Skip to content

Substance group

What counts as Lead, cadmium, mercury and hexavalent…?

Only South Korea defines Lead, cadmium, mercury and hexavalent chromium (sum) in its law. Read the definition below. You tell us if your product contains it; we never guess from its name.

  • Free
  • No account needed
  • The law behind every rule

Group

Definitions

Market
Definition
Listed members
Source
Sum of lead, cadmium, mercury and hexavalent chromium in the material of synthetic-resin, processed-cellulose, paper and starch utensils, containers and packaging
Lead, Cadmium, Mercury, Hexavalent chromium
“납, 카드뮴, 수은 및 6가크롬의 합이 100 mg/kg 이하이어야 하며”
Ⅱ. 3. 다. · fetched 2026-10-08Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center: Ⅱ. 3. 다.(opens in a new tab)

Rules

The rule that uses this definition

1 rule.

Requirement
Applies when
Effective
Source
LimitKR
Lead, cadmium, mercury and hexavalent chromium (sum) as defined in South Korea

Limit 100 mg/kg (content basis)

Ⅵ. 2. 2-1, 2-2, 2-3, 2-4 residue tests

Official text, current to 27 Mar 2026. MFDS notice 2026-24 (발령 2026-03-27) full text from the law.go.kr attachment.

  • Food-contact product
  • Material: Fluoropolymer coating (PTFE and similar) or Melamine resin or Paper or board or Plastic (type not stated) or ABS or Acrylic (PMMA) or Copolyester or Ethylene-vinyl acetate (EVA) or Fluoropolymer (PTFE, PFA, FEP) or Other plastic (not listed) or Polyamide (nylon, PA) or Polycarbonate (PC) or Polyethylene (PE) or PET or Polypropylene (PP) or Polystyrene (PS) or PVC

Depends on: whether the product touches food, coating type

In force under the consolidated notice effective 27 Mar 2026; earlier versions are not in our data

Applies to products manufactured on or after 27 Mar 2026

Notice 2026-24 in force from 2026-03-27 (시행일자 20260327); applies to articles first manufactured, processed or imported (by shipment date) after enforcement (부칙 제2조). Earlier effective dates of unchanged provisions are not stated in the law text.

“합성수지제, 가공셀룰로스제, 종이제, 전분제 기구 및 용기 포장에 사용하는 재질 · 은 납, 카드뮴, 수은 및 6가크롬의 합이 100 mg/kg 이하이어야 하며”
Ⅱ. 3. 다 · fetched 2026-10-08Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center: 식품의약품안전처 고시 제2026-24호 (2026-03-27), 식품위생법 제9조제1항(opens in a new tab)
  • LimitKR
    Lead, cadmium, mercury and hexavalent chromium (sum) as defined in South Korea

    Limit 100 mg/kg (content basis)

    Ⅵ. 2. 2-1, 2-2, 2-3, 2-4 residue tests

    Official text, current to 27 Mar 2026. MFDS notice 2026-24 (발령 2026-03-27) full text from the law.go.kr attachment.

    Applies when
    • Food-contact product
    • Material: Fluoropolymer coating (PTFE and similar) or Melamine resin or Paper or board or Plastic (type not stated) or ABS or Acrylic (PMMA) or Copolyester or Ethylene-vinyl acetate (EVA) or Fluoropolymer (PTFE, PFA, FEP) or Other plastic (not listed) or Polyamide (nylon, PA) or Polycarbonate (PC) or Polyethylene (PE) or PET or Polypropylene (PP) or Polystyrene (PS) or PVC

    Depends on: whether the product touches food, coating type

    Effective

    In force under the consolidated notice effective 27 Mar 2026; earlier versions are not in our data

    Applies to products manufactured on or after 27 Mar 2026

    Notice 2026-24 in force from 2026-03-27 (시행일자 20260327); applies to articles first manufactured, processed or imported (by shipment date) after enforcement (부칙 제2조). Earlier effective dates of unchanged provisions are not stated in the law text.

    Source
    “합성수지제, 가공셀룰로스제, 종이제, 전분제 기구 및 용기 포장에 사용하는 재질 · 은 납, 카드뮴, 수은 및 6가크롬의 합이 100 mg/kg 이하이어야 하며”
    Ⅱ. 3. 다 · fetched 2026-10-08Ministry of Food and Drug Safety / National Law Information Center: 식품의약품안전처 고시 제2026-24호 (2026-03-27), 식품위생법 제9조제1항(opens in a new tab)

See also

Related

  • Check a product

    Tell us if Lead, cadmium, mercury and hexavalent chromium (sum) is in your product and see what applies where you sell.

  • Markets and sources

    When our coverage starts in every market.

  • Upcoming changes

    Rule changes that start in the next 24 months.

Alerts

Get an email when these rules change.

Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.

Check a productStart a workspace

Free for 10 products. Email alerts from $39 a month. See pricing