Skip to content

Packaged food and beverages

Which rules apply to packaged food and beverages?

We track 7,263 rules for these in 19 of 21 markets, including California's Prop 65 list of 883 chemicals. Check your product free, no account needed.

  • Free
  • No account needed
  • The law behind every rule

Packaged food and beverages

Packaged foods and beverages sold prepacked to consumers, shelf-stable or chilled, imported or domestic: 'food' per EU Reg. 178/2002 Art. 2, FD&C Act sec. 201(f), the Korean Food Sanitation Act and the Japanese Food Sanitation Act. Excluded from v0: dietary supplements and health functional foods, infant formula and baby foods, alcoholic beverages beyond general labelling, organic and GI schemes, fresh meat, poultry and eggs (USDA), fresh produce, food-contact materials (covered under Home and kitchen goods), pet food.

Default childrens product: no
Food: partial coverage. Food verdicts cover labelling and import duties. Additive and contaminant limits are not yet in the rule data, so a food result is not a full check of what the product may contain.

Rules

Rules by market

Open a market to read its rules for this category.

Washington3 rulesCoverage: Main sources
Main sources · What is covered

Washington (US state): main sources stored. Not stored: other rules that may apply.

Requirement
Applies when
Effective
Source
Disclosure

A merchant seller of household goods that disclaims the implied warranty of merchantability or fitness must set out with particularity the qualities and characteristics not warranted, or the disclaimer does not limit its liability

Disclosure to buyer

RCW 62A.2-316(4): where goods are purchased primarily for personal, family or household use, a merchant seller's disclaimer of the warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose limits its liability only insofar as the disclaimer sets forth with particularity the qualities and characteristics which are not being warranted; a general “as is” line or a disclaimer under subsections (2) and (3) does not suffice.

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 27 Oct 2026. Washington State Legislature RCW page, current edition.

  • It is goods purchased primarily for personal, family or household use and not for commercial or business use (RCW 62A.2-316(4))
  • You choose to disclaim the warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose as a merchant seller of goods purchased primarily for personal, family, or household use (RCW 62A.2-316(4))

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2019-11-15: the Internet Archive copy of the official RCW page of that date carries subsection (4). The section states no start date (history: 1965 ex.s. c 157; 1974 ex.s. c 78 and c 180; 1982 c 199; 2013 c 23).

“(4) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsections (2) and (3) of this section and the provisions of RCW 62A.2-719, as now or hereafter amended, in any case where goods are purchased primarily for personal, family, or household use and not for commercial or business use, disclaimers of the warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose shall not be effective to limit the liability of merchant sellers except insofar as the disclaimer sets forth with particularity the qualities and characteristics which are not being warranted.”
Wash. UCC 2-316(4) · fetched 2026-10-27Washington State Legislature: RCW 62A.2-316(4)(opens in a new tab)
Registration

Join the registered producer responsibility organization (PRO) for the product's packaging and pay its fees

Registration required

Packaging EPR: after July 1, 2026 a producer must be a member of a producer responsibility organization registered in Washington (or register as a PRO with an individual plan), implement and finance the statewide program through it, and maintain membership and pay fees (RCW 70A.208.040(1)); beginning March 1, 2029 a producer that is not a member in good standing or has not submitted an individual plan may not introduce covered materials into the state (70A.208.040(2)). Covered material (70A.208.020(13)): packaging and paper products introduced into the state.

Exemptions (1)

A de minimis producer (less than one ton of covered materials, or global gross revenue under $5,000,000) is not a producer

“(iii) De minimis producers.”
RCW 70A.208.020(29)(b)(iii) · fetched 2026-10-27Washington State Legislature (Code Reviser): RCW 70A.208.020(29), 70A.208.040(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 27 Oct 2026. RCW chapter 70A.208 (2025 c 316, E2SSB 5284), app.leg.wa.gov.

  • It is packaging sold or supplied with a product to the consumer for personal, noncommercial use (RCW 70A.208.020(25)(a))
  • Your total gross revenue in the most recent year at least 5000000 USD
  • Packaging you supplied into Washington last year at least 1 tons
  • You are its producer under RCW 70A.208.020(29) (for items sold in or with packaging at a physical retail location: the person that manufactures the item under its brand; if none, the licensee; if none, the brand owner; if none in the United States, the importer of record; for e-commerce shipping packaging, the person that packages the item to be shipped), and you are not a de minimis producer (70A.208.020(16): less than one ton of covered materials in the most recent fiscal year, or global gross revenue under $5,000,000)

Depends on: annual gross revenue usd, packaging tons wa

In force since 2 Jul 2026

Applies to products sold on or after 2 Jul 2026

PRO membership after July 1, 2026 (70A.208.040(1)(a)); no covered materials into the state without membership in good standing or an individual plan from March 1, 2029 (70A.208.040(2)).

“(a) After July 1, 2026, be a member of a producer responsibility organization registered in this state or register as a producer responsibility organization that will implement an individual plan;”
RCW 70A.208.040(1)(a) · fetched 2026-10-27Washington State Legislature (Code Reviser): RCW 70A.208.020(29), 70A.208.040(opens in a new tab)
Conformity

The product's package and packaging components (blocking, cushioning, coatings, closures, inks, labels) have no intentionally introduced lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium above 100 ppm together, and the manufacturer keeps a certificate of compliance

Must meet the conditions of Toxics in packaging: the sum of the concentration levels of lead, cadmium, mercury and hexavalent chromium intentionally introduced during manufacturing or distribution in any package or packaging component must not exceed 100 parts per million by weight (RCW 70A.222.020(3)); the manufacturer (the person that applies a package to a product for distribution or sale, 70A.222.010(2)) develops a signed certificate of compliance, keeps it on file and furnishes it to the department of ecology on request within sixty days (70A.222.040); the department may prohibit the sale of a package whose manufacturer fails to answer (70A.222.060). Package (70A.222.010(3)): a container providing a means of marketing, protecting, or handling a product, including unit, intermediate and shipping containers.

Exemptions (1)

Metals added to comply with federal health or safety requirements, or where there is no feasible alternative

“(3) Those packages or packaging components to which lead, cadmium, mercury, or hexavalent chromium have been added in the manufacturing, forming, printing, or distribution process in order to comply with health or safety requirements of federal law or for which there is no feasible alternative; or”
RCW 70A.222.030(3) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-27Washington State Legislature: RCW 70A.222.010-70A.222.040(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 27 Oct 2026. Washington State Legislature RCW page (chapter, full text).

  • You offer the product in Washington in a package (RCW 70A.222.010(2): a manufacturer is a person "that applies a package to a product for distribution or sale"); a product sold with no packaging has nothing to comply

In force since 1 Jul 1993

Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jul 1993

RCW 70A.222.020: 600 ppm effective July 1, 1993; 250 ppm July 1, 1994; 100 ppm July 1, 1995.

“The sum of the concentration levels of lead, cadmium, mercury, and hexavalent chromium present in any package or packaging component shall not exceed the following:”
RCW 70A.222.020 · fetched 2026-10-27Washington State Legislature: RCW 70A.222.010-70A.222.040(opens in a new tab)
  • Disclosure

    A merchant seller of household goods that disclaims the implied warranty of merchantability or fitness must set out with particularity the qualities and characteristics not warranted, or the disclaimer does not limit its liability

    Disclosure to buyer

    RCW 62A.2-316(4): where goods are purchased primarily for personal, family or household use, a merchant seller's disclaimer of the warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose limits its liability only insofar as the disclaimer sets forth with particularity the qualities and characteristics which are not being warranted; a general “as is” line or a disclaimer under subsections (2) and (3) does not suffice.

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Official text, current to 27 Oct 2026. Washington State Legislature RCW page, current edition.

    Applies when
    • It is goods purchased primarily for personal, family or household use and not for commercial or business use (RCW 62A.2-316(4))
    • You choose to disclaim the warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose as a merchant seller of goods purchased primarily for personal, family, or household use (RCW 62A.2-316(4))
    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    In force no later than 2019-11-15: the Internet Archive copy of the official RCW page of that date carries subsection (4). The section states no start date (history: 1965 ex.s. c 157; 1974 ex.s. c 78 and c 180; 1982 c 199; 2013 c 23).

    Source
    “(4) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsections (2) and (3) of this section and the provisions of RCW 62A.2-719, as now or hereafter amended, in any case where goods are purchased primarily for personal, family, or household use and not for commercial or business use, disclaimers of the warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose shall not be effective to limit the liability of merchant sellers except insofar as the disclaimer sets forth with particularity the qualities and characteristics which are not being warranted.”
    Wash. UCC 2-316(4) · fetched 2026-10-27Washington State Legislature: RCW 62A.2-316(4)(opens in a new tab)
  • Registration

    Join the registered producer responsibility organization (PRO) for the product's packaging and pay its fees

    Registration required

    Packaging EPR: after July 1, 2026 a producer must be a member of a producer responsibility organization registered in Washington (or register as a PRO with an individual plan), implement and finance the statewide program through it, and maintain membership and pay fees (RCW 70A.208.040(1)); beginning March 1, 2029 a producer that is not a member in good standing or has not submitted an individual plan may not introduce covered materials into the state (70A.208.040(2)). Covered material (70A.208.020(13)): packaging and paper products introduced into the state.

    Exemptions (1)

    A de minimis producer (less than one ton of covered materials, or global gross revenue under $5,000,000) is not a producer

    “(iii) De minimis producers.”
    RCW 70A.208.020(29)(b)(iii) · fetched 2026-10-27Washington State Legislature (Code Reviser): RCW 70A.208.020(29), 70A.208.040(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 27 Oct 2026. RCW chapter 70A.208 (2025 c 316, E2SSB 5284), app.leg.wa.gov.

    Applies when
    • It is packaging sold or supplied with a product to the consumer for personal, noncommercial use (RCW 70A.208.020(25)(a))
    • Your total gross revenue in the most recent year at least 5000000 USD
    • Packaging you supplied into Washington last year at least 1 tons
    • You are its producer under RCW 70A.208.020(29) (for items sold in or with packaging at a physical retail location: the person that manufactures the item under its brand; if none, the licensee; if none, the brand owner; if none in the United States, the importer of record; for e-commerce shipping packaging, the person that packages the item to be shipped), and you are not a de minimis producer (70A.208.020(16): less than one ton of covered materials in the most recent fiscal year, or global gross revenue under $5,000,000)

    Depends on: annual gross revenue usd, packaging tons wa

    Effective

    In force since 2 Jul 2026

    Applies to products sold on or after 2 Jul 2026

    PRO membership after July 1, 2026 (70A.208.040(1)(a)); no covered materials into the state without membership in good standing or an individual plan from March 1, 2029 (70A.208.040(2)).

    Source
    “(a) After July 1, 2026, be a member of a producer responsibility organization registered in this state or register as a producer responsibility organization that will implement an individual plan;”
    RCW 70A.208.040(1)(a) · fetched 2026-10-27Washington State Legislature (Code Reviser): RCW 70A.208.020(29), 70A.208.040(opens in a new tab)
  • Conformity

    The product's package and packaging components (blocking, cushioning, coatings, closures, inks, labels) have no intentionally introduced lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium above 100 ppm together, and the manufacturer keeps a certificate of compliance

    Must meet the conditions of Toxics in packaging: the sum of the concentration levels of lead, cadmium, mercury and hexavalent chromium intentionally introduced during manufacturing or distribution in any package or packaging component must not exceed 100 parts per million by weight (RCW 70A.222.020(3)); the manufacturer (the person that applies a package to a product for distribution or sale, 70A.222.010(2)) develops a signed certificate of compliance, keeps it on file and furnishes it to the department of ecology on request within sixty days (70A.222.040); the department may prohibit the sale of a package whose manufacturer fails to answer (70A.222.060). Package (70A.222.010(3)): a container providing a means of marketing, protecting, or handling a product, including unit, intermediate and shipping containers.

    Exemptions (1)

    Metals added to comply with federal health or safety requirements, or where there is no feasible alternative

    “(3) Those packages or packaging components to which lead, cadmium, mercury, or hexavalent chromium have been added in the manufacturing, forming, printing, or distribution process in order to comply with health or safety requirements of federal law or for which there is no feasible alternative; or”
    RCW 70A.222.030(3) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-27Washington State Legislature: RCW 70A.222.010-70A.222.040(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 27 Oct 2026. Washington State Legislature RCW page (chapter, full text).

    Applies when
    • You offer the product in Washington in a package (RCW 70A.222.010(2): a manufacturer is a person "that applies a package to a product for distribution or sale"); a product sold with no packaging has nothing to comply
    Effective

    In force since 1 Jul 1993

    Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jul 1993

    RCW 70A.222.020: 600 ppm effective July 1, 1993; 250 ppm July 1, 1994; 100 ppm July 1, 1995.

    Source
    “The sum of the concentration levels of lead, cadmium, mercury, and hexavalent chromium present in any package or packaging component shall not exceed the following:”
    RCW 70A.222.020 · fetched 2026-10-27Washington State Legislature: RCW 70A.222.010-70A.222.040(opens in a new tab)

Gaps

Markets without rules for this category

We have no rules for this category in these markets. That doesn't mean none apply, so a check here says Not covered, never clear.

ClaraDB gives a verdict only for PFAS state laws for cookware and bakeware, California Proposition 65 consumer-product warning check for BPA, BPS, formaldehyde, styrene, antimony trioxide, vinyl acetate, lead and cadmium, California Proposition 65 warning check for candles and ceramicware (lead, cadmium, formaldehyde, acetaldehyde, benzene, naphthalene, carbon monoxide, benzo[a]pyrene), US packaging EPR producer size thresholds (California, Colorado, Maryland, Minnesota, Oregon, Washington) for a brand-owning manufacturer, US lead in children's products and furniture (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in toys and child care articles (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in children's products (other) and bags (lead paint and total lead content), US phthalates in children's toys and child care articles (DEHP, DBP, BBP, DINP, DIBP, DPENP, DHEXP, DCHP) and US children's product certificate and tracking label for children's tableware (AI-checked, quotes verified word for word). Every other answer shows the laws and quotes found without saying whether they apply. Not checked: Consumer electronics (FCC equipment authorization, 47 CFR Parts 2 and 15, energy rules). What ClaraDB has checked

Show 2 markets
Market
Coverage
Main sources; no modeled rule is scoped to this category. Not covered: other rules that may apply.
Main sources; no modeled rule is scoped to this category. Not covered: other rules that may apply.
  • Coverage
    Main sources; no modeled rule is scoped to this category. Not covered: other rules that may apply.
  • Coverage
    Main sources; no modeled rule is scoped to this category. Not covered: other rules that may apply.

Facts

What we need to know about your product

Some rules depend on details of your product. Until you tell us, a check says Needs answers and asks for what's missing.

Show 74 facts
Depends on
Markets
Rules
Whether the listed substance or group is present
EU, GB, US, US-CA, US-VT
7,504
Eu food category code
EU, GB
5,149
Number of employees at the seller
US-CA
972
Contaminant food category
EU, GB
804
Sold prepacked
EU, GB, JP, KR, US
161
Economic operator role
EU, GB, JP, KR, US
50
Imported
EU, GB, JP, KR, US
41
Allergens present
EU, GB, JP, KR, US
36
Special storage required
EU, GB, JP, KR
35
Glass bottle reusable unlabelled
EU, GB
32
Contains gmo
JP, KR
31
Component content declared
KR
28
Precaution statement required
KR
28
Operates food facility
EU, GB, JP, US
25
Jp processed food
JP
18
Jp general use food
JP
18
List of ingredients present
EU, GB
11
Materials
US
11
Irradiated
EU, GB, KR, US
10
Beverage
EU, GB
8
Annex ix sold by number or loss
EU, GB
8
Prepacked for direct sale
GB
6
Facility registration exempt
US
6
Frozen
KR
5
Qualified facility
US
5
Facility registration required
US
5
Annual gross revenue usd
US-CO, US-MD, US-MN, US-OR, US-WA
5
Contains glycyrrhizinic acid
EU, GB
4
Liquorice in name or ingredients
EU, GB
4
Sweeteners present
EU, GB
4
Small package area cm2
EU, GB
4
Whether it is sold online
EU, GB
4
Name of food refers to allergen
EU, GB
4
Use difficult without instructions
EU, GB
4
Alcohol abv
EU, GB
4
Annex v exempt product
EU, GB
4
Offered by distance communication
GB
4
Aspartame present
EU, GB, KR
3
Food additive present
EU, GB, JP
3
Oem consignment manufactured
KR
3
Added polyols over 10 percent
EU, GB
2
Caffeine mg per l
EU, GB
2
Engineered nanomaterial ingredient
EU, GB
2
Refrigerated
EU, GB
2
Post opening storage appropriate
EU, GB
2
Label implies different origin
EU, GB
2
Country of origin stated
EU, GB
2
Operator knows noncompliant
EU, GB
2
Chemical detoxification applied
EU, GB
2
Jp annex 20 food
JP
2
Jp permit business type
JP
2
Canned or bottled
KR
2
Distributed in exporting country
KR
2
Restaurant or retail service
US
2
Coating type
US
2
Sorting destined lot
EU
1
Contains meat
GB
1
Schedule 3 food
GB
1
Oral disclosure intended
GB
1
Gmo annex 17 ingredient
JP
1
Additive undesignated
JP
1
Sulfiting agent added
US
1
Nutrition claim
US
1
Chemical preservative added
US
1
Imitation food claim
US
1
Gluten free claim
US
1
Direct additive used
US
1
Ca gross sales usd
US-CA
1
Packaging tons co
US-CO
1
Packaging tons md
US-MD
1
Packaging tons mn
US-MN
1
Packaging tonnes or
US-OR
1
Fluorine treated container
US-VT
1
Packaging tons wa
US-WA
1
  • Whether the listed substance or group is present
    Markets
    EU, GB, US, US-CA, US-VT
    Rules
    7,504
  • Eu food category code
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    5,149
  • Number of employees at the seller
    Markets
    US-CA
    Rules
    972
  • Contaminant food category
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    804
  • Sold prepacked
    Markets
    EU, GB, JP, KR, US
    Rules
    161
  • Economic operator role
    Markets
    EU, GB, JP, KR, US
    Rules
    50
  • Imported
    Markets
    EU, GB, JP, KR, US
    Rules
    41
  • Allergens present
    Markets
    EU, GB, JP, KR, US
    Rules
    36
  • Special storage required
    Markets
    EU, GB, JP, KR
    Rules
    35
  • Glass bottle reusable unlabelled
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    32
  • Contains gmo
    Markets
    JP, KR
    Rules
    31
  • Component content declared
    Markets
    KR
    Rules
    28
  • Precaution statement required
    Markets
    KR
    Rules
    28
  • Operates food facility
    Markets
    EU, GB, JP, US
    Rules
    25
  • Jp processed food
    Markets
    JP
    Rules
    18
  • Jp general use food
    Markets
    JP
    Rules
    18
  • List of ingredients present
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    11
  • Materials
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    11
  • Irradiated
    Markets
    EU, GB, KR, US
    Rules
    10
  • Beverage
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    8
  • Annex ix sold by number or loss
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    8
  • Prepacked for direct sale
    Markets
    GB
    Rules
    6
  • Facility registration exempt
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    6
  • Frozen
    Markets
    KR
    Rules
    5
  • Qualified facility
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    5
  • Facility registration required
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    5
  • Annual gross revenue usd
    Markets
    US-CO, US-MD, US-MN, US-OR, US-WA
    Rules
    5
  • Contains glycyrrhizinic acid
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    4
  • Liquorice in name or ingredients
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    4
  • Sweeteners present
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    4
  • Small package area cm2
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    4
  • Whether it is sold online
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    4
  • Name of food refers to allergen
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    4
  • Use difficult without instructions
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    4
  • Alcohol abv
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    4
  • Annex v exempt product
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    4
  • Offered by distance communication
    Markets
    GB
    Rules
    4
  • Aspartame present
    Markets
    EU, GB, KR
    Rules
    3
  • Food additive present
    Markets
    EU, GB, JP
    Rules
    3
  • Oem consignment manufactured
    Markets
    KR
    Rules
    3
  • Added polyols over 10 percent
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    2
  • Caffeine mg per l
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    2
  • Engineered nanomaterial ingredient
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    2
  • Refrigerated
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    2
  • Post opening storage appropriate
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    2
  • Label implies different origin
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    2
  • Country of origin stated
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    2
  • Operator knows noncompliant
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    2
  • Chemical detoxification applied
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    2
  • Jp annex 20 food
    Markets
    JP
    Rules
    2
  • Jp permit business type
    Markets
    JP
    Rules
    2
  • Canned or bottled
    Markets
    KR
    Rules
    2
  • Distributed in exporting country
    Markets
    KR
    Rules
    2
  • Restaurant or retail service
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    2
  • Coating type
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    2
  • Sorting destined lot
    Markets
    EU
    Rules
    1
  • Contains meat
    Markets
    GB
    Rules
    1
  • Schedule 3 food
    Markets
    GB
    Rules
    1
  • Oral disclosure intended
    Markets
    GB
    Rules
    1
  • Gmo annex 17 ingredient
    Markets
    JP
    Rules
    1
  • Additive undesignated
    Markets
    JP
    Rules
    1
  • Sulfiting agent added
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Nutrition claim
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Chemical preservative added
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Imitation food claim
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Gluten free claim
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Direct additive used
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Ca gross sales usd
    Markets
    US-CA
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tons co
    Markets
    US-CO
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tons md
    Markets
    US-MD
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tons mn
    Markets
    US-MN
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tonnes or
    Markets
    US-OR
    Rules
    1
  • Fluorine treated container
    Markets
    US-VT
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tons wa
    Markets
    US-WA
    Rules
    1

Changes

Upcoming changes

Rules for this category that start in the next 24 months, or are proposed or on hold.

Show 41 upcoming changes
Requirement
Applies when
Effective
Source
WarningUS-CA
N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine (CAS 758-17-8)

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 8 Dec 2026

Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026

Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
CAS No.
758-17-8
Date listed
8 Dec 2025

Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Bisphenol S (BPS) (CAS 80-09-1)

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).

“a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that will produce no observable reproductive effect (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 8 Dec 2026

Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026

Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Bisphenol S (BPS)
Type of toxicity
developmental toxicity
Listed by
the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
CAS No.
80-09-1
Date listed
8 Dec 2025

Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Tacrolimus (CAS 104987-11-3)

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Tacrolimus
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the Labor Code (LC)
CAS No.
104987-11-3
Date listed
17 Jul 2026

Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Hydrochlorothiazide

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Hydrochlorothiazide
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the Labor Code (LC)
CAS No.
58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
Date listed
17 Jul 2026

Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Voriconazole

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Voriconazole
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the Labor Code (LC)
CAS No.
137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
Date listed
17 Jul 2026

Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Welding Fumes

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Welding Fumes
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the Labor Code (LC)
CAS No.
none given
Date listed
17 Jul 2026

Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
LimitEU
Sum of 3-MCPD and 3-MCPD fatty acid esters, expressed as 3-MCPD

Limit 500 µg/kg (content basis)

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 19 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02023R0915-20260819 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Food category (contaminant tables): Vegetable oils and fats, fish oils and oils from other marine organisms destined for the production of baby food and processed cereal-based food for infants and young children [EU:5.3.2]

Depends on: contaminant food category

Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

The row states this level as from 2027-01-01.

From the consolidated text: 5.3.2 · Vegetable oils and fats, fish oils and oils from other marine organisms destined for the production of baby food and processed cereal-based food for infants and young children · 750 500 as from 1 January 2027 · When the product is a mixture of different oils or fats of the same or of different botanical origins, the maximum level applies for the mixture. The oils and fats used as ingredients for the mixture shall comply with the maximum level established for the oils and fats in point 5.3.1.

Annex I rows, point 5.3.2: Vegetable oils and fats, fish oils and oils from other marine organisms destined for the production of baby food and processed cereal-based food for infants and young children — Sum of 3-monochloropropanediol (3-MCPD) and 3-MCPD fatty acid esters, expressed as 3-MCPD · fetched 2026-10-17

European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EU) 2023/915 (consolidated 2026-08-19)(opens in a new tab)
LimitEU
Sum of 3-MCPD and 3-MCPD fatty acid esters, expressed as 3-MCPD

Limit 50 µg/kg (content basis)

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 19 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02023R0915-20260819 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Food category (contaminant tables): Baby food; Processed cereal based food for infants and young children [EU:5.3.4]

Depends on: contaminant food category

Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

The row states this level as from 2027-01-01.

From the consolidated text: 5.3.4. · Baby food; Processed cereal based food for infants and young children · 50 as from 1 January 2027 · The maximum level applies to the product as placed on the market.

Annex I rows, point 5.3.4: Baby food; Processed cereal based food for infants and young children — Sum of 3-monochloropropanediol (3-MCPD) and 3-MCPD fatty acid esters, expressed as 3-MCPD · fetched 2026-10-17

European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EU) 2023/915 (consolidated 2026-08-19)(opens in a new tab)
LimitEU
Glycidol (CAS 556-52-5)

Limit 250 µg/kg (content basis)

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 19 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02023R0915-20260819 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Food category (contaminant tables): Vegetable oils and fats, fish oils and oils from other marine organisms destined for the production of baby food and processed cereal-based food for infants and young children [EU:5.4.2]

Depends on: contaminant food category

Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

The row states this level as from 2027-01-01.

From the consolidated text: 5.4.2 · Vegetable oils and fats, fish oils and oils from other marine organisms destined for the production of baby food and processed cereal-based food for infants and young children · 500 250 as from 1 January 2027 · When the product is a mixture of different oils or fats of the same or of different botanical origins, the maximum level applies for the mixture. The oils and fats used as ingredient for the mixture shall comply with the maximum level established for the oils and fats in point 5.4.1.

Annex I rows, point 5.4.2: Vegetable oils and fats, fish oils and oils from other marine organisms destined for the production of baby food and processed cereal-based food for infants and young children — Glycidyl fatty acid esters, expressed as glycidol · fetched 2026-10-17

European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EU) 2023/915 (consolidated 2026-08-19)(opens in a new tab)
LimitEU
Glycidol (CAS 556-52-5)

Limit 25 µg/kg (content basis)

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 19 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02023R0915-20260819 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Food category (contaminant tables): Baby food; Processed cereal based food for infants and young children [EU:5.4.4]

Depends on: contaminant food category

Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

The row states this level as from 2027-01-01.

From the consolidated text: 5.4.4 · Baby food; Processed cereal based food for infants and young children · 25 As from 1 January 2027 · The maximum level applies to the product as placed on the market.

Annex I rows, point 5.4.4: Baby food; Processed cereal based food for infants and young children — Glycidyl fatty acid esters, expressed as glycidol · fetched 2026-10-17

European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EU) 2023/915 (consolidated 2026-08-19)(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine (CAS 758-17-8)

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 8 Dec 2026

    Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026

    Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
    CAS No.
    758-17-8
    Date listed
    8 Dec 2025

    Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Bisphenol S (BPS) (CAS 80-09-1)

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).

    “a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that will produce no observable reproductive effect (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 8 Dec 2026

    Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026

    Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Bisphenol S (BPS)
    Type of toxicity
    developmental toxicity
    Listed by
    the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
    CAS No.
    80-09-1
    Date listed
    8 Dec 2025

    Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Tacrolimus (CAS 104987-11-3)

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

    Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

    Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Tacrolimus
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the Labor Code (LC)
    CAS No.
    104987-11-3
    Date listed
    17 Jul 2026

    Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Hydrochlorothiazide

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

    Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

    Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Hydrochlorothiazide
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the Labor Code (LC)
    CAS No.
    58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
    Date listed
    17 Jul 2026

    Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Voriconazole

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

    Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

    Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Voriconazole
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the Labor Code (LC)
    CAS No.
    137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
    Date listed
    17 Jul 2026

    Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Welding Fumes

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

    Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

    Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Welding Fumes
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the Labor Code (LC)
    CAS No.
    none given
    Date listed
    17 Jul 2026

    Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • LimitEU
    Sum of 3-MCPD and 3-MCPD fatty acid esters, expressed as 3-MCPD

    Limit 500 µg/kg (content basis)

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 19 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02023R0915-20260819 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

    Applies when
    • Food category (contaminant tables): Vegetable oils and fats, fish oils and oils from other marine organisms destined for the production of baby food and processed cereal-based food for infants and young children [EU:5.3.2]

    Depends on: contaminant food category

    Effective

    Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

    Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

    The row states this level as from 2027-01-01.

    Source

    From the consolidated text: 5.3.2 · Vegetable oils and fats, fish oils and oils from other marine organisms destined for the production of baby food and processed cereal-based food for infants and young children · 750 500 as from 1 January 2027 · When the product is a mixture of different oils or fats of the same or of different botanical origins, the maximum level applies for the mixture. The oils and fats used as ingredients for the mixture shall comply with the maximum level established for the oils and fats in point 5.3.1.

    Annex I rows, point 5.3.2: Vegetable oils and fats, fish oils and oils from other marine organisms destined for the production of baby food and processed cereal-based food for infants and young children — Sum of 3-monochloropropanediol (3-MCPD) and 3-MCPD fatty acid esters, expressed as 3-MCPD · fetched 2026-10-17

    European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EU) 2023/915 (consolidated 2026-08-19)(opens in a new tab)
  • LimitEU
    Sum of 3-MCPD and 3-MCPD fatty acid esters, expressed as 3-MCPD

    Limit 50 µg/kg (content basis)

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 19 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02023R0915-20260819 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

    Applies when
    • Food category (contaminant tables): Baby food; Processed cereal based food for infants and young children [EU:5.3.4]

    Depends on: contaminant food category

    Effective

    Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

    Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

    The row states this level as from 2027-01-01.

    Source

    From the consolidated text: 5.3.4. · Baby food; Processed cereal based food for infants and young children · 50 as from 1 January 2027 · The maximum level applies to the product as placed on the market.

    Annex I rows, point 5.3.4: Baby food; Processed cereal based food for infants and young children — Sum of 3-monochloropropanediol (3-MCPD) and 3-MCPD fatty acid esters, expressed as 3-MCPD · fetched 2026-10-17

    European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EU) 2023/915 (consolidated 2026-08-19)(opens in a new tab)
  • LimitEU
    Glycidol (CAS 556-52-5)

    Limit 250 µg/kg (content basis)

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 19 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02023R0915-20260819 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

    Applies when
    • Food category (contaminant tables): Vegetable oils and fats, fish oils and oils from other marine organisms destined for the production of baby food and processed cereal-based food for infants and young children [EU:5.4.2]

    Depends on: contaminant food category

    Effective

    Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

    Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

    The row states this level as from 2027-01-01.

    Source

    From the consolidated text: 5.4.2 · Vegetable oils and fats, fish oils and oils from other marine organisms destined for the production of baby food and processed cereal-based food for infants and young children · 500 250 as from 1 January 2027 · When the product is a mixture of different oils or fats of the same or of different botanical origins, the maximum level applies for the mixture. The oils and fats used as ingredient for the mixture shall comply with the maximum level established for the oils and fats in point 5.4.1.

    Annex I rows, point 5.4.2: Vegetable oils and fats, fish oils and oils from other marine organisms destined for the production of baby food and processed cereal-based food for infants and young children — Glycidyl fatty acid esters, expressed as glycidol · fetched 2026-10-17

    European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EU) 2023/915 (consolidated 2026-08-19)(opens in a new tab)
  • LimitEU
    Glycidol (CAS 556-52-5)

    Limit 25 µg/kg (content basis)

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 19 Aug 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02023R0915-20260819 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

    Applies when
    • Food category (contaminant tables): Baby food; Processed cereal based food for infants and young children [EU:5.4.4]

    Depends on: contaminant food category

    Effective

    Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

    Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

    The row states this level as from 2027-01-01.

    Source

    From the consolidated text: 5.4.4 · Baby food; Processed cereal based food for infants and young children · 25 As from 1 January 2027 · The maximum level applies to the product as placed on the market.

    Annex I rows, point 5.4.4: Baby food; Processed cereal based food for infants and young children — Glycidyl fatty acid esters, expressed as glycidol · fetched 2026-10-17

    European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Regulation (EU) 2023/915 (consolidated 2026-08-19)(opens in a new tab)
All dated changes

Records

Recalls and alerts

Recalls, safety alerts and Prop 65 notices that name Packaged food and beverages, with a link to the original. A Prop 65 notice is a claim by the sender, not a ruling.

2,152 records dated 4 Jan 2023 to 26 Oct 2026. Most recent shown.

Show the 8 most recent records

Sub-categories

Further rules in sub-categories

These apply only to the sub-categories below, not to the whole category.

See also

Related categories

Alerts

Get an email when these rules change.

Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.

Check a productStart a workspace

Free for 10 products. Email alerts from $39 a month. See pricing