Skip to content

Home and kitchen goods

Which rules apply to non-stick bakeware?

We track 448 rules for these in 21 of 21 markets, including California's Prop 65 list of 883 chemicals. Check your product free, no account needed.

  • Free
  • No account needed
  • The law behind every rule

Home and kitchen goods / Kitchen / Bakeware / Non-stick bakeware

Baking sheets, cake and muffin tins with a fluoropolymer or other non-stick coating.

Default food contact: yesDefault heated use: yes

Rules

Rules by market

Open a market to read its rules for this category.

Japan2 rulesCoverage: Main sources, from 1 Jan 2025
Main sources, from 1 Jan 2025 · What is covered

Japan: main sources stored. Modelled: positive list for synthetic-resin utensils; containers and packaging (Food Sanitation Act). Not stored: general and material-specific specifications for utensils/containers (ceramics, glass, enamel, metal, rubber, paper, wood: CAA notification text not stored); Household Goods Quality Labelling Act; Act on Control of Household Products Containing Harmful Substances.

Requirement
Applies when
Effective
Source
Ban

Use of substances in synthetic-resin food-contact parts that are not listed with a specification in the positive list (別表第1 and monomer list)

Banned

Official text, current to 8 Oct 2026. MHLW's own explanatory PDF on the positive-list system; guidance, not legal text; the date is when it was read (no version date is printed in it).

  • Food-contact product
  • Material: Plastic (type not stated) or Melamine resin or Fluoropolymer coating (PTFE and similar)

Depends on: whether the product touches food, coating type

In force since 1 Jun 2020

Applies to products manufactured on or after 1 Jun 2020

Positive list system enforced 2020-06-01; transitional measures ended 2025-05-31 (page text: 2020年6月1日に施行されました。(2025年5月31日に経過措置満了。)). Basis manufactured because the page uses 使用 (use). The page names 合成樹脂 as the designated material; silicone is not listed as a material because the page does not say silicone is synthetic resin rather than rubber.

“Raw materials for materials specified by the Order for Enforcement of the → Food Sanitation Act (the Cabinet Order)”
Food Sanitation Act Art. 18(3) (positive list) · fetched 2026-10-08Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare: Food Sanitation Act Art. 18(3), Art. 53(1)(opens in a new tab)
Disclosure

Explanation to the buyer that the utensils only use positive-list raw materials or are processed as the proviso of Art. 18(3) prescribes

Disclosure to buyer

A person who sells, manufactures or imports utensils or containers and packaging made of the designated materials explains to the party they sell to that the products only use positive-list raw materials or fall under the Art. 18(3) proviso

Official text, current to 8 Oct 2026. MHLW's own explanatory PDF on the positive-list system; guidance, not legal text; the date is when it was read (no version date is printed in it).

  • Food-contact product
  • Material: Plastic (type not stated) or Melamine resin or Fluoropolymer coating (PTFE and similar)

Depends on: whether the product touches food, coating type

In force since 1 Jun 2020

Applies to products manufactured on or after 1 Jun 2020

Art. 53 is newly added with the positive-list system enforced 2020-06-01 (landing page: 2020年6月1日に施行); same scope as Art. 18(3).

“A person who sells or manufactures or imports for the purpose of marketing”
Food Sanitation Act Art. 53(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare: Food Sanitation Act Art. 18(3), Art. 53(1)(opens in a new tab)
  • Ban

    Use of substances in synthetic-resin food-contact parts that are not listed with a specification in the positive list (別表第1 and monomer list)

    Banned

    Official text, current to 8 Oct 2026. MHLW's own explanatory PDF on the positive-list system; guidance, not legal text; the date is when it was read (no version date is printed in it).

    Applies when
    • Food-contact product
    • Material: Plastic (type not stated) or Melamine resin or Fluoropolymer coating (PTFE and similar)

    Depends on: whether the product touches food, coating type

    Effective

    In force since 1 Jun 2020

    Applies to products manufactured on or after 1 Jun 2020

    Positive list system enforced 2020-06-01; transitional measures ended 2025-05-31 (page text: 2020年6月1日に施行されました。(2025年5月31日に経過措置満了。)). Basis manufactured because the page uses 使用 (use). The page names 合成樹脂 as the designated material; silicone is not listed as a material because the page does not say silicone is synthetic resin rather than rubber.

    Source
    “Raw materials for materials specified by the Order for Enforcement of the → Food Sanitation Act (the Cabinet Order)”
    Food Sanitation Act Art. 18(3) (positive list) · fetched 2026-10-08Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare: Food Sanitation Act Art. 18(3), Art. 53(1)(opens in a new tab)
  • Disclosure

    Explanation to the buyer that the utensils only use positive-list raw materials or are processed as the proviso of Art. 18(3) prescribes

    Disclosure to buyer

    A person who sells, manufactures or imports utensils or containers and packaging made of the designated materials explains to the party they sell to that the products only use positive-list raw materials or fall under the Art. 18(3) proviso

    Official text, current to 8 Oct 2026. MHLW's own explanatory PDF on the positive-list system; guidance, not legal text; the date is when it was read (no version date is printed in it).

    Applies when
    • Food-contact product
    • Material: Plastic (type not stated) or Melamine resin or Fluoropolymer coating (PTFE and similar)

    Depends on: whether the product touches food, coating type

    Effective

    In force since 1 Jun 2020

    Applies to products manufactured on or after 1 Jun 2020

    Art. 53 is newly added with the positive-list system enforced 2020-06-01 (landing page: 2020年6月1日に施行); same scope as Art. 18(3).

    Source
    “A person who sells or manufactures or imports for the purpose of marketing”
    Food Sanitation Act Art. 53(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare: Food Sanitation Act Art. 18(3), Art. 53(1)(opens in a new tab)

Gaps

Markets without rules for this category

We have no rules for this category in these markets. That doesn't mean none apply, so a check here says Not covered, never clear.

ClaraDB gives a verdict only for PFAS state laws for cookware and bakeware, California Proposition 65 consumer-product warning check for BPA, BPS, formaldehyde, styrene, antimony trioxide, vinyl acetate, lead and cadmium, California Proposition 65 warning check for candles and ceramicware (lead, cadmium, formaldehyde, acetaldehyde, benzene, naphthalene, carbon monoxide, benzo[a]pyrene), US packaging EPR producer size thresholds (California, Colorado, Maryland, Minnesota, Oregon, Washington) for a brand-owning manufacturer, US lead in children's products and furniture (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in toys and child care articles (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in children's products (other) and bags (lead paint and total lead content), US phthalates in children's toys and child care articles (DEHP, DBP, BBP, DINP, DIBP, DPENP, DHEXP, DCHP) and US children's product certificate and tracking label for children's tableware (AI-checked, quotes verified word for word). Every other answer shows the laws and quotes found without saying whether they apply. Not checked: Consumer electronics (FCC equipment authorization, 47 CFR Parts 2 and 15, energy rules). What ClaraDB has checked

Show 0 markets

Every market has at least one rule for this category.

Facts

What we need to know about your product

Some rules depend on details of your product. Until you tell us, a check says Needs answers and asks for what's missing.

Show 32 facts
Depends on
Markets
Rules
Whether the listed substance or group is present
EU, GB, KR, US, US-CA, US-CO, US-CT, US-IL, US-ME, US-MN, US-NH, US-NJ, US-NM, US-RI, US-VT, US-WA
1,185
Number of employees at the seller
US-CA
973
Whether the product touches food
EU, GB, JP, KR, US-NJ, US-WA
211
Materials
EU, KR, US
183
Economic operator role
EU, GB, US, US-CA
62
Contains battery
EU, GB, US
39
Whether it is used with heat
KR, US-NJ
37
Ceramic vessel type
KR
31
Battery category
EU, GB
22
Fill volume l
KR
21
Whether it is a children's product
EU, US, US-CO, US-CT, US-IL, US-ME, US-MN, US-NH, US-RI, US-VT
19
Coating type
EU, JP, KR, US
14
Battery chemistry
US
9
Rechargeable
US
6
Annual gross revenue usd
US-CO, US-MD, US-MN, US-OR, US-WA
5
Whether it is sold online
EU, US-CA
3
Button or coin cell
US
2
Distance sale to other member state
EU
1
Mouthable by children
EU
1
Single use
EU
1
Manufactured with other bisphenol
EU
1
Imported
US
1
Cpsc rule subject
US
1
Battery removable
US
1
Ca gross sales usd
US-CA
1
Packaging tons co
US-CO
1
Packaging tons md
US-MD
1
Packaging tons mn
US-MN
1
Intended for children under 12
US-NM
1
Packaging tonnes or
US-OR
1
Fluorine treated container
US-VT
1
Packaging tons wa
US-WA
1
  • Whether the listed substance or group is present
    Markets
    EU, GB, KR, US, US-CA, US-CO, US-CT, US-IL, US-ME, US-MN, US-NH, US-NJ, US-NM, US-RI, US-VT, US-WA
    Rules
    1,185
  • Number of employees at the seller
    Markets
    US-CA
    Rules
    973
  • Whether the product touches food
    Markets
    EU, GB, JP, KR, US-NJ, US-WA
    Rules
    211
  • Materials
    Markets
    EU, KR, US
    Rules
    183
  • Economic operator role
    Markets
    EU, GB, US, US-CA
    Rules
    62
  • Contains battery
    Markets
    EU, GB, US
    Rules
    39
  • Whether it is used with heat
    Markets
    KR, US-NJ
    Rules
    37
  • Ceramic vessel type
    Markets
    KR
    Rules
    31
  • Battery category
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    22
  • Fill volume l
    Markets
    KR
    Rules
    21
  • Whether it is a children's product
    Markets
    EU, US, US-CO, US-CT, US-IL, US-ME, US-MN, US-NH, US-RI, US-VT
    Rules
    19
  • Coating type
    Markets
    EU, JP, KR, US
    Rules
    14
  • Battery chemistry
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    9
  • Rechargeable
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    6
  • Annual gross revenue usd
    Markets
    US-CO, US-MD, US-MN, US-OR, US-WA
    Rules
    5
  • Whether it is sold online
    Markets
    EU, US-CA
    Rules
    3
  • Button or coin cell
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    2
  • Distance sale to other member state
    Markets
    EU
    Rules
    1
  • Mouthable by children
    Markets
    EU
    Rules
    1
  • Single use
    Markets
    EU
    Rules
    1
  • Manufactured with other bisphenol
    Markets
    EU
    Rules
    1
  • Imported
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Cpsc rule subject
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Battery removable
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Ca gross sales usd
    Markets
    US-CA
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tons co
    Markets
    US-CO
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tons md
    Markets
    US-MD
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tons mn
    Markets
    US-MN
    Rules
    1
  • Intended for children under 12
    Markets
    US-NM
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tonnes or
    Markets
    US-OR
    Rules
    1
  • Fluorine treated container
    Markets
    US-VT
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tons wa
    Markets
    US-WA
    Rules
    1

Changes

Upcoming changes

Rules for this category that start in the next 24 months, or are proposed or on hold.

Show 36 upcoming changes
Requirement
Applies when
Effective
Source
WarningUS-CA
N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine (CAS 758-17-8)

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 8 Dec 2026

Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026

Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
CAS No.
758-17-8
Date listed
8 Dec 2025

Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Bisphenol S (BPS) (CAS 80-09-1)

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).

“a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that will produce no observable reproductive effect (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 8 Dec 2026

Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026

Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Bisphenol S (BPS)
Type of toxicity
developmental toxicity
Listed by
the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
CAS No.
80-09-1
Date listed
8 Dec 2025

Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Tacrolimus (CAS 104987-11-3)

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Tacrolimus
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the Labor Code (LC)
CAS No.
104987-11-3
Date listed
17 Jul 2026

Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Hydrochlorothiazide

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Hydrochlorothiazide
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the Labor Code (LC)
CAS No.
58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
Date listed
17 Jul 2026

Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Voriconazole

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Voriconazole
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the Labor Code (LC)
CAS No.
137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
Date listed
17 Jul 2026

Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Welding Fumes

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Welding Fumes
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the Labor Code (LC)
CAS No.
none given
Date listed
17 Jul 2026

Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
BanUS-NH
PFAS as defined in New Hampshire (US state)

Banned

Exemptions (5)

Does not apply to the resale of products manufactured before the ban.

“The resale of products manufactured prior to the ban imposed by this section.”
II(a)(1) · fetched 2026-10-22New Hampshire General Court (RSA online; Internet Archive capture): RSA 149-M:64, IV(f)(opens in a new tab)

Does not apply to a product for which federal law governs the presence of PFAS in a manner that preempts state authority.

“A product for which federal law governs the presence of PFAS in the product in a manner that preempts state authority.”
II(a)(2) · fetched 2026-10-22New Hampshire General Court (RSA online; Internet Archive capture): RSA 149-M:64, IV(f)(opens in a new tab)

Products made with at least 85 percent recycled content.

“(1) Products made with at least 85 percent recycled content.”
II(b)(1) · fetched 2026-10-22New Hampshire General Court (RSA online; Internet Archive capture): RSA 149-M:64, IV(f)(opens in a new tab)

Does not apply to products manufactured before the ban.

“(2) Products manufactured prior to the ban imposed by this section.”
II(b)(2) · fetched 2026-10-22New Hampshire General Court (RSA online; Internet Archive capture): RSA 149-M:64, IV(f)(opens in a new tab)

Does not apply to replacement parts for products manufactured before the ban.

“Replacement parts for products manufactured prior to the ban imposed by this section.”
II(b)(3) · fetched 2026-10-22New Hampshire General Court (RSA online; Internet Archive capture): RSA 149-M:64, IV(f)(opens in a new tab)

Unofficial copy of the text, current to 5 Jan 2026. Internet Archive capture (2026-01-05) of the New Hampshire General Court's official RSA page; source note '2024, 349:1, eff. Aug. 2, 2024. 2025, 19:1, eff. July 13, 2025.'

  • It is a consumer product: tangible personal property normally used for personal, family or household purposes (N.H. RSA 149-M:64, I(d))
  • Children's product

Depends on: whether it is a children's product

Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2027

PFAS-added consumer product: a consumer product manufactured after the section took effect that contains intentionally added PFAS (added on purpose and having a functional or technical effect).

BanUS-NM
PFAS as defined in New Mexico (US state)

Banned

Exemptions (4)

The prohibitions do not apply to a product for which federal law governs the presence of PFAS in a way that preempts state authority.

“a product for which federal law governs 4 the presence of a per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance in the 5 product in a manner that preempts state authority;”
Section 3(A)(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(1)(opens in a new tab)

The prohibitions do not apply to used products offered for sale or resale.

“used products offered for sale or 7 resale;”
Section 3(A)(2) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(1)(opens in a new tab)

The prohibitions do not apply to a product for which the Environmental Improvement Board has adopted a rule finding the use of the substance a currently unavoidable use.

“a product for which the board has 2 adopted a rule providing that the use of the per- or 3 poly-fluoroalkyl substance in that product is a currently 4 unavoidable use;”
Section 3(A)(15) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(1)(opens in a new tab)

The prohibitions do not apply to a product that contains fluoropolymers whose backbone is a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone and that is a solid at standard temperature and pressure.

“fluoropolymers 6 consisting of polymeric substances for which the backbone of 7 the polymer is either a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only 8 backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone that is a 9 solid at standard temperature and pressure.”
Section 3(A)(16) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(1)(opens in a new tab)
Penalty

Civil penalty up to $15,000

“penalty not to exceed fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000)”
HB 212 (2025) Sec. 7(A) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(1)(opens in a new tab)

Unofficial copy of the text, current to 8 Apr 2025. Enrolled bill as signed (chapter 102, 2025-04-08), from LegiScan's copy of the New Mexico Legislature's PDF; the compiled NMSA text is not stored.

Every product in the category

Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2027

Intentionally added means deliberately added or used during manufacture where its continued presence in the final product or a component is desired or expected.

“beginning January 1, 2027, a manufacturer shall not 12 sell, offer for sale, distribute or distribute for sale in 13 this state, directly or indirectly or through intermediaries, 14 the following products if that product contains an 15 intentionally added per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance: 16 (1) cookware;”
Section 3(B)(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(1)(opens in a new tab)
BanUS-NM
PFAS as defined in New Mexico (US state)

Banned

Exemptions (4)

The prohibitions do not apply to a product for which federal law governs the presence of PFAS in a way that preempts state authority.

“a product for which federal law governs 4 the presence of a per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance in the 5 product in a manner that preempts state authority;”
Section 3(A)(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab)

The prohibitions do not apply to used products offered for sale or resale.

“used products offered for sale or 7 resale;”
Section 3(A)(2) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab)

The prohibitions do not apply to a product for which the Environmental Improvement Board has adopted a rule finding the use of the substance a currently unavoidable use.

“a product for which the board has 2 adopted a rule providing that the use of the per- or 3 poly-fluoroalkyl substance in that product is a currently 4 unavoidable use;”
Section 3(A)(15) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab)

The prohibitions do not apply to a product that contains fluoropolymers whose backbone is a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone and that is a solid at standard temperature and pressure.

“fluoropolymers 6 consisting of polymeric substances for which the backbone of 7 the polymer is either a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only 8 backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone that is a 9 solid at standard temperature and pressure.”
Section 3(A)(16) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab)
Penalty

A manufacturer that violates the Act or a rule adopted under it is assessed a civil penalty not to exceed $15,000.

“adopted pursuant to that act shall be assessed a civil 2 penalty not to exceed fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000)”
Section 7(A) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab)

Unofficial copy of the text, current to 8 Apr 2025. Enrolled bill as signed (chapter 102, 2025-04-08), from LegiScan's copy of the New Mexico Legislature's PDF; the compiled NMSA text is not stored.

Every product in the category

Takes effect 1 Jan 2028

Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2028

“a product that contains an intentionally 13 added per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance unless the 14 manufacturer has submitted to the department the information 15 required by Subsection A of this section”
Section 5(D) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab)
BanUS-NM
PFAS as defined in New Mexico (US state)

Banned

Exemptions (4)

The prohibitions do not apply to a product for which federal law governs the presence of PFAS in a way that preempts state authority.

“a product for which federal law governs 4 the presence of a per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance in the 5 product in a manner that preempts state authority;”
Section 3(A)(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(4)(opens in a new tab)

The prohibitions do not apply to used products offered for sale or resale.

“used products offered for sale or 7 resale;”
Section 3(A)(2) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(4)(opens in a new tab)

The prohibitions do not apply to a product for which the Environmental Improvement Board has adopted a rule finding the use of the substance a currently unavoidable use.

“a product for which the board has 2 adopted a rule providing that the use of the per- or 3 poly-fluoroalkyl substance in that product is a currently 4 unavoidable use;”
Section 3(A)(15) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(4)(opens in a new tab)

The prohibitions do not apply to a product that contains fluoropolymers whose backbone is a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone and that is a solid at standard temperature and pressure.

“fluoropolymers 6 consisting of polymeric substances for which the backbone of 7 the polymer is either a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only 8 backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone that is a 9 solid at standard temperature and pressure.”
Section 3(A)(16) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(4)(opens in a new tab)
Penalty

Civil penalty up to $15,000

“penalty not to exceed fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000)”
HB 212 (2025) Sec. 7(A) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(4)(opens in a new tab)

Unofficial copy of the text, current to 8 Apr 2025. Enrolled bill as signed (chapter 102, 2025-04-08), from LegiScan's copy of the New Mexico Legislature's PDF; the compiled NMSA text is not stored.

  • Intended for children under 12

Depends on: intended for children under 12

Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2027

Intentionally added means deliberately added or used during manufacture where its continued presence in the final product or a component is desired or expected.

  • WarningUS-CA
    N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine (CAS 758-17-8)

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 8 Dec 2026

    Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026

    Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
    CAS No.
    758-17-8
    Date listed
    8 Dec 2025

    Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Bisphenol S (BPS) (CAS 80-09-1)

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).

    “a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that will produce no observable reproductive effect (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 8 Dec 2026

    Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026

    Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Bisphenol S (BPS)
    Type of toxicity
    developmental toxicity
    Listed by
    the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
    CAS No.
    80-09-1
    Date listed
    8 Dec 2025

    Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Tacrolimus (CAS 104987-11-3)

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

    Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

    Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Tacrolimus
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the Labor Code (LC)
    CAS No.
    104987-11-3
    Date listed
    17 Jul 2026

    Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Hydrochlorothiazide

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

    Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

    Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Hydrochlorothiazide
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the Labor Code (LC)
    CAS No.
    58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
    Date listed
    17 Jul 2026

    Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Voriconazole

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

    Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

    Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Voriconazole
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the Labor Code (LC)
    CAS No.
    137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
    Date listed
    17 Jul 2026

    Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Welding Fumes

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

    Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

    Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Welding Fumes
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the Labor Code (LC)
    CAS No.
    none given
    Date listed
    17 Jul 2026

    Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • BanUS-NH
    PFAS as defined in New Hampshire (US state)

    Banned

    Exemptions (5)

    Does not apply to the resale of products manufactured before the ban.

    “The resale of products manufactured prior to the ban imposed by this section.”
    II(a)(1) · fetched 2026-10-22New Hampshire General Court (RSA online; Internet Archive capture): RSA 149-M:64, IV(f)(opens in a new tab)

    Does not apply to a product for which federal law governs the presence of PFAS in a manner that preempts state authority.

    “A product for which federal law governs the presence of PFAS in the product in a manner that preempts state authority.”
    II(a)(2) · fetched 2026-10-22New Hampshire General Court (RSA online; Internet Archive capture): RSA 149-M:64, IV(f)(opens in a new tab)

    Products made with at least 85 percent recycled content.

    “(1) Products made with at least 85 percent recycled content.”
    II(b)(1) · fetched 2026-10-22New Hampshire General Court (RSA online; Internet Archive capture): RSA 149-M:64, IV(f)(opens in a new tab)

    Does not apply to products manufactured before the ban.

    “(2) Products manufactured prior to the ban imposed by this section.”
    II(b)(2) · fetched 2026-10-22New Hampshire General Court (RSA online; Internet Archive capture): RSA 149-M:64, IV(f)(opens in a new tab)

    Does not apply to replacement parts for products manufactured before the ban.

    “Replacement parts for products manufactured prior to the ban imposed by this section.”
    II(b)(3) · fetched 2026-10-22New Hampshire General Court (RSA online; Internet Archive capture): RSA 149-M:64, IV(f)(opens in a new tab)

    Unofficial copy of the text, current to 5 Jan 2026. Internet Archive capture (2026-01-05) of the New Hampshire General Court's official RSA page; source note '2024, 349:1, eff. Aug. 2, 2024. 2025, 19:1, eff. July 13, 2025.'

    Applies when
    • It is a consumer product: tangible personal property normally used for personal, family or household purposes (N.H. RSA 149-M:64, I(d))
    • Children's product

    Depends on: whether it is a children's product

    Effective

    Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

    Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2027

    PFAS-added consumer product: a consumer product manufactured after the section took effect that contains intentionally added PFAS (added on purpose and having a functional or technical effect).

  • BanUS-NM
    PFAS as defined in New Mexico (US state)

    Banned

    Exemptions (4)

    The prohibitions do not apply to a product for which federal law governs the presence of PFAS in a way that preempts state authority.

    “a product for which federal law governs 4 the presence of a per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance in the 5 product in a manner that preempts state authority;”
    Section 3(A)(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(1)(opens in a new tab)

    The prohibitions do not apply to used products offered for sale or resale.

    “used products offered for sale or 7 resale;”
    Section 3(A)(2) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(1)(opens in a new tab)

    The prohibitions do not apply to a product for which the Environmental Improvement Board has adopted a rule finding the use of the substance a currently unavoidable use.

    “a product for which the board has 2 adopted a rule providing that the use of the per- or 3 poly-fluoroalkyl substance in that product is a currently 4 unavoidable use;”
    Section 3(A)(15) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(1)(opens in a new tab)

    The prohibitions do not apply to a product that contains fluoropolymers whose backbone is a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone and that is a solid at standard temperature and pressure.

    “fluoropolymers 6 consisting of polymeric substances for which the backbone of 7 the polymer is either a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only 8 backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone that is a 9 solid at standard temperature and pressure.”
    Section 3(A)(16) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(1)(opens in a new tab)
    Penalty

    Civil penalty up to $15,000

    “penalty not to exceed fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000)”
    HB 212 (2025) Sec. 7(A) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(1)(opens in a new tab)

    Unofficial copy of the text, current to 8 Apr 2025. Enrolled bill as signed (chapter 102, 2025-04-08), from LegiScan's copy of the New Mexico Legislature's PDF; the compiled NMSA text is not stored.

    Applies when

    Every product in the category

    Effective

    Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

    Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2027

    Intentionally added means deliberately added or used during manufacture where its continued presence in the final product or a component is desired or expected.

    Source
    “beginning January 1, 2027, a manufacturer shall not 12 sell, offer for sale, distribute or distribute for sale in 13 this state, directly or indirectly or through intermediaries, 14 the following products if that product contains an 15 intentionally added per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance: 16 (1) cookware;”
    Section 3(B)(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(1)(opens in a new tab)
  • BanUS-NM
    PFAS as defined in New Mexico (US state)

    Banned

    Exemptions (4)

    The prohibitions do not apply to a product for which federal law governs the presence of PFAS in a way that preempts state authority.

    “a product for which federal law governs 4 the presence of a per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance in the 5 product in a manner that preempts state authority;”
    Section 3(A)(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab)

    The prohibitions do not apply to used products offered for sale or resale.

    “used products offered for sale or 7 resale;”
    Section 3(A)(2) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab)

    The prohibitions do not apply to a product for which the Environmental Improvement Board has adopted a rule finding the use of the substance a currently unavoidable use.

    “a product for which the board has 2 adopted a rule providing that the use of the per- or 3 poly-fluoroalkyl substance in that product is a currently 4 unavoidable use;”
    Section 3(A)(15) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab)

    The prohibitions do not apply to a product that contains fluoropolymers whose backbone is a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone and that is a solid at standard temperature and pressure.

    “fluoropolymers 6 consisting of polymeric substances for which the backbone of 7 the polymer is either a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only 8 backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone that is a 9 solid at standard temperature and pressure.”
    Section 3(A)(16) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab)
    Penalty

    A manufacturer that violates the Act or a rule adopted under it is assessed a civil penalty not to exceed $15,000.

    “adopted pursuant to that act shall be assessed a civil 2 penalty not to exceed fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000)”
    Section 7(A) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab)

    Unofficial copy of the text, current to 8 Apr 2025. Enrolled bill as signed (chapter 102, 2025-04-08), from LegiScan's copy of the New Mexico Legislature's PDF; the compiled NMSA text is not stored.

    Applies when

    Every product in the category

    Effective

    Takes effect 1 Jan 2028

    Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2028

    Source
    “a product that contains an intentionally 13 added per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance unless the 14 manufacturer has submitted to the department the information 15 required by Subsection A of this section”
    Section 5(D) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab)
  • BanUS-NM
    PFAS as defined in New Mexico (US state)

    Banned

    Exemptions (4)

    The prohibitions do not apply to a product for which federal law governs the presence of PFAS in a way that preempts state authority.

    “a product for which federal law governs 4 the presence of a per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance in the 5 product in a manner that preempts state authority;”
    Section 3(A)(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(4)(opens in a new tab)

    The prohibitions do not apply to used products offered for sale or resale.

    “used products offered for sale or 7 resale;”
    Section 3(A)(2) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(4)(opens in a new tab)

    The prohibitions do not apply to a product for which the Environmental Improvement Board has adopted a rule finding the use of the substance a currently unavoidable use.

    “a product for which the board has 2 adopted a rule providing that the use of the per- or 3 poly-fluoroalkyl substance in that product is a currently 4 unavoidable use;”
    Section 3(A)(15) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(4)(opens in a new tab)

    The prohibitions do not apply to a product that contains fluoropolymers whose backbone is a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone and that is a solid at standard temperature and pressure.

    “fluoropolymers 6 consisting of polymeric substances for which the backbone of 7 the polymer is either a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only 8 backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone that is a 9 solid at standard temperature and pressure.”
    Section 3(A)(16) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(4)(opens in a new tab)
    Penalty

    Civil penalty up to $15,000

    “penalty not to exceed fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000)”
    HB 212 (2025) Sec. 7(A) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(4)(opens in a new tab)

    Unofficial copy of the text, current to 8 Apr 2025. Enrolled bill as signed (chapter 102, 2025-04-08), from LegiScan's copy of the New Mexico Legislature's PDF; the compiled NMSA text is not stored.

    Applies when
    • Intended for children under 12

    Depends on: intended for children under 12

    Effective

    Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

    Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2027

    Intentionally added means deliberately added or used during manufacture where its continued presence in the final product or a component is desired or expected.

    Source
    “(4) juvenile products; and”
    Section 3(B)(4) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(4)(opens in a new tab)
All dated changes

Records

Recalls and alerts

Recalls, safety alerts and Prop 65 notices that name Non-stick bakeware, with a link to the original. A Prop 65 notice is a claim by the sender, not a ruling.

No records in our feeds

No Prop 65 notice, EU Safety Gate alert or CPSC recall has named Non-stick bakeware since January 2023. Other agencies may still have acted.

See also

Related categories

Alerts

Get an email when these rules change.

Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.

Check a productStart a workspace

Free for 10 products. Email alerts from $39 a month. See pricing