Cosmetics and personal care
Which rules apply to oral care?
We track 6,776 rules for these in 20 of 21 markets, including California's Prop 65 list of 883 chemicals. Check your product free, no account needed.
- Free
- No account needed
- The law behind every rule
Cosmetics and personal care / Oral care
Toothpaste, mouthwash and tooth whitening.
Rules
Rules by market
Open a market to read its rules for this category.
Main sources, from 1 Jan 2025 · What is covered
Maine (US state): main sources stored. Modelled: PFAS in products including cosmetics (38 MRSA 1614, stored). Not stored: DEP Chapter 90 unavoidable-use notices.
Banned
Exemptions (1)
Products sold in used condition
“The prohibition under this paragraph does not apply to any of the products listed in subparagraphs (1) to (9) that are sold, offered for sale or distributed for sale in used condition.”
Official text, current to 9 Oct 2026. Maine Legislature's own statute page; the date is when it was read (no version date is printed in it).
Every product in the category
In force since 1 Jan 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2026
Prohibition reaches a cosmetic product containing intentionally added PFAS or sold in a fluorinated container (B-1)
“Except as provided pursuant to paragraph F or G, effective January 1, 2026, a person may not sell, offer for sale or distribute for sale in this State:”
A seller or manufacturer of consumer goods in Maine cannot exclude or modify the implied warranties of merchantability and fitness or the buyer's remedies: such language is unenforceable, and in a retail sale it is an unfair trade practice
Must meet the conditions of 11 M.R.S. 2-316(5): the UCC disclaimer rules of subsections (2) to (4) do not apply to sales of consumer goods (new or used goods bought primarily for personal, family or household purposes); any language, oral or written, used by a seller or manufacturer of consumer goods that attempts to exclude or modify the implied warranties of merchantability and fitness, or the consumer's remedies for their breach, is unenforceable. (5)(a): a violation arising from a retail sale is a violation of Title 5, chapter 10 (Unfair Trade Practices Act). In practice: no “as is” or implied-warranty disclaimer in Maine listings, warranty cards or receipts.
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Official text, current to 27 Oct 2026. Maine Revised Statutes page (data extracted 10/05/2026).
- It is a consumer good: new or used goods bought primarily for personal, family or household purposes (11 M.R.S. 2-316(5))
In force, start date unknown
In force no later than 2026-10-05, the extraction date printed on the official page fetched 2026-10-27; the section states no start date (history: PL 1973, c. 444; PL 1975, c. 320; PL 1997, c. 497; PL 2011, c. 523; RR 2025, c. 2).
“Any language, oral or written, used by a seller or manufacturer of consumer goods and services that attempts to exclude or modify any implied warranties of merchantability and fitness for a particular purpose or to exclude or modify the consumer's remedies for breach of those warranties is unenforceable.”
The product's package and packaging components have no intentionally introduced lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium, and the four together are at most 100 ppm
Must meet the conditions of Toxics in packaging: a manufacturer or distributor may not offer for sale or for promotional purposes in Maine any product in a package whose package or packaging components (inks, dyes, pigments, adhesives, stabilizers, coatings or other additives) have intentionally introduced lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium (1733(2)); the four together in any package or packaging component may not exceed 100 ppm by weight from April 1, 1994 (1733(3)(C)).
Exemptions (1)
A regulated metal added to comply with state or federal health or safety requirements, on an exemption the department grants by petition
“The package or packaging component contains lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium added in the manufacturing, forming, printing or distribution process in order to comply with health or safety requirements of state or federal law.”
Official text, current to 1 Oct 2025. Maine Revised Statutes section pages as published by the Revisor (current text).
- You offer the product in Maine in a package (32 M.R.S. 1733(2): "any product in a package"); a product sold with no packaging has nothing to comply
In force since 1 Apr 1992
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Apr 1992
1733(3): 600 ppm effective April 1, 1992; 250 ppm April 1, 1993; 100 ppm April 1, 1994.
“A manufacturer or distributor may not offer for sale or for promotional purposes in the State any product in a package that includes, in the package itself or any packaging components, inks, dyes, pigments, adhesives, stabilizers, coatings or any other additives to which any lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium has been intentionally introduced during manufacturing or distribution.”
The product contains no more than 0.1 percent of the penta or octa mixtures of polybrominated diphenyl ethers
Must meet the conditions of PBDE flame retardants: effective January 1, 2006, a person may not sell or offer to sell, or distribute for promotional purposes, in Maine a product containing more than 0.1% of the penta or octa mixtures of polybrominated diphenyl ethers (38 M.R.S. 1609(1))
Exemptions (3)
Used products.
“Used products;”
Products whose PBDE content is due solely to recycled material (except as subsection 5-A provides).
“Except as provided in subsection 5‑A, products if the presence of polybrominated diphenyl ether is due solely to the use of recycled material; or”
Replacement parts with penta or octa PBDE for products manufactured before January 1, 2006.
Replacement parts that contain the "octa" or "penta" mixtures of polybrominated diphenyl ether if the parts are for use in a product manufactured before January 1, 2006.
Official text, current to 27 Oct 2026. Maine Revisor section page (data extracted 10/05/2026).
Every product in the category
In force since 1 Jan 2006
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2006
Stated: “Effective January 1, 2006” (subsection 1). The deca-mixture restrictions in subsections 4 and 5 (furniture, television or computer housings, pallets) do not reach the test products and are not stored.
Effective January 1, 2006, a person may not sell or offer to sell, or distribute for promotional purposes, a product containing more than 0.1% of the "penta" or "octa" mixtures of polybrominated diphenyl ethers.
Pay the packaging stewardship organization for the product's packaging and report its packaging by type, once Maine's stewardship program contract is in effect
Registration required
Packaging EPR (stewardship program): a producer makes annual payments to the stewardship organization based on the net amount of each type of packaging material sold, offered for sale or distributed for sale in or into Maine (2146(6)), reports that amount annually (2146(6)), and beginning one calendar year after the effective date of the department's contract with the stewardship organization may not sell, offer for sale or distribute for sale in or into Maine a product in packaging material for which it has not complied (2146(7)(A)).
Exemptions (2)
A producer with less than $2,000,000 total gross revenue in the prior calendar year is exempt
“The producer realized less than $2,000,000 in total gross revenue during the prior calendar year”
A producer that put less than one ton of packaging material into Maine in the prior calendar year is exempt
“The producer sold, offered for sale or distributed for sale in or into the State during the prior calendar year products contained, protected, delivered, presented or distributed in or using less than one ton of packaging material in total”
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Official text, current to 5 Oct 2026. Maine Revisor of Statutes section page, text extracted 10/05/2026 (includes PL 2025, c. 383).
- You are its producer under 38 M.R.S. 2146(1)(O) (for a product sold at a physical retail location in Maine: the person that manufactured the product under its own brand; if none, the licensee; if none, the brand owner; if none in the United States, the importer of record; for e-commerce shipping packaging, the person that packages the item), and you are not exempt under 2146(2) (less than $2,000,000 total gross revenue in the prior calendar year, or less than one ton of packaging material into Maine)
In force, start date unknown
2146(7)(A): the sale bar begins "one calendar year following the effective date of the contract entered into by the department and the stewardship organization"; payments are due no later than 180 days after that contract date (2146(6)). The text states no calendar date, so from is the first day of the enacting session year (PL 2021, c. 455) as a stand-in (date not stated).
“beginning one calendar year following the effective date of the contract entered into by the department and the stewardship organization pursuant to subsection 3, a producer may not sell, offer for sale or distribute for sale in or into the State a product contained, protected, delivered, presented or distributed in or using packaging material for which the producer has not complied with all applicable requirements of this section.”
- BanPFAS as defined in Maine (US state)
Banned
Exemptions (1)
Products sold in used condition
“The prohibition under this paragraph does not apply to any of the products listed in subparagraphs (1) to (9) that are sold, offered for sale or distributed for sale in used condition.”
1614(2)(B-1) · fetched 2026-10-09Maine Legislature: 38 M.R.S. 1614(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 9 Oct 2026. Maine Legislature's own statute page; the date is when it was read (no version date is printed in it).
- Applies when
Every product in the category
- Effective
In force since 1 Jan 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2026
Prohibition reaches a cosmetic product containing intentionally added PFAS or sold in a fluorinated container (B-1)
- Source
“Except as provided pursuant to paragraph F or G, effective January 1, 2026, a person may not sell, offer for sale or distribute for sale in this State:”
38 M.R.S. 1614(2)(B-1)(3) · fetched 2026-10-09Maine Legislature: 38 M.R.S. 1614(opens in a new tab)
- Conformity
A seller or manufacturer of consumer goods in Maine cannot exclude or modify the implied warranties of merchantability and fitness or the buyer's remedies: such language is unenforceable, and in a retail sale it is an unfair trade practice
Must meet the conditions of 11 M.R.S. 2-316(5): the UCC disclaimer rules of subsections (2) to (4) do not apply to sales of consumer goods (new or used goods bought primarily for personal, family or household purposes); any language, oral or written, used by a seller or manufacturer of consumer goods that attempts to exclude or modify the implied warranties of merchantability and fitness, or the consumer's remedies for their breach, is unenforceable. (5)(a): a violation arising from a retail sale is a violation of Title 5, chapter 10 (Unfair Trade Practices Act). In practice: no “as is” or implied-warranty disclaimer in Maine listings, warranty cards or receipts.
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Official text, current to 27 Oct 2026. Maine Revised Statutes page (data extracted 10/05/2026).
- Applies when
- It is a consumer good: new or used goods bought primarily for personal, family or household purposes (11 M.R.S. 2-316(5))
- Effective
In force, start date unknown
In force no later than 2026-10-05, the extraction date printed on the official page fetched 2026-10-27; the section states no start date (history: PL 1973, c. 444; PL 1975, c. 320; PL 1997, c. 497; PL 2011, c. 523; RR 2025, c. 2).
- Source
“Any language, oral or written, used by a seller or manufacturer of consumer goods and services that attempts to exclude or modify any implied warranties of merchantability and fitness for a particular purpose or to exclude or modify the consumer's remedies for breach of those warranties is unenforceable.”
11 M.R.S. 2-316(5) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Revisor of Statutes: 11 M.R.S. 2-316(5)(opens in a new tab)
- Conformity
The product's package and packaging components have no intentionally introduced lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium, and the four together are at most 100 ppm
Must meet the conditions of Toxics in packaging: a manufacturer or distributor may not offer for sale or for promotional purposes in Maine any product in a package whose package or packaging components (inks, dyes, pigments, adhesives, stabilizers, coatings or other additives) have intentionally introduced lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium (1733(2)); the four together in any package or packaging component may not exceed 100 ppm by weight from April 1, 1994 (1733(3)(C)).
Exemptions (1)
A regulated metal added to comply with state or federal health or safety requirements, on an exemption the department grants by petition
“The package or packaging component contains lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium added in the manufacturing, forming, printing or distribution process in order to comply with health or safety requirements of state or federal law.”
32 M.R.S. 1734(2)(A) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Legislature, Office of the Revisor of Statutes: 32 M.R.S. 1733(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 1 Oct 2025. Maine Revised Statutes section pages as published by the Revisor (current text).
- Applies when
- You offer the product in Maine in a package (32 M.R.S. 1733(2): "any product in a package"); a product sold with no packaging has nothing to comply
- Effective
In force since 1 Apr 1992
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Apr 1992
1733(3): 600 ppm effective April 1, 1992; 250 ppm April 1, 1993; 100 ppm April 1, 1994.
- Source
“A manufacturer or distributor may not offer for sale or for promotional purposes in the State any product in a package that includes, in the package itself or any packaging components, inks, dyes, pigments, adhesives, stabilizers, coatings or any other additives to which any lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium has been intentionally introduced during manufacturing or distribution.”
32 M.R.S. 1733(2) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Legislature, Office of the Revisor of Statutes: 32 M.R.S. 1733(opens in a new tab)
- Conformity
The product contains no more than 0.1 percent of the penta or octa mixtures of polybrominated diphenyl ethers
Must meet the conditions of PBDE flame retardants: effective January 1, 2006, a person may not sell or offer to sell, or distribute for promotional purposes, in Maine a product containing more than 0.1% of the penta or octa mixtures of polybrominated diphenyl ethers (38 M.R.S. 1609(1))
Exemptions (3)
Used products.
“Used products;”
38 M.R.S. 1609(11)(A) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Legislature (Office of the Revisor of Statutes): 38 M.R.S. 1609(1)(opens in a new tab) Products whose PBDE content is due solely to recycled material (except as subsection 5-A provides).
“Except as provided in subsection 5‑A, products if the presence of polybrominated diphenyl ether is due solely to the use of recycled material; or”
38 M.R.S. 1609(11)(B) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Legislature (Office of the Revisor of Statutes): 38 M.R.S. 1609(1)(opens in a new tab) Replacement parts with penta or octa PBDE for products manufactured before January 1, 2006.
Replacement parts that contain the "octa" or "penta" mixtures of polybrominated diphenyl ether if the parts are for use in a product manufactured before January 1, 2006.
38 M.R.S. 1609(11)(C) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Legislature (Office of the Revisor of Statutes): 38 M.R.S. 1609(1)(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 27 Oct 2026. Maine Revisor section page (data extracted 10/05/2026).
- Applies when
Every product in the category
- Effective
In force since 1 Jan 2006
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2006
Stated: “Effective January 1, 2006” (subsection 1). The deca-mixture restrictions in subsections 4 and 5 (furniture, television or computer housings, pallets) do not reach the test products and are not stored.
- Source
Effective January 1, 2006, a person may not sell or offer to sell, or distribute for promotional purposes, a product containing more than 0.1% of the "penta" or "octa" mixtures of polybrominated diphenyl ethers.
38 M.R.S. 1609(1) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Legislature (Office of the Revisor of Statutes): 38 M.R.S. 1609(1)(opens in a new tab)
- Registration
Pay the packaging stewardship organization for the product's packaging and report its packaging by type, once Maine's stewardship program contract is in effect
Registration required
Packaging EPR (stewardship program): a producer makes annual payments to the stewardship organization based on the net amount of each type of packaging material sold, offered for sale or distributed for sale in or into Maine (2146(6)), reports that amount annually (2146(6)), and beginning one calendar year after the effective date of the department's contract with the stewardship organization may not sell, offer for sale or distribute for sale in or into Maine a product in packaging material for which it has not complied (2146(7)(A)).
Exemptions (2)
A producer with less than $2,000,000 total gross revenue in the prior calendar year is exempt
“The producer realized less than $2,000,000 in total gross revenue during the prior calendar year”
38 M.R.S. 2146(2)(A) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Revisor of Statutes: 38 M.R.S. 2146(6), 2146(7)(A)(opens in a new tab) A producer that put less than one ton of packaging material into Maine in the prior calendar year is exempt
“The producer sold, offered for sale or distributed for sale in or into the State during the prior calendar year products contained, protected, delivered, presented or distributed in or using less than one ton of packaging material in total”
38 M.R.S. 2146(2)(B) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Revisor of Statutes: 38 M.R.S. 2146(6), 2146(7)(A)(opens in a new tab) The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Official text, current to 5 Oct 2026. Maine Revisor of Statutes section page, text extracted 10/05/2026 (includes PL 2025, c. 383).
- Applies when
- You are its producer under 38 M.R.S. 2146(1)(O) (for a product sold at a physical retail location in Maine: the person that manufactured the product under its own brand; if none, the licensee; if none, the brand owner; if none in the United States, the importer of record; for e-commerce shipping packaging, the person that packages the item), and you are not exempt under 2146(2) (less than $2,000,000 total gross revenue in the prior calendar year, or less than one ton of packaging material into Maine)
- Effective
In force, start date unknown
2146(7)(A): the sale bar begins "one calendar year following the effective date of the contract entered into by the department and the stewardship organization"; payments are due no later than 180 days after that contract date (2146(6)). The text states no calendar date, so from is the first day of the enacting session year (PL 2021, c. 455) as a stand-in (date not stated).
- Source
“beginning one calendar year following the effective date of the contract entered into by the department and the stewardship organization pursuant to subsection 3, a producer may not sell, offer for sale or distribute for sale in or into the State a product contained, protected, delivered, presented or distributed in or using packaging material for which the producer has not complied with all applicable requirements of this section.”
38 M.R.S. 2146(7)(A) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-27Maine Revisor of Statutes: 38 M.R.S. 2146(6), 2146(7)(A)(opens in a new tab)
Gaps
Markets without rules for this category
We have no rules for this category in these markets. That doesn't mean none apply, so a check here says Not covered, never clear.
ClaraDB gives a verdict only for PFAS state laws for cookware and bakeware, California Proposition 65 consumer-product warning check for BPA, BPS, formaldehyde, styrene, antimony trioxide, vinyl acetate, lead and cadmium, California Proposition 65 warning check for candles and ceramicware (lead, cadmium, formaldehyde, acetaldehyde, benzene, naphthalene, carbon monoxide, benzo[a]pyrene), US packaging EPR producer size thresholds (California, Colorado, Maryland, Minnesota, Oregon, Washington) for a brand-owning manufacturer, US lead in children's products and furniture (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in toys and child care articles (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in children's products (other) and bags (lead paint and total lead content), US phthalates in children's toys and child care articles (DEHP, DBP, BBP, DINP, DIBP, DPENP, DHEXP, DCHP) and US children's product certificate and tracking label for children's tableware (AI-checked, quotes verified word for word). Every other answer shows the laws and quotes found without saying whether they apply. Not checked: Consumer electronics (FCC equipment authorization, 47 CFR Parts 2 and 15, energy rules). What ClaraDB has checked
Show 1 market
- Coverage
- Main sources; no modeled rule is scoped to this category. Not covered: other rules that may apply.
Facts
What we need to know about your product
Some rules depend on details of your product. Until you tell us, a check says Needs answers and asks for what's missing.
Show 36 facts
- Whether the listed substance or group is present
- Markets
- EU, GB, JP, KR, US, US-CA, US-CO, US-CT, US-IL, US-MD, US-ME, US-MN, US-NJ, US-RI, US-VT, US-WA
- Rules
- 7,475
- Number of employees at the seller
- Markets
- US-CA
- Rules
- 972
- Body area
- Markets
- EU, GB, JP, KR
- Rules
- 230
- Rinse off
- Markets
- EU, GB, JP, KR, US-CA
- Rules
- 221
- Economic operator role
- Markets
- EU, GB, KR, US
- Rules
- 90
- Contains battery
- Markets
- EU, GB, US
- Rules
- 39
- Sprayable
- Markets
- EU, GB, KR
- Rules
- 34
- Intended for children under 3
- Markets
- EU, GB, KR
- Rules
- 24
- Battery category
- Markets
- EU, GB
- Rules
- 22
- Otc drug claim
- Markets
- US, US-MN
- Rules
- 19
- Quasi drug or functional claim
- Markets
- JP, KR
- Rules
- 13
- Net content ml
- Markets
- EU, GB, KR
- Rules
- 10
- Battery chemistry
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 9
- Aerosol dispenser
- Markets
- JP, KR, US
- Rules
- 8
- Professional use
- Markets
- EU, GB, US
- Rules
- 7
- Customised cosmetic
- Markets
- KR
- Rules
- 7
- Rechargeable
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 6
- Animal testing conducted
- Markets
- EU, GB, KR
- Rules
- 5
- Annual gross revenue usd
- Markets
- US-CO, US-MD, US-MN, US-OR, US-WA
- Rules
- 5
- Contains nanomaterial
- Markets
- EU, GB
- Rules
- 2
- Intended for children under 12
- Markets
- KR
- Rules
- 2
- Single use
- Markets
- KR
- Rules
- 2
- Button or coin cell
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 2
- Distance sale to other member state
- Markets
- EU
- Rules
- 1
- Imported
- Markets
- KR
- Rules
- 1
- Cattle derived material
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Uses sunscreen term
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Safety substantiated
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Battery removable
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Ca gross sales usd
- Markets
- US-CA
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons co
- Markets
- US-CO
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons md
- Markets
- US-MD
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons mn
- Markets
- US-MN
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tonnes or
- Markets
- US-OR
- Rules
- 1
- Fluorine treated container
- Markets
- US-VT
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons wa
- Markets
- US-WA
- Rules
- 1
Changes
Upcoming changes
Rules for this category that start in the next 24 months, or are proposed or on hold.
Show 42 upcoming changes
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 758-17-8
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).
“a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Bisphenol S (BPS)
- Type of toxicity
- developmental toxicity
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 80-09-1
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Tacrolimus
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 104987-11-3
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Hydrochlorothiazide
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Voriconazole
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Welding Fumes
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- none given
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Banned
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
Every product in the category
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027
Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).
From the consolidated text: Triphenyl Phosphate (13) · 115-86-6 · 204-112-2
Annex II entry 1767 · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)Limit 0.7 % (content basis)
In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (f) 0,7 %. Field of application: (f) Body lotion.
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applied to: Body
Depends on: body area
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027
Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).
From the consolidated text: (f) Body lotion · (f) 0,7 %
Annex III entry 75 (l5) · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)15 rules from Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 on cosmetic products, Annexes II-VI (consolidated)
Limit 0.2 % (content basis)
Show targets (15 of 15)
- Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
- Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
- Diethylamino Hydroxybenzoyl Hexyl Benzoate (DHHB) (Benzoic acid, 2-[4-(diethylamino)-2- hydroxybenzoyl]-, hexyl ester; CAS 302776-68-7)
- Citral Geranial (CAS 5392-40-5)
- Citral Geranial (CAS 5392-40-5)
- Zinc Acetate (CAS 557-34-6)
- Zinc Acetate (CAS 557-34-6)
- Zinc Acetate (CAS 557-34-6)
- Zinc Acetate (CAS 557-34-6)
- Acetylated Vetiveria Zizanioides Root Extract (Vetiveria zizanioides, ext., acetylated Oils, vetiver, acetylated; CAS 84082-84-8)
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
Every product in the category
1 Jan 2027
Each rule has its own date; open a target.
Example: Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
From the consolidated text: (g) Face make-up and make-up remover products · (g) 0,2 %
Annex III entry 75 (l6) · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)Limit 0.004 % (content basis)
In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (h) 0,004 %. Field of application: (h) Oral products.
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applied to: Mouth or Teeth and gums
Depends on: body area
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027
Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).
From the consolidated text: (h) Oral products · (h) 0,004 %
Annex III entry 75 (l7) · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)- WarningUS-CAN-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine (CAS 758-17-8)
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 758-17-8
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CABisphenol S (BPS) (CAS 80-09-1)
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).
“a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that will produce no observable reproductive effect (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Bisphenol S (BPS)
- Type of toxicity
- developmental toxicity
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 80-09-1
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CATacrolimus (CAS 104987-11-3)
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Tacrolimus
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 104987-11-3
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CAHydrochlorothiazide
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Hydrochlorothiazide
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CAVoriconazole
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Voriconazole
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CAWelding Fumes
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Welding Fumes
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- none given
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- BanEUTriphenyl Phosphate (CAS 115-86-6)
Banned
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applies when
Every product in the category
- Effective
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027
Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).
- Source
From the consolidated text: Triphenyl Phosphate (13) · 115-86-6 · 204-112-2
Annex II entry 1767 · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
- LimitEUBenzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
Limit 0.7 % (content basis)
In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (f) 0,7 %. Field of application: (f) Body lotion.
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applies when
- Applied to: Body
Depends on: body area
- Effective
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027
Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).
- Source
From the consolidated text: (f) Body lotion · (f) 0,7 %
Annex III entry 75 (l5) · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
- Limit x 15EU
15 rules from Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 on cosmetic products, Annexes II-VI (consolidated)
Limit 0.2 % (content basis)
Show targets (15 of 15)
- Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
- Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
- Diethylamino Hydroxybenzoyl Hexyl Benzoate (DHHB) (Benzoic acid, 2-[4-(diethylamino)-2- hydroxybenzoyl]-, hexyl ester; CAS 302776-68-7)
- Citral Geranial (CAS 5392-40-5)
- Citral Geranial (CAS 5392-40-5)
- Zinc Acetate (CAS 557-34-6)
- Zinc Acetate (CAS 557-34-6)
- Zinc Acetate (CAS 557-34-6)
- Zinc Acetate (CAS 557-34-6)
- Acetylated Vetiveria Zizanioides Root Extract (Vetiveria zizanioides, ext., acetylated Oils, vetiver, acetylated; CAS 84082-84-8)
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Applies when
Every product in the category
- Effective
1 Jan 2027
Each rule has its own date; open a target.
- Source
Example: Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
From the consolidated text: (g) Face make-up and make-up remover products · (g) 0,2 %
Annex III entry 75 (l6) · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
- LimitEUBenzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
Limit 0.004 % (content basis)
In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (h) 0,004 %. Field of application: (h) Oral products.
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applies when
- Applied to: Mouth or Teeth and gums
Depends on: body area
- Effective
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027
Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).
- Source
From the consolidated text: (h) Oral products · (h) 0,004 %
Annex III entry 75 (l7) · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Records
Recalls and alerts
Recalls, safety alerts and Prop 65 notices that name Oral care, with a link to the original. A Prop 65 notice is a claim by the sender, not a ruling.
27 records dated 10 Feb 2023 to 23 Oct 2026. Most recent shown.
Show the 8 most recent records
- Safety Gate alerts
Teeth whitening strips - Whitestrips - Professional Effects - Dental whitening treatment
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Tooth whitening
- Safety Gate alerts
Teeth whitening gel - WHITENING GEL
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Tooth whitening
- Safety Gate alerts
Teeth whitening pen - Teeth Whitening pen
Origin as stated: People's Republic of China
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Tooth whitening
- Safety Gate alerts
Mouthwash - Gencives
Origin as stated: France
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Mouthwash and rinses
- Safety Gate alerts
Teeth whitening pen - Teeth Whitening Pen - 4 units
Origin as stated: People's Republic of China
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Tooth whitening
- Safety Gate alerts
Teeth whitening kit - Teeth Whitening Kit
Origin as stated: People's Republic of China
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Tooth whitening
- Safety Gate alerts
Teeth whitening pen - Bright White Teeth Whitening Pen
Origin as stated: People's Republic of China
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Tooth whitening
- Prop 65 notices
Kids Toothpaste
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- Lead
- Party
- The Himalaya Drug Company, Amazon.com Services LLC
- Category
- Toothpaste
Sub-categories
Further rules in sub-categories
These apply only to the sub-categories below, not to the whole category.
- Toothpaste30 additional rules
- Mouthwash and rinses30 additional rules
- Tooth whitening7 additional rules
See also
Related categories
- Cosmetics and personal care
Cosmetic products as defined in EU Reg. 1223/2009 Art. 2, FD&C Act sec. 201(i), the Korean Cosmetics Act and the Japanese PMD Act: substances or mixtures for external parts of the body, teeth or mucous membranes of the mouth, to clean, perfume, change appearance, protect, keep in good condition or correct body odours. Tattoo inks, drugs, devices and quasi-drug claims (JP/KR functional claims, US OTC drug claims) are flagged with attributes or claims, not separate roots.
- Toothpaste
Dentifrices (EU: cosmetic with fluoride limit; US: OTC drug when it contains fluoride).
- Mouthwash and rinses
Mouth rinses and sprays.
- Tooth whitening
Peroxide-based whitening products and strips (EU Annex III hydrogen peroxide limits and dentist-first-use rule).
- Skin care
Face and body skin products, sun protection and exfoliants.
- Hair care and colour
Shampoos, styling, waving, straightening and hair dyes.
- Nail products
Nail polish, care and artificial nail systems.
- Make-up
Colour cosmetics for face, eyes, lips and lashes.
Alerts
Get an email when these rules change.
Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.