Skip to content

Substance group

What counts as Prohibited in cosmetics (Annex II)?

2 markets define Prohibited in cosmetics (Annex II), and they don't all agree. Read each definition below. You tell us if your product contains it; we never guess from its name.

  • Free
  • No account needed
  • The law behind every rule

Group

Definitions

Market
Definition
Listed members
Source
Substances listed in Annex II (list of substances prohibited in cosmetic products); rows are held in the generated list data.
Defined by structure; no member list
“prohibited substances listed in Annex II”
Art. 14(1)(a) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Art. 14(1)(a)(opens in a new tab)
Substances listed in Annex II (list of substances prohibited in cosmetic products); rows are held in the generated list data.
Defined by structure; no member list
“a prohibited substances listed in Annex II;”
Art. 14(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Art. 14(1)(opens in a new tab)

Rules

The rule that uses these definitions

1 rule.

Requirement
Applies when
Effective
Source
BanGB
Prohibited in cosmetics (Annex II) as defined in Great Britain (England, Scotland, Wales)

Banned

Exemptions (1)

Non-intended presence of a small quantity of a prohibited substance that is technically unavoidable in good manufacturing practice is permitted if in conformity with Art. 3

“The non-intended presence of a small quantity of a prohibited substance, stemming from impurities of natural or synthetic ingredients, the manufacturing process, storage, migration from packaging, which is technically unavoidable in good manufacturing practice, shall be permitted provided that such presence is in conformity with Article 3.”
Art. 17 · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Regulation (EC) 1223/2009 as it has effect in Great Britain (legislation.gov.uk eur/2009/1223)(opens in a new tab)

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.

Every product in the category

In force, start date unknown

In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

See also

Related

Alerts

Get an email when these rules change.

Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.

Check a productStart a workspace

Free for 10 products. Email alerts from $39 a month. See pricing