Skip to content

Market

Selling in the European Union?

We track 6,679 rules from 28 laws and lists for consumer goods here, and 12 changes starting in the next 24 months. Type your product to see which apply.

  • Free
  • No account needed
  • The law behind every rule
On this page6

Changes

Upcoming changes

12 changes to 104 rules start in the European Union in the next 24 months.

Industries

Coverage

What we check here for each industry, and from when. Open an industry to see what we cover and what we don't. A law we hold but haven't checked shows as Not checked, with its quote. Anything we don't cover shows as Not covered. Neither is ever clear.

ClaraDB gives a verdict only for PFAS state laws for cookware and bakeware, California Proposition 65 consumer-product warning check for BPA, BPS, formaldehyde, styrene, antimony trioxide, vinyl acetate, lead and cadmium, California Proposition 65 warning check for candles and ceramicware (lead, cadmium, formaldehyde, acetaldehyde, benzene, naphthalene, carbon monoxide, benzo[a]pyrene), US packaging EPR producer size thresholds (California, Colorado, Maryland, Minnesota, Oregon, Washington) for a brand-owning manufacturer, US lead in children's products and furniture (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in toys and child care articles (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in children's products (other) and bags (lead paint and total lead content), US phthalates in children's toys and child care articles (DEHP, DBP, BBP, DINP, DIBP, DPENP, DHEXP, DCHP) and US children's product certificate and tracking label for children's tableware (AI-checked, quotes verified word for word). Every other answer shows the laws and quotes found without saying whether they apply. Not checked: Consumer electronics (FCC equipment authorization, 47 CFR Parts 2 and 15, energy rules). What ClaraDB has checked

Home and kitchen goodsMain sourcesfrom 1 Jan 20257 areas read · 7 not read yet
Sources read
  • food-contact framework (Reg. 1935/2004)
  • plastic food-contact materials (Reg. 10/2011)
  • bisphenols ban (Reg. 2024/3190)
  • ceramics lead/cadmium (Dir. 84/500)
  • PFAS in food-contact packaging (PPWR 2025/40)
  • REACH Annex XVII restrictions affecting home goods
  • General Product Safety Regulation (2023/988)
Not read yet
  • national food-contact rules of member states (e.g. France, Germany, Italy)
  • REACH SVHC candidate-list duties (Art. 33: list not obtainable)
  • Toy Safety and Construction Products rules
  • EU textile labelling
  • ecodesign/ESPR
  • CLP labelling
  • Furniture fire-safety national rules
Cosmetics and personal careMain sourcesfrom 18 May 20266 areas read · 6 not read yet
Sources read
  • Reg. 1223/2009 Annexes II (prohibited)
  • III (restricted)
  • IV (colourants)
  • V (preservatives)
  • VI (UV filters) and Art. 19 labelling
  • Arts. 4 to 13: Responsible Person, safety assessment and safety report (CPSR), product information file (PIF), CPNP notification
Not read yet
  • CLP classification and labelling of cosmetic mixtures
  • REACH Annex XVII entries beyond cosmetics (e.g. microplastics Reg. 2023/2055)
  • national rules (e.g. French recycling labels, German language rules)
  • claims criteria (Reg. 655/2013)
  • packaging law (PPWR)
  • Annex III-VI entries adopted after the stored consolidation
Packaged food and beveragesMain sourcesfrom 19 Aug 20264 areas read · 10 not read yet

Food regulations in their consolidated versions of 18 and 19 Aug 2026 and 1 Jan 2026.

Sources read
  • Reg. 1169/2011 food information (mandatory particulars Art. 9-10, ingredient list and 14 allergens Art. 18-21 and Annex II, nutrition declaration Art. 29-35 and Annex V, date marking Art. 24 and Annex X, net quantity Art. 23, language Art. 15, origin Art. 26)
  • Reg. 1333/2008 food additives (Annex II permitted uses by food category with maximum levels, Annex III)
  • Reg. 2023/915 maximum levels of contaminants
  • Reg. 178/2002 general food law (Art. 17-19 operators and importers)
Not read yet
  • Reg. 1924/2006 nutrition and health claims
  • Reg. 1829/2003 GMO authorisation
  • flavourings (Reg. 1334/2008)
  • novel foods (Reg. 2015/2283)
  • pesticide MRLs (Reg. 396/2005)
  • microbiological criteria (Reg. 2073/2005)
  • vertical product standards (e.g. chocolate, honey, juices)
  • official controls on imports (Reg. 2017/625)
  • national measures of member states
  • food-contact materials (covered under home and kitchen goods)
Consumer electronics and small appliancesMain sourcesfrom 1 Jul 20268 areas read · 7 not read yet
Sources read
  • RoHS Dir. 2011/65 restricted substances and Annex III/IV exemptions
  • WEEE Dir. 2012/19 marking and producer registration (per-Member-State registers not covered by ClaraDB)
  • LVD 2014/35, EMC 2014/30 and RED 2014/53 conformity marking and declaration of conformity
  • common charger Dir. 2022/2380
  • RED delegated Reg. 2022/30 cybersecurity
  • ecodesign and energy labelling for external power supplies (2019/1782), standby (2023/826), displays (2019/2021, 2019/2013) and light sources (2019/2020, 2019/2015)
  • GPSR (covered under home and kitchen goods)
  • Cyber Resilience Act 2024/2847
Not read yet
  • REACH SVHC article duty (candidate list not stored)
  • Battery Reg. 2023/1542 duties (covered under batteries and e-bikes)
  • ecodesign and labelling for vacuum cleaners, space heaters, fans, air conditioners and ovens
  • Machinery Dir. 2006/42 and outdoor noise Dir. 2000/14
  • national WEEE and packaging EPR registers
  • medical devices
  • toys
Batteries, e-bikes and power banksMain sourcesfrom 13 Aug 20264 areas read · 4 not read yet

Regulation (EU) 2023/1542 as consolidated on 13 Aug 2026.

Sources read
  • Reg. 2023/1542 as consolidated 2026-08-13: Annex I Hg, Cd, Pb restrictions, Art. 11 removability and replaceability, Art. 13 and Annex VI labelling, Art. 14 LMT state-of-health data, carbon footprint, passport, due diligence (as amended by 2025/1561), EPR and waste duties as in the text
  • Directive 2006/66 (repealed 2025-08-18) for transitional provisions only
  • Reg. 168/2013 L-category and pedal-assist boundary (Art. 2(2)(h))
  • power banks and battery chargers as electrical equipment: EMC 2014/30, LVD 2014/35, RED 2014/53, RoHS 2011/65 and WEEE 2012/19 duties (the electronics rules applied to these categories)
Not read yet
  • delegated and implementing acts: 2025/606 recycling efficiency, 2025/2289 reporting, the Art. 13 labelling implementing act (not yet adopted), harmonised standards (Decision 2026/2048)
  • for e-bikes and e-scooters: Machinery Directive and EN 15194 / EN 17128 standards (paid)
  • national EPR registers, UN 38.3 and ADR carriage rules
  • enforcement, penalties and market-surveillance articles (Arts. 78 onward), Arts. 19, 21 to 37 (notified bodies), 44 to 46 and the battery-passport data model (Annex XIII) are not covered

Types

Rules by type

What the rules for cosmetics and personal care require. Pick a type to filter the laws below.

Laws

Rules by law

2,826 of 6,679 rules match the industry. Open a law to read its rules.

Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 30 November 2009 on cosmetic products (recast)Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 (consolidated 2026-05-18)2,805 rulesIn force from: 1 Dec 2010Industries: Cosmetics
Requirement
Applies when
Effective
Source
Limit
Methyl Salicylate (Methyl 2-hydroxybenzoate; CAS 119-36-8)

Limit 0.009 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (d) 0,009 %. Field of application: (d) Leave-on hair products (spray/aerosol).

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Leave-on product
  • Applied as a spray

Depends on: rinse off, sprayable

In force since 1 Aug 2026

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Aug 2026

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2026-08-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

From the consolidated text: (d) Leave-on hair products (spray/aerosol) · (d) 0,009 %

Limit
Retinol (CAS 11103-57-4)

Limit 0.05 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (a) 0,05 % Retinol Equivalent (RE) (b) 0,3 % RE. Field of application: (a) Body lotion (b) other leave-on and rinse-off products. Other: For any cosmetic product containing Retinol, Retinyl Acetate or Retinyl Palmitate the following, labelling is obligatory: ‘Contains Vitamin A. Consider your daily intake before use’..

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Body

Depends on: body area

In force since 1 Nov 2025

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Nov 2025

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2025-11-01 and not be made available from 2027-05-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

From the consolidated text: 234-328-2/ 200-683-7 · (a) Body lotion (b) other leave-on and rinse-off products · (a) 0,05 % Retinol Equivalent (RE) (b) 0,3 % RE

Limit
Salicylic acid (Benzoic acid, 2-hydroxy-; CAS 69-72-7)

Limit 2 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (a) 3,0 % (b) 2,0 % (c) 0,5 %. Field of application: (a) Rinse-off hair products (b) Other products except body lotion, eye shadow, mascara, eyeliner, lipstick, roll-on deodorant (c) Body lotion, eye shadow, mascara, eyeliner, lipstick, roll-on deodorant. Other: (a) (b) (c) Not to be used in preparations for children under 3 years of age. Not to be used in applications that may lead to exposure of the end-user’s lungs by inhalation. Not to be used in oral products. For purposes other than inhibiting the development of micro-organisms in the product. This purpose has to be apparent from the presentation of the product. These levels are inclusive of any use of salicylic acid..

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Body

Depends on: body area

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text (consolidation marker M40; the amending act's application date is not printed). In force no later than 2026-05-18 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“(a) 3,0 % (b) 2,0 % (c) 0,5 %”
Annex III entry 98 (v2b) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Limit
Salicylic acid (Benzoic acid, 2-hydroxy-; CAS 69-72-7)

Limit 0.5 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (a) 3,0 % (b) 2,0 % (c) 0,5 %. Field of application: (a) Rinse-off hair products (b) Other products except body lotion, eye shadow, mascara, eyeliner, lipstick, roll-on deodorant (c) Body lotion, eye shadow, mascara, eyeliner, lipstick, roll-on deodorant. Other: (a) (b) (c) Not to be used in preparations for children under 3 years of age. Not to be used in applications that may lead to exposure of the end-user’s lungs by inhalation. Not to be used in oral products. For purposes other than inhibiting the development of micro-organisms in the product. This purpose has to be apparent from the presentation of the product. These levels are inclusive of any use of salicylic acid..

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Body

Depends on: body area

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text (consolidation marker M40; the amending act's application date is not printed). In force no later than 2026-05-18 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“(a) 3,0 % (b) 2,0 % (c) 0,5 %”
Annex III entry 98 (v3c) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Limit
Alpha-Arbutin (4-Hydroxyphenyl-alpha-D-glucopyranoside; CAS 84380-01-8)

Limit 0.5 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (a) 2 % (b) 0,5 %. Field of application: (a) Face cream (b) Body lotion. Other: Hydroquinone levels shall remain as low as possible in formulations containing alpha-Arbutin and shall not be higher than the unavoidable trace level..

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Body

Depends on: body area

In force since 1 Feb 2025

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Feb 2025

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2025-02-01 and not be made available from 2025-11-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

From the consolidated text: 4-Hydroxyphenyl-alpha-D-glucopyranoside (44) · Alpha-Arbutin · 84380-01-8 · 617-561-8 · (a) Face cream (b) Body lotion · (a) 2 % (b) 0,5 %

Limit
Ethoxydiglycol (CAS 111-90-0)

Limit 2.6 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (e) 2,6 %. Field of application: (e) The following spray products: fine fragrances, hair sprays, antiperspirants and deodorants.

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied as a spray

Depends on: sprayable

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text (consolidation marker C3; the amending act's application date is not printed). In force no later than 2026-05-18 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the consolidated text: (e) The following spray products: fine fragrances, hair sprays, antiperspirants and deodorants · (e) 2,6 %

Limit
Methyl Salicylate (Methyl 2-hydroxybenzoate; CAS 119-36-8)

Limit 0.65 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (n) 0,65 %. Field of application: (n) Mouth spray.

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied as a spray

Depends on: sprayable

In force since 1 Aug 2026

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Aug 2026

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2026-08-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

From the consolidated text: (n) Mouth spray · (n) 0,65 %

Limit
Methyl Salicylate (Methyl 2-hydroxybenzoate; CAS 119-36-8)

Limit 0.003 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (e) 0,003 %. Field of application: (e) Deodorant spray/aerosol.

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied as a spray

Depends on: sprayable

In force since 1 Aug 2026

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Aug 2026

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2026-08-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

From the consolidated text: (e) Deodorant spray/aerosol · (e) 0,003 %

Limit
Titanium Dioxide (CAS 13463-67-7)

Limit 1.4 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (a) 25 %; (b) 1,4 % for general consumers, and 1.1 % for professional use.. Field of application: (a) face products in loose powder form (b) hair aerosol spray products (c) other products. Other: (a) (b) Only in the pigmentary form (c) Not to be used in applications that may lead to exposure of the end-user’s lungs by inhalation.

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied as a spray

Depends on: sprayable

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text (consolidation marker M40; the amending act's application date is not printed). In force no later than 2026-05-18 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“(a) 25 %; (b) 1,4 % for general consumers, and 1.1 % for professional use.”
Annex III entry 321 (v2b) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Limit
Ethyl Lauroyl Arginate HCl (Ethyl-N-alpha-dodecanoyl-L-arginate hydrochloride; CAS 60372-77-2)

Limit 0.8 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: 0,8 %. Field of application: (a) soap (b) anti-dandruff shampoos (c) deodorants, not in form of spray. Other: For purposes other than inhibiting the development of micro-organisms in the product. This purpose has to be apparent from the presentation of the product.

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied as a spray

Depends on: sprayable

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text (consolidation marker M1; the amending act's application date is not printed). In force no later than 2026-05-18 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the consolidated text: Ethyl Lauroyl Arginate HCl · 60372-77-2 · 434-630-6 · (a) soap (b) anti-dandruff shampoos (c) deodorants, not in form of spray · 0,8 %

Limit
Octocrylene (2-Cyano-3,3-diphenyl acrylic acid, 2- ethylhexyl ester/Octocrylene; CAS 6197-30-4)

Limit 9 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: a) 9 % b) 10 %. Field of application: a) Propellant spray products b) Other products.

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied as a spray

Depends on: sprayable

In force since 29 Jan 2023

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 29 Jan 2023

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2023-01-29. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

From the consolidated text: Octocrylene · 6197-30-4 · 228-250-8 · a) Propellant spray products b) Other products · a) 9 % b) 10 %

Limit
Thimerosal (Thiomersal; CAS 54-64-8)

Limit 0.007 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: 0,007 % (of Hg) If mixed with other mercurial compounds authorised by this Regulation, the maximum concentration of Hg remains fixed at 0,007 %. Field of application: Eye products.

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Eye area

Depends on: body area

In force since 11 Jul 2013

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 11 Jul 2013

No row-level date in the consolidated text for this entry; it applies from the Regulation's application date (Art. 40: 11 July 2013). Later amendments (the ▼M markers) are not dated row by row in the text.

“0,007 % (of Hg) If mixed with other mercurial compounds authorised by this Regulation, the maximum concentration of Hg remains fixed at 0,007 %”
Annex V entry 16 · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Limit
Phenyl Mercuric Acetate (Phenylmercuric salts (including borate); CAS 62-38-4)

Limit 0.007 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: 0,007 % (of Hg) If mixed with other mercurial compounds authorised by this Regulation, the maximum concentration of Hg remains fixed at 0,007 %. Field of application: Eye products.

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Eye area

Depends on: body area

In force since 11 Jul 2013

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 11 Jul 2013

No row-level date in the consolidated text for this entry; it applies from the Regulation's application date (Art. 40: 11 July 2013). Later amendments (the ▼M markers) are not dated row by row in the text.

“0,007 % (of Hg) If mixed with other mercurial compounds authorised by this Regulation, the maximum concentration of Hg remains fixed at 0,007 %”
Annex V entry 17 · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Limit
Methyl Salicylate (Methyl 2-hydroxybenzoate; CAS 119-36-8)

Limit 0.05 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (b) 0,05 %. Field of application: (b) Face makeup (except lip products, eye makeup and makeup remover).

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Lips

Depends on: body area

In force since 1 Aug 2026

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Aug 2026

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2026-08-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

From the consolidated text: (b) Face makeup (except lip products, eye makeup and makeup remover) · (b) 0,05 %

Limit
Methyl Salicylate (Methyl 2-hydroxybenzoate; CAS 119-36-8)

Limit 0.03 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (j) 0,03 %. Field of application: (j) Lip products.

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Lips

Depends on: body area

In force since 1 Aug 2026

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Aug 2026

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2026-08-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

From the consolidated text: (j) Lip products · (j) 0,03 %

Limit
Silver (CAS 7440-22-4)

Limit 0.2 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: For (a) and (b): 0,2 %. Field of application: (a) Lip products (b) Eye shadow.

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Lips

Depends on: body area

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text (consolidation marker M53; the amending act's application date is not printed). In force no later than 2026-05-18 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the consolidated text: 77820 · 7440-22-4 · 231-131-3 · White · (a) Lip products (b) Eye shadow · For (a) and (b): 0,2 %

Limit
Ethoxydiglycol (CAS 111-90-0)

Limit 2.6 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (d) 2,6 %. Field of application: (d) Other non-spray cosmetic products.

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Not applied as a spray

Depends on: sprayable

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text (consolidation marker C3; the amending act's application date is not printed). In force no later than 2026-05-18 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the consolidated text: (d) Other non-spray cosmetic products · (d) 2,6 %

Limit
Triclosan (5-Chloro-2- (2,4- dichlorophenoxy) phenol; CAS 3380-34-5)

Limit 0.3 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: 0,3 %. Field of application: Toothpastes; Hand soaps; Body soaps/Shower gels; Deodorants (non-spray); Face powders and blemish concealers; Nail products for cleaning the fingernails and toenails before the application of artificial nail systems;. Other: Not to be used in toothpaste intended for children under 3 years of age..

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Not applied as a spray

Depends on: sprayable

In force since 1 Jan 2025

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2025

Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2025-01-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).

Limit x 89

89 rules from Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 on cosmetic products, Annexes II-VI (consolidated)

Limit 1 % (content basis)

Show targets (40 of 89)

The remaining targets are listed on the substances page.

  • Type of hair dye: Non-oxidative (semi-permanent or temporary)

Depends on: hair dye type

Dates run from 3 Sep 2017 to 18 May 2026

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: Hydroxyethyl-2-Nitro-p-Toluidine (2-(4-Methyl-2-nitroanilino)ethanol; CAS 100418-33-5)

From the consolidated text: (b) Hair dye substance in non-oxidative hair dye products · (b) 1,0 %

Limit x 85

85 rules from Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 on cosmetic products, Annexes II-VI (consolidated)

Limit 1 % (content basis)

Show targets (40 of 85)

The remaining targets are listed on the substances page.

  • Type of hair dye: Oxidative

Depends on: hair dye type

Dates run from 11 Jul 2013 to 18 May 2026

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: Hydroxyethyl-2-Nitro-p-Toluidine (2-(4-Methyl-2-nitroanilino)ethanol; CAS 100418-33-5)

“(a) After mixing under oxidative conditions the maximum concentration applied to hair must not exceed 1,0 % For (a) and (b): — Do not use”
Annex III entry 221 (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Limit
Strontium chloride (Strontium chloride hexahydrate; CAS 10476-85-4)

Limit 2.1 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: 2,1 % (as strontium). When mixed with other permitted strontium compounds the total strontium content must not exceed 2,1 %. Field of application: (b) Shampoo and face products.

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Face

Depends on: body area

In force since 11 Jul 2013

Applies to products placed on the market on or after 11 Jul 2013

No row-level date in the consolidated text for this entry; it applies from the Regulation's application date (Art. 40: 11 July 2013). Later amendments (the ▼M markers) are not dated row by row in the text.

“2,1 % (as strontium). When mixed with other permitted strontium compounds the total strontium content must not exceed 2,1 %”
Annex III entry 57 (l1) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Limit
Titanium Dioxide (CAS 13463-67-7)

Limit 25 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (a) 25 %; (b) 1,4 % for general consumers, and 1.1 % for professional use.. Field of application: (a) face products in loose powder form (b) hair aerosol spray products (c) other products. Other: (a) (b) Only in the pigmentary form (c) Not to be used in applications that may lead to exposure of the end-user’s lungs by inhalation.

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Applied to: Face

Depends on: body area

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text (consolidation marker M40; the amending act's application date is not printed). In force no later than 2026-05-18 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“(a) 25 %; (b) 1,4 % for general consumers, and 1.1 % for professional use.”
Annex III entry 321 (v1a) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Limit x 18

18 rules from Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 on cosmetic products, Annexes II-VI (consolidated)

Limit 2 % (content basis)

Show targets (18 of 18)
  • For professional use only

Depends on: professional use

Dates run from 11 Jul 2013 to 18 May 2026

Each rule has its own date; open a target.

Example: p-Phenylenediamine (p-Phenylenediamine and its salts; CAS 106-50-3)

“After mixing under oxidative conditions the maximum concentration applied to eyelashes must not exceed 2 % calculated as free base For professional use only.”
Annex III entry 8b · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Limit
Cetrimonium chloride (C16-alkyltrimethylammonium chloride; CAS 112-02-7)

Limit 0.5 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (c) 0,5 % for the individual concentrations or the sum of the individual concentrations of cetrimonium chloride and steartrimonium chloride. Field of application: (c) Leave-on face products.

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Leave-on product
  • Applied to: Face

Depends on: rinse off, body area

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text (consolidation marker C2; the amending act's application date is not printed). In force no later than 2026-05-18 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

From the consolidated text: (c) Leave-on face products · (c) 0,5 % for the individual concentrations or the sum of the individual concentrations of cetrimonium chloride and steartrimonium chloride

Limit
Behentrimonium chloride (C22-alkyltrimethylammonium chloride; CAS 17301-53-0)

Limit 3 % (content basis)

In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (c) 3,0 % for the individual concentration of behentrimonium chloride or the sum of the individual concentrations of cetrimonium chloride, steartrimonium chloride and behentrimonium chloride, while at the same time respecting the relevant maximum concentration for the sum of cetrimonium chloride and steartrimonium chloride set out in entry 286.. Field of application: (c) Leave-on face products.

The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).

Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.

  • Leave-on product
  • Applied to: Face

Depends on: rinse off, body area

In force, start date unknown

No date for this row is stated in the published text (consolidation marker C2; the amending act's application date is not printed). In force no later than 2026-05-18 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.

“(c) 3,0 % for the individual concentration of behentrimonium chloride or the sum of the individual concentrations of cetrimonium chloride, steartrimonium chloride and behentrimonium chloride, while at the same time respecting the relevant maximum concentration for the sum of cetrimonium chloride and steartrimonium chloride set out in entry 286.”
Annex III entry 287 (l2) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)

Categories

Categories with rules

The product categories with the most rules here, sub-categories included.

Sources

Sources

Where the rules come from, and when we last checked each source.

Show 31 more

Alerts

Get an email when these rules change.

Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.

Check a productStart a workspace

Free for 10 products. Email alerts from $39 a month. See pricing