Market
Selling in Maryland?
We track 33 rules from 6 laws and lists for consumer goods here. Type your product to see which apply.
- Free
- No account needed
- The law behind every rule
Changes
Upcoming changes
Rules here that start in the next 24 months, or are proposed or on hold.
No dated changes in the next 24 months
No rule for Maryland starts in the next 24 months, and none is proposed or on hold.
Industries
Coverage
What we check here for each industry, and from when. Open an industry to see what we cover and what we don't. A law we hold but haven't checked shows as Not checked, with its quote. Anything we don't cover shows as Not covered. Neither is ever clear.
ClaraDB gives a verdict only for PFAS state laws for cookware and bakeware, California Proposition 65 consumer-product warning check for BPA, BPS, formaldehyde, styrene, antimony trioxide, vinyl acetate, lead and cadmium, California Proposition 65 warning check for candles and ceramicware (lead, cadmium, formaldehyde, acetaldehyde, benzene, naphthalene, carbon monoxide, benzo[a]pyrene), US packaging EPR producer size thresholds (California, Colorado, Maryland, Minnesota, Oregon, Washington) for a brand-owning manufacturer, US lead in children's products and furniture (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in toys and child care articles (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in children's products (other) and bags (lead paint and total lead content), US phthalates in children's toys and child care articles (DEHP, DBP, BBP, DINP, DIBP, DPENP, DHEXP, DCHP) and US children's product certificate and tracking label for children's tableware (AI-checked, quotes verified word for word). Every other answer shows the laws and quotes found without saying whether they apply. Not checked: Consumer electronics (FCC equipment authorization, 47 CFR Parts 2 and 15, energy rules). What ClaraDB has checked
Home and kitchen goodsMain sourcesfrom 1 Jan 20251 area read · 1 not read yet
- PFAS in rugs, carpets and food packaging (Env. 6-1601, 9-1902)
- Other state chemical and product-safety laws for home and kitchen goods (not yet reviewed)
Cosmetics and personal careMain sourcesfrom 1 Jan 20252 not read yet
Cosmetics ingredient bans are not covered.
- PFAS in cosmetics (HB 643 of 2022)
- Unverified
Packaged food and beveragesMain sources
Maryland (US state): main sources stored. Not stored: other rules that may apply.
Consumer electronics and small appliancesMain sources
Maryland (US state): main sources stored. Not stored: other rules that may apply.
Batteries, e-bikes and power banksMain sources
Maryland (US state): main sources stored. Not stored: other rules that may apply.
- Also bound by
Types
Rules by type
What the rules for home and kitchen goods require. Pick a type to filter the laws below.
Laws
Rules by law
9 of 33 rules match the industry. Open a law to read its rules.
Banned
Penalty
A civil penalty of up to $1,000 for each violation, not exceeding $10,000 in total for any action; each package or packaging component in violation is a separate violation.
“shall be liable to the State for a civil penalty of up to $1,000 for each violation, but not exceeding a total of $10,000 for any action.”
Official text, current to 23 Oct 2026. Maryland General Assembly's current enacted text from its Statute Text pages, one page per section.
- Food-contact product
Depends on: whether the product touches food
In force since 1 Jan 2024
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2024
“may not manufacture or knowingly sell, offer for sale, or distribute for sale or use in the State a food package or food packaging component designed and intended for direct food contact to which PFAS chemicals were intentionally added”
Food packages and food packaging components sold or distributed for use in Maryland: the manufacturer's certificate of compliance with the PFAS prohibition.
Declaration required
A certificate of compliance, established by the manufacturer of the food package or packaging component (including a person that sells it to a distributor), attesting that it complies with the prohibition on intentionally added PFAS chemicals.
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Penalty
A civil penalty of up to $1,000 for each violation, not exceeding $10,000 in total for any action; each package or packaging component in violation is a separate violation.
“shall be liable to the State for a civil penalty of up to $1,000 for each violation, but not exceeding a total of $10,000 for any action.”
Official text, current to 23 Oct 2026. Maryland General Assembly's current enacted text from its Statute Text pages, one page per section.
- Food-contact product
- Your role: Manufacturer
Depends on: whether the product touches food, economic operator role
In force, start date unknown
The statute states no separate start date for the certificate; the date shown is the start date of the prohibition the certificate attests to.
“A manufacturer that manufactures, sells, offers for sale, or distributes for use in the State a food package or food packaging component shall establish a certificate of compliance”
The product's package and packaging components have no intentionally added lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium, and the four together are at most 100 ppm
Must meet the conditions of Toxics in packaging: on or after July 1, 1993 a manufacturer or distributor may not sell or offer for sale or for promotional purposes in Maryland any product in a package or packaging component to which lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium was intentionally added during manufacture or distribution (9-1902(a)); the four incidentally present in a package or packaging component may not exceed 100 ppm by weight by July 1, 1995 (9-1902(b)(3)).
Exemptions (1)
A regulated metal added to comply with a federal health or safety requirement, on a 2-year conditional exemption the Department grants
“(1) In order to comply with a health or safety requirement of federal law, lead, cadmium, mercury, or hexavalent chromium have been added to the package or packaging component in the manufacturing, forming, printing, or distribution process; or”
Official text, current to 23 Oct 2026. Maryland General Assembly's current enacted text from its Statute Text pages, one page per section.
- You offer the product in Maryland in a package (Env. 9-1902(a): "any product in a package or packaging component"); a product sold with no packaging has nothing to comply
In force since 1 Jul 1993
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jul 1993
9-1902(a): "on or after July 1, 1993"; 100 ppm total by July 1, 1995 (9-1902(b)(3)).
“(a) Except as provided in §§ 9–1903 and 9–1904 of this subtitle, on or after July 1, 1993, a manufacturer or distributor may not sell or offer for sale or for promotional purposes any package or packaging component or any product in a package or packaging component to which any of the following was intentionally added during manufacture or distribution:”
- BanPFAS as defined in Maryland (US state)
Banned
Penalty
A civil penalty of up to $1,000 for each violation, not exceeding $10,000 in total for any action; each package or packaging component in violation is a separate violation.
“shall be liable to the State for a civil penalty of up to $1,000 for each violation, but not exceeding a total of $10,000 for any action.”
Env. §9-1906(a)(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-23Maryland General Assembly (Statute Text): Md. Code, Env. §9-1902(d)(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 23 Oct 2026. Maryland General Assembly's current enacted text from its Statute Text pages, one page per section.
- Applies when
- Food-contact product
Depends on: whether the product touches food
- Effective
In force since 1 Jan 2024
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2024
- Source
“may not manufacture or knowingly sell, offer for sale, or distribute for sale or use in the State a food package or food packaging component designed and intended for direct food contact to which PFAS chemicals were intentionally added”
Env. §9-1902(d) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-23Maryland General Assembly (Statute Text): Md. Code, Env. §9-1902(d)(opens in a new tab)
- Declaration
Food packages and food packaging components sold or distributed for use in Maryland: the manufacturer's certificate of compliance with the PFAS prohibition.
Declaration required
A certificate of compliance, established by the manufacturer of the food package or packaging component (including a person that sells it to a distributor), attesting that it complies with the prohibition on intentionally added PFAS chemicals.
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Penalty
A civil penalty of up to $1,000 for each violation, not exceeding $10,000 in total for any action; each package or packaging component in violation is a separate violation.
“shall be liable to the State for a civil penalty of up to $1,000 for each violation, but not exceeding a total of $10,000 for any action.”
Env. §9-1906(a)(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-23Maryland General Assembly (Statute Text): Md. Code, Env. §9-1905(c)(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 23 Oct 2026. Maryland General Assembly's current enacted text from its Statute Text pages, one page per section.
- Applies when
- Food-contact product
- Your role: Manufacturer
Depends on: whether the product touches food, economic operator role
- Effective
In force, start date unknown
The statute states no separate start date for the certificate; the date shown is the start date of the prohibition the certificate attests to.
- Source
“A manufacturer that manufactures, sells, offers for sale, or distributes for use in the State a food package or food packaging component shall establish a certificate of compliance”
Env. §9-1905(c)(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-23Maryland General Assembly (Statute Text): Md. Code, Env. §9-1905(c)(opens in a new tab)
- Conformity
The product's package and packaging components have no intentionally added lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium, and the four together are at most 100 ppm
Must meet the conditions of Toxics in packaging: on or after July 1, 1993 a manufacturer or distributor may not sell or offer for sale or for promotional purposes in Maryland any product in a package or packaging component to which lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium was intentionally added during manufacture or distribution (9-1902(a)); the four incidentally present in a package or packaging component may not exceed 100 ppm by weight by July 1, 1995 (9-1902(b)(3)).
Exemptions (1)
A regulated metal added to comply with a federal health or safety requirement, on a 2-year conditional exemption the Department grants
“(1) In order to comply with a health or safety requirement of federal law, lead, cadmium, mercury, or hexavalent chromium have been added to the package or packaging component in the manufacturing, forming, printing, or distribution process; or”
Env. §9-1904(b)(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-23Maryland General Assembly (Statute Text): Md. Code, Env. §9-1902(a), (b)(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 23 Oct 2026. Maryland General Assembly's current enacted text from its Statute Text pages, one page per section.
- Applies when
- You offer the product in Maryland in a package (Env. 9-1902(a): "any product in a package or packaging component"); a product sold with no packaging has nothing to comply
- Effective
In force since 1 Jul 1993
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jul 1993
9-1902(a): "on or after July 1, 1993"; 100 ppm total by July 1, 1995 (9-1902(b)(3)).
- Source
“(a) Except as provided in §§ 9–1903 and 9–1904 of this subtitle, on or after July 1, 1993, a manufacturer or distributor may not sell or offer for sale or for promotional purposes any package or packaging component or any product in a package or packaging component to which any of the following was intentionally added during manufacture or distribution:”
Env. §9-1902(a) · fetched 2026-10-23Maryland General Assembly (Statute Text): Md. Code, Env. §9-1902(a), (b)(opens in a new tab)
Categories
Categories with rules
The product categories with the most rules here, sub-categories included.
Sources
Sources
Where the rules come from, and when we last checked each source.
- Maryland Commercial Law 2-316.1 (consumer goods and services: exclusion or modification of implied warranties unenforceable)(opens in a new tab)Maryland General Assembly (Department of Legislative Services) · Statute (web page)Updates: on changeLast checked: Checked
- Maryland Code, Environment Article 6-1202 (pentaBDE and octaBDE in new products)(opens in a new tab)Maryland General Assembly (Department of Legislative Services) · Statute (web page)Updates: on changeLast checked: Checked
- Maryland Code, Environment 6-1601 to 6-1605 incl. 6-1604.1, PFAS chemicals (George "Walter" Taylor Act; 2022 ch. 152/153, 2023 ch. 139): Class B foam, PPE notice, rugs and carpets(opens in a new tab)Maryland General Assembly (Statute Text) · Statute (web page)Updates: on changeLast checked: Checked
- Maryland Code, Environment 6-16A-01 to 6-16A-05, playground surfacing materials (PFAS and lead; 2024 ch. 488, HB 1147)(opens in a new tab)Maryland General Assembly (Statute Text) · Statute (web page)Updates: on changeLast checked: Checked
- Maryland Code, Environment 9-1901 to 9-1907, packaging (9-1902(d): PFAS in food packaging)(opens in a new tab)Maryland General Assembly (Statute Text) · Statute (web page)Updates: on changeLast checked: Checked
Show 2 more
- Maryland Environment Article, Title 9, Subtitle 25: Packaging and paper products producer responsibility (2025 Ch. 431, SB 901)(opens in a new tab)Maryland General Assembly (Department of Legislative Services) · Statute (web page)Updates: on changeLast checked: Checked
- Maryland Health-General 21-259.2 cosmetic product ingredient prohibition (incl. PFAS, formaldehyde, mercury, phthalates)(opens in a new tab)Maryland General Assembly (mgaleg) · Statute (web page)Updates: on changeLast checked: Checked
Alerts
Get an email when these rules change.
Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.