Cosmetics and personal care
Which rules apply to fragrance?
We track 6,776 rules for these in 20 of 21 markets, including California's Prop 65 list of 883 chemicals. Check your product free, no account needed.
- Free
- No account needed
- The law behind every rule
Cosmetics and personal care / Fragrance
Perfumes, eaux de toilette and body sprays.
Rules
Rules by market
Open a market to read its rules for this category.
Main sources, from 1 Jan 2025 · What is covered
Illinois (US state): main sources stored. Modelled: PFAS in cosmetics from 2032-01-01 (PA 104-0231, stored). Not stored: other rules that may apply.
Banned
Exemptions (2)
Does not apply to a product for which federal law preempts state authority over PFAS
“a product for which federal law governs the presence in the product of a perfluoroalkyl substance or polyfluoroalkyl substance in a manner that preempts State authority;”
Does not apply to used products offered for sale or resale
“used products offered for sale or resale;”
Unofficial copy of the text, current to 15 Aug 2025. Wayback Machine copy of the Illinois General Assembly's Public Act 104-0231 PDF (approved 2025-08-15); the codified 415 ILCS 170 is not stored.
Every product in the category
Takes effect 1 Jan 2032
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2032
The Act's 'cosmetics' definition includes soap; propellant exemption in 45(b)(4) does not reach personal care products.
“offer for sale, or distribute for sale in this State the following products if the product contains intentionally added PFAS: (1) cosmetics;”
The product, and any flame-retarded part of it, contains no more than 0.1 percent pentaBDE or octaBDE
Must meet the conditions of PBDE flame retardants: effective January 1, 2006, a person may not manufacture, process, or distribute in commerce in Illinois a product or a flame-retarded part of a product containing more than one-tenth of 1% of pentaBDE or octaBDE (410 ILCS 48/15(a))
Exemptions (2)
Sale of any used product containing PBDE.
“(1) The sale by a business, charity, or private party of any used product containing PBDE.”
Processing of recycled material containing pentaBDE or octaBDE in compliance with applicable law.
“(3) The processing of recycled material containing pentaBDE or octaBDE in compliance with applicable State and federal laws.”
Official text, current to 10 Mar 2025. Faithful copy: Internet Archive capture 2025-03-10 (id_ form) of the official ILCS act page; ilga.gov did not answer curl from this network on 2026-10-27.
Every product in the category
In force since 1 Jan 2006
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2006
Stated: “Effective January 1, 2006” (Sec. 15(a)).
“(a) Effective January 1, 2006, a person may not manufacture, process, or distribute in commerce a product or a flame-retarded part of a product containing more than one-tenth of 1% of pentaBDE or octaBDE.”
The product's package and packaging components have no intentionally introduced lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium, and the four together are at most 100 ppm
Must meet the conditions of Toxics in packaging: beginning July 1, 1994, no product may be offered for sale or for promotional purposes in Illinois by its manufacturer or distributor in a package whose package or packaging components include any ink, dye, pigment, adhesive, stabilizer or other additive containing intentionally introduced lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium (21.5(c)); no product in a package may be offered if the four, not intentionally introduced, exceed 100 ppm by weight from July 1, 1996 (21.5(d)(3)); a certificate of compliance is furnished by the package manufacturer or supplier to its distributor (21.5(g)).
Exemptions (1)
Packaging components (strapping, seals, fasteners and other industrial packaging components) for a product destined for commercial use
“(5) Packaging components, including but not limited to strapping, seals, fasteners, and other industrial packaging components intended to protect, secure, close, unitize or provide pilferage protection for any product destined for commercial use.”
Official text, current to 15 Apr 2025. Faithful copy: Internet Archive capture 2025-04-15 (id_ form) of the official ILCS section page; ilga.gov does not answer this network.
- You offer the product in Illinois in a package (415 ILCS 5/21.5(c): "no product may be offered for sale or for promotional purposes in this State by its manufacturer or distributor in Illinois in a package"); a product sold with no packaging has nothing to comply
In force since 1 Jul 1994
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jul 1994
21.5(c): "Beginning July 1, 1994"; 100 ppm from July 1, 1996 (21.5(d)(3)).
“(c) Beginning July 1, 1994, no product may be offered for sale or for promotional purposes in this State by its manufacturer or distributor in Illinois in a package that includes, in the package itself or in any of its packaging components, any ink, dye, pigment, adhesive, stabilizer, or other additive that contains lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium that has been intentionally introduced during manufacturing or distribution.”
- BanPFAS as defined in Illinois (US state)
Banned
Exemptions (2)
Does not apply to a product for which federal law preempts state authority over PFAS
“a product for which federal law governs the presence in the product of a perfluoroalkyl substance or polyfluoroalkyl substance in a manner that preempts State authority;”
415 ILCS 170/45(b)(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08Illinois General Assembly: 415 ILCS 170/45(a)(opens in a new tab) Does not apply to used products offered for sale or resale
“used products offered for sale or resale;”
415 ILCS 170/45(b)(2) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08Illinois General Assembly: 415 ILCS 170/45(a)(opens in a new tab) Unofficial copy of the text, current to 15 Aug 2025. Wayback Machine copy of the Illinois General Assembly's Public Act 104-0231 PDF (approved 2025-08-15); the codified 415 ILCS 170 is not stored.
- Applies when
Every product in the category
- Effective
Takes effect 1 Jan 2032
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2032
The Act's 'cosmetics' definition includes soap; propellant exemption in 45(b)(4) does not reach personal care products.
- Source
“offer for sale, or distribute for sale in this State the following products if the product contains intentionally added PFAS: (1) cosmetics;”
415 ILCS 170/45(a)(1) (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08Illinois General Assembly: 415 ILCS 170/45(a)(opens in a new tab)
- Conformity
The product, and any flame-retarded part of it, contains no more than 0.1 percent pentaBDE or octaBDE
Must meet the conditions of PBDE flame retardants: effective January 1, 2006, a person may not manufacture, process, or distribute in commerce in Illinois a product or a flame-retarded part of a product containing more than one-tenth of 1% of pentaBDE or octaBDE (410 ILCS 48/15(a))
Exemptions (2)
Sale of any used product containing PBDE.
“(1) The sale by a business, charity, or private party of any used product containing PBDE.”
410 ILCS 48/15(b)(1) · fetched 2026-10-27Illinois General Assembly: 410 ILCS 48/15(opens in a new tab) Processing of recycled material containing pentaBDE or octaBDE in compliance with applicable law.
“(3) The processing of recycled material containing pentaBDE or octaBDE in compliance with applicable State and federal laws.”
410 ILCS 48/15(b)(3) · fetched 2026-10-27Illinois General Assembly: 410 ILCS 48/15(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 10 Mar 2025. Faithful copy: Internet Archive capture 2025-03-10 (id_ form) of the official ILCS act page; ilga.gov did not answer curl from this network on 2026-10-27.
- Applies when
Every product in the category
- Effective
In force since 1 Jan 2006
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jan 2006
Stated: “Effective January 1, 2006” (Sec. 15(a)).
- Source
“(a) Effective January 1, 2006, a person may not manufacture, process, or distribute in commerce a product or a flame-retarded part of a product containing more than one-tenth of 1% of pentaBDE or octaBDE.”
410 ILCS 48/15(a) · fetched 2026-10-27Illinois General Assembly: 410 ILCS 48/15(opens in a new tab)
- Conformity
The product's package and packaging components have no intentionally introduced lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium, and the four together are at most 100 ppm
Must meet the conditions of Toxics in packaging: beginning July 1, 1994, no product may be offered for sale or for promotional purposes in Illinois by its manufacturer or distributor in a package whose package or packaging components include any ink, dye, pigment, adhesive, stabilizer or other additive containing intentionally introduced lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium (21.5(c)); no product in a package may be offered if the four, not intentionally introduced, exceed 100 ppm by weight from July 1, 1996 (21.5(d)(3)); a certificate of compliance is furnished by the package manufacturer or supplier to its distributor (21.5(g)).
Exemptions (1)
Packaging components (strapping, seals, fasteners and other industrial packaging components) for a product destined for commercial use
“(5) Packaging components, including but not limited to strapping, seals, fasteners, and other industrial packaging components intended to protect, secure, close, unitize or provide pilferage protection for any product destined for commercial use.”
415 ILCS 5/21.5(e)(5) · fetched 2026-10-27Illinois General Assembly: 415 ILCS 5/21.5(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 15 Apr 2025. Faithful copy: Internet Archive capture 2025-04-15 (id_ form) of the official ILCS section page; ilga.gov does not answer this network.
- Applies when
- You offer the product in Illinois in a package (415 ILCS 5/21.5(c): "no product may be offered for sale or for promotional purposes in this State by its manufacturer or distributor in Illinois in a package"); a product sold with no packaging has nothing to comply
- Effective
In force since 1 Jul 1994
Applies to products sold on or after 1 Jul 1994
21.5(c): "Beginning July 1, 1994"; 100 ppm from July 1, 1996 (21.5(d)(3)).
- Source
“(c) Beginning July 1, 1994, no product may be offered for sale or for promotional purposes in this State by its manufacturer or distributor in Illinois in a package that includes, in the package itself or in any of its packaging components, any ink, dye, pigment, adhesive, stabilizer, or other additive that contains lead, cadmium, mercury or hexavalent chromium that has been intentionally introduced during manufacturing or distribution.”
415 ILCS 5/21.5(c) · fetched 2026-10-27Illinois General Assembly: 415 ILCS 5/21.5(opens in a new tab)
Gaps
Markets without rules for this category
We have no rules for this category in these markets. That doesn't mean none apply, so a check here says Not covered, never clear.
ClaraDB gives a verdict only for PFAS state laws for cookware and bakeware, California Proposition 65 consumer-product warning check for BPA, BPS, formaldehyde, styrene, antimony trioxide, vinyl acetate, lead and cadmium, California Proposition 65 warning check for candles and ceramicware (lead, cadmium, formaldehyde, acetaldehyde, benzene, naphthalene, carbon monoxide, benzo[a]pyrene), US packaging EPR producer size thresholds (California, Colorado, Maryland, Minnesota, Oregon, Washington) for a brand-owning manufacturer, US lead in children's products and furniture (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in toys and child care articles (lead paint and total lead content), US lead in children's products (other) and bags (lead paint and total lead content), US phthalates in children's toys and child care articles (DEHP, DBP, BBP, DINP, DIBP, DPENP, DHEXP, DCHP) and US children's product certificate and tracking label for children's tableware (AI-checked, quotes verified word for word). Every other answer shows the laws and quotes found without saying whether they apply. Not checked: Consumer electronics (FCC equipment authorization, 47 CFR Parts 2 and 15, energy rules). What ClaraDB has checked
Show 1 market
- Coverage
- Main sources; no modeled rule is scoped to this category. Not covered: other rules that may apply.
Facts
What we need to know about your product
Some rules depend on details of your product. Until you tell us, a check says Needs answers and asks for what's missing.
Show 36 facts
- Whether the listed substance or group is present
- Markets
- EU, GB, JP, KR, US, US-CA, US-CO, US-CT, US-IL, US-MD, US-ME, US-MN, US-NJ, US-RI, US-VT, US-WA
- Rules
- 7,475
- Number of employees at the seller
- Markets
- US-CA
- Rules
- 972
- Body area
- Markets
- EU, GB, JP, KR
- Rules
- 230
- Rinse off
- Markets
- EU, GB, JP, KR, US-CA
- Rules
- 221
- Economic operator role
- Markets
- EU, GB, KR, US
- Rules
- 90
- Contains battery
- Markets
- EU, GB, US
- Rules
- 39
- Sprayable
- Markets
- EU, GB, KR
- Rules
- 34
- Intended for children under 3
- Markets
- EU, GB, KR
- Rules
- 24
- Battery category
- Markets
- EU, GB
- Rules
- 22
- Otc drug claim
- Markets
- US, US-MN
- Rules
- 19
- Quasi drug or functional claim
- Markets
- JP, KR
- Rules
- 13
- Net content ml
- Markets
- EU, GB, KR
- Rules
- 10
- Battery chemistry
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 9
- Aerosol dispenser
- Markets
- JP, KR, US
- Rules
- 8
- Professional use
- Markets
- EU, GB, US
- Rules
- 7
- Customised cosmetic
- Markets
- KR
- Rules
- 7
- Rechargeable
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 6
- Animal testing conducted
- Markets
- EU, GB, KR
- Rules
- 5
- Annual gross revenue usd
- Markets
- US-CO, US-MD, US-MN, US-OR, US-WA
- Rules
- 5
- Contains nanomaterial
- Markets
- EU, GB
- Rules
- 2
- Intended for children under 12
- Markets
- KR
- Rules
- 2
- Single use
- Markets
- KR
- Rules
- 2
- Button or coin cell
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 2
- Distance sale to other member state
- Markets
- EU
- Rules
- 1
- Imported
- Markets
- KR
- Rules
- 1
- Cattle derived material
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Uses sunscreen term
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Safety substantiated
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Battery removable
- Markets
- US
- Rules
- 1
- Ca gross sales usd
- Markets
- US-CA
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons co
- Markets
- US-CO
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons md
- Markets
- US-MD
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons mn
- Markets
- US-MN
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tonnes or
- Markets
- US-OR
- Rules
- 1
- Fluorine treated container
- Markets
- US-VT
- Rules
- 1
- Packaging tons wa
- Markets
- US-WA
- Rules
- 1
Changes
Upcoming changes
Rules for this category that start in the next 24 months, or are proposed or on hold.
Show 43 upcoming changes
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 758-17-8
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).
“a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Bisphenol S (BPS)
- Type of toxicity
- developmental toxicity
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 80-09-1
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Tacrolimus
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 104987-11-3
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Hydrochlorothiazide
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Voriconazole
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Chemical
- Welding Fumes
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- none given
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)Banned
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
Every product in the category
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027
Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).
From the consolidated text: Triphenyl Phosphate (13) · 115-86-6 · 204-112-2
Annex II entry 1767 · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)Limit 0.7 % (content basis)
In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (f) 0,7 %. Field of application: (f) Body lotion.
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applied to: Body
Depends on: body area
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027
Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).
From the consolidated text: (f) Body lotion · (f) 0,7 %
Annex III entry 75 (l5) · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)11 rules from Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 on cosmetic products, Annexes II-VI (consolidated)
Limit 0.2 % (content basis)
Show targets (11 of 11)
- Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
- Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
- Diethylamino Hydroxybenzoyl Hexyl Benzoate (DHHB) (Benzoic acid, 2-[4-(diethylamino)-2- hydroxybenzoyl]-, hexyl ester; CAS 302776-68-7)
- Citral Geranial (CAS 5392-40-5)
- Citral Geranial (CAS 5392-40-5)
- Zinc Acetate (CAS 557-34-6)
- Acetylated Vetiveria Zizanioides Root Extract (Vetiveria zizanioides, ext., acetylated Oils, vetiver, acetylated; CAS 84082-84-8)
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
Every product in the category
1 Jan 2027
Each rule has its own date; open a target.
Example: Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
From the consolidated text: (g) Face make-up and make-up remover products · (g) 0,2 %
Annex III entry 75 (l6) · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)Limit 0.004 % (content basis)
In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (h) 0,004 %. Field of application: (h) Oral products.
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applied to: Mouth or Teeth and gums
Depends on: body area
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027
Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).
From the consolidated text: (h) Oral products · (h) 0,004 %
Annex III entry 75 (l7) · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)- WarningUS-CAN-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine (CAS 758-17-8)
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 758-17-8
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: N-Methyl-N-Formylhydrazine · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CABisphenol S (BPS) (CAS 80-09-1)
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no MADL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Bisphenol S (BPS), which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required for a reproductive toxicant where the exposure will produce no observable effect at 1,000 times the level in question (at or below the MADL).
“a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure will produce no observable effect, even at 1,000 times the level in question.”
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that will produce no observable reproductive effect (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 8 Dec 2026
Applies to products sold on or after 8 Dec 2026
Listed 2025-12-08 (developmental). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Bisphenol S (BPS)
- Type of toxicity
- developmental toxicity
- Listed by
- the State's Qualified Experts (SQE)
- CAS No.
- 80-09-1
- Date listed
- 8 Dec 2025
Prop 65 list row: Bisphenol S (BPS) · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CATacrolimus (CAS 104987-11-3)
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Tacrolimus, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Tacrolimus
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 104987-11-3
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Tacrolimus · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CAHydrochlorothiazide
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Hydrochlorothiazide, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Hydrochlorothiazide
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 58-93-5; 125727-50-6; 8049-49-8
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Hydrochlorothiazide · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CAVoriconazole
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Voriconazole, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Voriconazole
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- 137234-62-9; 188416-29-7; 173967-54-9
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Voriconazole · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- WarningUS-CAWelding Fumes
Warning required when exposure exceeds the threshold (no NSRL listed for this row)
This product can expose you to Welding Fumes, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Exemptions (1)
No warning is required where the exposure poses no significant risk of cancer (at or below the NSRL).
a warning is not required if the business causing the exposure can demonstrate that the exposure occurs at a level that poses “no significant risk
Appendix A (summary), Exposures that pose no significant risk of cancer (excerpt) · fetched 2026-10-08California OAG / OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab) Official text, current to 31 Jul 2026. OEHHA's own Prop 65 list (XLSX), list dated July 31, 2026.
- Applies when
- Seller has 10 or more employees
- Your business has 10 or more employees and the product knowingly and intentionally exposes someone in California to this chemical
Depends on: number of employees at the seller
- Effective
Takes effect 17 Jul 2027
Applies to products sold on or after 17 Jul 2027
Listed 2026-07-17 (cancer). Grace period: "Proposition 65 warning requirements do not apply until 12 months after the chemical has been listed" (Appendix A); listing date plus 12 months.
- Source
- Chemical
- Welding Fumes
- Type of toxicity
- cancer
- Listed by
- the Labor Code (LC)
- CAS No.
- none given
- Date listed
- 17 Jul 2026
Prop 65 list row: Welding Fumes · fetched 2026-10-08
California OEHHA: 27 CCR 27001(opens in a new tab)
- BanEUTriphenyl Phosphate (CAS 115-86-6)
Banned
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applies when
Every product in the category
- Effective
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027
Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).
- Source
From the consolidated text: Triphenyl Phosphate (13) · 115-86-6 · 204-112-2
Annex II entry 1767 · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
- LimitEUBenzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
Limit 0.7 % (content basis)
In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (f) 0,7 %. Field of application: (f) Body lotion.
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applies when
- Applied to: Body
Depends on: body area
- Effective
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027
Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).
- Source
From the consolidated text: (f) Body lotion · (f) 0,7 %
Annex III entry 75 (l5) · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
- Limit x 11EU
11 rules from Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 on cosmetic products, Annexes II-VI (consolidated)
Limit 0.2 % (content basis)
Show targets (11 of 11)
- Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
- Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
- Diethylamino Hydroxybenzoyl Hexyl Benzoate (DHHB) (Benzoic acid, 2-[4-(diethylamino)-2- hydroxybenzoyl]-, hexyl ester; CAS 302776-68-7)
- Citral Geranial (CAS 5392-40-5)
- Citral Geranial (CAS 5392-40-5)
- Zinc Acetate (CAS 557-34-6)
- Acetylated Vetiveria Zizanioides Root Extract (Vetiveria zizanioides, ext., acetylated Oils, vetiver, acetylated; CAS 84082-84-8)
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Aluminium-containing ingredients with the exception of those listed in entries 34, 50, 189, 190 and 192 of Annex III, in entries 117, 118, 119, 121, 131, 150 of Annex IV, in entry 61 in Annex V, and entry 27a of Annex VI.
- Applies when
Every product in the category
- Effective
1 Jan 2027
Each rule has its own date; open a target.
- Source
Example: Benzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
From the consolidated text: (g) Face make-up and make-up remover products · (g) 0,2 %
Annex III entry 75 (l6) · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
- LimitEUBenzyl Salicylate (2-hydroxybenzoic acid phenylmethyl ester; CAS 118-58-1)
Limit 0.004 % (content basis)
In the finished (ready for use) cosmetic product. Maximum concentration cell: (h) 0,004 %. Field of application: (h) Oral products.
Consolidated text (not the authentic legal edition), current to 18 May 2026. EUR-Lex consolidated text: a documentation tool without legal effect; the acts published in the Official Journal are authentic. Consolidated version CELEX 02009R1223-20260518 from the Publications Office, the latest when read.
- Applies when
- Applied to: Mouth or Teeth and gums
Depends on: body area
- Effective
Takes effect 1 Jan 2027
Applies to products placed on the market on or after 1 Jan 2027
Row footnote: products containing the substance shall not be placed on the Union market from 2027-01-01 and not be made available from 2028-07-01. The row-level date is read from the annex footnote (EU).
- Source
From the consolidated text: (h) Oral products · (h) 0,004 %
Annex III entry 75 (l7) · fetched 2026-10-09
European Commission / Publications Office (CELLAR): Reg. (EC) 1223/2009 Annexes II-VI(opens in a new tab)
Records
Recalls and alerts
Recalls, safety alerts and Prop 65 notices that name Fragrance, with a link to the original. A Prop 65 notice is a claim by the sender, not a ruling.
1,931 records dated 6 Jan 2023 to 30 Oct 2026. Most recent shown.
Show the 8 most recent records
- Safety Gate alerts
Perfume - COOL GIR
Origin as stated: People's Republic of China
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Perfume and body sprays
- Safety Gate alerts
Perfume - Chloé
Origin as stated: France
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Perfume and body sprays
- Safety Gate alerts
Eau de toilette - Apparition Homme, Eau de Toilette Natural Spray
Origin as stated: Italy
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Perfume and body sprays
- Safety Gate alerts
Eau de toilette - MAN, NATURAL SPRAY VAPORISATEUR
Origin as stated: Italy
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Perfume and body sprays
- Safety Gate alerts
Eau de toilette - X HUGO X
Origin as stated: United Kingdom
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Perfume and body sprays
- Safety Gate alerts
Eau de toilette - Only the brave
Origin as stated: United States
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Perfume and body sprays
- Safety Gate alerts
Eau de toilette - Eau de rem
Origin as stated: France
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Perfume and body sprays
- Safety Gate alerts
Eau de toilette - Energise
Origin as stated: United Kingdom
Cosmetics and personal care
- Substance
- None named
- Party
- Not stated
- Category
- Perfume and body sprays
Sub-categories
Further rules in sub-categories
These apply only to the sub-categories below, not to the whole category.
- Perfume and body sprays2 additional rules
See also
Related categories
- Cosmetics and personal care
Cosmetic products as defined in EU Reg. 1223/2009 Art. 2, FD&C Act sec. 201(i), the Korean Cosmetics Act and the Japanese PMD Act: substances or mixtures for external parts of the body, teeth or mucous membranes of the mouth, to clean, perfume, change appearance, protect, keep in good condition or correct body odours. Tattoo inks, drugs, devices and quasi-drug claims (JP/KR functional claims, US OTC drug claims) are flagged with attributes or claims, not separate roots.
- Perfume and body sprays
Perfume, eau de toilette, cologne and body mist; fragrance-allergen labelling and alcohol-based sprays.
- Skin care
Face and body skin products, sun protection and exfoliants.
- Hair care and colour
Shampoos, styling, waving, straightening and hair dyes.
- Nail products
Nail polish, care and artificial nail systems.
- Make-up
Colour cosmetics for face, eyes, lips and lashes.
- Deodorants and antiperspirants
Underarm products.
- Oral care
Toothpaste, mouthwash and tooth whitening.
Alerts
Get an email when these rules change.
Check a product free, no account needed. Save it, and you see when a rule that affects it changes, and Team emails you the day it does.