Skip to content

Cosmetics and personal care

Which rules apply to deodorants and antiperspirants?

We track 6,827 rules for these in 20 of 21 markets, including California's Prop 65 list of 883 chemicals. Check your product free, no account needed.

  • Free
  • No account needed
  • The law behind every rule

Cosmetics and personal care / Deodorants and antiperspirants

Underarm products.

Rules

Rules by market

Open a market to read its rules for this category.

Great Britain (England, Scotland, Wales)2,189 rulesCoverage: Main sources, from 19 Aug 2026
Main sources, from 19 Aug 2026 · What is covered

Great Britain (England, Scotland, Wales): main sources stored. Modelled: retained and amended Reg. 1223/2009 Annexes II to VI and Art. 19 (legislation.gov.uk); retained Reg. 1223/2009 Arts. 4 to 13: UK Responsible Person, safety assessment and safety report, product information file, SCPN notification (legislation.gov.uk); Cosmetic Products Enforcement Regulations 2013 (S.I. 2013/1478): labelling language. Not stored: Cosmetic Products Enforcement Regulations 2013 offences, penalties and enforcement powers; differences between GB and Northern Ireland; packaging rules, and the SPF and UVA testing approach for sunscreen claims (Recommendation 2006/647/EC).

Requirement
Applies when
Effective
Source
Ban

Placing on the market of a cosmetic whose final formulation was animal tested

Banned

Exemptions (1)

Does not prevent the use of historic animal testing data

“Paragraph 1 does not prevent the use of historic animal testing data in order to meet the requirements of this Regulation.”
Art. 18(1A) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Regulation (EC) 1223/2009 as it has effect in Great Britain (legislation.gov.uk eur/2009/1223)(opens in a new tab)

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Tested on animals

Depends on: animal testing conducted

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“where the final formulation of the product has been the subject of animal testing in order to meet the requirements of this Regulation;”
Art. 18(1)(a) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Regulation (EC) 1223/2009 as it has effect in Great Britain (legislation.gov.uk eur/2009/1223)(opens in a new tab)
Ban

Placing on the market of a cosmetic with animal-tested ingredients or combinations of ingredients

Banned

Exemptions (1)

Does not prevent the use of historic animal testing data

“Paragraph 1 does not prevent the use of historic animal testing data in order to meet the requirements of this Regulation.”
Art. 18(1A) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Regulation (EC) 1223/2009 as it has effect in Great Britain (legislation.gov.uk eur/2009/1223)(opens in a new tab)

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Tested on animals

Depends on: animal testing conducted

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“where the ingredients or combinations of ingredients of the product have been the subject of animal testing in order to meet the requirements of this Regulation.”
Art. 18(1)(b) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Regulation (EC) 1223/2009 as it has effect in Great Britain (legislation.gov.uk eur/2009/1223)(opens in a new tab)
Ban x 1,585

1,585 rules from Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 on cosmetic products as retained in Great Britain (assimilated law)

Banned

Show targets (40 of 1,585)

The remaining targets are listed on the substances page.

Every product in the category

19 Aug 2026

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: Prohibited in cosmetics (Annex II) as defined in Great Britain (England, Scotland, Wales)

“a prohibited substances listed in Annex II;”
Art. 14(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Regulation (EC) 1223/2009 as it has effect in Great Britain (legislation.gov.uk eur/2009/1223)(opens in a new tab)
  • Applied to: Lips or Mouth or Teeth and gums or External genital area

Depends on: body area

19 Aug 2026

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: Acid red 195 (CAS 12220-24-5)

From the official list: Sodium 4-[(4,5-dihydro-3-methyl-5-oxo-1-phenyl-1H-pyrazol-4-yl)azo]-3-hydroxynaphthalene-1-sulphonate · Acid red 195 · 12220-24-5 · — · Red · Not to be used in products applied on mucous membranes

Ban
Salicylic acid (Benzoic acid, 2-hydroxy-; CAS 69-72-7)

Banned

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Applied to: Mouth or Teeth and gums

Depends on: body area

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“Not to be used in oral products.”
Annex V entry 3 (l1-restriction) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
  • Leave-on product

Depends on: rinse off

19 Aug 2026

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: Bromothymol blue (CAS 76-59-5)

From the official list: Phenol, 4,4'-(3H-2,1-benzoxathiol-3-ylidene)bis[2-bromo-3-methyl-6-(1-methylethyl)-, S,S-dioxide · Bromothymol blue · 76-59-5 · 200-971-2 · Blue · Rinse-off products

Ban
CI 74260 (Polychloro copper phthalocyanine)

Banned

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Applied to: Eye area

Depends on: body area

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the official list: Polychloro copper phthalocyanine · 74260 · Green · Not to be used in eye products

Ban
CI 15510

Banned

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Applied to: Eye area

Depends on: body area

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the official list: Sodium 4-[(2-hydroxy-1-naphthyl)azo]benzenesulphonate and its insoluble barium, strontium and zirconium lakes, salts and pigments · 15510 · Orange · Not to be used in eye products

Ban
CI 10316

Banned

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Applied to: Eye area

Depends on: body area

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the official list: Disodium 5,7-dinitro-8-oxidonaphthalene-2-sulphonate and its insoluble barium, strontium and zirconium lakes, salts and pigments · 10316 · Yellow · Not to be used in eye products

Ban
CI 45405

Banned

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Applied to: Eye area

Depends on: body area

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the official list: Dipotassium 3,6-dichloro-2-(2,4,5,7-tetrabromo-6-oxido-3-oxoxanthen-9-yl)benzoate · 45405 · Red · Not to be used in eye products

Ban

UK waste batteries: distributor-no-separate-charge

Banned

Above 0 charge (content basis)

Official text, current to 27 Feb 2025. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2025-02-27, last updated 2025-05-19.

  • Contains a battery
  • Battery category: Portable battery
  • Your role: Distributor

Depends on: contains battery, battery category, economic operator role

In force since 1 Feb 2010

Applies to products sold on or after 1 Feb 2010

Part 4 comes into force on 1st February 2010 (reg. 1(2)(b)).

“A distributor must not show separately the costs of the collection, treatment and recycling of waste portable batteries to an end-user at the time of sale”
reg. 34 (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09legislation.gov.uk (National Archives): SI 2009/890(opens in a new tab)
Limit
Cadmium and cadmium compounds

Limit 0.002 % (content basis)

by weight

Exemptions (2)

Does not apply to a battery that is a component of a vehicle for the purposes of reg. 6 of the End-of-Life Vehicles Regulations 2003 (reg. 4(4))

“This regulation does not apply to a battery which is a component of a vehicle for the purposes of regulation 6 of the End-of-Life Vehicles Regulations 2003”
reg. 4(4) · fetched 2026-10-09legislation.gov.uk (National Archives): SI 2008/2164(opens in a new tab)

The Cd prohibition does not apply to a portable battery intended for use in emergency and alarm systems, including emergency lighting, or in medical equipment (reg. 4(3)); the intended use is not a product fact

“The prohibition in paragraph (1)(b) shall not apply to a portable battery intended for use in— a emergency and alarm systems, including emergency lighting;”
reg. 4(3) · fetched 2026-10-09legislation.gov.uk (National Archives): SI 2008/2164(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 27 Feb 2025. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2025-02-27, last updated 2025-03-20.

  • Contains a battery
  • Battery category: Portable battery

Depends on: contains battery, battery category

In force since 26 Sep 2008

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 26 Sep 2008

Regulations come into force on 26th September 2008 (reg. 1); the provision states no other date.

“a portable battery that contains more than 0.002% of cadmium by weight.”
reg. 4(1)(b) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09legislation.gov.uk (National Archives): SI 2008/2164(opens in a new tab)
Limit
Mercury and mercury compounds

Limit 0.0005 % (content basis)

by weight

Exemptions (1)

Does not apply to a battery that is a component of a vehicle for the purposes of reg. 6 of the End-of-Life Vehicles Regulations 2003 (reg. 4(4))

“This regulation does not apply to a battery which is a component of a vehicle for the purposes of regulation 6 of the End-of-Life Vehicles Regulations 2003”
reg. 4(4) · fetched 2026-10-09legislation.gov.uk (National Archives): SI 2008/2164(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 27 Feb 2025. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2025-02-27, last updated 2025-03-20.

  • Contains a battery

Depends on: contains battery

In force since 26 Sep 2008

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 26 Sep 2008

Regulations come into force on 26th September 2008 (reg. 1); the provision states no other date.

“a battery that contains more than 0.0005% of mercury by weight;”
reg. 4(1)(a) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09legislation.gov.uk (National Archives): SI 2008/2164(opens in a new tab)
Limit x 164

164 rules from Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 as retained in Great Britain, Annexes II-VI

Limit 1 % (content basis)

Show targets (40 of 164)

The remaining targets are listed on the substances page.

Every product in the category

19 Aug 2026

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: Benzyl Alcohol (CAS 100-51-6)

From the official list: Benzyl alcohol · Benzyl Alcohol · 100-51-6 · 202-859-9 · 1,0 %

Limit x 35

35 rules from Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 as retained in Great Britain, Annexes II-VI

Limit 0.15 % (content basis)

Show targets (35 of 35)
  • Applied to: Mouth or Teeth and gums

Depends on: body area

19 Aug 2026

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: Sodium Monofluorophosphate (Disodium fluorophosphate; CAS 10163-15-2)

“0,15 % calculated as F. When mixed with other fluorine compounds permitted under this Annex, total F concentration must not exceed 0,15 %”
Annex III entry 27 · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Limit
Ethoxydiglycol (CAS 111-90-0)

Limit 2.6 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (d) 2,6 %. Field of application: (d) Other non-spray cosmetic products.

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Not applied as a spray

Depends on: sprayable

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the official list: (d) Other non-spray cosmetic products · (d) 2,6 %

Limit
Triclosan (5-Chloro-2- (2,4- dichlorophenoxy) phenol; CAS 3380-34-5)

Limit 0.3 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (a) 0,3 %. Field of application: (a) Toothpastes Hand soaps Body soaps/Shower gels Deodorants (non-spray) Face powders and blemish concealers Nail products for cleaning the fingernails and toenails before the application of artificial nail systems.

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Not applied as a spray

Depends on: sprayable

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

Limit
Ethoxydiglycol (CAS 111-90-0)

Limit 2.6 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (e) 2,6 %. Field of application: (e) The following spray products: fine fragrances, hair sprays, antiperspirants and deodorants.

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Applied as a spray

Depends on: sprayable

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the official list: (e) The following spray products: fine fragrances, hair sprays, antiperspirants and deodorants · (e) 2,6 %

Limit
Methyl Salicylate (Methyl 2-hydroxybenzoate; CAS 119-36-8)

Limit 0.65 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (a) (1) 0.02% (products intended for children 0.5-1 years) (2) 0.06% (products intended for children above 1 year and adults) (b) (1) 0.02% (products intended for children 0.5-1 years) (2) 0.6% (products intended for children above 1 year and adults) (c) (1) 0.02% (products intended for children 0.5-1 years) (2) 0.06% (products intended for children above 1 year and adults) (d) (1) 0.02% (products intended for children 0.5-1 years) (2) 0.03% (products intended for children above 1 year and adults) (e) 0.05% (f) 0.002% (g) 2.5% (h) (1) 0.1% (products intended for children 6 to 10 years) (2) 0.4% (products intended for children above 10 years and adults) (i) 0.65% (j) 0.6% (k) 0.003% (l) 0.009% (m) 0.04%. Field of application: (a) Rinse-off skin & hair products (except hand wash products) (b) Hand wash products (

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Applied as a spray

Depends on: sprayable

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“(a) (1) 0.02% (products intended for children 0.5-1 years) (2) 0.06% (products intended for children above 1 year and adults) (b) (1) 0.02% (products intended for children 0.5-1 years)”
Annex III entry 324 (v10i) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Limit
Methyl Salicylate (Methyl 2-hydroxybenzoate; CAS 119-36-8)

Limit 0.003 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (a) (1) 0.02% (products intended for children 0.5-1 years) (2) 0.06% (products intended for children above 1 year and adults) (b) (1) 0.02% (products intended for children 0.5-1 years) (2) 0.6% (products intended for children above 1 year and adults) (c) (1) 0.02% (products intended for children 0.5-1 years) (2) 0.06% (products intended for children above 1 year and adults) (d) (1) 0.02% (products intended for children 0.5-1 years) (2) 0.03% (products intended for children above 1 year and adults) (e) 0.05% (f) 0.002% (g) 2.5% (h) (1) 0.1% (products intended for children 6 to 10 years) (2) 0.4% (products intended for children above 10 years and adults) (i) 0.65% (j) 0.6% (k) 0.003% (l) 0.009% (m) 0.04%. Field of application: (a) Rinse-off skin & hair products (except hand wash products) (b) Hand wash products (

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Applied as a spray

Depends on: sprayable

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“(a) (1) 0.02% (products intended for children 0.5-1 years) (2) 0.06% (products intended for children above 1 year and adults) (b) (1) 0.02% (products intended for children 0.5-1 years)”
Annex III entry 324 (v11k) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Limit
Benzophenone-3 (2-Hydroxy-4-methoxy-benzophenone/Oxybenzone; CAS 131-57-7)

Limit 2.2 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: For product types— (a) 2.2%; (b) 6%; (c) 0.5%.. Field of application: Product types— (a) skin products, other than those listed in paragraph (b), including all propellant and pump spray skin products; (b) face products, hand products and lip products (excluding propellant and pump spray face products, hand products and lip products); (c) all other cosmetic products.. Other: For product types (a) and (b), not to be used at more than 0.5% to protect product formulation. If used at 0.5% to protect product formulation, the levels used as UV filter must not exceed, for product types— (a) 1.7%; (b) 5.5%..

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Applied as a spray

Depends on: sprayable

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“For product types— (a) 2.2%; (b) 6%; (c) 0.5%.”
Annex VI entry 4 (v1a) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Limit
Ethyl Lauroyl Arginate HCl (Ethyl-N-alpha-dodecanoyl-L-arginate hydrochloride; CAS 60372-77-2)

Limit 0.8 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: 0,8 %. Field of application: (a) soap (b) anti-dandruff shampoos (c) deodorants, not in form of spray. Other: For purposes other than inhibiting the development of micro-organisms in the product. This purpose has to be apparent from the presentation of the product.

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Applied as a spray

Depends on: sprayable

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the official list: Ethyl Lauroyl Arginate HCl · 60372-77-2 · 434-630-6 · (a) soap (b) anti-dandruff shampoos (c) deodorants, not in form of spray · 0,8 %

Limit
Cetrimonium chloride (C16-alkyltrimethylammonium chloride; CAS 112-02-7)

Limit 0.5 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (c) 0,5 % for the individual concentrations or the sum of the individual concentrations of cetrimonium chloride and steartrimonium chloride. Field of application: (c) Leave-on face products.

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Leave-on product
  • Applied to: Face

Depends on: rinse off, body area

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the official list: (c) Leave-on face products · (c) 0,5 % for the individual concentrations or the sum of the individual concentrations of cetrimonium chloride and steartrimonium chloride

Limit
Behentrimonium chloride (C22-alkyltrimethylammonium chloride; CAS 17301-53-0)

Limit 3 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (c) 3,0 % for the individual concentration of behentrimonium chloride or the sum of the individual concentrations of cetrimonium chloride, steartrimonium chloride and behentrimonium chloride, while at the same time respecting the relevant maximum concentration for the sum of cetrimonium chloride and steartrimonium chloride set out in entry 286.. Field of application: (c) Leave-on face products.

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

  • Leave-on product
  • Applied to: Face

Depends on: rinse off, body area

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“(c) 3,0 % for the individual concentration of behentrimonium chloride or the sum of the individual concentrations of cetrimonium chloride, steartrimonium chloride and behentrimonium chloride, while at the same time respecting the relevant maximum concentration for the sum of cetrimonium chloride and steartrimonium chloride set out in entry 286.”
Annex III entry 287 (l2) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)

Gaps

Markets without rules for this category

We have no rules for this category in these markets. That doesn't mean none apply, so a check here says Not covered, never clear.

ClaraDB gives a verdict only for PFAS state laws for cookware and bakeware, California Proposition 65 consumer-product warning check for BPA, BPS, formaldehyde, styrene, antimony trioxide, vinyl acetate, lead and cadmium, California Proposition 65 warning check for candles and ceramicware (lead, cadmium, formaldehyde, acetaldehyde, benzene, naphthalene, carbon monoxide, benzo[a]pyrene), US packaging EPR producer size thresholds (California, Colorado, Maryland, Minnesota, Oregon, Washington) for a brand-owning manufacturer, US lead in children's products and furniture (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in toys and child care articles (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in children's products (other) and bags (lead paint and total lead content), US phthalates in children's toys and child care articles (DEHP, DBP, BBP, DINP, DIBP, DPENP, DHEXP, DCHP) and US children's product certificate and tracking label for children's tableware (AI-checked, quotes verified word for word). Every other answer shows the laws and quotes found without saying whether they apply. Not checked: Consumer electronics (FCC equipment authorization, 47 CFR Parts 2 and 15, energy rules). What ClaraDB has checked

Show 1 market
Market
Coverage
Main sources; no modeled rule is scoped to this category. Not covered: other rules that may apply.
  • Coverage
    Main sources; no modeled rule is scoped to this category. Not covered: other rules that may apply.

Facts

What we need to know about your product

Some rules depend on details of your product. Until you tell us, a check says Needs answers and asks for what's missing.

Show 36 facts
Depends on
Markets
Rules
Whether the listed substance or group is present
EU, GB, JP, KR, US, US-CA, US-CO, US-CT, US-IL, US-MD, US-ME, US-MN, US-NJ, US-RI, US-VT, US-WA
7,526
Number of employees at the seller
US-CA
972
Body area
EU, GB, JP, KR
249
Rinse off
EU, GB, JP, KR, US-CA
235
Economic operator role
EU, GB, KR, US
90
Sprayable
EU, GB, KR
48
Contains battery
EU, GB, US
39
Intended for children under 3
EU, GB, KR
24
Battery category
EU, GB
22
Otc drug claim
US, US-MN
19
Quasi drug or functional claim
JP, KR
13
Net content ml
EU, GB, KR
10
Battery chemistry
US
9
Aerosol dispenser
JP, KR, US
8
Professional use
EU, GB, US
7
Customised cosmetic
KR
7
Rechargeable
US
6
Animal testing conducted
EU, GB, KR
5
Annual gross revenue usd
US-CO, US-MD, US-MN, US-OR, US-WA
5
Contains nanomaterial
EU, GB
2
Intended for children under 12
KR
2
Single use
KR
2
Button or coin cell
US
2
Distance sale to other member state
EU
1
Imported
KR
1
Cattle derived material
US
1
Uses sunscreen term
US
1
Safety substantiated
US
1
Battery removable
US
1
Ca gross sales usd
US-CA
1
Packaging tons co
US-CO
1
Packaging tons md
US-MD
1
Packaging tons mn
US-MN
1
Packaging tonnes or
US-OR
1
Fluorine treated container
US-VT
1
Packaging tons wa
US-WA
1
  • Whether the listed substance or group is present
    Markets
    EU, GB, JP, KR, US, US-CA, US-CO, US-CT, US-IL, US-MD, US-ME, US-MN, US-NJ, US-RI, US-VT, US-WA
    Rules
    7,526
  • Number of employees at the seller
    Markets
    US-CA
    Rules
    972
  • Body area
    Markets
    EU, GB, JP, KR
    Rules
    249
  • Rinse off
    Markets
    EU, GB, JP, KR, US-CA
    Rules
    235
  • Economic operator role
    Markets
    EU, GB, KR, US
    Rules
    90
  • Sprayable
    Markets
    EU, GB, KR
    Rules
    48
  • Contains battery
    Markets
    EU, GB, US
    Rules
    39
  • Intended for children under 3
    Markets
    EU, GB, KR
    Rules
    24
  • Battery category
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    22
  • Otc drug claim
    Markets
    US, US-MN
    Rules
    19
  • Quasi drug or functional claim
    Markets
    JP, KR
    Rules
    13
  • Net content ml
    Markets
    EU, GB, KR
    Rules
    10
  • Battery chemistry
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    9
  • Aerosol dispenser
    Markets
    JP, KR, US
    Rules
    8
  • Professional use
    Markets
    EU, GB, US
    Rules
    7
  • Customised cosmetic
    Markets
    KR
    Rules
    7
  • Rechargeable
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    6
  • Animal testing conducted
    Markets
    EU, GB, KR
    Rules
    5
  • Annual gross revenue usd
    Markets
    US-CO, US-MD, US-MN, US-OR, US-WA
    Rules
    5
  • Contains nanomaterial
    Markets
    EU, GB
    Rules
    2
  • Intended for children under 12
    Markets
    KR
    Rules
    2
  • Single use
    Markets
    KR
    Rules
    2
  • Button or coin cell
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    2
  • Distance sale to other member state
    Markets
    EU
    Rules
    1
  • Imported
    Markets
    KR
    Rules
    1
  • Cattle derived material
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Uses sunscreen term
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Safety substantiated
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Battery removable
    Markets
    US
    Rules
    1
  • Ca gross sales usd
    Markets
    US-CA
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tons co
    Markets
    US-CO
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tons md
    Markets
    US-MD
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tons mn
    Markets
    US-MN
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tonnes or
    Markets
    US-OR
    Rules
    1
  • Fluorine treated container
    Markets
    US-VT
    Rules
    1
  • Packaging tons wa
    Markets
    US-WA
    Rules
    1

Changes

Upcoming changes

Rules for this category that start in the next 24 months, or are proposed or on hold.

Show 47 upcoming changes
Requirement
Applies when
Effective
Source
WarningUS-CA
N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine (CAS 758-17-8)

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 8 Dec 2026

Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026

Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
CAS No.
758-17-8
Date listed
8 Dec 2025

Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Bisphenol S (BPS) (CAS 80-09-1)

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).

“a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that will produce no observable reproductive effect (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 8 Dec 2026

Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026

Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Bisphenol S (BPS)
Type of toxicity
developmental toxicity
Listed by
the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
CAS No.
80-09-1
Date listed
8 Dec 2025

Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Tacrolimus (CAS 104987-11-3)

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Tacrolimus
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the Labor Code (LC)
CAS No.
104987-11-3
Date listed
17 Jul 2026

Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Hydrochlorothiazide

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Hydrochlorothiazide
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the Labor Code (LC)
CAS No.
58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
Date listed
17 Jul 2026

Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Voriconazole

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Voriconazole
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the Labor Code (LC)
CAS No.
137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
Date listed
17 Jul 2026

Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
WarningUS-CA
Welding Fumes

Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)

This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.

Exemptions (1)

No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).

a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)

Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.

  • Seller has 10 or more employees
  • Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical

Depends on: number of employees at the seller

Takes effect 17 Jul 2027

Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027

Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.

Chemical
Welding Fumes
Type of toxicity
cancer
Listed by
the Labor Code (LC)
CAS No.
none given
Date listed
17 Jul 2026

Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08

California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
BanEU
Triphenyl Phosphate (CAS 115-86-6)

Banned

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

Every product in the category

Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

From the consolidated text: Triphenyl Phosphate (13) · 115-86-6 · 204-112-2

LimitEU
Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)

Limit 0.7 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (f) 0,7 %. Field of application: (f) Body lotion.

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Body

Depends on: body area

Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

From the consolidated text: (f) Body lotion · (f) 0,7 %

Limit x 13EU

13 rules from Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 on cosmetic products, Annexes II-VI (consolidated)

Limit 0.2 % (content basis)

Show targets (13 of 13)

Every product in the category

1 Jan 2027

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)

From the consolidated text: (g) Face make-up and make-up remover products · (g) 0,2 %

LimitEU
Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)

Limit 0.004 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (h) 0,004 %. Field of application: (h) Oral products.

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Mouth or Teeth and gums

Depends on: body area

Takes effect 1 Jan 2027

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

From the consolidated text: (h) Oral products · (h) 0,004 %

All dated changes

Records

Recalls and alerts

Recalls, safety alerts and Prop 65 notices that name Deodorants and antiperspirants, with a link to the original. A Prop 65 notice is a claim by the sender, not a ruling.

300 records dated 17 Mar 2023 to 21 Aug 2026. Most recent shown.

Show the 8 most recent records

Sub-categories

Further rules in sub-categories

These apply only to the sub-categories below, not to the whole category.

See also

Related categories

  • Cosmetics and personal care

    Cosmetic products as defined in EU Reg. 1223/2009 Art. 2, FD&C Act sec. 201(i), the Korean Cosmetics Act and the Japanese PMD Act: substances or mixtures for external parts of the body, teeth or mucous membranes of the mouth, to clean, perfume, change appearance, protect, keep in good condition or correct body odours. Tattoo inks, drugs, devices and quasi-drug claims (JP/KR functional claims, US OTC drug claims) are flagged with attributes or claims, not separate roots.

  • Deodorants

    Cosmetic deodorants that mask or reduce odour without an antiperspirant claim.

  • Antiperspirants

    Products claiming to reduce perspiration (US: OTC drug, 21 CFR 350 monograph; EU/UK/KR/JP: cosmetic or functional).

  • Skin care

    Face and body skin products, sun protection and exfoliants.

  • Hair care and colour

    Shampoos, styling, waving, straightening and hair dyes.

  • Nail products

    Nail polish, care and artificial nail systems.

  • Make-up

    Colour cosmetics for face, eyes, lips and lashes.

  • Oral care

    Toothpaste, mouthwash and tooth whitening.

Alerts

Get an email when these rules change.

Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.

Check a productStart a workspace

Free for 10 products. Email alerts from $39 a month. See pricing