Substance group
What counts as Butylparaben and propylparaben (sum)?
2 markets define Butylparaben and propylparaben (sum), and they don't all agree. Read each definition below. You tell us if your product contains it; we never guess from its name.
- Free
- No account needed
- The law behind every rule
Group
Definitions
“Butyl 4-hydroxybenzoate and its salts Propyl 4-hydroxybenzoate and its salts”
“Butyl 4-hydroxybenzoate and its salts Propyl 4-hydroxybenzoate and its salts”
- Definition
- Butyl 4-hydroxybenzoate and propyl 4-hydroxybenzoate and their salts (Annex V entry 12a): the 0.14 % limit applies to the sum of the individual concentrations
- Listed members
- Butyl 4-hydroxybenzoate and its salts Propyl 4-hydroxybenzoate and its salts, Propylparaben, Sodium propylparaben, Sodium butylparaben, Potassium butylparaben, Potassium propylparaben
- Source
“Butyl 4-hydroxybenzoate and its salts Propyl 4-hydroxybenzoate and its salts”
Annex V entry 12a (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Annex V entry 12a(opens in a new tab)
- Definition
- Butyl 4-hydroxybenzoate and propyl 4-hydroxybenzoate and their salts (Annex V entry 12a): the 0.14 % limit applies to the sum of the individual concentrations
- Listed members
- Butyl 4-hydroxybenzoate and its salts Propyl 4-hydroxybenzoate and its salts, Propylparaben, Sodium propylparaben, Sodium butylparaben, Potassium butylparaben, Potassium propylparaben
- Source
“Butyl 4-hydroxybenzoate and its salts Propyl 4-hydroxybenzoate and its salts”
Annex V entry 12a (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Annex V entry 12a(opens in a new tab)
Rules
Rules that use these definitions
2 rules.
Limit 0.14 % (content basis)
Sum of the individual concentrations (as acid). Cell: 0,14 % (as acid) for the sum of the individual concentrations 0,8 % (as acid) for mixtures of substances mentioned in entry 12 and 12a, where the sum of the individual concentrations of butyl- and propylparaben and their salts does not exceed 0,14 %
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
Every product in the category
In force, start date unknown
No date for this row is stated in the published text (consolidation marker M8; the amending act's application date is not printed). In force no later than 2026-05-18 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.
“0,14 % (as acid) for the sum of the individual concentrations 0,8 % (as acid) for mixtures of substances mentioned in entry 12 and 12a,”
Limit 0.14 % (content basis)
Sum of the individual concentrations (as acid). Cell: 0,14 % (as acid) for the sum of the individual concentrations 0,8 % (as acid) for mixtures of substances mentioned in entry 12 and 12a, where the sum of the individual concentrations of butyl- and propylparaben and their salts does not exceed 0,14 %
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.
Every product in the category
In force, start date unknown
No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.
“0,14 % (as acid) for the sum of the individual concentrations 0,8 % (as acid) for mixtures of substances mentioned in entry 12 and 12a,”
- LimitEUButylparaben and propylparaben (sum) as defined in European Union
Limit 0.14 % (content basis)
Sum of the individual concentrations (as acid). Cell: 0,14 % (as acid) for the sum of the individual concentrations 0,8 % (as acid) for mixtures of substances mentioned in entry 12 and 12a, where the sum of the individual concentrations of butyl- and propylparaben and their salts does not exceed 0,14 %
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applies when
Every product in the category
- Effective
In force, start date unknown
No date for this row is stated in the published text (consolidation marker M8; the amending act's application date is not printed). In force no later than 2026-05-18 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.
- Source
“0,14 % (as acid) for the sum of the individual concentrations 0,8 % (as acid) for mixtures of substances mentioned in entry 12 and 12a,”
Annex V entry 12a (sum) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-09European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
- LimitGBButylparaben and propylparaben (sum) as defined in Great Britain (England, Scotland, Wales)
Limit 0.14 % (content basis)
Sum of the individual concentrations (as acid). Cell: 0,14 % (as acid) for the sum of the individual concentrations 0,8 % (as acid) for mixtures of substances mentioned in entry 12 and 12a, where the sum of the individual concentrations of butyl- and propylparaben and their salts does not exceed 0,14 %
The start date is not stated in the text (date unknown).
Official text, current to 15 Aug 2026. legislation.gov.uk revised version (The National Archives), current when read: this version applies from 2026-08-15, last updated 2026-08-19.
- Applies when
Every product in the category
- Effective
In force, start date unknown
No date for this row is stated in the published text. In force no later than 2026-08-19 (the date of the version ClaraDB holds); earlier commencement is not stated in the published text.
- Source
“0,14 % (as acid) for the sum of the individual concentrations 0,8 % (as acid) for mixtures of substances mentioned in entry 12 and 12a,”
Annex V entry 12a (sum) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-10The National Archives (legislation.gov.uk): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 (retained) Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
See also
Related
- Check a product
Tell us if Butylparaben and propylparaben (sum) is in your product and see what applies where you sell.
- Markets and sources
When our coverage starts in every market.
- Upcoming changes
Rule changes that start in the next 24 months.
Alerts
Get an email when these rules change.
Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.