used household tools) is not a covered battery.
“(v) A battery in a battery-containing product that is not intended or designed to be easily removable from the battery-containing product.”
RCW 70A.555.010(5)(b)(v) · fetched 2026-10-27Washington State Legislature (Code Reviser): RCW 70A.555.020(opens in a new tab) A covered electronic product under an approved chapter 70A.500 RCW plan is not a battery-containing product.
(b) A "battery-containing product" does not include a covered electronic product under an approved plan implemented under chapter 70A.500 RCW.
RCW 70A.555.010(1)(b) · fetched 2026-10-27Washington State Legislature (Code Reviser): RCW 70A.555.020(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 27 Oct 2026. Current text of chapter 70A.555 RCW (2023 c 434).
- Applies when
- Contains a battery
- It contains or is packaged with a covered battery (a portable battery or, beginning January 1, 2029, a medium format battery, RCW 70A.555.010(1)(a), (5)(a)); a battery that is not intended or designed to be easily removable from the battery-containing product is not a covered battery (70A.555.010(5)(b)(v)), and you are its producer (70A.555.010(14))
Depends on: contains battery
- Effective
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2027
Stated: “Beginning January 1, 2027” (70A.555.020).
- Source
“(1) Each producer selling, making available for sale, or distributing covered batteries or battery-containing products in or into the state of Washington shall participate in an approved Washington state battery stewardship plan through participation in and appropriate funding of a battery stewardship organization; and”
RCW 70A.555.020(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-27Washington State Legislature (Code Reviser): RCW 70A.555.020(opens in a new tab)
- NotificationUSPFAS as defined in United States (federal)
Notification to US EPA through the Central Data Exchange (CDX), the PFAS 8(a)(7) reporting tool (§705.35)
Submit the §705.15 information (or, for article importers, the §705.18(a) streamlined form) during the submission period. §705.20(a): the submission period begins January 31, 2027, or 60 days following the date EPA announces in the Federal Register under paragraph (c), whichever is earlier, and lasts six months. §705.20(b): a small manufacturer (40 CFR 704.3) reporting exclusively as an article importer under §705.18(a) has twelve months from the same start. §705.25: keep the records that document what was reported for 5 years beginning on the last day of the submission period.
Exemptions (2)
Reporting is not required for the import of municipal solid waste streams for the purpose of disposal or destruction of the waste
“Reporting under this part is not required for the import of municipal solid waste streams for the purpose of disposal or destruction of the waste.”
§705.12 · fetched 2026-10-26US EPA via eCFR: 40 CFR 705(opens in a new tab) Reporting is not required for a Federal agency which imports PFAS when it is not for any immediate or eventual commercial advantage
“Additionally, reporting is not required for a Federal agency which imports PFAS when it is not for any immediate or eventual commercial advantage.”
§705.12 · fetched 2026-10-26US EPA via eCFR: 40 CFR 705(opens in a new tab) Later deadlines (1)
31 Jan 2027: Submission period starts on this date at the latest (earlier if EPA announces a date: 60 days after it); it lasts six months, or twelve months for a small manufacturer reporting only as an article importer
“the submission period shall begin January 31, 2027, or 60 days following the date provided in paragraph (c) of this section, whichever is earlier, and last for six months.”
§705.20(a) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-26US EPA via eCFR: 40 CFR 705(opens in a new tab) Penalty
Failure or refusal to submit the information, or to keep and give access to the records, is unlawful under TSCA section 15(3); a person who violates TSCA section 15 is liable to the United States for a civil penalty and may be criminally prosecuted (no penalty amount is stated in this part)
“TSCA section 16 provides that any person who violates a provision of TSCA section 15 is liable to the United States for a civil penalty and may be criminally prosecuted.”
§705.1(b) · fetched 2026-10-26US EPA via eCFR: 40 CFR 705(opens in a new tab) Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 22 Oct 2026. eCFR is an editorial compilation of the CFR, not the official legal edition; current to 2026-10-22 per the eCFR (title 40 up to date as of 2026-10-22). Section 705.20 carries the amendment 91 FR 18789, Apr. 13, 2026.
- Applies when
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer
- You manufactured (including imported) a PFAS, or an article containing one, for commercial purposes at any time from January 1, 2011 through December 31, 2022
Depends on: economic operator role
- Effective
Takes effect 31 Jan 2027
Applies to products manufactured on or after 31 Jan 2027
Stated in §705.20(a)-(b): “the submission period shall begin January 31, 2027, or 60 days following the date provided in paragraph (c) of this section, whichever is earlier”. Paragraph (c): “EPA intends to publish a document in the Federal Register announcing the submission period date and revising or removing this paragraph (c).” The period had not begun on the date this row was made (2026-10-26); the date is the latest start the text allows.
- Source
“All information reported to EPA in response to the requirements of this part must be submitted during the applicable submission period.”
§705.20(a) · fetched 2026-10-26US EPA via eCFR: 40 CFR 705(opens in a new tab)
- RegistrationEU
Art. 77(10)
Registration required
Unique identifier of the battery passport uploaded to the registry referred to in Article 13(1) of Regulation (EU) 2024/1781
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 13 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02023R1542-20260813 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applies when
- Your role: Manufacturer or Importer
Depends on: economic operator role
- Effective
Takes effect 18 Feb 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 18 Feb 2027
- Source
“The economic operator placing the battery on the market or putting it into service shall upload the unique identifier in the registry referred to in Article 13(1) of Regulation (EU) 2024/1781”
Art. 77(10) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EU) 2023/1542(opens in a new tab)
Records
Recalls and alerts
Recalls, safety alerts and Prop 65 notices that name Batteries, e-bikes and power banks, with a link to the original. A Prop 65 notice is a claim by the sender, not a ruling.
239 records dated 27 Jan 2023 to 30 Oct 2026. Most recent shown.
Show the 8 most recent records
- Safety Gate alerts
Electric bicycle - Electric Bike
Origin as stated: People's Republic of China
Batteries, e-bikes and power banks
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- E-bikes and pedelecs
- Safety Gate alerts
Electric bicycle - E-Bike
Origin as stated: People's Republic of China
Batteries, e-bikes and power banks
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- E-bikes and pedelecs
- CPSC recalls
HAIARA power banks
Origin as stated: China
Batteries, e-bikes and power banks
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Power banks and portable chargers
- Safety Gate alerts
Car battery trickle charger
Origin as stated: People's Republic of China
Batteries, e-bikes and power banks
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Stand-alone battery chargers
- Safety Gate alerts
Electric bicycle - Electric Bike
Origin as stated: People's Republic of China
Batteries, e-bikes and power banks
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- E-bikes and pedelecs
- Safety Gate alerts
Electric bicycle
Origin as stated: People's Republic of China
Batteries, e-bikes and power banks
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- E-bikes and pedelecs
- Safety Gate alerts
Electric bicycle - Wu Xi Dpower Electronic Co Ltd Electric Mountain Bike
Origin as stated: People's Republic of China
Batteries, e-bikes and power banks
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- E-bikes and pedelecs
- Safety Gate alerts
Electric bicycle
Origin as stated: People's Republic of China
Batteries, e-bikes and power banks
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- E-bikes and pedelecs
Sub-categories
Further rules in sub-categories
These apply only to the sub-categories below, not to the whole category.
- Portable batteries47 additional rules
- Portable batteries of general use9 additional rules
- Replacement and standalone rechargeable battery packs5 additional rules
- Power banks229 additional rules
- Power banks and portable chargers17 additional rules
- Battery chargers177 additional rules
- Stand-alone battery chargers8 additional rules
- LMT batteries48 additional rules
- E-bike and e-scooter battery packs9 additional rules
- E-bikes, e-scooters and other light electric vehicles57 additional rules
- E-bikes and pedelecs149 additional rules
- E-scooters (stand-up)91 additional rules
- Hoverboards, e-skateboards and other personal e-mobility91 additional rules
- SLI batteries36 additional rules
- Industrial batteries56 additional rules
- Electric vehicle batteries42 additional rules
See also
Related categories
- Portable batteries
Sealed batteries of 5 kg or less that are not industrial, LMT, electric-vehicle or SLI batteries (EU 2023/1542 Art. 3(9)).
- Power banks
Portable external battery chargers for phones, tablets and laptops.
- Battery chargers
Stand-alone chargers for removable rechargeable batteries.
- LMT batteries
Batteries designed to power wheeled light means of transport (EU 2023/1542 Art. 3(11)).
- E-bikes, e-scooters and other light electric vehicles
Complete light electric vehicles sold with an LMT battery.
- SLI batteries
Starting, lighting and ignition batteries (lead-acid, lithium) for vehicles, other means of transport and machinery (EU 2023/1542 Art. 3(12); Annex I Cd and Pb; US state lead-acid battery take-back laws).
- Industrial batteries
Batteries designed for industrial uses, stationary storage and any other battery over 5 kg that is not LMT, SLI or EV (EU 2023/1542 Art. 3(13), (15); capacity over 2 kWh triggers carbon footprint, passport and due-diligence duties). Sold to consumers only as home energy storage.
- Electric vehicle batteries
Traction batteries for hybrid or electric vehicles of EU categories L over 25 kg, M, N and O (EU 2023/1542 Art. 3(14)). Covered under Batteries, e-bikes and power banks for the battery's own duties (passport, carbon footprint, due diligence, recycled content), not the vehicle.
Alerts
Get an email when these rules change.
Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.