Substance group
What counts as Phenol, bisphenol A and p-tert-butylphenol…?
Only South Korea defines Phenol, bisphenol A and p-tert-butylphenol (sum) in its law. Read the definition below. You tell us if your product contains it; we never guess from its name.
- Free
- No account needed
- The law behind every rule
Group
Definitions
“비스페놀 A 이하 2.5 (페놀, 비스페놀 A 및 (다만, 비스페놀 A는 0.6 이하) p-터셔리부틸페놀의 합)”
- Definition
- Sum of phenol, bisphenol A and p-tert-butylphenol migrating from polycarbonate; within it bisphenol A alone must not exceed 0.6 mg/L
- Listed members
- Phenol, Bisphenol A (BPA), p-tert-Butylphenol
- Source
“비스페놀 A 이하 2.5 (페놀, 비스페놀 A 및 (다만, 비스페놀 A는 0.6 이하) p-터셔리부틸페놀의 합)”
Ⅴ. 1. 1-5 차. 3) · fetched 2026-10-08Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center: Ⅴ. 1. 1-5 차. 3)(opens in a new tab)
Rules
The rule that uses this definition
1 rule.
Limit 2.5 mg/L (migration basis)
Ⅵ. 2. 2-35 비스페놀 A(페놀 및 p-터셔리부틸페놀 포함) 시험법
Official text, current to 27 Mar 2026. MFDS notice 2026-24 (발령 2026-03-27) full text from the law.go.kr attachment.
- Food-contact product
- Material: Polycarbonate (PC)
Depends on: whether the product touches food, materials
In force under the consolidated notice effective 27 Mar 2026; earlier versions are not in our data
Applies to products manufactured on or after 27 Mar 2026
Notice 2026-24 in force from 2026-03-27 (시행일자 20260327); applies to articles first manufactured, processed or imported (by shipment date) after enforcement (부칙 제2조). Earlier effective dates of unchanged provisions are not stated in the law text.
“비스페놀 A 이하 2.5 (페놀, 비스페놀 A 및 (다만, 비스페놀 A는 0.6 이하) p-터셔리부틸페놀의 합)”
- LimitKRPhenol, bisphenol A and p-tert-butylphenol (sum) as defined in South Korea
Limit 2.5 mg/L (migration basis)
Ⅵ. 2. 2-35 비스페놀 A(페놀 및 p-터셔리부틸페놀 포함) 시험법
Official text, current to 27 Mar 2026. MFDS notice 2026-24 (발령 2026-03-27) full text from the law.go.kr attachment.
- Applies when
- Food-contact product
- Material: Polycarbonate (PC)
Depends on: whether the product touches food, materials
- Effective
In force under the consolidated notice effective 27 Mar 2026; earlier versions are not in our data
Applies to products manufactured on or after 27 Mar 2026
Notice 2026-24 in force from 2026-03-27 (시행일자 20260327); applies to articles first manufactured, processed or imported (by shipment date) after enforcement (부칙 제2조). Earlier effective dates of unchanged provisions are not stated in the law text.
- Source
“비스페놀 A 이하 2.5 (페놀, 비스페놀 A 및 (다만, 비스페놀 A는 0.6 이하) p-터셔리부틸페놀의 합)”
Ⅴ. 1. 1-2 차. 3) 용출규격 · fetched 2026-10-08Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center: 식품의약품안전처 고시 제2026-24호 (2026-03-27), 식품위생법 제9조제1항(opens in a new tab)
See also
Related
- Check a product
Tell us if Phenol, bisphenol A and p-tert-butylphenol (sum) is in your product and see what applies where you sell.
- Markets and sources
When our coverage starts in every market.
- Upcoming changes
Rule changes that start in the next 24 months.
Alerts
Get an email when these rules change.
Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.