Home and kitchen goods
Which rules apply to plastic and nylon utensils?
We track 452 rules for these in 21 of 21 markets, including California's Prop 65 list of 883 chemicals. Check your product free, no account needed.
- Free
- No account needed
- The law behind every rule
Home and kitchen goods / Kitchen / Utensils and gadgets / Plastic and nylon utensils
Spatulas, spoons and turners in nylon, polyamide, PP or melamine.
Default food contact: yesDefault heated use: yesRules
Rules by market
Open a market to read its rules for this category.
Main sources, from 1 Jan 2025 · What is covered
Japan: main sources stored. Modelled: positive list for synthetic-resin utensils; containers and packaging (Food Sanitation Act). Not stored: general and material-specific specifications for utensils/containers (ceramics, glass, enamel, metal, rubber, paper, wood: CAA notification text not stored); Household Goods Quality Labelling Act; Act on Control of Household Products Containing Harmful Substances.
Banned
Official text, current to 8 Oct 2026. Consumer Affairs Agency's own 別表第1 PDF (legal text as posted; the xlsx files are reference only); the date is when it was read (no version date is printed in it).
- Food-contact product
- Material: PVC
Depends on: whether the product touches food, materials
In force since 1 Jun 2025
Applies to products manufactured on or after 1 Jun 2025
'-' in Table 2 means the listed quantity may not be used (備考a①); class 4 = polymer mainly of chlorine-substituted ethylene (PVC).
“792 メラミン 1.5 0.10 0.010 - 1.5 0.10”
Use of substances in synthetic-resin food-contact parts that are not listed with a specification in the positive list (別表第1 and monomer list)
Banned
Official text, current to 8 Oct 2026. MHLW's own explanatory PDF on the positive-list system; guidance, not legal text; the date is when it was read (no version date is printed in it).
- Food-contact product
- Material: Plastic (type not stated) or Melamine resin or Fluoropolymer coating (PTFE and similar)
Depends on: whether the product touches food, coating type
In force since 1 Jun 2020
Applies to products manufactured on or after 1 Jun 2020
Positive list system enforced 2020-06-01; transitional measures ended 2025-05-31 (page text: 2020年6月1日に施行されました。(2025年5月31日に経過措置満了。)). Basis manufactured because the page uses 使用 (use). The page names 合成樹脂 as the designated material; silicone is not listed as a material because the page does not say silicone is synthetic resin rather than rubber.
“Raw materials for materials specified by the Order for Enforcement of the → Food Sanitation Act (the Cabinet Order)”
Limit 1.5 % (content basis)
Table 2 (第2表) 材質区分別使用制限(%), 材質区分1; melamine used as an additive in synthetic resin
Official text, current to 8 Oct 2026. Consumer Affairs Agency's own 別表第1 PDF (legal text as posted; the xlsx files are reference only); the date is when it was read (no version date is printed in it).
- Food-contact product
- Material: Polycarbonate (PC)
Depends on: whether the product touches food, materials
In force since 1 Jun 2025
Applies to products manufactured on or after 1 Jun 2025
List as in force from 2025-06-01 (after transitional measures ended 2025-05-31). Material class mapped from Table 1 polymer names; see NOTES.
“792 メラミン 1.5 0.10 0.010 - 1.5 0.10”
Limit 0.1 % (content basis)
Table 2 (第2表) 材質区分別使用制限(%), 材質区分2; melamine used as an additive in synthetic resin
Official text, current to 8 Oct 2026. Consumer Affairs Agency's own 別表第1 PDF (legal text as posted; the xlsx files are reference only); the date is when it was read (no version date is printed in it).
- Food-contact product
- Material: Polyethylene (PE) or Polypropylene (PP)
Depends on: whether the product touches food, materials
In force since 1 Jun 2025
Applies to products manufactured on or after 1 Jun 2025
List as in force from 2025-06-01 (after transitional measures ended 2025-05-31). Material class mapped from Table 1 polymer names; see NOTES.
“792 メラミン 1.5 0.10 0.010 - 1.5 0.10”
Limit 0.01 % (content basis)
Table 2 (第2表) 材質区分別使用制限(%), 材質区分3; melamine used as an additive in synthetic resin
Official text, current to 8 Oct 2026. Consumer Affairs Agency's own 別表第1 PDF (legal text as posted; the xlsx files are reference only); the date is when it was read (no version date is printed in it).
- Food-contact product
- Material: Polyamide (nylon, PA)
Depends on: whether the product touches food, materials
In force since 1 Jun 2025
Applies to products manufactured on or after 1 Jun 2025
List as in force from 2025-06-01 (after transitional measures ended 2025-05-31). Material class mapped from Table 1 polymer names; see NOTES. Material class 3 mapped only for polyamide (アミド結合を主とする重合体 is class 3); acrylic polymers are not mapped because アクリル酸類 is not defined in the law text.
“792 メラミン 1.5 0.10 0.010 - 1.5 0.10”
Explanation to the buyer that the utensils only use positive-list raw materials or are processed as the proviso of Art. 18(3) prescribes
Disclosure to buyer
A person who sells, manufactures or imports utensils or containers and packaging made of the designated materials explains to the party they sell to that the products only use positive-list raw materials or fall under the Art. 18(3) proviso
Official text, current to 8 Oct 2026. MHLW's own explanatory PDF on the positive-list system; guidance, not legal text; the date is when it was read (no version date is printed in it).
- Food-contact product
- Material: Plastic (type not stated) or Melamine resin or Fluoropolymer coating (PTFE and similar)
Depends on: whether the product touches food, coating type
In force since 1 Jun 2020
Applies to products manufactured on or after 1 Jun 2020
Art. 53 is newly added with the positive-list system enforced 2020-06-01 (landing page: 2020年6月1日に施行); same scope as Art. 18(3).
“A person who sells or manufactures or imports for the purpose of marketing”
- BanMelamine (CAS 108-78-1)
Banned
Official text, current to 8 Oct 2026. Consumer Affairs Agency's own 別表第1 PDF (legal text as posted; the xlsx files are reference only); the date is when it was read (no version date is printed in it).
- Applies when
- Food-contact product
- Material: PVC
Depends on: whether the product touches food, materials
- Effective
In force since 1 Jun 2025
Applies to products manufactured on or after 1 Jun 2025
'-' in Table 2 means the listed quantity may not be used (備考a①); class 4 = polymer mainly of chlorine-substituted ethylene (PVC).
- Source
“792 メラミン 1.5 0.10 0.010 - 1.5 0.10”
Appended Table 1 第2表 通し番号792 · fetched 2026-10-08Consumer Affairs Agency (Japan): 食品衛生法第18条第3項; 昭和34年厚生省告示第370号 別表第1(opens in a new tab)
- Ban
Use of substances in synthetic-resin food-contact parts that are not listed with a specification in the positive list (別表第1 and monomer list)
Banned
Official text, current to 8 Oct 2026. MHLW's own explanatory PDF on the positive-list system; guidance, not legal text; the date is when it was read (no version date is printed in it).
- Applies when
- Food-contact product
- Material: Plastic (type not stated) or Melamine resin or Fluoropolymer coating (PTFE and similar)
Depends on: whether the product touches food, coating type
- Effective
In force since 1 Jun 2020
Applies to products manufactured on or after 1 Jun 2020
Positive list system enforced 2020-06-01; transitional measures ended 2025-05-31 (page text: 2020年6月1日に施行されました。(2025年5月31日に経過措置満了。)). Basis manufactured because the page uses 使用 (use). The page names 合成樹脂 as the designated material; silicone is not listed as a material because the page does not say silicone is synthetic resin rather than rubber.
- Source
“Raw materials for materials specified by the Order for Enforcement of the → Food Sanitation Act (the Cabinet Order)”
Food Sanitation Act Art. 18(3) (positive list) · fetched 2026-10-08Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare: Food Sanitation Act Art. 18(3), Art. 53(1)(opens in a new tab)
- LimitMelamine (CAS 108-78-1)
Limit 1.5 % (content basis)
Table 2 (第2表) 材質区分別使用制限(%), 材質区分1; melamine used as an additive in synthetic resin
Official text, current to 8 Oct 2026. Consumer Affairs Agency's own 別表第1 PDF (legal text as posted; the xlsx files are reference only); the date is when it was read (no version date is printed in it).
- Applies when
- Food-contact product
- Material: Polycarbonate (PC)
Depends on: whether the product touches food, materials
- Effective
In force since 1 Jun 2025
Applies to products manufactured on or after 1 Jun 2025
List as in force from 2025-06-01 (after transitional measures ended 2025-05-31). Material class mapped from Table 1 polymer names; see NOTES.
- Source
“792 メラミン 1.5 0.10 0.010 - 1.5 0.10”
Appended Table 1 第2表 通し番号792 · fetched 2026-10-08Consumer Affairs Agency (Japan): 食品衛生法第18条第3項; 昭和34年厚生省告示第370号 別表第1(opens in a new tab)
- LimitMelamine (CAS 108-78-1)
Limit 0.1 % (content basis)
Table 2 (第2表) 材質区分別使用制限(%), 材質区分2; melamine used as an additive in synthetic resin
Official text, current to 8 Oct 2026. Consumer Affairs Agency's own 別表第1 PDF (legal text as posted; the xlsx files are reference only); the date is when it was read (no version date is printed in it).
- Applies when
- Food-contact product
- Material: Polyethylene (PE) or Polypropylene (PP)
Depends on: whether the product touches food, materials
- Effective
In force since 1 Jun 2025
Applies to products manufactured on or after 1 Jun 2025
List as in force from 2025-06-01 (after transitional measures ended 2025-05-31). Material class mapped from Table 1 polymer names; see NOTES.
- Source
“792 メラミン 1.5 0.10 0.010 - 1.5 0.10”
Appended Table 1 第2表 通し番号792 · fetched 2026-10-08Consumer Affairs Agency (Japan): 食品衛生法第18条第3項; 昭和34年厚生省告示第370号 別表第1(opens in a new tab)
- LimitMelamine (CAS 108-78-1)
Limit 0.01 % (content basis)
Table 2 (第2表) 材質区分別使用制限(%), 材質区分3; melamine used as an additive in synthetic resin
Official text, current to 8 Oct 2026. Consumer Affairs Agency's own 別表第1 PDF (legal text as posted; the xlsx files are reference only); the date is when it was read (no version date is printed in it).
- Applies when
- Food-contact product
- Material: Polyamide (nylon, PA)
Depends on: whether the product touches food, materials
- Effective
In force since 1 Jun 2025
Applies to products manufactured on or after 1 Jun 2025
List as in force from 2025-06-01 (after transitional measures ended 2025-05-31). Material class mapped from Table 1 polymer names; see NOTES. Material class 3 mapped only for polyamide (アミド結合を主とする重合体 is class 3); acrylic polymers are not mapped because アクリル酸類 is not defined in the law text.
- Source
“792 メラミン 1.5 0.10 0.010 - 1.5 0.10”
Appended Table 1 第2表 通し番号792 · fetched 2026-10-08Consumer Affairs Agency (Japan): 食品衛生法第18条第3項; 昭和34年厚生省告示第370号 別表第1(opens in a new tab)
- Disclosure
Explanation to the buyer that the utensils only use positive-list raw materials or are processed as the proviso of Art. 18(3) prescribes
Disclosure to buyer
A person who sells, manufactures or imports utensils or containers and packaging made of the designated materials explains to the party they sell to that the products only use positive-list raw materials or fall under the Art. 18(3) proviso
Official text, current to 8 Oct 2026. MHLW's own explanatory PDF on the positive-list system; guidance, not legal text; the date is when it was read (no version date is printed in it).
- Applies when
- Food-contact product
- Material: Plastic (type not stated) or Melamine resin or Fluoropolymer coating (PTFE and similar)
Depends on: whether the product touches food, coating type
- Effective
In force since 1 Jun 2020
Applies to products manufactured on or after 1 Jun 2020
Art. 53 is newly added with the positive-list system enforced 2020-06-01 (landing page: 2020年6月1日に施行); same scope as Art. 18(3).
- Source
“A person who sells or manufactures or imports for the purpose of marketing”
Food Sanitation Act Art. 53(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare: Food Sanitation Act Art. 18(3), Art. 53(1)(opens in a new tab)
Gaps
Markets without rules for this category
We have no rules for this category in these markets. That doesn't mean none apply, so a check here says Not covered, never clear.
ClaraDB gives a verdict only for PFAS state laws for cookware and bakeware, California Proposition 65 consumer-product warning check for BPA, BPS, formaldehyde, styrene, antimony trioxide, vinyl acetate, lead and cadmium, California Proposition 65 warning check for candles and ceramicware (lead, cadmium, formaldehyde, acetaldehyde, benzene, naphthalene, carbon monoxide, benzo[a]pyrene), US packaging EPR producer size thresholds (California, Colorado, Maryland, Minnesota, Oregon, Washington) for a brand-owning manufacturer, US lead in children's products and furniture (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in toys and child care articles (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in children's products (other) and bags (lead paint and total lead content), US phthalates in children's toys and child care articles (DEHP, DBP, BBP, DINP, DIBP, DPENP, DHEXP, DCHP) and US children's product certificate and tracking label for children's tableware (AI-checked, quotes verified word for word). Every other answer shows the laws and quotes found without saying whether they apply. Not checked: Consumer electronics (FCC equipment authorization, 47 CFR Parts 2 and 15, energy rules). What ClaraDB has checked
Show 0 markets
Every market has at least one rule for this category.
Facts
What we need to know about your product
Some rules depend on details of your product. Until you tell us, a check says Needs answers and asks for what's missing.
Show 32 facts
- Whether the listed substance or group is present
- Markets
- EU, GB, JP, KR, US, US-CA, US-CO, US-CT, US-IL, US-ME, US-MN, US-NH, US-NJ, US-NM, US-RI, US-VT, US-WA
- Rules
- 1,190
- Number of employees at the seller
- Markets
- US-CA
- Rules
- 973
- Whether the product touches food
- Markets
- EU, GB, JP, KR, US-NJ, US-WA
- Rules
- 215
- Materials
- Markets
- EU, JP, KR, US
- Rules
- 188
- Economic operator role
- Markets
- EU, GB, US, US-CA
- Rules
- 62
- Contains battery
- Markets
- EU, GB, US
- Rules
- 39
- Whether it is used with heat
- Markets
- KR, US-NJ
- Rules
- 37
- Ceramic vessel type
- Markets
- KR
- Rules
- 31
- Battery category
- Markets
- EU, GB
- Rules
- 22
- Fill volume l
- Markets
- KR
- Rules
- 21
- Whether it is a children's product
- Markets
- EU, US, US-CO, US-CT, US-IL, US-ME, US-MN, US-NH, US-RI, US-VT
- Rules
- 19
- Coating type
- Markets
- EU, JP, KR, US
- Rules
- 14
- Battery chemistry
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 9
- Rechargeable
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 6
- Annual gross revenue usd
- Markets
- US-CO, US-MD, US-MN, US-OR, US-WA
- Rules
- 5
- Whether it is sold online
- Markets
- EU, US-CA
- Rules
- 3
- Button or coin cell
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 2
- Distance sale to other member state
- Markets
- EU
- Rules
- 1
- Mouthable by children
- Markets
- EU
- Rules
- 1
- Single use
- Markets
- EU
- Rules
- 1
- Manufactured with other bisphenol
- Markets
- EU
- Rules
- 1
- Imported
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Cpsc rule subject
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Battery removable
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Ca gross sales usd
- Markets
- US-CA
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons co
- Markets
- US-CO
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons md
- Markets
- US-MD
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons mn
- Markets
- US-MN
- Rules
- 1
- Intended for children under 12
- Markets
- US-NM
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tonnes or
- Markets
- US-OR
- Rules
- 1
- Fluorine treated container
- Markets
- US-VT
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons wa
- Markets
- US-WA
- Rules
- 1
Changes
Upcoming changes
Rules for this category that start in the next 24 months, or are proposed or on hold.
Show 36 upcoming changes
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 758-17-8
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).
“a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Bisphenol S (BPS)
- Type of toxicity
- developmental toxicity
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 80-09-1
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Tacrolimus
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 104987-11-3
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Hydrochlorothiazide
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Voriconazole
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Welding Fumes
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- none given
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Banned
Exemptions (5)
Does not apply to the resale of products manufactured before the ban.
“The resale of products manufactured prior to the ban imposed by this section.”
Does not apply to a product for which federal law governs the presence of PFAS in a manner that preempts state authority.
“A product for which federal law governs the presence of PFAS in the product in a manner that preempts state authority.”
Products made with at least 85 percent recycled content.
“(1) Products made with at least 85 percent recycled content.”
Does not apply to products manufactured before the ban.
“(2) Products manufactured prior to the ban imposed by this section.”
Does not apply to replacement parts for products manufactured before the ban.
“Replacement parts for products manufactured prior to the ban imposed by this section.”
Unofficial copy of the text, current to 5 Jan 2026. Internet Archive capture (2026-01-05) of the New Hampshire General Court's official RSA page; source note '2024, 349:1, eff. Aug. 2, 2024. 2025, 19:1, eff. July 13, 2025.'
- It is a consumer product: tangible personal property normally used for personal, family or household purposes (N.H. RSA 149-M:64, I(d))
- Children's product
Depends on: whether it is a children's product
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2027
PFAS-added consumer product: a consumer product manufactured after the section took effect that contains intentionally added PFAS (added on purpose and having a functional or technical effect).
“(f) Juvenile products.”
Banned
Exemptions (4)
The prohibitions do not apply to a product for which federal law governs the presence of PFAS in a way that preempts state authority.
“a product for which federal law governs 4 the presence of a per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance in the 5 product in a manner that preempts state authority;”
The prohibitions do not apply to used products offered for sale or resale.
“used products offered for sale or 7 resale;”
The prohibitions do not apply to a product for which the Environmental Improvement Board has adopted a rule finding the use of the substance a currently unavoidable use.
“a product for which the board has 2 adopted a rule providing that the use of the per- or 3 poly-fluoroalkyl substance in that product is a currently 4 unavoidable use;”
The prohibitions do not apply to a product that contains fluoropolymers whose backbone is a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone and that is a solid at standard temperature and pressure.
“fluoropolymers 6 consisting of polymeric substances for which the backbone of 7 the polymer is either a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only 8 backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone that is a 9 solid at standard temperature and pressure.”
Penalty
Civil penalty up to $15,000
“penalty not to exceed fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000)”
Unofficial copy of the text, current to 8 Apr 2025. Enrolled bill as signed (chapter 102, 2025-04-08), from LegiScan's copy of the New Mexico Legislature's PDF; the compiled NMSA text is not stored.
Every product in the category
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2027
Intentionally added means deliberately added or used during manufacture where its continued presence in the final product or a component is desired or expected.
“beginning January 1, 2027, a manufacturer shall not 12 sell, offer for sale, distribute or distribute for sale in 13 this state, directly or indirectly or through intermediaries, 14 the following products if that product contains an 15 intentionally added per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance: 16 (1) cookware;”
Banned
Exemptions (4)
The prohibitions do not apply to a product for which federal law governs the presence of PFAS in a way that preempts state authority.
“a product for which federal law governs 4 the presence of a per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance in the 5 product in a manner that preempts state authority;”
The prohibitions do not apply to used products offered for sale or resale.
“used products offered for sale or 7 resale;”
The prohibitions do not apply to a product for which the Environmental Improvement Board has adopted a rule finding the use of the substance a currently unavoidable use.
“a product for which the board has 2 adopted a rule providing that the use of the per- or 3 poly-fluoroalkyl substance in that product is a currently 4 unavoidable use;”
The prohibitions do not apply to a product that contains fluoropolymers whose backbone is a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone and that is a solid at standard temperature and pressure.
“fluoropolymers 6 consisting of polymeric substances for which the backbone of 7 the polymer is either a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only 8 backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone that is a 9 solid at standard temperature and pressure.”
Penalty
A manufacturer that violates the Act or a rule adopted under it is assessed a civil penalty not to exceed $15,000.
“adopted pursuant to that act shall be assessed a civil 2 penalty not to exceed fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000)”
Unofficial copy of the text, current to 8 Apr 2025. Enrolled bill as signed (chapter 102, 2025-04-08), from LegiScan's copy of the New Mexico Legislature's PDF; the compiled NMSA text is not stored.
Every product in the category
Takes effect 1 Jan 2028
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2028
“a product that contains an intentionally 13 added per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance unless the 14 manufacturer has submitted to the department the information 15 required by Subsection A of this section”
Banned
Exemptions (4)
The prohibitions do not apply to a product for which federal law governs the presence of PFAS in a way that preempts state authority.
“a product for which federal law governs 4 the presence of a per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance in the 5 product in a manner that preempts state authority;”
The prohibitions do not apply to used products offered for sale or resale.
“used products offered for sale or 7 resale;”
The prohibitions do not apply to a product for which the Environmental Improvement Board has adopted a rule finding the use of the substance a currently unavoidable use.
“a product for which the board has 2 adopted a rule providing that the use of the per- or 3 poly-fluoroalkyl substance in that product is a currently 4 unavoidable use;”
The prohibitions do not apply to a product that contains fluoropolymers whose backbone is a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone and that is a solid at standard temperature and pressure.
“fluoropolymers 6 consisting of polymeric substances for which the backbone of 7 the polymer is either a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only 8 backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone that is a 9 solid at standard temperature and pressure.”
Penalty
Civil penalty up to $15,000
“penalty not to exceed fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000)”
Unofficial copy of the text, current to 8 Apr 2025. Enrolled bill as signed (chapter 102, 2025-04-08), from LegiScan's copy of the New Mexico Legislature's PDF; the compiled NMSA text is not stored.
- Intended for children under 12
Depends on: intended for children under 12
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2027
Intentionally added means deliberately added or used during manufacture where its continued presence in the final product or a component is desired or expected.
“(4) juvenile products; and”
- WarningUS-CAN-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine (CAS 758-17-8)
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 758-17-8
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CABisphenol S (BPS) (CAS 80-09-1)
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).
“a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that will produce no observable reproductive effect (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Bisphenol S (BPS)
- Type of toxicity
- developmental toxicity
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 80-09-1
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CATacrolimus (CAS 104987-11-3)
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Tacrolimus
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 104987-11-3
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CAHydrochlorothiazide
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Hydrochlorothiazide
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CAVoriconazole
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Voriconazole
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CAWelding Fumes
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Welding Fumes
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- none given
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- BanUS-NHPFAS as defined in New Hampshire (US state)
Banned
Exemptions (5)
Does not apply to the resale of products manufactured before the ban.
“The resale of products manufactured prior to the ban imposed by this section.”
II(a)(1) · fetched 2026-10-22New Hampshire General Court (RSA online; Internet Archive capture): RSA 149-M:64, IV(f)(opens in a new tab) Does not apply to a product for which federal law governs the presence of PFAS in a manner that preempts state authority.
“A product for which federal law governs the presence of PFAS in the product in a manner that preempts state authority.”
II(a)(2) · fetched 2026-10-22New Hampshire General Court (RSA online; Internet Archive capture): RSA 149-M:64, IV(f)(opens in a new tab) Products made with at least 85 percent recycled content.
“(1) Products made with at least 85 percent recycled content.”
II(b)(1) · fetched 2026-10-22New Hampshire General Court (RSA online; Internet Archive capture): RSA 149-M:64, IV(f)(opens in a new tab) Does not apply to products manufactured before the ban.
“(2) Products manufactured prior to the ban imposed by this section.”
II(b)(2) · fetched 2026-10-22New Hampshire General Court (RSA online; Internet Archive capture): RSA 149-M:64, IV(f)(opens in a new tab) Does not apply to replacement parts for products manufactured before the ban.
“Replacement parts for products manufactured prior to the ban imposed by this section.”
II(b)(3) · fetched 2026-10-22New Hampshire General Court (RSA online; Internet Archive capture): RSA 149-M:64, IV(f)(opens in a new tab) Unofficial copy of the text, current to 5 Jan 2026. Internet Archive capture (2026-01-05) of the New Hampshire General Court's official RSA page; source note '2024, 349:1, eff. Aug. 2, 2024. 2025, 19:1, eff. July 13, 2025.'
- Applies when
- It is a consumer product: tangible personal property normally used for personal, family or household purposes (N.H. RSA 149-M:64, I(d))
- Children's product
Depends on: whether it is a children's product
- Effective
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2027
PFAS-added consumer product: a consumer product manufactured after the section took effect that contains intentionally added PFAS (added on purpose and having a functional or technical effect).
- Source
“(f) Juvenile products.”
IV(f) · fetched 2026-10-22New Hampshire General Court (RSA online; Internet Archive capture): RSA 149-M:64, IV(f)(opens in a new tab)
- BanUS-NMPFAS as defined in New Mexico (US state)
Banned
Exemptions (4)
The prohibitions do not apply to a product for which federal law governs the presence of PFAS in a way that preempts state authority.
“a product for which federal law governs 4 the presence of a per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance in the 5 product in a manner that preempts state authority;”
Section 3(A)(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(1)(opens in a new tab) The prohibitions do not apply to used products offered for sale or resale.
“used products offered for sale or 7 resale;”
Section 3(A)(2) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(1)(opens in a new tab) The prohibitions do not apply to a product for which the Environmental Improvement Board has adopted a rule finding the use of the substance a currently unavoidable use.
“a product for which the board has 2 adopted a rule providing that the use of the per- or 3 poly-fluoroalkyl substance in that product is a currently 4 unavoidable use;”
Section 3(A)(15) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(1)(opens in a new tab) The prohibitions do not apply to a product that contains fluoropolymers whose backbone is a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone and that is a solid at standard temperature and pressure.
“fluoropolymers 6 consisting of polymeric substances for which the backbone of 7 the polymer is either a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only 8 backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone that is a 9 solid at standard temperature and pressure.”
Section 3(A)(16) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(1)(opens in a new tab) Penalty
Civil penalty up to $15,000
“penalty not to exceed fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000)”
HB 212 (2025) Sec. 7(A) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(1)(opens in a new tab) Unofficial copy of the text, current to 8 Apr 2025. Enrolled bill as signed (chapter 102, 2025-04-08), from LegiScan's copy of the New Mexico Legislature's PDF; the compiled NMSA text is not stored.
- Applies when
Every product in the category
- Effective
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2027
Intentionally added means deliberately added or used during manufacture where its continued presence in the final product or a component is desired or expected.
- Source
“beginning January 1, 2027, a manufacturer shall not 12 sell, offer for sale, distribute or distribute for sale in 13 this state, directly or indirectly or through intermediaries, 14 the following products if that product contains an 15 intentionally added per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance: 16 (1) cookware;”
Section 3(B)(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(1)(opens in a new tab)
- BanUS-NMPFAS as defined in New Mexico (US state)
Banned
Exemptions (4)
The prohibitions do not apply to a product for which federal law governs the presence of PFAS in a way that preempts state authority.
“a product for which federal law governs 4 the presence of a per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance in the 5 product in a manner that preempts state authority;”
Section 3(A)(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab) The prohibitions do not apply to used products offered for sale or resale.
“used products offered for sale or 7 resale;”
Section 3(A)(2) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab) The prohibitions do not apply to a product for which the Environmental Improvement Board has adopted a rule finding the use of the substance a currently unavoidable use.
“a product for which the board has 2 adopted a rule providing that the use of the per- or 3 poly-fluoroalkyl substance in that product is a currently 4 unavoidable use;”
Section 3(A)(15) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab) The prohibitions do not apply to a product that contains fluoropolymers whose backbone is a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone and that is a solid at standard temperature and pressure.
“fluoropolymers 6 consisting of polymeric substances for which the backbone of 7 the polymer is either a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only 8 backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone that is a 9 solid at standard temperature and pressure.”
Section 3(A)(16) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab) Penalty
A manufacturer that violates the Act or a rule adopted under it is assessed a civil penalty not to exceed $15,000.
“adopted pursuant to that act shall be assessed a civil 2 penalty not to exceed fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000)”
Section 7(A) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab) Unofficial copy of the text, current to 8 Apr 2025. Enrolled bill as signed (chapter 102, 2025-04-08), from LegiScan's copy of the New Mexico Legislature's PDF; the compiled NMSA text is not stored.
- Applies when
Every product in the category
- Effective
Takes effect 1 Jan 2028
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2028
- Source
“a product that contains an intentionally 13 added per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance unless the 14 manufacturer has submitted to the department the information 15 required by Subsection A of this section”
Section 5(D) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025)(opens in a new tab)
- BanUS-NMPFAS as defined in New Mexico (US state)
Banned
Exemptions (4)
The prohibitions do not apply to a product for which federal law governs the presence of PFAS in a way that preempts state authority.
“a product for which federal law governs 4 the presence of a per- or poly-fluoroalkyl substance in the 5 product in a manner that preempts state authority;”
Section 3(A)(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(4)(opens in a new tab) The prohibitions do not apply to used products offered for sale or resale.
“used products offered for sale or 7 resale;”
Section 3(A)(2) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(4)(opens in a new tab) The prohibitions do not apply to a product for which the Environmental Improvement Board has adopted a rule finding the use of the substance a currently unavoidable use.
“a product for which the board has 2 adopted a rule providing that the use of the per- or 3 poly-fluoroalkyl substance in that product is a currently 4 unavoidable use;”
Section 3(A)(15) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(4)(opens in a new tab) The prohibitions do not apply to a product that contains fluoropolymers whose backbone is a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone and that is a solid at standard temperature and pressure.
“fluoropolymers 6 consisting of polymeric substances for which the backbone of 7 the polymer is either a per- or polyfluorinated carbon-only 8 backbone or a perfluorinated polyether backbone that is a 9 solid at standard temperature and pressure.”
Section 3(A)(16) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(4)(opens in a new tab) Penalty
Civil penalty up to $15,000
“penalty not to exceed fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000)”
HB 212 (2025) Sec. 7(A) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(4)(opens in a new tab) Unofficial copy of the text, current to 8 Apr 2025. Enrolled bill as signed (chapter 102, 2025-04-08), from LegiScan's copy of the New Mexico Legislature's PDF; the compiled NMSA text is not stored.
- Applies when
- Intended for children under 12
Depends on: intended for children under 12
- Effective
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2027
Intentionally added means deliberately added or used during manufacture where its continued presence in the final product or a component is desired or expected.
- Source
“(4) juvenile products; and”
Section 3(B)(4) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-22New Mexico Legislature (enrolled bill PDF, copy served by LegiScan): NM HB 212 (2025) Section 3(B)(4)(opens in a new tab)
Records
Recalls and alerts
Recalls, safety alerts and Prop 65 notices that name Plastic and nylon utensils, with a link to the original. A Prop 65 notice is a claim by the sender, not a ruling.
No records in our feeds
No Prop 65 notice, EU Safety Gate alert or CPSC recall has named Plastic and nylon utensils since January 2023. Other agencies may still have acted.
See also
Related categories
- Utensils and gadgets
Hand tools for cooking and serving.
- Silicone utensils
Spatulas, tongs and brushes made of or coated in silicone.
- Wooden and bamboo utensils
Spoons, spatulas and rolling pins made of wood or bamboo.
- Metal utensils and cutlery tools
Stainless steel ladles, whisks, tongs, knives and flatware tools.
- Manual gadgets
Peelers, graters, openers, juicers and similar mixed-material hand gadgets.
- Kettles, pitchers and teapots
Stovetop kettles, glass teapots, filter pitchers and carafes (non-electric).
Alerts
Get an email when these rules change.
Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.