Skip to content

Cosmetics and personal care

Which rules apply to hair waving and straightening?

We track 6,963 rules for these in 20 of 21 markets, including California's Prop 65 list of 883 chemicals. Check your product free, no account needed.

  • Free
  • No account needed
  • The law behind every rule

Cosmetics and personal care / Hair care and colour / Hair waving and straightening

Permanent wave, relaxer and smoothing products (thioglycolates, hydroxides, formaldehyde releasers).

Rules

Rules by market

Open a market to read its rules for this category.

Maine5 rulesCoverage: Main sources, from 1 Jan 2025
Main sources, from 1 Jan 2025 · What is covered

Maine (US state): main sources stored. Modelled: PFAS in products including cosmetics (38 MRSA 1614, stored). Not stored: DEP Chapter 90 unavoidable-use notices.

Requirement
Applies when
Effective
Source
Ban
PFAS as defined in Maine (US state)

Banned

Exemptions (1)

Products sold in used condition

“The prohibition under this paragraph does not apply to any of the products listed in subparagraphs (1) to (9) that are sold, offered for sale or distributed for sale in used condition.”
1614(2)(B-1) · fetched 2026-10-09Maine Legislature: 38 M.R.S. 1614(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 9 Oct 2026. Maine Legislature's own statute page; the date is when it was read (no version date is printed in it).

Every product in the category

In force since 1 Jan 2026

Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2026

Prohibition reaches a cosmetic product containing intentionally added PFAS or sold in a fluorinated container (B-1)

“Except as provided pursuant to paragraph F or G, effective January 1, 2026, a person may not sell, offer for sale or distribute for sale in this State:”
38 M.R.S. 1614(2)(B-1)(3) · fetched 2026-10-09Maine Legislature: 38 M.R.S. 1614(opens in a new tab)
Conformity

A seller or manufacturer of consumer goods in Maine cannot exclude or modify the implied warranties of merchantability and fitness or the buyer's remedies: such language is unenforceable, and in a retail sale it is an unfair trade practice

Must meet the conditions of 11 M.R.S. 2-316(5): the UCC disclaimer rules of subsections (2) to (4) do not apply to sales of consumer goods (new or used goods bought primarily for personal, family or household purposes); any language, oral or written, used by a seller or manufacturer of consumer goods that attempts to exclude or modify the implied warranties of merchantability and fitness, or the consumer's remedies for their breach, is unenforceable. (5)(a): a violation arising from a retail sale is a violation of Title 5, chapter 10 (Unfair Trade Practices Act). In practice: no “as is” or implied-warranty disclaimer in Maine listings, warranty cards or receipts.

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 27 Oct 2026. Maine Revised Statutes page (data extracted 10/05/2026).

  • It is a consumer good: new or used goods bought primarily for personal, family or household purposes (11 M.R.S. 2-316(5))

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-10-05, the extraction date printed on the official page fetched 2026-10-27; the section states no start date (history: PL 1973, c. 444; PL 1975, c. 320; PL 1997, c. 497; PL 2011, c. 523; RR 2025, c. 2).

“Any language, oral or written, used by a seller or manufacturer of consumer goods and services that attempts to exclude or modify any implied warranties of merchantability and fitness for a particular purpose or to exclude or modify the consumer's remedies for breach of those warranties is unenforceable.”
11 M.R.S. 2-316(5) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Revisor of Statutes: 11 M.R.S. 2-316(5)(opens in a new tab)
Conformity

The product's package and packaging components have no intentionally introduced lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium, and the four together are at most 100 ppm

Must meet the conditions of Toxics in packaging: a manufacturer or distributor may not offer for sale or for promotional purposes in Maine any product in a package whose package or packaging components (inks, dyes, pigments, adhesives, stabilizers, coatings or other additives) have intentionally introduced lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium (1733(2)); the four together in any package or packaging component may not exceed 100 ppm by weight from April 1, 1994 (1733(3)(C)).

Exemptions (1)

A regulated metal added to comply with state or federal health or safety requirements, on an exemption the department grants by petition

“The package or packaging component contains lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium added in the manufacturing, forming, printing or distribution process in order to comply with health or safety requirements of state or federal law.”
32 M.R.S. 1734(2)(A) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Legislature, Office of the Revisor of Statutes: 32 M.R.S. 1733(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 1 Oct 2025. Maine Revised Statutes section pages as published by the Revisor (current text).

  • You offer the product in Maine in a package (32 M.R.S. 1733(2): "any product in a package"); a product sold with no packaging has nothing to comply

In force since 1 Apr 1992

Applies to products sold on or after 1 Apr 1992

1733(3): 600 ppm effective April 1, 1992; 250 ppm April 1, 1993; 100 ppm April 1, 1994.

“A manufacturer or distributor may not offer for sale or for promotional purposes in the State any product in a package that includes, in the package itself or any packaging components, inks, dyes, pigments, adhesives, stabilizers, coatings or any other additives to which any lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium has been intentionally introduced during manufacturing or distribution.”
32 M.R.S. 1733(2) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Legislature, Office of the Revisor of Statutes: 32 M.R.S. 1733(opens in a new tab)
Conformity

The product contains no more than 0.1 percent of the penta or octa mixtures of polybrominated diphenyl ethers

Must meet the conditions of PBDE flame retardants: effective January 1, 2006, a person may not sell or offer to sell, or distribute for promotional purposes, in Maine a product containing more than 0.1% of the penta or octa mixtures of polybrominated diphenyl ethers (38 M.R.S. 1609(1))

Exemptions (3)

Used products.

“Used products;”
38 M.R.S. 1609(11)(A) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Legislature (Office of the Revisor of Statutes): 38 M.R.S. 1609(1)(opens in a new tab)

Products whose PBDE content is due solely to recycled material (except as subsection 5-A provides).

“Except as provided in subsection 5‑A, products if the presence of polybrominated diphenyl ether is due solely to the use of recycled material; or”
38 M.R.S. 1609(11)(B) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Legislature (Office of the Revisor of Statutes): 38 M.R.S. 1609(1)(opens in a new tab)

Replacement parts with penta or octa PBDE for products manufactured before January 1, 2006.

Replacement parts that contain the "octa" or "penta" mixtures of polybrominated diphenyl ether if the parts are for use in a product manufactured before January 1, 2006.
38 M.R.S. 1609(11)(C) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Legislature (Office of the Revisor of Statutes): 38 M.R.S. 1609(1)(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 27 Oct 2026. Maine Revisor section page (data extracted 10/05/2026).

Every product in the category

In force since 1 Jan 2006

Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2006

Stated: “Effective January 1, 2006” (subsection 1). The deca-mixture restrictions in subsections 4 and 5 (furniture, television or computer housings, pallets) do not reach the test products and are not stored.

Effective January 1, 2006, a person may not sell or offer to sell, or distribute for promotional purposes, a product containing more than 0.1% of the "penta" or "octa" mixtures of polybrominated diphenyl ethers.
38 M.R.S. 1609(1) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Legislature (Office of the Revisor of Statutes): 38 M.R.S. 1609(1)(opens in a new tab)
Registration

Pay the packaging stewardship organization for the product's packaging and report its packaging by type, once Maine's stewardship program contract is in effect

Registration required

Packaging EPR (stewardship program): a producer makes annual payments to the stewardship organization based on the net amount of each type of packaging material sold, offered for sale or distributed for sale in or into Maine (2146(6)), reports that amount annually (2146(6)), and beginning one calendar year after the effective date of the department's contract with the stewardship organization may not sell, offer for sale or distribute for sale in or into Maine a product in packaging material for which it has not complied (2146(7)(A)).

Exemptions (2)

A producer with less than $2,000,000 total gross revenue in the prior calendar year is exempt

“The producer realized less than $2,000,000 in total gross revenue during the prior calendar year”
38 M.R.S. 2146(2)(A) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Revisor of Statutes: 38 M.R.S. 2146(6), 2146(7)(A)(opens in a new tab)

A producer that put less than one ton of packaging material into Maine in the prior calendar year is exempt

“The producer sold, offered for sale or distributed for sale in or into the State during the prior calendar year products contained, protected, delivered, presented or distributed in or using less than one ton of packaging material in total”
38 M.R.S. 2146(2)(B) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Revisor of Statutes: 38 M.R.S. 2146(6), 2146(7)(A)(opens in a new tab)

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 5 Oct 2026. Maine Revisor of Statutes section page, text extracted 10/05/2026 (includes PL 2025, c. 383).

  • You are its producer under 38 M.R.S. 2146(1)(O) (for a product sold at a physical retail location in Maine: the person that manufactured the product under its own brand; if none, the licensee; if none, the brand owner; if none in the United States, the importer of record; for e-commerce shipping packaging, the person that packages the item), and you are not exempt under 2146(2) (less than $2,000,000 total gross revenue in the prior calendar year, or less than one ton of packaging material into Maine)

In force, start date unknown

2146(7)(A): the sale bar begins "one calendar year following the effective date of the contract entered into by the department and the stewardship organization"; payments are due no later than 180 days after that contract date (2146(6)). The text states no calendar date, so from is the first day of the enacting session year (PL 2021, c. 455) as a stand-in (date not stated).

“beginning one calendar year following the effective date of the contract entered into by the department and the stewardship organization pursuant to subsection 3, a producer may not sell, offer for sale or distribute for sale in or into the State a product contained, protected, delivered, presented or distributed in or using packaging material for which the producer has not complied with all applicable requirements of this section.”
38 M.R.S. 2146(7)(A) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Revisor of Statutes: 38 M.R.S. 2146(6), 2146(7)(A)(opens in a new tab)
  • Ban
    PFAS as defined in Maine (US state)

    Banned

    Exemptions (1)

    Products sold in used condition

    “The prohibition under this paragraph does not apply to any of the products listed in subparagraphs (1) to (9) that are sold, offered for sale or distributed for sale in used condition.”
    1614(2)(B-1) · fetched 2026-10-09Maine Legislature: 38 M.R.S. 1614(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 9 Oct 2026. Maine Legislature's own statute page; the date is when it was read (no version date is printed in it).

    Applies when

    Every product in the category

    Effective

    In force since 1 Jan 2026

    Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2026

    Prohibition reaches a cosmetic product containing intentionally added PFAS or sold in a fluorinated container (B-1)

    Source
    “Except as provided pursuant to paragraph F or G, effective January 1, 2026, a person may not sell, offer for sale or distribute for sale in this State:”
    38 M.R.S. 1614(2)(B-1)(3) · fetched 2026-10-09Maine Legislature: 38 M.R.S. 1614(opens in a new tab)
  • Conformity

    A seller or manufacturer of consumer goods in Maine cannot exclude or modify the implied warranties of merchantability and fitness or the buyer's remedies: such language is unenforceable, and in a retail sale it is an unfair trade practice

    Must meet the conditions of 11 M.R.S. 2-316(5): the UCC disclaimer rules of subsections (2) to (4) do not apply to sales of consumer goods (new or used goods bought primarily for personal, family or household purposes); any language, oral or written, used by a seller or manufacturer of consumer goods that attempts to exclude or modify the implied warranties of merchantability and fitness, or the consumer's remedies for their breach, is unenforceable. (5)(a): a violation arising from a retail sale is a violation of Title 5, chapter 10 (Unfair Trade Practices Act). In practice: no “as is” or implied-warranty disclaimer in Maine listings, warranty cards or receipts.

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Official text, current to 27 Oct 2026. Maine Revised Statutes page (data extracted 10/05/2026).

    Applies when
    • It is a consumer good: new or used goods bought primarily for personal, family or household purposes (11 M.R.S. 2-316(5))
    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    In force no later than 2026-10-05, the extraction date printed on the official page fetched 2026-10-27; the section states no start date (history: PL 1973, c. 444; PL 1975, c. 320; PL 1997, c. 497; PL 2011, c. 523; RR 2025, c. 2).

    Source
    “Any language, oral or written, used by a seller or manufacturer of consumer goods and services that attempts to exclude or modify any implied warranties of merchantability and fitness for a particular purpose or to exclude or modify the consumer's remedies for breach of those warranties is unenforceable.”
    11 M.R.S. 2-316(5) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Revisor of Statutes: 11 M.R.S. 2-316(5)(opens in a new tab)
  • Conformity

    The product's package and packaging components have no intentionally introduced lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium, and the four together are at most 100 ppm

    Must meet the conditions of Toxics in packaging: a manufacturer or distributor may not offer for sale or for promotional purposes in Maine any product in a package whose package or packaging components (inks, dyes, pigments, adhesives, stabilizers, coatings or other additives) have intentionally introduced lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium (1733(2)); the four together in any package or packaging component may not exceed 100 ppm by weight from April 1, 1994 (1733(3)(C)).

    Exemptions (1)

    A regulated metal added to comply with state or federal health or safety requirements, on an exemption the department grants by petition

    “The package or packaging component contains lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium added in the manufacturing, forming, printing or distribution process in order to comply with health or safety requirements of state or federal law.”
    32 M.R.S. 1734(2)(A) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Legislature, Office of the Revisor of Statutes: 32 M.R.S. 1733(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 1 Oct 2025. Maine Revised Statutes section pages as published by the Revisor (current text).

    Applies when
    • You offer the product in Maine in a package (32 M.R.S. 1733(2): "any product in a package"); a product sold with no packaging has nothing to comply
    Effective

    In force since 1 Apr 1992

    Applies to products sold on or after 1 Apr 1992

    1733(3): 600 ppm effective April 1, 1992; 250 ppm April 1, 1993; 100 ppm April 1, 1994.

    Source
    “A manufacturer or distributor may not offer for sale or for promotional purposes in the State any product in a package that includes, in the package itself or any packaging components, inks, dyes, pigments, adhesives, stabilizers, coatings or any other additives to which any lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium has been intentionally introduced during manufacturing or distribution.”
    32 M.R.S. 1733(2) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Legislature, Office of the Revisor of Statutes: 32 M.R.S. 1733(opens in a new tab)
  • Conformity

    The product contains no more than 0.1 percent of the penta or octa mixtures of polybrominated diphenyl ethers

    Must meet the conditions of PBDE flame retardants: effective January 1, 2006, a person may not sell or offer to sell, or distribute for promotional purposes, in Maine a product containing more than 0.1% of the penta or octa mixtures of polybrominated diphenyl ethers (38 M.R.S. 1609(1))

    Exemptions (3)

    Used products.

    “Used products;”
    38 M.R.S. 1609(11)(A) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Legislature (Office of the Revisor of Statutes): 38 M.R.S. 1609(1)(opens in a new tab)

    Products whose PBDE content is due solely to recycled material (except as subsection 5-A provides).

    “Except as provided in subsection 5‑A, products if the presence of polybrominated diphenyl ether is due solely to the use of recycled material; or”
    38 M.R.S. 1609(11)(B) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Legislature (Office of the Revisor of Statutes): 38 M.R.S. 1609(1)(opens in a new tab)

    Replacement parts with penta or octa PBDE for products manufactured before January 1, 2006.

    Replacement parts that contain the "octa" or "penta" mixtures of polybrominated diphenyl ether if the parts are for use in a product manufactured before January 1, 2006.
    38 M.R.S. 1609(11)(C) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Legislature (Office of the Revisor of Statutes): 38 M.R.S. 1609(1)(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 27 Oct 2026. Maine Revisor section page (data extracted 10/05/2026).

    Applies when

    Every product in the category

    Effective

    In force since 1 Jan 2006

    Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2006

    Stated: “Effective January 1, 2006” (subsection 1). The deca-mixture restrictions in subsections 4 and 5 (furniture, television or computer housings, pallets) do not reach the test products and are not stored.

    Source
    Effective January 1, 2006, a person may not sell or offer to sell, or distribute for promotional purposes, a product containing more than 0.1% of the "penta" or "octa" mixtures of polybrominated diphenyl ethers.
    38 M.R.S. 1609(1) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Legislature (Office of the Revisor of Statutes): 38 M.R.S. 1609(1)(opens in a new tab)
  • Registration

    Pay the packaging stewardship organization for the product's packaging and report its packaging by type, once Maine's stewardship program contract is in effect

    Registration required

    Packaging EPR (stewardship program): a producer makes annual payments to the stewardship organization based on the net amount of each type of packaging material sold, offered for sale or distributed for sale in or into Maine (2146(6)), reports that amount annually (2146(6)), and beginning one calendar year after the effective date of the department's contract with the stewardship organization may not sell, offer for sale or distribute for sale in or into Maine a product in packaging material for which it has not complied (2146(7)(A)).

    Exemptions (2)

    A producer with less than $2,000,000 total gross revenue in the prior calendar year is exempt

    “The producer realized less than $2,000,000 in total gross revenue during the prior calendar year”
    38 M.R.S. 2146(2)(A) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Revisor of Statutes: 38 M.R.S. 2146(6), 2146(7)(A)(opens in a new tab)

    A producer that put less than one ton of packaging material into Maine in the prior calendar year is exempt

    “The producer sold, offered for sale or distributed for sale in or into the State during the prior calendar year products contained, protected, delivered, presented or distributed in or using less than one ton of packaging material in total”
    38 M.R.S. 2146(2)(B) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Revisor of Statutes: 38 M.R.S. 2146(6), 2146(7)(A)(opens in a new tab)

    The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

    Official text, current to 5 Oct 2026. Maine Revisor of Statutes section page, text extracted 10/05/2026 (includes PL 2025, c. 383).

    Applies when
    • You are its producer under 38 M.R.S. 2146(1)(O) (for a product sold at a physical retail location in Maine: the person that manufactured the product under its own brand; if none, the licensee; if none, the brand owner; if none in the United States, the importer of record; for e-commerce shipping packaging, the person that packages the item), and you are not exempt under 2146(2) (less than $2,000,000 total gross revenue in the prior calendar year, or less than one ton of packaging material into Maine)
    Effective

    In force, start date unknown

    2146(7)(A): the sale bar begins "one calendar year following the effective date of the contract entered into by the department and the stewardship organization"; payments are due no later than 180 days after that contract date (2146(6)). The text states no calendar date, so from is the first day of the enacting session year (PL 2021, c. 455) as a stand-in (date not stated).

    Source
    “beginning one calendar year following the effective date of the contract entered into by the department and the stewardship organization pursuant to subsection 3, a producer may not sell, offer for sale or distribute for sale in or into the State a product contained, protected, delivered, presented or distributed in or using packaging material for which the producer has not complied with all applicable requirements of this section.”
    38 M.R.S. 2146(7)(A) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Revisor of Statutes: 38 M.R.S. 2146(6), 2146(7)(A)(opens in a new tab)

Gaps

Markets without rules for this category

We have no rules for this category in these markets. That doesn't mean none apply, so a check here says Not covered, never clear.

ClaraDB gives a verdict only for PFAS state laws for cookware and bakeware, California Proposition 65 consumer-product warning check for BPA, BPS, formaldehyde, styrene, antimony trioxide, vinyl acetate, lead and cadmium, California Proposition 65 warning check for candles and ceramicware (lead, cadmium, formaldehyde, acetaldehyde, benzene, naphthalene, carbon monoxide, benzo[a]pyrene), US packaging EPR producer size thresholds (California, Colorado, Maryland, Minnesota, Oregon, Washington) for a brand-owning manufacturer, US lead in children's products and furniture (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in toys and child care articles (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in children's products (other) and bags (lead paint and total lead content), US phthalates in children's toys and child care articles (DEHP, DBP, BBP, DINP, DIBP, DPENP, DHEXP, DCHP) and US children's product certificate and tracking label for children's tableware (AI-checked, quotes verified word for word). Every other answer shows the laws and quotes found without saying whether they apply. Not checked: Consumer electronics (FCC equipment authorization, 47 CFR Parts 2 and 15, energy rules). What ClaraDB has checked

Show 1 market
Market
Coverage
Main sources; no modeled rule is scoped to this category. Not covered: other rules that may apply.
  • Coverage
    Main sources; no modeled rule is scoped to this category. Not covered: other rules that may apply.

Facts

What we need to know about your product

Some rules depend on details of your product. Until you tell us, a check says Needs answers and asks for what's missing.

Show 36 facts
Depends on
Markets
Rules
Whether the listed substance or group is present
EU, GB, JP, KR, US, US-CA, US-CO, US-CT, US-IL, US-MD, US-ME, US-MN, US-NJ, US-RI, US-VT, US-WA
7,660
Number of employees at the seller
US-CA
972
Rinse off
EU, GB, JP, KR, US-CA
279
Body area
EU, GB, JP, KR
249
Economic operator role
EU, GB, KR, US
90
Sprayable
EU, GB, KR
45
Contains battery
EU, GB, US
39
Professional use
EU, GB, US
27
Intended for children under 3
EU, GB, KR
24
Battery category
EU, GB
22
Otc drug claim
US, US-MN
19
Quasi drug or functional claim
JP, KR
13
Net content ml
EU, GB, KR
10
Battery chemistry
US
9
Aerosol dispenser
JP, KR, US
8
Customised cosmetic
KR
7
Rechargeable
US
6
Animal testing conducted
EU, GB, KR
5
Annual gross revenue usd
US-CO, US-MD, US-MN, US-OR, US-WA
5
Contains nanomaterial
EU, GB
2
Intended for children under 12
KR
2
Single use
KR
2
Button or coin cell
US
2
Distance sale to other member state
EU
1
Imported
KR
1
Cattle derived material
US
1
Uses sunscreen term
US
1
Safety substantiated
US
1
Battery removable
US
1
Ca gross sales usd
US-CA
1
Packaging tons co
US-CO
1
Packaging tons md
US-MD
1
Packaging tons mn
US-MN
1
Packaging tonnes or
US-OR
1
Fluorine treated container
US-VT
1
Packaging tons wa
US-WA
1
  • Whether the listed substance or group is present
    Markets
    EU, GB, JP, KR, US, US-CA, US-CO, US-CT, US-IL, US-MD, US-ME, US-MN, US-NJ, US-RI, US-VT, US-WA
    Rules
    7,660
  • Number of employees at the seller
    Markets
    US-CA
    Rules
    972
  • Rinse off
    Markets
    EU, GB, JP, KR, US-CA
    Rules
    279
  • Body area
    Markets
    EU, GB, JP, KR
    Rules
    249
  • Economic operator role
    Markets
    EU, GB, KR, US
    Rules
    90
  • Sprayable
    Markets
    EU, GB, KR
    Rules
    45
  • Contains battery
    Markets
    EU, GB, US
    Rules
    39
  • Professional use
    Markets
    EU, GB, US
    Rules
    27
  • Intended for children under 3
    Markets
    EU, GB, KR
    Rules
    24
  • Battery category
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    22
  • Otc drug claim
    Markets
    US, US-MN
    Rules
    19
  • Quasi drug or functional claim
    Markets
    JP, KR
    Rules
    13
  • Net content ml
    Markets
    EU, GB, KR
    Rules
    10
  • Battery chemistry
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    9
  • Aerosol dispenser
    Markets
    JP, KR, US
    Rules
    8
  • Customised cosmetic
    Markets
    KR
    Rules
    7
  • Rechargeable
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    6
  • Animal testing conducted
    Markets
    EU, GB, KR
    Rules
    5
  • Annual gross revenue usd
    Markets
    US-CO, US-MD, US-MN, US-OR, US-WA
    Rules
    5
  • Contains nanomaterial
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    2
  • Intended for children under 12
    Markets
    KR
    Rules
    2
  • Single use
    Markets
    KR
    Rules
    2
  • Button or coin cell
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    2
  • Distance sale to other member state
    Markets
    EU
    Rules
    1
  • Imported
    Markets
    KR
    Rules
    1
  • Cattle derived material
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Uses sunscreen term
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Safety substantiated
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Battery removable
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Ca gross sales usd
    Markets
    US-CA
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tons co
    Markets
    US-CO
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tons md
    Markets
    US-MD
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tons mn
    Markets
    US-MN
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tonnes or
    Markets
    US-OR
    Rules
    1
  • Fluorine treated container
    Markets
    US-VT
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tons wa
    Markets
    US-WA
    Rules
    1

Changes

Upcoming changes

Rules for this category that start in the next 24 months, or are proposed or on hold.

Show 49 upcoming changes
Requirement
Applies when
Effective
Source
WarningUS-CA
N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine (CAS 758-17-8)

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 8 Dec 2026

Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026

Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
CAS No.
758-17-8
Date listed
8 Dec 2025

Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Bisphenol S (BPS) (CAS 80-09-1)

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).

“a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that will produce no observable reproductive effect (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 8 Dec 2026

Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026

Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Bisphenol S (BPS)
Type of toxicity
developmental toxicity
Listed by
the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
CAS No.
80-09-1
Date listed
8 Dec 2025

Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Tacrolimus (CAS 104987-11-3)

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Tacrolimus
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the Labor Code (LC)
CAS No.
104987-11-3
Date listed
17 Jul 2026

Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Hydrochlorothiazide

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Hydrochlorothiazide
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the Labor Code (LC)
CAS No.
58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
Date listed
17 Jul 2026

Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Voriconazole

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Voriconazole
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the Labor Code (LC)
CAS No.
137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
Date listed
17 Jul 2026

Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Welding Fumes

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Welding Fumes
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the Labor Code (LC)
CAS No.
none given
Date listed
17 Jul 2026

Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
BanEU
Triphenyl Phosphate (CAS 115-86-6)

Banned

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

Every product in the category

Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

From the consolidated text: Triphenyl Phosphate (13) · 115-86-6 · 204-112-2

LimitEU
Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)

Limit 0.5 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (b) 0,5 %. Field of application: (b) Rinse-off skin and hair products (except shower gel/bath products).

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Rinse-off product

Depends on: rinse off

Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

From the consolidated text: (b) Rinse-off skin and hair products (except shower gel/bath products) · (b) 0,5 %

LimitEU
Citral Geranial (CAS 5392-40-5)

Limit 1.2 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (h) 1,2 %. Field of application: (h) Skin and hair rinse-off products.

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Rinse-off product

Depends on: rinse off

Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-08-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

From the consolidated text: (h) Skin and hair rinse-off products · (h) 1,2 %

LimitEU
Acetylated Vetiveria Zizanioides Root Extract (Vetiveria zizanioides, ext., acetylated Oils, vetiver, acetylated; CAS 84082-84-8)

Limit 0.2 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (a) 0,9 % (b) 0,05 % (c) 0,05 % (d) 0,1 % (e) 0,2 %. Field of application: (a) Fragrance products (hydroalcoholic and non-hydroalcoholic, spray and non-spray) (b) Deodorant (c) Make-up products (d) Leave-on products (except (a), (b) and (c)) (e) Rinse-off products. Other: For (a) – (e): stabilised with 1 % alpha-tocopherol (applies to raw materials)..

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Rinse-off product

Depends on: rinse off

Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

“(a) 0,9 % (b) 0,05 % (c) 0,05 % (d) 0,1 % (e) 0,2 %”
Annex III entry 382 (v4e) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine (CAS 758-17-8)

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 8 Dec 2026

    Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026

    Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
    CAS No.
    758-17-8
    Date listed
    8 Dec 2025

    Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Bisphenol S (BPS) (CAS 80-09-1)

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).

    “a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that will produce no observable reproductive effect (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 8 Dec 2026

    Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026

    Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Bisphenol S (BPS)
    Type of toxicity
    developmental toxicity
    Listed by
    the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
    CAS No.
    80-09-1
    Date listed
    8 Dec 2025

    Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Tacrolimus (CAS 104987-11-3)

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

    Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

    Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Tacrolimus
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the Labor Code (LC)
    CAS No.
    104987-11-3
    Date listed
    17 Jul 2026

    Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Hydrochlorothiazide

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

    Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

    Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Hydrochlorothiazide
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the Labor Code (LC)
    CAS No.
    58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
    Date listed
    17 Jul 2026

    Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Voriconazole

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

    Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

    Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Voriconazole
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the Labor Code (LC)
    CAS No.
    137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
    Date listed
    17 Jul 2026

    Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • WarningUS-CA
    Welding Fumes

    Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

    This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

    Exemptions (1)

    No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

    a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
    Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

    Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

    Applies when
    • Seller has 10 or more employees
    • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

    Depends on: number of employees at the seller

    Effective

    Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

    Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

    Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

    Source
    Chemical
    Welding Fumes
    Type of toxicity
    cancer
    Listed by
    the Labor Code (LC)
    CAS No.
    none given
    Date listed
    17 Jul 2026

    Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08

    California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
  • BanEU
    Triphenyl Phosphate (CAS 115-86-6)

    Banned

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

    Applies when

    Every product in the category

    Effective

    Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

    Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

    Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

    Source

    From the consolidated text: Triphenyl Phosphate (13) · 115-86-6 · 204-112-2

  • LimitEU
    Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)

    Limit 0.5 % (content basis)

    In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (b) 0,5 %. Field of application: (b) Rinse-off skin and hair products (except shower gel/bath products).

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

    Applies when
    • Rinse-off product

    Depends on: rinse off

    Effective

    Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

    Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

    Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

    Source

    From the consolidated text: (b) Rinse-off skin and hair products (except shower gel/bath products) · (b) 0,5 %

  • LimitEU
    Citral Geranial (CAS 5392-40-5)

    Limit 1.2 % (content basis)

    In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (h) 1,2 %. Field of application: (h) Skin and hair rinse-off products.

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

    Applies when
    • Rinse-off product

    Depends on: rinse off

    Effective

    Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

    Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

    Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-08-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

    Source

    From the consolidated text: (h) Skin and hair rinse-off products · (h) 1,2 %

  • LimitEU
    Acetylated Vetiveria Zizanioides Root Extract (Vetiveria zizanioides, ext., acetylated Oils, vetiver, acetylated; CAS 84082-84-8)

    Limit 0.2 % (content basis)

    In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (a) 0,9 % (b) 0,05 % (c) 0,05 % (d) 0,1 % (e) 0,2 %. Field of application: (a) Fragrance products (hydroalcoholic and non-hydroalcoholic, spray and non-spray) (b) Deodorant (c) Make-up products (d) Leave-on products (except (a), (b) and (c)) (e) Rinse-off products. Other: For (a) – (e): stabilised with 1 % alpha-tocopherol (applies to raw materials)..

    Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

    Applies when
    • Rinse-off product

    Depends on: rinse off

    Effective

    Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

    Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

    Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

    Source
    “(a) 0,9 % (b) 0,05 % (c) 0,05 % (d) 0,1 % (e) 0,2 %”
    Annex III entry 382 (v4e) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
All dated changes

Records

Recalls and alerts

Recalls, safety alerts and Prop 65 notices that name Hair waving and straightening, with a link to the original. A Prop 65 notice is a claim by the sender, not a ruling.

6 records dated 5 May 2023 to 11 Sep 2026. Most recent shown.

Show the 6 most recent records

See also

Related categories

Alerts

Get an email when these rules change.

Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.

Check a productStart a workspace

Free for 10 products. Email alerts from $39 a month. See pricing